Maxxyyy Hudghton

Plop Scarlett into Melbourne's defence and he won't look half as good. Milburn & especially Harley don't get enough praise for their efforts. Harley is always there to intercept the lead. Milburn can read the play and goes back to help when needed. No doubting he has good drive from the backline but he is their to defend.

2 spoils? Against the best forward in the game?
Lucky for him Buddy is a horrible shot for goal, he let slip 9 shots at goal.

Max is the better fullback
Scarlett is the better rebounder

Good work, but unfortunately it doesn't quite work like that. For instance Max only conceded 2 goals to both the Fev and Franklin (the others came from frees against Gwilt and Gilbert respectively), I think only 1 or 2 to the Pav (the rest were on Blake and Gilbert or Fisher from memory), 0 to Thompson. Scarlett last night only conceded 2 goals to Franklin (7 scoring shots though) and I'd assume you could say the same for some of his other opponents.

Yeah i knew it worked like that but does anyone know where to get those kind of stats. Complicated stuff.

MAxy is such an important part of our club. Hope he doesn't have a major injury, major blow if he did. Our defence is so disorganised without him. Would've helped if we had a fit maguire as well but that's just the way footy is

**** this shit

He's probably only second to Riewoldt in terms of importance to our club.

Anyone know what exactly the injury is?

If it's the old man injury again (a calf was reported at the time) you can scratch him for 2-3. He's been able to get himself up when written off before, but would be a difficult injury to recover from quickly.

Anyone know what exactly the injury is?

To be exact, he tore his soleus muscle. It runs from just below his knee to the heel. Just reading about it the sensation is compared to being shot in the leg and sometimes you can hear it. :eek: Sounds really serious.

One can only hope it's a minor one of those. Very painful just reading about it:(

Looks as though Max has been trolling thru BigFooty (and he is not happy) :

Saint Max Hudghton victim of 30-something injury

Dr Peter Larkins | July 29, 2008 12:00am

ST Kilda's Max Hudghton is likely to spend more time on the sidelines after he aggravated an existing calf problem on Saturday in Perth.
Hudghton went into the match with some soreness in the left lower leg and developed more problems during the first quarter, forcing him to sit out the game after playing only 11 per cent of match time.
Max may have been annoyed to hear that some media commentators suggested that calf injuries are more associated with older players near the end of their careers, but don't write yourself off just yet, Max, as there is hope.
What is true is that this type of injury does seem to plague older players and fans may recall that James Hird, James Clement and Wayne Carey all experienced recurring calf problems late in their careers.
This year Gary Ablett, Robert Harvey, Brad Johnson, Jamie Charman and Chad Cornes are just a few of the stars who have also all missed with calf problems.
The higher incidence in older players may be associated with increased fatigue, slower recovery and subtle changes in the quality of the muscle collagen tissue as athletes move into their 30s.
Certainly in my practice I see far more calf problems in recreational athletes over 30 than any other muscle injury.
Calf problems are the third most common soft tissue muscular injury in the AFL after hamstring and quadriceps (front of the thigh) injuries.
They can occur as an overuse fatigue injury low down near the achilles tendon or there may be a more sudden acute strain or knock to the calf area.
There are several different muscles contained in the calf region. The upper rounded area contains the powerful gastrocnemius, while the deeper, flatter layer includes the soleus.
Together they provide leg and foot control via the important achilles tendon. In general the lower towards the foot an injury occurs the slower it is to recover.

Most clubs expect to get one or two new calf injuries per season and while hamstring injuries get more publicity, calf and achilles problems are frustratingly slow to recover and are prone to high recurrence rates, so clubs take a more conservative approach to treating them these days.
Most calf tears take three to four weeks to settle and it is difficult for a player to run above a slow jogging pace until swelling and strength have returned to the injured area.
The long flight home from Perth may have added some extra swelling and stiffness to Hudghton's injury but he will undergo intensive physio this week.
Therapy will include stretching, careful massage, strength exercises and the use of a heel raise in his footwear.
Strapping has been used but is generally less effective than in other parts of the body.

Max is well known for his fierce competitive nature.
I'm sure he will show the same determination to recover from this "old man's" calf injury.

Who will replace Max?

Ferguson? I hope it's not Gwilt. Maybe Allen can be given a role down back?

Who will replace Max?

Ferguson? I hope it's not Gwilt. Maybe Allen can be given a role down back?

