swannies

Oct 27, 2007
Swan Districts, Everton
Tigers v Royals - The Royals need to keep the momentum going if they want to catch the top 4, although they're only 1 game and percentage out. The tiges want to keep their own momentum at the top of the table going.

We all know what the Tigers have and what they are capable of, but sitting in their reserves are more quality players. The Royals will need to stop the run of Blackwell, Brabazon, Stevenson, Swift, Foster, Schammer - is your head spinning yet? That'd beat the Eagles midfield comfortably. Then you have Chad Jones kicking 6 goals per match, Richardson, Ninyette, Weedon and whoever else they want to put on the flanks in the forward line.

The Royals need to take the intensity from the Lions match and replicate this and maintain for the whole match. Can the aging legs of Wulff, Pickering, Swan, combined with Sweet, Clarke, Noakes, JON keep up with the Tigers all day? Prior, Shepheard, Cadwallader, Merrington need to provide consistent targets up forward and Webster, Noakes and the backs need to be on their mettle against Cones and co.
Should be an interesting game, but I can't see the Royals having the Run. Clarke poses as the biggest threat to the Tigers, to get the Royals momentum out of the middle, IMO.

Teams

Tigers
B:C Rudeforth D Ross K Mitchell
HB:T De nardi J Laurie B Jones
C:L Stevenson J Murphy B Anderson
HF:B Schammer G Weedon T Swift
F:I Richardson C Jones A Foster
Foll:B Franz R Walton L Blackwell
I/C:R.Brabazon, T.Derickx, J.Ninyette, A.Browne, A.Ruck, R.Neates, D.Crawford
Emg:Nil
In:A.Browne, R.Neates
Out:Nil

Royals
B:B Dobson L Webster J Keath
HB:J Oakley-nicholls B Hancock A Pickering
C:C Glancy P Travers C Wulff
HF:M Seal A Merrington H Shepheard
F:A Sweet T Noakes J Eastwell
Foll:Z Clarke M Swan D Cadwallader
I/C:J.Lalich, A.Prior, L.Sampey, A.Lovett, Z.Beeck, T.Howlett, D.Macaulay
In:J.Lalich, J.Eastwell, Z.Beeck, T.Howlett
Out:H.Fryer

Demons v Lions - The Lions crept back into the top 4 last week, despite losing. :eek: The demons have a host of AFL listed kids wanting to put their names in the front of selectors, so they should be up for this challenge.

Can Sullivan, Bollenhagen, Ruffles, Smith put in big ones to keep their names in front of AFL selectors. Will Mzungu continue on with his great form? The Demons need to run all day to beat Subi and they have the players to do it. Add in, to those already named, O'Sullivan, Sneeujwagt, Elari, Siekerka, Moody and there's a pretty good running division. Ferguson up forward with Houghton was good last time I saw them and Billings down back with Sibosado is also a good pairing. The Sibosado v Campbell match up will be vital and both are similarly athletic but can wander away for periods of time.

The Lions rely on Cossom, Keevers, Cockie and Broadhurst to give them drive. Read and Bristow are important players when in the team, but youngsters Blechynden and Kerr have been progressing well. Randall is a class act and Rumble and Parker, whilst slowing, are still very good defenders. Re is learning the caper but Campbell needs more support up forward and lately the Lions have been robbing Peter to pay Paul, by sending Broadhurst down back.

Teams

Lions
B:C Phelan D Rumble R Kerr
HB:B Broadhurst A Parker B Randall
C:B Keevers K Horsley S Hildebrandt
HF:C Cossom A Campbell T Richards
F:A Pickett M Re R Muller
Foll:M Rix P Hassett R Blechynden
I/C:G.Broughton, T.Viney, L.Newick, M.Smith, R.Stack, R.Sheehan, R.Smith
In:G.Broughton, T.Viney, M.Smith, R.Sheehan, R.Smith
Out:p.Read, A.Cockie

Demons
B:S Siekierka C Billings T Ruffles
HB:R Young M Johnson C Mclernon
C:S Armstrong B Sneeuwajt B Hodge
HF:J Houghton A Mcdougall T Mzungu
F:A Smith C Sibosado D O'sullivan
Foll:W Sullivan D Robinson J Fiegert
I/C:B.Fry, J.Bollenhagen, K.Lang, B.Davis, A.Elari, M.Ferguson, K.Ransted, M.Mather
In:Nil
Out:Nil

Swans v Sharks - clearly MOTR. This should be a cracker, 2nd v 3rd, with Swans looking to put a couple of games between themselves and 3rd placed Sharks.

