Maxwell Gets 4

• Thread starter Thread starter alfiiee

Fraser actually

Wont Scott Pendlebury be captain?

I was under the impression Pendlebury was the official VC with Fraser, Swan and Lockyer DVC?

Could be wrong but that would be an exciting change to see Pendles lead us out in round 1.

Wont Scott Pendlebury be captain?

I was under the impression Pendlebury was the official VC with Fraser, Swan and Lockyer DVC?

Could be wrong but that would be an exciting change to see Pendles lead us out in round 1.
Fraser VC and swan, pendlebury, lockyer dvc

Sorry but the league got this one 100% right.

If you ignore the ball and go for the man instead, you have a duty of care to the player you hit and if you hit them in the head with any part of your body accidental or not you run the risk of being reported. Maxwell did this end of story.

As for the penalty if maxwell hadn't have had a bad record & pled guilty it would have been much lower.

These are the facts which are irrefutable.

This is taken from the Age article linked here: http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/maxwell-hard-hit-by-bump/2009/02/17/1234632812113.html?page=fullpage#contentSwap1

Counsel assisting the AFL's Jeff Gleeson, SC, argued that Maxwell had a realistic alternative to contest the ball rather than apply the bump and that his conduct was unreasonable and high in the circumstances.

But Maxwell claimed that had he gone for the ball instead of laying the bump, his momentum would have forced him across the boundary line and cost his side a two-on-one player advantage.

He said that had he pulled out of the bump, coach Mick Malthouse would have been "bitterly disappointed to say the least" especially considering he is captain.

Maxwell argued the shepherd was fair and was executed exactly how the Magpies were taught.

"My feet did not leave the ground, elbow was tucked in and I bumped as best I could shoulder to shoulder," Maxwell told the tribunal.

This is where the game is going to be changed forever. Clubs are going to have to adapt to the new rulings and change their gameplan accordingly. If they are to persist with laying hip and shoulders to take a player out in a 2 on 1 situation then they run the risk of suspension if they accidentally hit the head.

It's a sad day IMO but that is what the ruling is so Maxwell, Malthouse and the club will have to adapt accordingly.

I believed the fair penalty to be 1-2 weeks. Given that if all players ran around doing what Maxwell did, we would have some pretty poor feeling guys out there, unable to continue to give us a contrubution due to injury.

The first suspension given was three weeks, which was in my estimations 1-2 weeks too severe. On appeal, a more incompetent panel ruled it to indicate the same level of severity, to a hay making KICK THE GUY ON THE GROUND Satana O'help me.

This incident will FULLY indicate to me that I am right in saying, that now days, we are PISS WEAK, when in comes to standing up to this type of thing. Dementos and puppet Andy, can do what the hell they like, and we can't do a thing about it. We are puppets ourselves, putting up with rule changes, that seem to be made on a whim of the hob Knobs at the AFL. They don't even consider what clubs are saying. These guys at the top right now, will drive our game, anywhere they want to, and we will sit back and let them.

The direction is wrong, everyone knows it, but we are all ants, looking at a dung beetle, and how he rolls the dung into a ball, thinking, if we were big enough, we would do it differently. But like Hopper said on Bugs, if those ants realise they out number us 100-1, they would beat us. (or words to that effect). Point is, no one realises how anymore. Slowly but surely any right we have as a supporter, to choose any direction for our game, is squeezed out.

In politics, we have a chance to vote a change, in AFL, we have no say, nor have the clubs, and we're all o.k with this??? We would have to be o.k with it, because it is currently the way they do it. If we were against it Dementos would have to have a challenger every 4 years. He doesn't, he is like the king that no one can do anything about.

OUT: Dementos IN: Eddie McGuire
Anderson Kevin Sheedy

Lets get someone in there that KNOWS about Footy. Not some under 19s North player and his puppet.

Thats enough screaming for one little ant;)

A disgusting decision by the tribunal. I never have much sympathy for Collingwood but you guys have every reason to be pissed off. This one is nearly as bad as the Micheal Johnson 4 week suspension in NAB cup a couple of years ago.

What makes it worse is that you know as the season goes on such a bump will not even be sighted.

A disgusting decision by the tribunal. I never have much sympathy for Collingwood but you guys have every reason to be pissed off. This one is nearly as bad as the Micheal Johnson 4 week suspension in NAB cup a couple of years ago.

What makes it worse is that you know as the season goes on such a bump will not even be sighted.
True and I bet when someone does a Simmlar thing in the Season Proper they get off or get a Week Tops

Sorry but the league got this one 100% right.

If you ignore the ball and go for the man instead, you have a duty of care to the player you hit and if you hit them in the head with any part of your body accidental or not you run the risk of being reported. Maxwell did this end of story.

As for the penalty if maxwell hadn't have had a bad record & pled guilty it would have been much lower.

These are the facts which are irrefutable.

Actually Royboy, this is where I will have to dissagree with you. How many weeks did the Brisbane player get for ending Caraccella's career early? If I remember correctly it was nil! Did he have a duty of care?

AFL is a team sport, and weather you go for the ball or you take a player out of the contest so that your team mate gets the ball is the same thing. Players should be conditioned that once they enter the playing field they should expect contact, including front on contact. Only then will they develop awareness around them at all times, avoid injuries and save us all from wasting time and posting on boards on non-issues.

Tim Notting had no case to answer, he didn't need to have a duty of care as they were the rules at the time.
But due to Malthouse's constant sooking after that incident the AFL brought in the Duty of care stipulation.
So maybe he is the one you should be angry at?:p

Really tough break to get 4 weeks! The outcome of the bump wouldn't have helped but worst case scenario I still would have thought 2 weeks tops. It's like Russian Roulette at the AFL Tribunal now days.

I guess I could be called a hybrid old school supporter I don't like the bumps to the head when a player is picking up the ball. I'm all for that being penalised but I really saw nothing wrong with the Maxwell bump ball was there and laid a clean but tough shepard. Those kind of bumps I do not want to lose and still love seeing!

Maybe Maxwell should have laid a boot into him afterwards then it would have been less of a penalty. :p