Player Watch Max Michalanney

I will go as far as saying he is the most impressive and important draft pick we have had since Sloane/Danger era....that clip above is quite insane. His composure, smarts and genuine skill/ability for a skinny first year back is remarkable.

GUN

I won't debate impressive, but Michaelanny is not our most important draft pick, and will never be that in this build. That's Thilthorpe and Rachele. Ultimately, whatever aspirations we have in the future rest in those two (+ Fog and Rankines) hands.

That said, the fact he's come in and looks a bonafide jet as a free hit does bode well from our future. It's damn hard to win a premiership without a concession pick going your way in this league.

I won't debate impressive, but Michaelanny is not our most important draft pick, and will never be that in this build. That's Thilthorpe and Rachele. Ultimately, whatever aspirations we have in the future rest in those two (+ Fog and Rankines) hands.

That said, the fact he's come in and looks a bonafide jet as a free hit does bode well from our future. It's damn hard to win a premiership without a concession pick going your way in this league.

What if Max turns into a mid?

Purely positional.
A very skinny, low possession medium sized defender going in the top 20 is a good sign
No doubt had MM show this potential in the U18 he would have went top 10 and had he show this potential in the SANFL he would possibly even been in the top 5 discussion. Some players just click and go up a level in the higher league.

He did though. The dude was playing as a medium tall in Norwoods preliminary final side against Adelaide as a skinny 17 year old. This is not a 'from the clouds' story, he showed this potential to even get into that position.

To our benefit, the football world does not really care about mid-sized defenders.

He did though. The dude was playing as a medium tall in Norwoods preliminary final side against Adelaide as a skinny 17 year old. This is not a 'from the clouds' story, he showed this potential to even get into that position.

To our benefit, the football world does not really care about mid-sized defenders.
Was he as dominate though? Because if he was then only Sydney was smart enough.

Had a couple huge moments in the last minute of yesterdays game too.
That last minute has so has so many learnings for such a young team:

• Max and esp Murray were great
  • Soligos non defensive kick not so much
  • Jones getting a fingertip tip stopping CJ getting a clear mark
  • Soligo partial smother (along with Murray’s)
  • Dawson playing spare full back role and barking orders
  • general defensiveness could have been improved still a little further getting the ball nearer to the boundary line
  • with normal Horks umps, Milera gets done for in the back (and Crows did catch a couple of breaks with Fog free kick from push and did have hands extended in back in last marking contest). Horks also threw the ball heaps..

I would gladly select Ben Hart as a top 10 pick... but I think he was 1.91m from memory.

Edit, no he was 1.88..
Hart was absolutely elite - top 3 to 5 type pick.

saved us in the first half 1998 GF. Clearly our best that half.

multiple AA and similarly composed to Max from day one but perhaps even more offensive (would need to check stats) but was AA in both his first 2 years wasn’t he?

I will go as far as saying he is the most impressive and important draft pick we have had since Sloane/Danger era....that clip above is quite insane. His composure, smarts and genuine skill/ability for a skinny first year back is remarkable.

GUN
Any chance his younger brother is likely to be draft worthy also in your view mate?

Was he as dominate though? Because if he was then only Sydney was smart enough.

No, but I do remember that he did his job rather well in the prelim against us.

It's quite likely there weren't many teams who were smart enough to recognize he was a safe selection at 15-25 though, but we'll never know. It's not a sexy position/role.

Ditto Nigel Smart who was 1.88m.

Talent is talent.
Absolutely, both truly elite and multiple AA and big time players, esp in 98 GF. And anyone watching Smart live at The G play Horks in 93 finals was wowed by elite athleticism, versatility and skills (inc goal kicking). Both absolutely worth top 10 picks - no question. Smart gave Dunstall an absolute bath in the first “Get some Hork on your fork” game in 1991. And Smart was the lesser talent overall.

Hart was absolutely elite - top 3 to 5 type pick.

saved us in the first half 1998 GF. Clearly our best that half.

multiple AA and similarly composed to Max from day one but perhaps even more offensive (would need to check stats) but was AA in both his first 2 years wasn’t he?
I agree with everything here. Though I want to point out that it’s unfair to compare directly with modern defending versus defenders from the 90s. Most of the forwards back then were pretty much stuck within the 50m arc and the defenders mainly were side-by-side with their forwards. This is why Hart rarely ventured into the midfield and didn’t need to show much attacking smarts. Max on the other hand, is showing what a very good modern defender should be doing - defend like a mad dog, charging up the midfield when the timing is right, and distributing elegantly with the forward entries. What is exciting for Max is that he is showing signs he could play up in the wings, and if his body is hardened, no reason why he can’t be tried as an inside-mid. He has the traits and footy smarts to be a potentially great utility player for us.

Wonder if he'll get one of Ginniven or Hill?
Needs to go their most dangerous, which imo is Elliott who is as good overhead as he is on the ground.

I agree but wouldn't be surprised to see Doods go to Elliot
I don't like Doedee playing on an opponent who needs to be locked down.

We made that mistake in round 1 when he played on Greene.

Hinge is the other one I would consider.

I agree with everything here. Though I want to point out that it’s unfair to compare directly with modern defending versus defenders from the 90s. Most of the forwards back then were pretty much stuck within the 50m arc and the defenders mainly were side-by-side with their forwards. This is why Hart rarely ventured into the midfield and didn’t need to show much attacking smarts. Max on the other hand, is showing what a very good modern defender should be doing - defend like a mad dog, charging up the midfield when the timing is right, and distributing elegantly with the forward entries. What is exciting for Max is that he is showing signs he could play up in the wings, and if his body is hardened, no reason why he can’t be tried as an inside-mid. He has the traits and footy smarts to be a potentially great utility player for us.
All true John and you clearly know your early Crows and 1990’s footy (how lucky in hindsight to have Ablett Snr, Carey, Dunstall, Plugger, Mods and even the “second stringers“ like Sumich and Longmire. Amazingly different exciting era.)

But interestingly one exception with Harts lack of offence was actually the 97 prelim - perhaps our most exciting game and climax ever ever based on what was ultimately on the line - that Hart ventured forward and actually had 5 shots on goal that day. All behinds. Despite exquisite skills it never converted to goal kicking accuracy with Benny.

The fact we - and Roo also who isn’t known for hyperbole on national TV - are even talking about Max in the same breath as Hart is an incredibly exciting thing for our future

If I were Nicks I’d call Max into my office first thing tomorrow morning, hold up a picture of Nick Daicos as say. “Son…

…do your thing”.

This kid would eat up the challenge. Yes, it unsettles the backline. And, yes, Max is essentially playing forward in that scenario…

But tell me that isn’t a mouth-watering match up…that might actually work.

Player Watch Max Michalanney