Swans have got their running game going to good effect in the last month or so, but then have a fairly potent forward line with Hansen, Geappen, Notte, Krakouer and Simpson. Krakouer and Colreavy have been great acquisitions to the club and Riggio seems to be starting to hit his stride. The big questions this week will be, are we without a ruckman? and will our 4th forward be missing? The ruck is the big worry, although Harvey or Lammie will come in to replace Spaanders I would expect either Spencer or Notte to take more ruck contests.

We know the Sharks have a great running brigade and Masten may well come in to play league, to complement McNamara, McGough, Bucovaz, Hall, Fasolo, etc. Up forward is still going to be their worry, with Spangher probably going to have to pinch hit there, if Dunn is injured. Defensively the Sharks are pretty well set up with Warren, Spangher, Brennan, Green, Stephen. Bucovaz was very good forward last week, but Ames, Jetta and Spencer are a different challenge to Peel. Jetta has become about the best back pocket in the league, IMO and has improved immensely over summer. Kyanga would be a handy in for the pocket.

Teams

Swans
B:L Pratt T Ames G Jetta
HB:W Twomey M Spencer T Casserly
C:C Hinkley J Roberts T Roach
HF:B Colreavy T Geappen L Daly
F:M Walters T Notte A Krakouer
Foll:W Lammie R Davis M Riggio
I/C:B.Wolfenden, C.Garlett, C.Pearce, B.Van groningen
Emg:S.Parry, R.Manton, J.Pullman
In:B.Van groningen, W.Lammie
Out:L.Spaanderman, J.Simpson

Sharks
B:S Dodd M Warren A Stephen
HB:J Brennan M Spangher D Chidlow
C:C Hall L Fasolo T Houlihan
HF:J Mcnamara M Brown C Masten
F:K Monteath B Bucovaz R Young
Foll:S Lee-steere M Mcgough R Dunn
I/C:L.Weller, J.Sgherza, A.Monk, A.Ware, K.Green, J.Venturini, A.Ciotti
In:C.Masten, M.Brown, A.Ware, L.Weller, R.Dunn
Out:T.Bruce, J.Perham

I don't have a warm and fuzzy feeling about this game now, with those outs and the Sharks ins.:(

Thunder v Bulldogs - Sunday game. There should be a mercy rule brought in for the Thunder this year, 100 points and it's over. Or they get a 15 minute headstart on the other team, not sure which?:confused:

The Thunder, where to from here? There midfield is pedestrian, their defence is young and getting hammered week in week out and the forwards, without Buszan and Battye, have no key focus. Yet, they've still won two games and have some of the hottest young talent in the state, they just need to get games into them. The likes of Luff, Mason, Filo, Bennell (John), Williams are their future and they've got to keep these kids improving. They need to keep the likes of Battye, R O'Brien, Buszan around the club to assist these young kids.

Souths are playing for a lot more, being just a game and percentage out of the 4. They have'nt beaten a top 4 side but they must take the chance to bury the Thunder and improve their percentage. Phillips needs help, Reece Adams was better in his 2nd/3rd game last week, Collica was lively and Hunt, Bossong and McCarrey provide solidity down back. Hams should have a big say in this one and Dell'Olio, Palumbo, McGrath can all find some form in this match.

Teams

Thunder
B:R Beswick C Luff M Holmes
HB:R Mason T Clarke M Ware
C:J Crichton H Mcleod R O'brien
HF:p Mcgennisken M Brown B Daniels
F:B Filo B Holmes C Collard
Foll:J Williams C Timbrell B Jones (c)
I/C:M.Brown, D.Chartres, C.George, B.Gillam, M.Giumelli, M.Green, D.Mcphan
In:C.Collard, C.George, B.Holmes, P.Mcgennisken, D.Mcphan
Out: D.Murray, L.Padwick

Bulldogs
B:K Hams S Hunt C Bossong
HB:R Adams A Mccarrey H North
C:A Guglielmana T Bairstow C White
HF:N Phillips R Murphy P Mugambwa
F:A Hams C Wilson A Collica
Foll:S Delmenico K Miller C Dell-olio
I/C:J.Head, J.Winter, C.Amato, M.Carter, B.Stanford, D.Easter, J.Parry
In:C.Dell-olio, J.Head, B.Stanford, D.Easter, J.Parry
Out:T.Mcgrath, J.Palumbo

Ventured to Bassendean with a sense of fear in the heart. Not only was Spaanders out, along with Hansen and Simpson, but Lammie was in!:p Up against a team with half a dozen AFL listed players and particularly Masten in the centre, with McGough and McNamara and it was a formidable line up.