No one on our list can replace Max. However some will have to take his spot on the team. None of the ones you have named are capable of playing on the oppositions best forwards. Sam Fisher will probably get the full back job. I hope Gilbert can step up and play a bigger role. I would say Blake will have to play back as well. Goddard due to his height will probably need to stay in the back line.
Hoping Baker can come back into the side. I am also hoping Attard has a fast return to form ( about the same height as Gwilt).
I hope that Kosi can play on the ball again, because he was a valuable help in the defence.

The trouble with losing Max is that we inevitably lose any chance of Sam Fisher running forward.:(

No one on our list can replace Max. However some will have to take his spot on the team. None of the ones you have named are capable of playing on the oppositions best forwards. Sam Fisher will probably get the full back job. I hope Gilbert can step up and play a bigger role. I would say Blake will have to play back as well. Goddard due to his height will probably need to stay in the back line.

Agree. We have coverage, but it robs us of run. Time for Gilbo to step up.

Hoping Baker can come back into the side. I am also hoping Attard has a fast return to form ( about the same height as Gwilt).
I hope that Kosi can play on the ball again, because he was a valuable help in the defence.

The trouble with losing Max is that we inevitably lose any chance of Sam Fisher running forward.:(

Spot on mate. What I wanna know is Where the hell is BAKES? Talk about gone missing this year. He's not even on the injury list. Hasnt played all year and to me was one of our best taggers/defenders. X Clarke has been on available for weeks now? Whats going on down at moorabin? I demand answers!

Bakes would want to be playing, as again he's not on the injured list. X is again "test". I had hoped the information flow would improve this year, and clubs who try and not divulge injuries (to anyone bar their top 5 players) are kidding themselves. The other clubs know what is going on, and it just pisses the fans off.

JUSTIN Koschitzke is a certainty, and Max Hudghton is a possible inclusion for St Kilda's clash with Port Adelaide at Telstra Dome this Sunday, according to Saints vice captain Lenny Hayes.
Koschitzke missed the loss to West Coast through suspension, but Hayes said he was sure to come straight back in.
"He's a quality player, and I think we're a much better side when he's in it, so he should come back in," Hayes said of the NAB AFL 2001 Rising Star.
Hudghton injured a calf in the first term of last Saturday's game, but Hayes sounded hopeful that the team would regain the services of the experienced defender.
"I think we'll give Max up until Friday to see how he is. Robbie Harvey had something similar a couple of weeks ago, and he ended up getting up for the game, so I think we've just got to give him a bit of time and see if he can get up for training on Friday.
"We're just going to have to wait and see, but I don't think it's a major one, so he could get up for the game."

for saints.com.au

Pretty stupid comment. Banger played crap in that game (against Sydney) and should not have been passed fit to play. Was clearly injured.

Yeah, I reckon if he's so close to being available, still give him a week to seal the deal. There's no point rushing him back and worsening the injury when we're playing Port, and then have him being cruddy in the game against Collingwood.

And yes, I'm well aware that we shouldn't underestimate Port given what happened against the Water Closets, but that's still no reason to risk Maxy.

Yeah, I reckon if he's so close to being available, still give him a week to seal the deal. There's no point rushing him back and worsening the injury when we're playing Port, and then have him being cruddy in the game against Collingwood.

And yes, I'm well aware that we shouldn't underestimate Port given what happened against the Water Closets, but that's still no reason to risk Maxy.

Spot on. If the choice was rinking a repeat injury for Max or a loss against Port , I would prefer the loss.
The thing is , if we cannot win against Port without Max we have stuff all chance against the top sides with him.:thumbsu:

definitely spesh with tredrea out if hes not 100% n 95% dont risk him we need him much more 4 the pies game n we def should not even bother talking about playing finals if we cant beat port AND wce

I have been very pleased with Max's ability to stay on the park this year. I think he has doubled last year's games tally already this year. Just shows the value of David Mission. Done a very good job. Sure, there has been the odd hard luck story (Matt maguire, X.Clarke) but every club has a player or two suffering serious injury.

I hope Ross signs Mission up long term for fitness training.

I have been very pleased with Max's ability to stay on the park this year.

Agree, After early season problems, to play every game bar one is a credit to the training staff and to his own courage.

No doubt im ecstatic with maxys season he has been superb and id have to say has pushed up into my top 5 players for sure just when he sets his mind to it is brilliant ie. fev and franklin.

And his timing is sensational. Probs the one week we can do without him ahahha.

Doh, Im gonna live to regret saying that arent i? Just like I said with Kosi last week.
Edit your post now! Max is vital to team structure, without him our defence falls apart and we will probably be thrashed by 80+ points! :p