Injury Max King's knee

• Thread starter Thread starter Mowman

The worst part about all this is the club just treats us like absolute morons with no right of reply.
It's bad enough we have been bad for pretty much my whole 40 years on this earth and they take support from fans like me and so many more of us for granted and just know we stick fat because that's what you do.. but to treat us like re*****s with this is just beyond arrogance.
We are not a serious football club. The pathetic performance round 0 and to not even blink an eyelid after letting us down for the 487,521st time is pathetic stuff. Now for the cherry on top of the cake they continue to bull**** about Max when they know we all know that is what they are doing.
This club makes me sick.

When was the last time he was at AFL fitness? Surely when Ross is talking about him being “back in 3-4” he doesn’t mean back on field, but back in the team at training.

When was the last time he was doing full training?
under 15s

He has to balance keeping Max's spirits up and messaging to the fans. It must be ****ed being Max King right now.

I honestly think he'll get back this year but think round 4 plus a month of training and a few VFL matches gets him to half way through the season in all likelihood. About what I already imagined.

I'd honestly take half a season after a carefully managed fitness program to limit any more stuff ups and be quite happy with it. He's really a bonus at this stage.

I've been tough on him because of disappointment but after seeing him forlorn in that video I have nothing but sympathy for him. I'll pray to the footy gods that the poor campaigner gets a decent run at it.
Curious, what video are you referring to mate?

He has to balance keeping Max's spirits up and messaging to the fans. It must be ****ed being Max King right now.

I honestly think he'll get back this year but think round 4 plus a month of training and a few VFL matches gets him to half way through the season in all likelihood. About what I already imagined.

I'd honestly take half a season after a carefully managed fitness program to limit any more stuff ups and be quite happy with it. He's really a bonus at this stage.

I've been tough on him because of disappointment but after seeing him forlorn in that video I have nothing but sympathy for him. I'll pray to the footy gods that the poor campaigner gets a decent run at it.

We get to finals and he could be a wildcard

When was the last time he was at AFL fitness? Surely when Ross is talking about him being “back in 3-4” he doesn’t mean back on field, but back in the team at training.

I talked to a friend who attends training most weeks who said he hasn’t even seen him join in full training let alone match sim.

So unless he’s cloud dreaming down there that means max would need to be injury free then have his training load increased. After that he’d need to join full training and comeback via the vfl.

Max wont have played a competitive game for 18 months at least.

I hope he makes it back but I’ve reached the stage where I’ll believe it when I see him run out.

Have to disagree. Ross was asked how far away he was and he said 2-3 weeks. Yes I know it's more nuanced than that with training etc but it's implied.

Love Ross. Think he's a bit full of it and defensive when it comes to Max.
He's trying to protect Max and stay positive at the same time. However, no Saints fan would be upset with them saying they're taking it extremely slow, and that's clearly what they're doing now, so not sure why they don't just come out and say that.

I meant our most recent messaging haha. Overall it's been horrible.

I'd like to think Morris was saying 'AFL return by round 8' factoring in that Max is going to spend time in VFL. But I get on exposed form his body is cooked and we won't see him again is more likely.
Even the recent messaging is all over the place.

Someone did the numbers on the VFL and it essentially showed hes no chance if he needs 2-3 VFL games before around 12 from memory.
He's trying to protect Max and stay positive at the same time. However, no Saints fan would be upset with them saying they're taking it extremely slow, and that's clearly what they're doing now, so not sure why they don't just come out and say that.
I reckon they are about a year and a few months too late for that now, theyve doubled down so hard theyre comitted to the 2-3 week line.

I also note his injury update remained TBH but now said calf/knee

It is only the opening round. I said I would give Max this season to show he can get on the park. I am sticking by it.
Fair enough. No-one knows if he can make it back or not. Doesn’t look very likely though. Bit of a fantasy I reckon to imagine he’s going to miss most of the year and come back after more than two years out and have a massive impact.

If they are telling the truth and it's no longer the knee giving him issues, then it is building up fitness so that he doesn't keep doing the soft tissue stuff. He'll get back at some point if that's the case.

Just frustrating all round because he can definitely be a Coleman level player of he can get consistency. At this point slow and steady is probably better than rushing him back.

Even if his impact is freeing others up it is worth having him in. Anyone that takes him lightly would look foolish pretty quickly.

The worst part of the whole King scenario is our doubling down on everything by not having a different option. How we don’t have a viable alternative at this point when he hasn’t played for two ****ing years is mind blowing. We want to compete now but only have Marshall, TDK, Dodson, Keeler and Caminiti as options for key forward (worst in the league?) cause we can’t admit what a disaster the contract extension was.

When Dougal ripped his arm out of the socket.

Once he’s cleared for full training, he will need 12 weeks from there before he plays AFL.