DJ Dupree

Dragons, Rovers
How do Richmond supporters generally rate this man? I had a bit of a debate last night with some people, their argument being that 'he's not a legend because of the way he loses it at his team-mates, the sprays he gives them, and the way he seemingly throws the towel in when it gets tough'.

My argument was 'he is a legend; anyone who has kicked over 700 goals must be, the record speaks for itself.' And I've always felt sorry for him, being in a losing team for so many years must be frustrating, hence the sprays. With good delivery into the forward line, and with more wins than losses on the board sometimes, he wouldn't be known for the attitude. I think he just wears his heart on his sleeve.

I'd have him at the Roos any day. Honest thoughts- have you Tiges supporters ever wanted him out, or is the general consensus that he is a legend of the club?

How do Richmond supporters generally rate this man? I had a bit of a debate last night with some people, their argument being that 'he's not a legend because of the way he loses it at his team-mates, the sprays he gives them, and the way he seemingly throws the towel in when it gets tough'.

My argument was 'he is a legend; anyone who has kicked over 700 goals must be, the record speaks for itself.' And I've always felt sorry for him, being in a losing team for so many years must be frustrating, hence the sprays. With good delivery into the forward line, and with more wins than losses on the board sometimes, he wouldn't be known for the attitude. I think he just wears his heart on his sleeve.

I'd have him at the Roos any day. Honest thoughts- have you Tiges supporters ever wanted him out, or is the general consensus that he is a legend of the club?
I love him, I would turn for him.
And people who think he throws the towel in clearly don't ever watch him because they couldn't be more wrong

I wouldnt want anyone else in the foward line of our club, hes one of the many reasons why i go to the footy every week.
Get your hands off him DJ!

richo to be is the heart and soul......even more his presence around the ball makes you stand on your feet, scream! have faith...... last night last quarter i beleive two against one near the boundary line he chased i think carrazo or gibbs down slung to the ground and it gave enough time for a team mate to come in and help out! the efforts this man shows as year go on is amazing! he has learnt from his outbursts and his leadership now in the last few years is unbeleivable!

well done big man!

Richo is a legend, anyone who says otherwise loses a lot of respect from me. 750 goals, and he wouldve missed almost 3 seasons through injury, and hes had the worst delivery forward for his whole career, and hes had to cope with 6 defenders all over him his whole career. People who say he gives up or anything similar couldn't have any less idea, he is one of - if not the - hardest workers at the club, watching him last night he is amazing. There was one occasion when Judd or Murphy was free on the wing, and richo sprints after them, albeit with no chance of catching them, but that doesnt matter to him, he just keeps going. Legend.

I think your pals have missed the point, DJ. Richo is the master of self-flagellation - his occasional histrionics are merely a manifestation of the frustration he inflicts upon himself. Thank Christ he's not a golfer - I swear he'd have sent himself to an early grave by now.

Of course, all of us remember the episode a few years back where he gave Dave Rodan a spray for messing up a handball in the goal square. And yet so few recall that it was Richo that accompanied that player into the huddle with his arm around him, pumping him up and getting his head back into the game. And that, my Kanga friend, is indicative of Richo around the club. He is just so loved and respected by his Tiger colleagues - his commitment, humility, strength, loyalty and his heart.

The positive effects of Richo's infectious enthusiasm when things go right for him and the team far outweigh any possible negative side-effects that may result from the occasional throwing of hands in the air at yet another poor delivery from up the ground or questionable umpiring decision aimed toward him.

He never drops his head.

I agree with everything thats been said in this thread.

Richo is Richmond, never gives up and is the one to get the team going. If it wasnt for him we would of had won alot more spoons in the 90's/00's.

I love him, I would turn for him.
And people who think he throws the towel in clearly don't ever watch him because they couldn't be more wrong

one of the biggest misconceptions about Richo from opposition supporters and god it shits me. Last night while watching the game with 4 Carlton supporters (my mate, his mum, sistere and sister's friend) they got stuck into him all the time for being a sook and chucking it in when things don't go his way.