The first half went as expected, very tight, contested football. A goal for the Sharks was matched by a goal for Swans. Swans took about 10 minutes to get on the board. In the first half Masten, Monteath, McGough and McNamara were quite dominant in the midfield. I felt Swans could have been behind by more. Although, with umpiring decisions like the holding the ball paid against Swans, about 20m out from the Sharks goal for holding the ball, when the ball had actually spilt out the back of the pack and the Sharks players didn't even try to pick it up, it could have been a lot worse. 3 goals to 2 in the first quarter, the Sharks way, was a good result for the nervously starting Swans.

Second quarter, whilst still being tight and Geappen providing a sure avenue to goal, the Swans found a way to kick 4 goals to the Sharks 2 and get in front by a goal at half time. The second quarter brought about the inevitable Pratt being knocked silly backing into a pack marking contest.:thumbsu: If only some of his bravery would rub off on to Hinkley! In the first half it was Krakouer and Geappen keeping the Swans in it.

The Sharks kicked the first 2 goals in the third, to lead by a goal, again through the midfield dominance and Dodd being thrown forward. With Dodd and Brown forward they had a forward pairing difficult to match up on. After about the 10 minute mark the gae took a turn. Swans started getting control in the centre, hell, Lammie even looked servicable as a WAFL player, the planets were obviously starting to align. The Swans forwards started finding more space and the passes started becoming low and sharp. First Geappen slides into a pass in the McDonald pocket and converts from a sharp angle and then Notte. The Sharks defenders are starting to struggle with the service coming in. At three quarter time the Swans have a 3 goal lead and my die hard Shark's mate decides enough is enough and leaves for the long trek back home! Softy!:D

In the last the game really opens up and it's end to end, when it's not down Swans end!:D Swans kick 3.3 for the quarter to 0.1, but were really dominanting. They kicked a couple of running goals to van Groningen (like the look of the kid, express and straight through) and Colreavy? and Hinkley chipped in with a goal, while Davis tried his best to get the icing on a pretty good game for him.

Once again Krakouer was the standout, with Geappen, Ames, Roberts, Casserley, Roach providing great support. On the Sharks side Masten was the standout, with McGough, McNamara, Warren and Brennan being good also.

Go you mighty Black Ducks!!!!!

Yeah I can see how Masten was a standout in your eyes Swannies.....he coughed it up to your boys so many times he was your 23rd player mate!.....Geappen is one fella I'd love to have at EF.....this fella always provides a target and a contest. I wasn't being disrespectful about Ames either mate....he is a great WAFL player.....just that the WCE posters always rave on about Brown......to me he is everything Geappen is not....if the kid can't kick goals on quality WAFL guys, how in the hell is he going kick goals on quality AFL guys?

SD and Claremont will contest the GF this year and rightly so......I really did think on paper SD were vulnerable on Sat, to me EF are so far behind these two teams it wouldn't matter if they made the finals or not.

Out of interest mate, that SD colts side you had a few years ago....Nats, Notte, Pearce, Walters, Yarren, Garlett etc how does EF current unbeaten colts side rate against them......to me EF colts side is just full of guys of all the same ability, no real stand outs like a Nats or Yarren etc .......they could easily go through undefeated, but with very few being drafted besudes Fasolo, Cripps, Monaco and maybe Hancock and out of those four, only the latter two have played any colts games of such!

I know you can't read much into colts footy, but I've been really impressed with how these boys go about their business......nothing fancy, just very 'Geelong' like!

Out of interest mate, that SD colts side you had a few years ago....Nats, Notte, Pearce, Walters, Yarren, Garlett etc how does EF current unbeaten colts side rate against them......to me EF colts side is just full of guys of all the same ability, no real stand outs like a Nats or Yarren etc .......they could easily go through undefeated, but with very few being drafted besudes Fasolo, Cripps, Monaco and maybe Hancock and out of those four, only the latter two have played any colts games of such!

