Mattner Dropped

• Thread starter Thread starter Drummond

Getting dropped isn't surprising, as he got slaughtered by Ebert. But then again, he shouldn't have been playing down in the first place. Craigy's determined to turn a natural attacking better than wingman into a defensive back pocket fringe player.

If I was him, I would be looking elsewhere. You can guarantee there would be more than one club out there that would want a toughs as nails, break the lines, dashing wingman. Good luck to him. One of my favourite players.

Getting dropped isn't surprising, as he got slaughtered by Ebert. But then again, he shouldn't have been playing down in the first place. Craigy's determined to turn a natural attacking better than average wingman into a defensive fringe back pocket player.

If I was him, I would be looking elsewhere.
Meesen + Mattner could fetch us something pretty decent...

I cannot believe Craig keeps Douglas and yet drops Mattner. Unbelievable really.

Where to for him? Trade bait? :(

Well done Neil Craig. :thumbsd:

You know what one day i might come on here and you will actually have something of worth to say, and even something positive?...... pffffffffffffffft not bloody likely. Stop bagging the coach, and the team. Or better still buy a new record yours is cracked.

All I'll say is that what has happened to Mattner this year has been nothing short of idiotic and a tragedy.

Congratulations to the coaching staff for turning an attacking effective wingman into an uncertain dithering backman. :thumbsd:

As I predicted earlier in the week. Certainly no surprise.

NC obviously prefers others to him on the wings and if he's going to play in the backline then there's no point having him there. Stevens to play as the third tall, which is his best role within the side.

He's Sir Martin Brainfade. Has zero confidence and looks like he's been bonging on before games.

Prime trade material.

You know what one day i might come on here and you will actually have something of worth to say, and even something positive?...... pffffffffffffffft not bloody likely. Stop bagging the coach, and the team. Or better still buy a new record yours is cracked.

In fairness though on this issue, I rarely criticize the powers that be, but this one has given me some grief as well for exactly the same reasons.

I cannot believe Craig keeps Douglas and yet drops Mattner. Unbelievable really.

Why is that, because he doesn't want to treat one of his best youngsters like a yo-yo? As we've been over numerous times, improvement in Richard is only going to result from time in the big league.

If others are prefered to Martin up on the wings, then there isn't a spot for him.

As I predicted earlier in the week. Certainly no surprise.

NC obviously prefers others to him on the wings and if he's going to play in the backline then there's no point having him there. Stevens to play as the third tall, which is his best role within the side.

He's Sir Martin Brainfade. Has zero confidence and looks like he's been bonging on before games.

Prime trade material

How can we get a good trade for him, when we continue to play him in a spot that makes him look like a dud? We seriously might as well delist him if this continues to happen.

All I'll say is that what has happened to Mattner this year has been nothing short of idiotic and a tragedy.

Congratulations to the coaching staff for turning an attacking effective wingman into an uncertain dithering backman. :thumbsd:

The voice of reason has spoken. Well said macca :thumbsu:.

In fairness though on this issue, I rarely criticize the powers that be, but this one has given me some grief as well for exactly the same reasons.

I agree with your sentiment Maccas, Mattners confidence will be shot. Hope he plays a blinder for us tho ;).

However the continual bagging of the club by drummond makes any decent point he makes void, cause its always cloaked in bagging.... or his self serving Norwood BS

Is the whole MattnerGate saga a sign that Craigy is too obsessed with defense? The "Mattner Express" is sadly heading to the locomotive junkyard with me still onboard.

Mattner has had a poor year. Yes, I agree that he should never have been moved to defence in the first place, he was always a far better player on the wing, but still, you play where the team needs you. Like Shirley and Doughty it was a fair decision to drop him based on form. I only wonder if Drummond would be so annoyed if Pfeiffer was the one taking his place, or Campbell. :D

Meesen + Mattner could fetch us something pretty decent...

The sad thing is Mattner by himself should be worth a hell of alot. Unfortunately, his stocks may have dropped so badly ( thanks to the coaching dept) he may have to be packaged with other players to get any interest.

he gets some interest from Port, I reckon Chocco would appreciate his natural talents.

It's a moot point anyway because we won't put Mattner up for trade unless it's to get us something we want. It's not like he can't get a game, he's played most games this year. And we do actually need more than 22 players. It's called depth.

Where to for him? Trade bait? :(

Well done Neil Craig. :thumbsd:

wait so as soon as anyone gets dropped from the AFC for a game or 2, they're instantly going to be traded when the year's complete?

drummond, i think what you have to understand is that not every move made by the AFC is going to suit you, but you have to deal with it. you cannot change any decision made by the coaching staff and whenever you don't get your way you carry on and whinge and moan.. basically you're just very immature when it comes to selections and whatnot.

It's the Adelaide footy club, not drummond's footy club. Instead of whining like a girl, take it like a man and move on.

You're a great poster and there's no doubting you know your stuff but god... take it on the chin, they're not trying to jeopardise the club FFS, this is what they think is right! you don't have to agree but you also don't have to whinge and act like an idiot.

Well put. He is one of my favourite players who has been played out of position this year and given no confidence from the coaching panel.

Crows loss. Sturt's gain.

I agree with your sentiment Maccas, Mattners confidence will be shot. Hope he plays a blinder for us tho ;).

However the continual bagging of the club by drummond makes any decent point he makes void, cause its always cloaked in bagging.... or his self serving Norwood BS
Stop backtracking.

You attacked Drummond on an issue everyone agrees with him on and now you're running scared.

The reason you posted was to criticise him for posting on this issue, in this thread.

Stop backtracking.

You attacked Drummond on an issue everyone agrees with him on and now you're running scared.

The reason you posted was to criticise him for posting on this issue, in this thread.

Read my initial post and get back to me i never disagreed with what he said, on mattner being dropped. Only that he never stops whinging about the club, putting the club down or basically not supporting anyone else other than whats on Drummonds personal agenda.... worry about your own side eh?

Oh and you might want to re read the thread seems alot saw this coming??

Cant bag NC on this board the 'girls' (nikki and AG) will have you for breakfast if you do, even if what is typed is completely on the money.

Mattner has been ruined by more NC stubborness:mad:

Cant bag NC on this board the 'girls' (nikki and AG) will have you for breakfast if you do, even if what is typed is completely on the money.

Mattner has been ruined by more NC stubborness:mad:

Marty i am very choosy who i choose to consume for breakfast.....

Read my initial post and get back to me i never disagreed with what he said, on mattner being dropped. Only that he never stops whinging about the club, putting the club down or basically not supporting anyone else other than whats on Drummonds personal agenda.... worry about your own side eh?

Oh and you might want to re read the thread seems alot saw this coming??

Well duh sometimes you have to be negetive but the facts are still correct.

I would be interesting to hear what Marty has to say on his year. Last year he played so well on the wing. He's just not suited to playing down back so why persist and make him something he's not?