Match Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Sin City

First, great game by both teams - players hard at the ball, awesome contests, neither side gave up.

Second, to all of you (you know who you are) who said that:

(1) Freo's resting players strategy would back-fire
(2) Freo's "cheating" would cause them to lose due to "karma"
(3) Carlton would thrash Freo tonight
(4) Freo had a losing culture and was the laughing stock of the AFL

The whole of Australia has seen and now believes - Freo is the real deal.

Mark Harvey will be lauded as a genius coach - The Coach of the Year.

As for you knockers, "you have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting".

Check mate.

First, great game by both teams - players hard at the ball, awesome contests, neither side gave up.

As for you knockers, "you have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting".

Check mate.

(1) Freo resting players strategy almost lost you the game.
(2) Freo needs to cheat in order to win a game.
(3) Most ppl though it would be a close game, which it was.
(4) Freo is still the laughing stock of the afl.... Wow you are going to make the finals... You will bow out first week.

The whole of Australia watched you choke your way out of the top 4.

Mark Harvey almost cried when carlton were coming in the first quarter.

Get back in your hole.

Hats off to the blues for an old school, Friday night footy clash. There were no doubt, questionable umpiring decisions (or lack thereof) on both sides and the umps were definitely looking for a sense of drama. I reckon Vlad might've been on the Bat Phone orchestrating things at times...

Haven't enjoyed a match like that for quite some time. Good luck to you guys in the rest of the final series, you have some truly exciting football ahead of you!

Check mate.

Yup... we checked mate... you lot are a bunch of cheating whinging ***** who have been supported by the AFL for years just so that you can maintain a losing culture.

Harvey is still the same tool that he has always been and will always be laughed at to his face because he is a twat.

As for freo being the real deal... come back when you useless twats have won 16 flags and then you will be considered the real deal.

Hats off to the blues for an old school, Friday night footy clash. There were no doubt, questionable umpiring decisions (or lack thereof) on both sides and the umps were definitely looking for a sense of drama. I reckon Vlad might've been on the Bat Phone orchestrating things at times...

Haven't enjoyed a match like that for quite some time. Good luck to you guys in the rest of the forward series, you have some truly exciting football ahead of you!

Cheers to you mate... only decent freo fan to come in here tonight :)

Good luck for your week in the finals :)

Go back to the VFL guys other than a Melbourne storm type flag you have done nothing in the national competition.

(1) Freo resting players strategy almost lost you the game.
(2) Freo needs to cheat in order to win a game.
(3) Most ppl though it would be a close game, which it was.
(4) Freo is still the laughing stock of the afl.... Wow you are going to make the finals... You will bow out first week.

The whole of Australia watched you choke your way out of the top 4.

Mark Harvey almost cried when carlton were coming in the first quarter.

Get back in your hole.
Nothing like a nice big glass of sore loser to finish off a hard night huh?

We apologise for the delay, the next available Mod will be with you shortly. :thumbsu:

Yup... we checked mate... you lot are a bunch of cheating whinging ***** who have been supported by the AFL for years just so that you can maintain a losing culture.

Harvey is still the same tool that he has always been and will always be laughed at to his face because he is a twat.

As for freo being the real deal... come back when you useless twats have won 16 flags and then you will be considered the real deal.
A glass for you too? Point of order - you have one AFL flag. 15 flags from a state competition.

Mark Harvey will be lauded as a genius coach - The Coach of the Year

You will now have to face the Hawks who just thumped you.

Despite the change in teams, I'd say that would be a nice confidence booster for them.

Real genius tactic :rolleyes:

Cheers to you mate... only decent freo fan to come in here tonight :)

Good luck for your week in the finals :)

It's always a great thrill as a fan to be involved in a meaningful and emotional game of footy such as that.

Obviously we were under scrutiny due to list management choices, but I'm personally happy with our strategy. You guys really pushed us through all 4 quarters and without those extra (launceston)legs we would've been in trouble I reckon.