I know you can't read much into colts footy, but I've been really impressed with how these boys go about their business......nothing fancy, just very 'Geelong' like!

Well, we didn't go through undefeated, so EF have that over us. We were reliant on those guys and others developed behind them, if you know what I mean? We lost 3 or 4 games when Naita, Yarran, Notte, Walters were on U18 duty. However, in my completely biased view, Naita is something else and you couldn't replace at colts.

To me, it looks like a few of the colts teams, and i haven't viewed too many this year, are trying to go down the Geelong "evenness" path. Less standouts but a group of really good players who play their roles.

On Mitch Brown, it wasn't the fact he kicked 2 goals, it was that he wasn't providing the midfield with any leads. He looks a reactive forward, unlike Geappen and Notte, and Hansen and Simpson (when they're there), they provide options.

Give me your unbiased, or biased, view on Hinkley. I had softened up on him this year but after pulling out of that marking contest..........:mad: Am I being too harsh? Mind you, on a few occasions Roach looked like he didn't like the contact yesterday either!:(

30 point loss to the thunder, that's almost a win isn't it?:D

Souths were a bit meh.

Just did enough to get the points, lifted when they needed to.

Peel were on from the get go, but boy their skills are appalling.

Few bright spots in the match, return to form by Dellolio, Rhett Mason came back well after getting a lesson in the first half from Phillips, to be Peels best player.

Still dont think we are a contender, too slow. No zip.

Costly day for the club with injuries to R.Adams badly torn Hammy, Hunt with a groin and Phillips looks like he may have done a knee.

A little bit distressed for Phillips Mm, and I didn't think I'd be saying that a couple of years ago. Really bad luck that he's done a knee, hopefully not serious though? Or is it too late to hope that?

All 3 are big losses for Souths, I believe.

A little bit distressed for Phillips Mm, and I didn't think I'd be saying that a couple of years ago. Really bad luck that he's done a knee, hopefully not serious though? Or is it too late to hope that?

All 3 are big losses for Souths, I believe.

Didnt look good from the grand stand, if you can call it that at Anniversary Park.

Went down like he'd been shot, talk to the club tomorrow to get the full details, but just from looking at it, it wasnt pretty.

Suspect he could be looking at a 12 month lay off, which is sad to see considering how much he has improved this year.

Reece Adams was stetchered off, suspect it will be a Kerr like Hammy and Hunt just looked like an old man.

Had no injury free men on the bench in the last quater Millsy looked like he had a corky.

You heading to Wagin next week Mm? Maybe the Eagles will take a few out of Claremont for you, I mean, they could do worse!

Kersten, is he looking like a gun and GWS won't be able to resist? Or too early to tell?

You heading to Wagin next week Mm? Maybe the Eagles will take a few out of Claremont for you, I mean, they could do worse!

Kersten, is he looking like a gun and GWS won't be able to resist? Or too early to tell?

Gun.

Ninyette had one Robert Harvey on the phone to him Saturday night Im told, Saints are very keen.

Cant believe you had to ask :)

Gun.

Ninyette had one Robert Harvey on the phone to him Saturday night Im told, Saints are very keen.

Cant believe you had to ask :)

Well, I'm not going to Dampier, although my son asked!

Yes, Ninyette would be nice in the forward line or off the wing. Can't believe Swans turned him away MM, still haunting me!:eek:

Soft. :)

Souths are a good club like that, happily chip in to get a bus to take the diehards to the games in whoop whoop.

Well, I'm not going to Dampier, although my son asked!

Yes, Ninyette would be nice in the forward line or off the wing. Can't believe Swans turned him away MM, still haunting me!:eek:

Pretty sure he played colts at SF as a 16yo back in 2004 as well...it isn't just Swans who could have had him.

Swannies, in regards to Hinkley, in all honesty I reckon the fella has no chance of furthering his AFL career. Just seems to lack that hard edge of wanting to go that extra yard....doesn't have the silky skills or natural talent to wing it on pure ability alone like some AFL guys can. Yes he is quick, but I reckon pure speed isn't going to forge you a successful and long AFL career.

All good for SD though. at the WAFL level, having that extra leg speed will get you to an contest and away from a contest much more easily than what you would get in the more physical, body on body demands of AFL footy.