Toast Matty Taberner

'needs more agro too. A very timid player, possibly related to his slight stature.

I'll be a sad day when we lose the class and power of PAV.

Slight! He may have been but when he came out on the oval I was thinking he was quite well built. His muscles are rounding out in all the right ways. He may not yet understand he is not slight anymore.

I thought that was a great game, stats don't do it justice. He played the role of a 2nd key forward well. Worked hard. Didn't cross paths with Pav and allow his defender 3rd man up. When Pav was outside the 50, lead into the corridor and crashed the pack.

Looks a natural forward. Has the timing and running patterns to get a lot more of the ball. Needs more bulk, but wasn't thrown about ala Clarkes early days. Very promising. Will combine well with Apeness in time who is a contested marking machine. However, not quite the aerobic beast that is Taberner.

To put it simply; he has:

a) workrate
b) great athleticism for someone his size
c) forward nous
d) skills

Needs to work on:

a) aggression
b) holding his feet in contests
c) strength in marking contests
d) demanding the football

When he does those, we will have some sort of player. For now, he will get pushed around too easy in big games. Have liked what he has displayed though in terms of potential. Yesterday was a good start but still needs to work his weaknesses which is fine for someone of his age.

Two goals and some poor umpiring decisions would've resulted with more goals too.

For me our forward structure seemed to work pretty well with Tabs as an extra tall target.With Walters probably out for the rest of year we'll probably see tabs a lot more in 2014.

If Tabs was a direct switch for Hannath in the forward line then he gets a tick from me.
Overall, more good than bad and ditto much of what was said above except for the snd / andrew99 sniper fest.... can't they go somewhere else to play? Interrupts many a good discussion with their c**p

Two goals and some poor umpiring decisions would've resulted with more goals too.

For me our forward structure seemed to work pretty well with Tabs as an extra tall target.With Walters probably out for the rest of year we'll probably see tabs a lot more in 2014.
Out for the year? Am I missing something? I thought it was 12 weeks.

A long way to go.

Not sure why we have a toast thread for a bloke who only touched the footy 6 times in an entire game.
Because he
-hit the packs hard
-provided a contest
-kicked a couple of goals
-Has exceptional leading patterns
-it was his 5th game.
Add to that the fact he should have probably had 1 or 2 more goals from free kicks and he played an excellent game for a second year KEY FORWARD, something we are very light on.

It was a pretty good performance. It wouldn't be easy for a young tall coming into the side either ... a bit of continuity and confidence would help a lot.

A few of the chopping the arms ... he could probably absorb that and still take those marks when he gets stronger. So not hard to see where he could easily get on the scoreboard more with simply improving his strength (which is easy enough to do, rather than learning how to actually play as a forward).

Because he
-hit the packs hard
-provided a contest
-kicked a couple of goals
-Has exceptional leading patterns
-it was his 5th game.
Add to that the fact he should have probably had 1 or 2 more goals from free kicks and he played an excellent game for a second year KEY FORWARD, something we are very light on.

Yeah mate, fair call. I'm just wary of getting over excited.

If Tabs was a direct switch for Hannath in the forward line then he gets a tick from me.
Overall, more good than bad and ditto much of what was said above except for the snd / andrew99 sniper fest.... can't they go somewhere else to play? Interrupts many a good discussion with their c**p

The point is that there was a good conversation going until someone, who clearly understands the game on the level of an amoeba, came in and called Taberener "timid'. Which is utter bullshit.

Dry your eyes.

Just a little observation on Tabs and Pav they both play the forward role the same way .
Neither is a crash and bash KPP , both rely on judgement of when to fly or give a lead into space .
Both read the ball off the boot very well ,the difference right now is about 295 games in experience and 15kgs.

I reckon he's already filled out quite a bit from just 12 months ago. I think he's more in the Fyfe mould than the Notte one.

Kid's got a monster pair of mits on him too, will start to clunk them as he grows in confidence.

'needs more agro too. A very timid player, possibly related to his slight stature.

He's 197 cm tall. Stature is no problem.

Build is probably still a little light though. He's stacked on a goodly amount of weight over the past year though. Good signs... doesn't appear to be a hard-gainer from the looks of the last year.

Yeah it's stretching the lingo to think "slight stature" is an accurate description these days if it ever was.Taberner is 197 and 90 kg;a big lump who's getting bigger with an international airplane tank attached.
Was very serviceable yesterday and is improving with every hitout;has a lot going for him and it is very timely for us.

A long way to go.

Not sure why we have a toast thread for a bloke who only touched the footy 6 times in an entire game.

He touched it a couple more times than that, only to have his arm chopped off... followed by deafening silence from the ump's whistle. Really don't know what is going on with arm chops and head/back punches this season. If he'd had an absolutely flagrant one paid, he'd have kicked as many goals as Pav. Pretty decent return for a rookie.

A long way to go obviously, but folks have been toasted on this forum for a lot less.