10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Oct 27, 2007
Swan Districts, Everton
Lions v Tigers - back to the heady days of the 80's, there would be a biggish crowd for this match. An undeniable hatred of the preppy boys across the railway lines would motivate any self respecting Lions player to go that extra % to nail a Tiger. I wonder if the boot will be on the other foot this week? The Tiges are up and flying and, despite winning against a miserable Perth, I'm led to believe, the Lions are the hunted this year.

The Lions still have some quality in Broadhurst, Read, Rumble, Parker, Cossom, Horsley and Hildebrandt but the depth around them seems dwindled. Their runners are older and more mature :p compared to the young bucks streaming out of the centre for Claremont. Read, Cossom, Horsley, Hildebrandt, H-R against Blackwell, Stevenson, Brabazon, Foster, Schammer, Mitchell, Ninyette etc. Ones a lot quicker, but can they control the ball against the old stagers? Time will tell.

Up forward Campbell and Broadhurst will face Thompson and Laurie, or Wilkes. Whilst up forward, Rumble, despite coming off a good game, will have his hands full with C Jones and Wilkes or Richardson or Fyfe will keep Parker and co very busy! Should also be a good game this one and we'll see if Claremont can break the psychological barriers that Perth couldn't.

Team Lists are:

Leederville Oval
Sunday, 11 April

Subiaco
Scott Rumble Keevers
Broadhurst Parker Randall
Heffernan-Roper Horsley Hildebrandt
Cossom Campbell Hassett
Bristow Adamson-Holmes Kerr
Rix Webb Forrest
I/C Douglas Blechynden Davey Viney Stevenson Stack Worthington Richards
IN:Blechynden Davey Viney Stack Richards
OUT:Read

Claremont
Rudeforth Franz Starling
DeNardi Thomson Laurie
Stevenson Blackwell Ninyette
Foster Wilkes Chidgzey
Richardson C.Jones Ruck
Derickx Orzel Mitchell
I/C Mumford Walton Yu Anderson Crawford Lee Willett Murphy
IN:Chidgzey Anderson Crawford Lee Willett Murphy Walton Yu
OUT:Ayton (Broken Hand) Brabazon (Thigh) Browne (Hamstring) Schammer (AFL) Fyfe (AFL)

Player Watch: Heffernan-Roper, Kerr, Mitchell, Ninyette
Best Player: Blackwell/Horsley

Claremont have always looks strong on paper since about 2007 but never really won matches. Finally I think they have developed some good team chemisty and should beat the lions who are only a fraction of what they use to be in the past 3 - 4 years

Yet another big win for the mighty Tigers!!

They were 71 point winners over Subi at Medibank Stadium this afternoon.

A couple of observations...

1. another solid game from the likes of Fyfe, Richo and Chad Jones, these types of players can always be relied on to pull their weight and give a little more than required.

2. Eric Mackenzie is absolutely hopeless, his disposal, descion making is terrible, in fact I couldn't pick a positive from his game today...He should be playing amatuer C grade for Wembley.

3. The Tiger are playing with alot more pride this year, they are MUCH more prepared to stand up for each other, there are heaps more 1 percenters, and the song is belted out louder and prouder than ever!!

Quarter by Quarter

1/4- Fairly even

2/4 Claremont pull away

3/4 Absolutely disgusting quarter from the Tigers, Subi peg a few back-get within 30pts
replace this quarter with some decent footy and we would have won by 100+ again

4/4 Another great quarter from the Tigers, some fancy stuff to put some icing on the cake

Overall, another solid performance on our way to the premiership!!!!

Thoughts???

Claremont of course one thing i would say is rubbish umpriing form our point of view absoultly appauling. I thought Jones played really well because he wasn't lazy today he chased and tackled which got him into the game more. Richo is a freak seriously unbeliveble to watch, our midfield worked extremly well for most of the game.Schammer didn't really impress me to much Fyfe is a star and will be a superstar soon. For subi well Broady was about there only player with heart out there what a waste of space A. Cambell is terrible footballer. Agree with you on Mckenzie turned it over so many times C grade is a bit to high tho?? were where you sitting mate how do you like our chances for the finals?

So best players for Claremont Imo are
Richo, K.Mitchell, C Jones, N Fyfe, Blackey, Ruders for his call (ur point thommo) and alot of other good solid perfomers for claremont

Match Thread - Round 4, Lions v Tigers