McGough

Hey, After hearing about McGough i'm pretty confident the Tigers will have a look at him. Was curious to see what you thoguht was a fair deal? Would you want Fiora? straight swap. As you need pace and skill in the midfield. Maybe Tivendale? but i feel we'd want more then. What about Zantuck? straight swap, he wants out of Tigerland too so maybe both parties happy? What do you think?

I'd be happy enough to keep McGough but if we trade I'd like to use him in a deal to improve our trade position. Something like McGough, O'Bree, McKee and pick 23 for a top 10 pick or those 3 and pick 7 for a top 3 pick. In a straight swap I can't any deal with Richmond at all. We have a lot of developing midfielders and talls. We don't need any more unless they are absolutely top shelp (hence the uselessness of late draft picks to us). Basically we need players through the middle with genuine burst pace and skill. Richmond don't have any.

jabso said:
McGough and pick 23/O'Bree for Tivendale?

You are giving up way too much for Tivendale. McGough for Tivendale should almost be a straight swap. Maybe add a 4th rd pick for Tigers to get deal over line. R Shaw beat Tivendale remember!

Parky said:
You are giving up way too much for Tivendale. McGough for Tivendale should almost be a straight swap. Maybe add a 4th rd pick for Tigers to get deal over line. R Shaw beat Tivendale remember!
We should be able to trade McGough for Akermanis and maybe O'Bree, Shaw and pick 7 for Judd according to that theory.

Fiora is easily one of the worst players in the AFL, you can stick that deal up your arse! Tivendale is a star and we have no chance of getting him. McGough is also a star but we will get next to nothing for him like we did with Heath Scotland. Mick Malthouse has thrown away another star, on ya mick you tool. I bet he will trade for the likes of Zantuck. Another matty lokan.

brentoncowell said:
Tivendale is a star and we have no chance of getting him... McGough is also a star...
:confused:

Can u please explain how u rate these two players as stars. This year neither player could command consistent performance in teams which finished 16th and 13th.

You have one player who is a beautiful kick, but is not hard at the ball, and more of a reciever... And the other is a supposed ball magnet, who cant kick and is too slow.

If they are such stars, why arnt they consistent senior performers in the top bracket of players.

And dont give me this crap about not given a chance, coz if they were good enough they wouldnt be considered trade bait at thier respective clubs, they have had plenty of opportunities.

brentoncowell said:
McGough is also a star but we will get next to nothing for him like we did with Heath Scotland. .

There's a guy on Dockerland - a very astute gentleman who has been following footy for at least 30 years judging by his posts - who really, really, really rates McGough. Desperately wants him at Freo, talks him up at every opportunity. Reckons that he's under-rated and under-appreciated, much in the same way that Yablett was at Hawthorn and Diesel Williams and Libba at whatever clubs they started at... perhaps even McPhee at Freo as a more recent example (although he was keen to go home)... :o

Anyway, thought you might be interested, a lot of other posters on Dockerland reckon this bloke has rocks in his head, but he is adamant that the boy has what it takes and would be a star if given the opportunities. I don't know much about him, apart from him being the guy with the eyeballs who won the Anzac Medal on debut.

He seems to polarise Pies supporters too, some say he's not given a fair go, others reckon he's a plain crab... But I tells ya - this Dockerland guy reckons McGough's the real deal.

ImperialPurple said:
There's a guy on Dockerland - a very astute gentleman who has been following footy for at least 30 years judging by his posts - who really, really, really rates McGough. Desperately wants him at Freo, talks him up at every opportunity. Reckons that he's under-rated and under-appreciated, much in the same way that Yablett was at Hawthorn and Diesel Williams and Libba at whatever clubs they started at... perhaps even McPhee at Freo as a more recent example (although he was keen to go home)... :o

Anyway, thought you might be interested, a lot of other posters on Dockerland reckon this bloke has rocks in his head, but he is adamant that the boy has what it takes and would be a star if given the opportunities. I don't know much about him, apart from him being the guy with the eyeballs who won the Anzac Medal on debut.

He seems to polarise Pies supporters too, some say he's not given a fair go, others reckon he's a plain crab... But I tells ya - this Dockerland guy reckons McGough's the real deal.
I reckon McGough's an outstanding young footballer.

I know he's slow and he is a dud kick, but he's always where the balls is and he's working on his kicking. He definitely turns it over less than the knockers thinks he does. As with Johnson and Licuria, there is definite hope in this area (which is not the be all and end all of the game, despite its name!).

I would play him on the ball 100 percent of my time if I were coaching next year. He could quite easily win the Brownlow if given enough faith in the middle. And I'm not talking about in the future, I'm talking about next year!

He is a genuine match winner. He does it quite regularly. In the two games he polled votes in this year (two consecutive seconds) he kept our side, which was without basically without all of our stars, within striking distance of Port and Essendon when they were running hot. He kicked goals and created plenty.

Your mate is an astute judge, but then I am biased, given that he shares my opinion. I however do not have a humble opinion. I am always right. McGough will be a very good pick up for whoever we're dumb enough to trade him to!

FIGJAM said:
He could quite easily win the Brownlow if given enough faith in the middle. !

That's exactly what my learned Freo friend said - hence the comparisons to Libba and Williams.
Still; can't see Freo making a play for him, which based on this appears to be a shame as we desperately need what he can provide - someone who's always where the ball is and is feeding it out to the fellas who can drive it forward.

Good luck to the young bloke. Hopefully for the Pies you'll keep him if he's going to show this sort of promise... it bites when your club trades someone away based on "not good enough / not what we need" and then they go and carve it up for another club. ;)

ImperialPurple said:
That's exactly what my learned Freo friend said - hence the comparisons to Libba and Williams.
Still; can't see Freo making a play for him, which based on this appears to be a shame as we desperately need what he can provide - someone who's always where the ball is and is feeding it out to the fellas who can drive it forward.

Good luck to the young bloke. Hopefully for the Pies you'll keep him if he's going to show this sort of promise... it bites when your club trades someone away based on "not good enough / not what we need" and then they go and carve it up for another club. ;)

Straight swap McGough for Pavlich.
Ooops not such a great player now is he?

My view on McGough is that we should give him 1 year to prove himself. He should be given the centre position for the first 6 weeks of the season. If he can get the clearances and be the in and under player he looks capable of being he will have proven his worth in that time. The lack of pace will be exposed in early season games and his kicking will be closely examined. If after 6 weeks it isn't working he loses the spot to another player and is brought back late in the season and given some easy stat roles to build his trade value and he gets traded.

I think he has huge potential as a ball winning clearance midfielder. The problem is we have too many poorly skilled players already and some of them have to go in this and the next off season. McGough and Jason Cloke are two under the pump but a few of our youngsters are not good kicks. When you add that to players who are just adequate like Lica and Johnson and then to our stars like Tarrant and Rocca who miss goals regularly we must raise the overall skill level significantly or we will never win a premiership. We have only a few players who have upper level skills and even Buckley is not as reliable in front of goal as we would like.

In 2002 2 things cost us a flag. Poor conversion from very gettable shots and no rucking capability. So far, a night and a day GF loss later, we haven't addressed either. At least the ruck looks promising. The problem is it is 2 to 3 years after it should have been the case. If do that with kicking skills we can forget a flag in the next 5 to 6 years because our best players will either be retired or on the downhill side of their careers. We can’t afford to muck around here. That’s what we’ve done for 40odd years.