Looking forward to an exciting, mercurial finals series!

A glass for you too? Point of order - you have one AFL flag. 15 flags from a state competition.

You're team is playing in that 'state' league too. Ever wondered why 10 of its teams come from Victoria? Might be called the AFL now, but it is clearly the VFL, with your lot allowed to participate.

Whether you choose to acknowledge it or not, Carlton have won 16 VFL/AFL flags, and Michael Tuck is the VFL/AFL games record holder.

You're team is playing in that 'state' league too. Ever wondered why 10 of its teams come from Victoria? Might be called the AFL now, but it is clearly the VFL, with your lot allowed to participate.

Whether you choose to acknowledge it or not, Carlton have won 16 VFL/AFL flags, and Michael Tuck is the VFL/AFL games record holder.

Is anyone really interested in suburban league statistics?

Funny... your franchise is currently playing in the expanded VFL/AFL.

Thanks for coming and giving us some money and a lot of laughs. You guys really are pathetic.

Well sucks to of lost but I'm really hoping Sydney lose so We can come back here to vs freo cos I think our chances will be good at beating them! I somehow ended up getting the wrong tickets and ended up sitting in the second row on block 116 in the freo cheer squad hahahahah was bloody funny

But seriously what was with the freo supporters booing juddy every time he got the all :S oh and the intellect of some of the freo supporters was quite good, the 2 guys behind me were talking and they seemd to think that Rugby is exactly the same as soccer except you can use your hands hahaha

I dont know if its the delay of the telecast that gives us in NSW time for our emotion to calm down and see the game logically or what but all you whiners with your drop this guy drop that guy need to think before you post.

Just about every 50/50 free went their way whereas when they were there for us we got nothing (there was a passage involving Bower in the 3rd where he was hit in the head twice no free then it comes to him again he fumbles as the ball arrived and tackled simultaneously called dropping the ball in a split second of possession then the next Bower play he tackled a guy spun him 360 play on and they maintained possession, and that was typical of the game all night).

Add to that we were a man down for 3 and a half quarters that really affected our rotation through the middle and a hostile crowd and still only went down by a goal. We had a few players a bit down (Yarran, and Hammer could have done better although Yarran's hand pass for Garletts third was sublime, Robbo did ok, he was the reason Ellard goaled for example, but dont know about dropping all 3 and absolutely nothing wrong with Bowers game, dont know what game you guys watched but Bower played ok and the umpires gave him nothing and was hard done by and Betts may not be kicking goals but he sure is assisting in them so again those calling for Betts to be dropped need to get a clue about the game), and I think Freo played about as well as they could and still only a goal better than us. Like others here I sure hope we get to play them again. Dont care if it is over there again, I feel we can beat them. When it counts.

Man you guys are savage if we dont win.

About the only criticism I can find is that our tackles dont stick, we really need to work on that but otherwise a bit stiff tonight.

Missed the game unfortunately - but if what I am reading is correct re: the missed tackles and you guys laid 90:eek: - well hats off!

The areas that let u down (on paper) were I50s (-15 differential) and contested possession (-20 diff).

So there must be much to take out of this game for next week - I mean to only go down by a kick with those limited opportunities, cant be all bad blues fans.

As we only know too well what happens during the season becomes null and void once the finals start anyhow.

Losing Carrazzo has absolutely killed us! He would have shut down Hill.

And im baffled by Paul Bower and Marcus Davis selections'. Bower has been showed up the last few weeks, not enough intensity and just stupid decision making. And honestly, yes its good to get Davis games but the kid just aint ready for this level yet.
Not sure about that Hill would be too quick for him maybe Walker was his man but his been out of sorts.

Carrazzo has played on Aaron Davey and beaten him

Why would Hill be too quick for him?

The glaring thing for me was the lack of marking around the ground.

Kreuzer's class, talent and endurance on that massive ground may have been the difference.

A fresh Johnson was damaging in that role against our rucks who had to take on Sandilands.