mcmanus is finished

• Thread starter Thread starter Belnakor

Let's be honest.

Remember when he cost us the game in Tassie against St Kilda in 2005?
Remember his high tackle on LeCras last year in front of goal (that we thankfully got away with)?

Then there's tonight

He is a liability at the best of times. If he really was a servant of the club, he'd go. Now.

In a crowd of 34,000 I don't think you'll find 1 person willing to say that Macca is still an AFL quality player. You can't blame Macca for being useless, but you can blame the match committee for continuing to pick him.

Enough's enough. I don't care who they play instead of him. Ryley Dunn would be better.

Bad post.

Freo couldn't be worse off.

Yes Essendon and Melbourne are having bad seasons but they've won premierships, they get better.

Freo have never won a premiership and never seem to get better and as someone has said, with Mcmanus in the team they will continue to be the worst AFL club in history.

That is not a very nice thing to say actually. I think they just have to rebuild. Okay, it can take a long time. Must be frustrating to play finals footy in 2006 and just fall back the following year. I think this team is struggling with confidence right now and it must be damned frustrating for you supporters, and also the players. They will eventually get a win under their belts and then things will turn around hopefully a bit.

Am I wrong here?

How could McManus go home tonight and think in complete honestly and clarity "I am helping my team win football games"

I know in the past I have been critical of him, perhaps unfairly in my own judgment that he is not up to AFL standard... and often the reply is 'He is a champion and deserves to go out on his own terms' and often that reply is justified.

But I can't see it anymore, I honestly think that he is hurting our football club and I really think he should start to face that.

He has been a liability for 5 years and would never have played more than 100 games at ANY other AFL club.

I hope he doesn't ever pull on the Freo guernsey again, but I'm sure he will run out next week V Brissy....he is the cockroach

He has been a liability for 5 years and would never have played more than 100 games at ANY other AFL club.

I hope he doesn't ever pull on the Freo guernsey again, but I'm sure he will run out next week V Brissy....he is the cockroach

Again another 'supporter' getting a boner over our misfortune.

Are you a member Cynic?

Been following us long or did you jump on board when the going was good.

Early on he was good for us, in the tough times he was a shining light.

Some of you Mcmanus baggers are just johhny come lately morons.

You can criticise wihtout being a tosser - so Cynic let me just say ____ you moron

Are you a member Cynic?

You can criticise wihtout being a tosser - so Cynic let me just say ____ you moron
Wow... you really have wounded some picadores tonight.

Out of anyone past or present, Macca has been our hardest worker and most courageous player ever. As seen when he did his knees. Perhaps Hase could take a leaf out of his book before being allowed to call himself a footballer.

If there was someone to replace him, they would. But you can't reward crabs who are playing WAFL reserves, or who are lucky to be playing WAFL league.

So the equation is simple. And until then, people need to realise there is no-one better.

And we just don't know what agreements have been arranged behind closed doors. But he deserves far more respect than what he has been shown by so called "long term supporters". If you truly were, you would have sympathy and give him a whole heap more understanding than what has been dished out to him here.

Are you a member Cynic?

In our best year (2006) Macca was one of the teams best and consistent players.

I was all for giving McManus one more year this season as he was a vet and wasn't taking up the spot of a younger player. Thought he would show good leadership at training and put in good WAFL performances to give the players in the 22 some competition. However its Harvey that has buggered this up, his round 1 team was nothing short of awe full and has played Macca to the point of being hated by his supporters. I hate Harvey for making me think so poorly about McManus at the moment.

In our best year (2006) Macca was one of the teams best and consistent players.

I was all for giving McManus one more year this season as he was a vet and wasn't taking up the spot of a younger player. Thought he would show good leadership at training and put in good WAFL performances to give the players in the 22 some competition. However its Harvey that has buggered this up, his round 1 team was nothing short of awe full and has played Macca to the point of being hated by his supporters. I hate Harvey for making me think so poorly about McManus at the moment.

Macca was a consistant performer in the games we dominated as he ran free up and down the wings by himself. Watch any of the tight games in 2006 like the 3 finals, and you will find that McManus was average at best. Has been a liability since late 2006.

Thats a bit harsh, I remember seeing the clearance stats from 2006 and Macca and Hase absolutely dominated for us, so to say he was only good when he was by himself is not right. *I will try and find the stats in the next few days*

McManus still deserved his spot in the side for 2007 and I actually thought he had a decent enough season. However its all changed in 08, he looks out of his depth in every contest which is quite sad to see.

OMG Moo!!! A boner???!!! WTF???? :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Yeah i really love seeing us lose. I love having my 10 year old cousin who knows nothing about football take this piss when we do lose. I love going into work and copping it there too. I also love forking out the bottle of vodka i bet on the game today (even with a 20 point margin) when we still lose.

You could not be more wrong about my support for Freo. I was actually one of the ones who said they would barrack for freo BEFORE freo were even in existance...back BEFORE 94. I never followed the weagles, unlike some. BTW I'm not asking if you did, coz i dont care if you did. It was South Freo and the 'new' freo team for me.

I have probably watched 280+ games of the 300 that Freo have played. So I feel i can comment on what i see here. In the dark old days of the '90s when our list was pretty crap, McManus was an AFL standard footballer. He was not great, but he was okay. He would try and take on opponents too often and get caught HTB. Frequently the ball would go sailing over the top of Peter Manns head, or be delivered on the bounce to his feet - and frequently that kick was coming from McManus. If you dont believe me grab a tape of one of those games pre 2000 and watch for yourself. He would make bad decisions like handballing to flatfooted players & he couldn't really kick a goal from 50 on the run either. He did do some good things too, some of his possessions were clean. He could tackle well. He was quick. But he was one of the better players in a bad bunch. When we would lose in those days it was usually because the forwards were not getting the delivery from the midfield which he was part of. He has been costing us a lot more than just todays game.

When he lost the captaincy in 2001 I was happy that he was the first captain that we didn't delist straight away. I thought he had another year or so in him, more as a depth player. To this day i think that he should have hung up the boots in about 2003. The fact that he was our captain and one of our 'better' midfielders, and if you compare the midfield of the premiership teams of 2000 (Ess) & 2001 (Bris.) do you think Sheedy or Matthews would have picked him in their teams??? I know its hypothetical but the answer would almost certainly be no. His skills were just not good enough. That speaks volumes about where Freo was and still is at. We have hung onto this guy like he is some sort of legend when really he was just an average footballer.

That is soooo hurtful :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

He was never a shining light for us, seriously time has changed a lot of peoples perception of what his performances were like. Go back and watch some of his old games

No flag attainable while

Peake, Schammer, Mcmanus, Black, Thornton and to an extent J.Carr

are in the side...

Don't worry, at least a couple of those guys will be gone after this season ... to be replaced by Jason Johnson and Damien Peverill. :rolleyes:

This is no troll, just interested in what freo supporters are saying after the series of heartbreaking losses.
I have to say I think the club is going backwards playing blokes like MacManus, when it counted in the last 15 minutes of the match against Port he was terrible. A bad kick on the wing, getting caught in the backline, I almost reckon he cost you the game. I know the margin was close to 5 goals but it was about impetus at the time and he deflated the teams morale.
He was terrible against the Dogs also and as thankful as i was for him being bad i can understand the disenchantment of Freo supporters.
Chins up people Freo aren't that bad, no finals this year. But not far from playing finals and being a genuine powerhouse.
Just need to get rid of deadwood and trade people who do not want to be involved with the club. Get people in who want to play for Freo and bleed purple.