Mate killed

• Thread starter Thread starter Freakie

Freakie

Cool cool cool
10k Posts Pantskyle Brisbane Lions - Tom Rockliff 2012 Player Sponsor Brisbane Lions - Tom Rockliff 2011 Player Sponsor Brisbane Lions - Todd Banfield 2010 Player Sponsor
Brisbane Lions
The Roys FC
Sorry guys, I won't be posting anyhting today. The rider killed last night on Beach road was an old training partner. Feeling pretty numb.

RIP John.

Just found out some more details of the incident.

Alledgedly a woman opened her car door whilst parked directly opposite the Brighton baths causing John to take evasive action and was hit by a truck travelling in the opposite direction, that had just changed lanes.

His funeral will be in Tassie, but there will be a memorial ride organised in melbourne at some point.

RIP Corndog.

Condolences mate. But holy shit its a small world, if this was the accident near Hampton on Beach Rd I drove past the accident with all the ambos around and my brother a few car lengths up called 000. Apparently police might be pressing charges if this helps mate.

Just found out some more details of the incident.

Alledgedly a woman opened her car door whilst parked directly opposite the Brighton baths causing John to take evasive action and was hit by a truck travelling in the opposite direction, that had just changed lanes.

His funeral will be in Tassie, but there will be a memorial ride organised in melbourne at some point.

RIP Corndog.

I too knew John as he trained with the same squad as I during his tri days. Rest in Peace JC :(

I am sorry for your loss Freakie.

Freakie - I am not sure if you are aware but there is a John Cornish memorial ride on Friday. I have PM'ed you the details.

Cheers

The memorial ride this morning was a fitting tribute to John with approx 300 of his closet friends, training partners and collegues attending. Extremely moving to see his parents at the site of his death as we rode past.

RIP JC

The memorial ride this morning was a fitting tribute to John with approx 300 of his closet friends, training partners and collegues attending. Extremely moving to see his parents at the site of his death as we rode past.

RIP JC

I agree. I too was there and very moved. To be honest it left me a bit shellshocked and I am still yet to really get on a bike properly.

After the ride I came home and wrote this :(

"A “Ghost Bike” signifies a passing of a rider on our roads. It is a white bike that is usually chained to a pole. It is a memorial that serves as a remembrance of another life lost, often though we do not take second look :(. There are too many Ghost Bikes around Melbourne, there have been too many lives lost."

Has it? I'm still recovering from a busted collarbone so haven't been able to ride. I think the council did state that they wouldn't let it stay there permanently though from memory.

Yeah definitely still there although starting to get a bit faded and covered in grass clippings. Surprised Warney hasn't taken the bolt cutters down and got it though.