Matthew Lloyd

• Thread starter Thread starter Jars458

Originally posted by kirky

Our midfield and ruck division is superior to the Bombers. They don't travel well and given the game is outdoors at night (they play mainly under lights at Telstra - very clinical conditions) our advantage at AAMI will be more so.

Personally, I reckon we will win quite convincingly by 5-6 goals.

Agree with all of the above. We should dominate the centre square. This is the most confident I have been for weeks for this very reason.

I will be disappointed if we don't win by at least your predicted margin.

I'm quite confident about this week.

We seem to play well against the better teams and not as well against the lesser teams.

Crows by 6-7 goals

Cheers,

a.j.

i'm sure the bombers are flattered that ajmart sees them as one of the better teams...

i wouldn't pencil in a 6 goal win by the crows. i can see how it couldn't easily happen, and i agree with what alot of you are saying - the bombers dont travel well, the crows ruck division is alot stronger etc. etc.

i believe the bomber midfielders are no slouches... they may lack a little legspeed, but they can be pretty hard at the ball - the baby shampoo combo (johnson & johnson) are fierce customers, peverill likes the hard ball too.. then you've got the class of mr james hird..

crows definantly favourites, but really who knows what the margin will be..

Originally posted by go team
i believe the bomber midfielders are no slouches... they may lack a little legspeed, but they can be pretty hard at the ball - the baby shampoo combo (johnson & johnson) are fierce customers, peverill likes the hard ball too..

That's a fair point. It's probably the most notable thing we lack - toughness and an ability to really get stuck into the opposition in a physical and intimidation sense.

Case inpoint was when we played Port in the last Showdown. Port, extremely undermanned, came at us from the first bounce, wanted the 4 points and took them. While Ricciuto huffed and puffed and Carey is renowned for his intimidation and presence on and off the ball they showed nothing that night.

If Essendon come at us in a similar vein we'll be in for a real fight.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
What about Bickley???? He may not be good enough in the air for Lloyd as Bickley is a good player at ground level,would have the strength though to out muscle Lloyd, and he also has the speed to run with him, just a suggestion:)

With all due respects to Mark - whom I rate highly - he would be out of his depth - there is an old footy saying "a good big man will always beat a good small man" - not sure about the always but certainly most times.