Funny at the end of the game when Richo had kicked a bag and none of them even realised it:rolleyes: Then I took the opportunity to remind them of Fev sook at Subiaco last season and boy didn't that irritate them:D

Our future looks bright and Richo will want to be a part of it. He'll play until he is 38. He is running around like a 27 year old. He'll easily play another 3 years and finals will spur him to play 5-6 years more. That's half the length of an average footy career left. We have many more years of Richo. How could anyone say he will retire in a year or 2? His body and enjoyment of playing says 350 games fore the big man. Not bad for a guy who missed a season with an ankle, half a season with a knee. He's missed about 3 seasons with from injury all together. He's kicked 750 goals and he'll reach 1000 goals. If he's 2/3 of the way through his career then he may get to Locketts record. I honestly think he's a chance. Let him run around at half forward for the next 3 years. Then put him in the goal square for his last 2 years and play him off the bench.

He deserves success for what he's given over the years. Unlike Everitt, he's never looked to greener pastures for immediate gain. He's a one club man, and deserves the ultimate at Richmond.

Come on Tigers! ....(after North, of course.. :))

He deserves success for what he's given over the years. Unlike Everitt, he's never looked to greener pastures for immediate gain. He's a one club man, and deserves the ultimate at Richmond.

Come on Tigers! ....(after North, of course.. :))
we aint gona go easy on u next sunday.....;)

What can you say about the big unit. Should have had 4 by quarter time, ended up with 5.2 and the usual 40 million marks. But in the last quarter when a carldung defender thought he was going to get passed Richo who was on his knees, he just put the big paw out and said where the **** are you going, the balls spills and another 6 pointer sails through. The guy is a machine, dont think he looks any different now than he did when he first started. ;)

There are so many better forwards than Richardson, under pressure he can't kick straight, he probably has lost more games for Richmond than he has won. Yes I know he kicked 5 last night, was one of his once off games, and ofcourse sprayed a couple along the way. :thumbsu:

If Richo is your heart and soul, well you have atleast 4 or 5 years of pain to go. :)

There are so many better forwards than Richardson, under pressure he can't kick straight, he probably has lost more games for Richmond than he has won. Yes I know he kicked 5 last night, was one of his once off games, and ofcourse sprayed a couple along the way. :thumbsu:

If Richo is your heart and soul, well you have atleast 4 or 5 years of pain to go. :)
Piss off.
Or read this: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=423885

Bwaahaaahaaa, you poor simple muppet. Get with the program dude. You are shit..we have looked ordinary but last night your shit kickers looked like a suburban footy side. Hold on, i know...your heart and soul is Sentanta Ohelpless and his bro Asahi or whatever the **** his name is. Love the way he celebrates "a goal". You must see it as the answer to your problems..you stupid fools. ;)

at least we have a heart and soul to be proud of mate...who have the Blues got

1 game Juddy??
Dunce Fevola??
Stevo the Pie Man??
Bryce Squibbs??

shall I go on:o

I'll take Richo anyday of the week over the downhill skiers that populate your side:thumbsu:

*hook, line and sinker*

Even many rival supporters have a soft spot for Richo. He is such a strange combination of athleticism, skill and theatrics. Crowds love to watch him and some of his actions are quite comical but his marks are fantastic .
Despite the critics on his goalkicking he has still kicked over 700 goals and at 33y.o. looks as good as he he did in the 90's.He has greatly improved his antics towards other players and is a Tiger through and through.I feel sorry he probably wont see a premiership (not his fault)-which seems to be essential criteria for legend status

you're right Boofhead, 11 in a 100 years of football:p

He only has that many goals because of Richmond drafting shit forwards for years n years, so he's the only one they have kicked too, and as I said, he has probably lost more games than he has won for Richmond. You won't win a flag with him in the side, or most of your list really...