Draft Profile Matthew Panos

Port Adelaide
Well most people in the mockdrafts section have Panos going to Port... so, any insight on him?

Pros/Cons/potential/player comparisons/where should he be drafted any1?

I've seen a few youtube vids of him dominating smaller guys, from that it looks like he is a good mark.

i havent seen him heaps so im not the best to comment, but from what i have seen he is a good mark, and very accurate kick. the problem is he is a bit of a one trick pony as other then lead mark and shot he doesnt do much else.

personally reminds me of jack anthony, minus the attitude and maybe just a little less dead eye in front of goal.

will go anywhere from 10-20.

i havent seen him heaps so im not the best to comment, but from what i have seen he is a good mark, and very accurate kick. the problem is he is a bit of a one trick pony as other then lead mark and shot he doesnt do much else.

personally reminds me of jack anthony, minus the attitude and maybe just a little less dead eye in front of goal.

I reckon he'll go top 10. KPFs are hard to come by, especially considering the quality of this year's draft. Panos is one of the best on the market and it seems he'll walk straight into AFL too.

Also how tall is he?

192-193cm i believe though we'll find out his real height once DC comes around.

Already expressed my thoughts on him in the other thread dedicated to him. Very much going against the grain and what most people see to think on here but i'm not convinced he is as good a prospect as some make him out to be.

I reckon that plenty of people have latched onto that opinion, and I'm not sure it's true.

He's a smart player, he's good below his knees, and he's a good field kick as well as a good set shot, meaning that he's not at sea when he leaves the forward 50.

IMO, he's definite Top 10 material, and he'll be a more versatile forward than most around here are suggesting.

I'd be happy to pick him.

I think Daniel Bradshaw when it comes to Panos.

He'll be a good solid forward, who a team could rely on to kick 50-60 goals a season. He won't be a player that people come to the football to watch though.

Sounds perfect for us. We already have the entertaining players, we need the solid dependable ones now. Panos can be the bread and butter, Motlop can be the icing.

I reckon that plenty of people have latched onto that opinion, and I'm not sure it's true.

He's a smart player, he's good below his knees, and he's a good field kick as well as a good set shot, meaning that he's not at sea when he leaves the forward 50.

IMO, he's definite Top 10 material, and he'll be a more versatile forward than most around here are suggesting.

you would certainly know better then me, im just going on the few games ive seen:thumbsu:

192-193cm i believe though we'll find out his real height once DC comes around.

Already expressed my thoughts on him in the other thread dedicated to him. Very much going against the grain and what most people see to think on here but i'm not convinced he is as good a prospect as some make him out to be.
I hope they pick Panos for need like Lobbe so another player falls to our pick...

Common opinion has Melbourne looking at the remaining tall forwards with pick 18 if they take Scully and Trengove with 1 & 2.

Looks like Panos is a slight chance and Ive seen him play, but does anyone know how he has been going since the carnival? Any comments on form or stats? Is he listed with an SANFL side or does he just play for his college?

I just don't see how he'll be available at pick #18...

To compare him to two SA KPFs from last year, I rate him higher than Lewis Johnston and Ryan Schoenmakers, who went at #12 and #16 last year in a stronger draft for KPPs, though admittedly, Hawthorn drafted Schoenmakers with the intention of making him a defender.

I rate him higher than Jarrad Grant too, and he went at #5 in 2007.

Maybe I'm wrong about him, but I get the feeling I'll be vindicated come draft day.

I just don't see how he'll be available at pick #18...

To compare him to two SA KPFs from last year, I rate him higher than Lewis Johnston and Ryan Schoenmakers, who went at #12 and #16 last year in a stronger draft for KPPs, though admittedly, Hawthorn drafted Schoenmakers with the intention of making him a defender.

I rate him higher than Jarrad Grant too, and he went at #5 in 2007.

Maybe I'm wrong about him, but I get the feeling I'll be vindicated come draft day.

Yeh I have him being taken by the bulldogs in my phantom draft and many have him even higher so only an outside chance for Melbourne. If he is dominating at his club level it would push him higher for sure - thats why Im interested.

I dont rate him quite as good as Johnson or Shoenmakers. Mainly because he's a stay at home/out of the goalsquare type and a little one dimensional. I can only think of Lloyd and Fevola who who are similar at AFL level and they are absolute guns. What he does do he does very well though - very strong, smart leader, very sure hands in the air and below the knees, long straight kick.

I think I also rate Johnson and Shoenmakers higher than others so I could be wrong.

You might be seeing something in Panos that I've missed. I guess we will see come draft day, but that is a rather big call.

A lot of people get caught up in ranting and raving over all the different things that a player can do - Panos might not tick any of the boxes, but footy is not a yes/no game.

You could argue that Setanta O'hAilpin ticks more boxes than Simon Prestigiacomo, but I know which one I'd prefer.

I feel that way about Panos - He might not be your "do everything" type of forward, where he can go up the field and take 15 marks a game as well as getting back with the flight and taking big contested grabs.

However, he's a smart forward, with strong hands, who knows when and where to lead, and he's good straight kick from anywhere out to 50m.

Skills are like cars, and if you want to compete in a car race, you're going to need a fast car - Having a whole fleet of Barinas isn't going to help you against a single Lamborghini.

Panos might not be versatile, but the things he does, he does better than any other forward in this draft, IMO.

A lot of people get caught up in ranting and raving over all the different things that a player can do - Panos might not tick any of the boxes, but footy is not a yes/no game.

You could argue that Setanta O'hAilpin ticks more boxes than Simon Prestigiacomo, but I know which one I'd prefer.

I feel that way about Panos - He might not be your "do everything" type of forward, where he can go up the field and take 15 marks a game as well as getting back with the flight and taking big contested grabs.

However, he's a smart forward, with strong hands, who knows when and where to lead, and he's good straight kick from anywhere out to 50m.

Skills are like cars, and if you want to compete in a car race, you're going to need a fast car - Having a whole fleet of Barinas isn't going to help you against a single Lamborghini.

Panos might not be versatile, but the things he does, he does better than any other forward in this draft, IMO.
Sounds like Jack Anthony is the type of forward you should build around ahead if a Josh Kennedy or a Mitch Clark are still on the board.

I'd take the big guy who can clunk a contested mark.

Sounds like Jack Anthony is the type of forward you should build around ahead if a Josh Kennedy or a Mitch Clark are still on the board.

I'd take the big guy who can clunk a contested mark.
Your first sentence doesn't make any sense. :confused:

Scott Lucas had more tricks in his bag than Matthew Lloyd - It didn't make him a better player.

The recruiters said of Fevola pre-draft "Nothing (about his game) really stands out". I'm not saying Panos is the next Fev (most unlikely) but you must judge a player by their all-round game rather than any one attribute. You can also look that extra bit closer to find a strength such as speed off the first five metres in Fev's case.

no way can i see panos slipping outside the top 10 in a weak draft. a key forward which is a rare species in this draft and he looks quite impressive. not sure if it was just the SA jumper but he does look a bit like pavlich (at the same age) the way he moves.