dockersfan

SF-Bulldogs, Perth Glory
[crossposted from wehavethepassion.com forum]

Whoa I can't believe the amount of media attention our club has atrracted. Its Thursday and it appears The Worst has had an article online nearly each day about the Coach or the Club, by the same jorno - surprise, surprise.

I've included the links for those who are interested in reading/listening;

Dockers stumble into danger zone 19-June

Inaccuracy leads to Dockers' fall 21-June

Connolly calls for cheers, not jeers 22-June

Chris on "Coach:back to back", plus listeners calls 20-June;

http://media.putfile.com/Chris-R12

http://media.putfile.com/Listeners-calls-R12

-------------

An interesting read from The Sunday Times Liam Bartlett's Dear Chris opinion;

http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/opinion/

It will be an interesting 2nd half of the season for our mob.

Do we trade or stick with the players we have? As per my reply in "Who Should Go?" thread.... Pav? Very protective of his shoulder. He is the sole star, consistent player - good for trading and he may want to return to SA if he feels that Freo finals is still some years away.

DF, I read this article from your wehavethepassion thread and I think it hits the nail on the head.

I even sent the link to a few E-Girls supporters who are claiming us to be the worst supporters in the league. Maybe now they might just understand why we are so peaved.

As much as I can't stand Robert Walls, or Liam Bartlett. I cant help but think that Bartletts article on that link was spot on!!

I emailed the **** Bartlett over his article. My reply ..

Dear Liam

I will start off by telling you my honest opinion, if you are a dockers supporter, we don't need you. Please go away and crawl back under your rock.

To say that we have never performed in key matches is typical selective commentary.

Our wins against Kangaroos away and Western Bulldogs at home towards the end of 2003 sealed our historic first finals campaign. And then beating West Coast at home in round 21/22 delivered a cherished home final and totally derailed West Coast's year. They were all massive games and we won them all.

In 2005 we won 6 of our last 8 to miss the finals by one game after suffering from a massive injury list up until around 13. There were some great wins in there which were all 'must win' games. The highlight being a win against a rampant St Kilda.

You could argue that West Coast continually lose the big games. When was the last time they won a final outside Perth ? I would guess around 1998/1999. They had three big matches last year. Pre season cup against Carlton, round 22 against Adelaide to be minor premers and GF against Sydney. They lost them ALL.

WC have enjoyed the amazing sequence of 11 wins last season by 4 kicks or less (AFL all time record) and this season already have 8 wins by 4 kicks or less (about to smash their own record). If they had not had such bizarre luck they would have likely been out of the 8 this year and last. They have an amazing 19 wins by 24 points or less in a season and a half.

And before you say good teams win close games, absolute rubbish, it is not backed up at all. Brisbane for example lost 16 of their 22 close games in ther dream run from 2001 to 2004.

The WA presss are fair dinkum disgraceful. West Coast have won NOTHING in the 11 years they have been a club like Freo (ie since the State team stopped in 1994). In that time they have had just one top four finish in 11 years. That is the only chance of a premiership (top 4) and is the second worse team in the comp in that aspect. Freo are the worse. yet WC are protected because the WA press are either

- brought up as WC supporters
- pathetically gutless to upset the 70% of their readership.

Freo are frustrating but we have gone 14-8, 11-11, 11-11, 6-6 last 4 years. That is the most successful run in our history after having a disgraceful poor selection choice when we were established (widely recognised 1995 as the poorest ever WAFL draft).

And WC has bcome a moral vacuum, Cousins should have been kicked out of the club for his Northbridge links followed by his runner. Yet WC had to see public and sponsor reaction before only stripping him of the captaincy. What a joke and just condones disgraceful behaviour and the arrogance of that club.

A large chunk of freo fans consider WA press (media and radio) as full of unprofessional WC flag waivers. I did not know you were part of this lot until that pathetic grade two level article.

If you are a freo fan you are a disgrace and my club would be better of without your support.

Iscah, it is obvious that there are a number of problems down Freo way, and it is also clear that you guys are committed to your team and determined to become a successful club.

However, you're letter doesn't address any of these issues, but rather just has a go at West Coast. I don't particularly care about this, as it's the norm with opposition supporters, but it isn't going to help the Dockers in any way at all. It seems as though the whole thing was just one big "Freo might suck, but WC do too!", which doesn't do your team any good at all.

Focus your energies on Freo, and just pretend the Eagles don't exist. There's no need to constantly compare the two clubs, as they're at different levels of development and so far have co-existed quite well. You ignore us, we'll ignore you, and we can all be happy.

Sorry Iscah mate, but you are just another fan in a very long line defending our mediocrity..Yep the WA media suck...we all know that...but then again our record is nothing to get all het up about.
We are like a slow racehorse that once or twice runs a great race, generally is average and now and then runs an absolute shocker.
You keep following that horse and you either go broke or insane by its lack of consistency...well they shoot horses ....but we cant shoot footy teams or coaches (or the media unfortunately).
So if we keep giving the media something to kick they will keep kicking it.
This is all about respect and we havent got any..
The club needs a bloody big shake up from the top down and it needs it now!!

patsmith said:
Iscah, it is obvious that there are a number of problems down Freo way, and it is also clear that you guys are committed to your team and determined to become a successful club.

However, you're letter doesn't address any of these issues, but rather just has a go at West Coast. I don't particularly care about this, as it's the norm with opposition supporters, but it isn't going to help the Dockers in any way at all. It seems as though the whole thing was just one big "Freo might suck, but WC do too!", which doesn't do your team any good at all.

Focus your energies on Freo, and just pretend the Eagles don't exist. There's no need to constantly compare the two clubs, as they're at different levels of development and so far have co-existed quite well. You ignore us, we'll ignore you, and we can all be happy.
He can't...

patsmith said:

I understand what you are saying patsmith but I think you missed the point of what iscah is trying to say.(or what I think he's trying to say)
Unfortunately when poor performances are involved the WA media pretends the Eagles don't exist, which is completely opposite to the way they report Fremantles poor performances.
Liam Bartlett is simply another lowlife bottom feeder in WA's media circus who selectively regurgitates what he thinks the majority of readers want to read.
I want the Dockers to make a good account for themselves but tools like Bartlett and Walls do NOTHING to make the situation any better than what it is.

surfsup said:
I understand what you are saying patsmith but I think you missed the point of what iscah is trying to say.
Unfortunately when poor performances are involved the WA media pretends the Eagles don't exist, which is completely opposite to the way they report Fremantles poor performances.
Liam Bartlett is simply another lowlife bottom feeder in WA's media circus who selectively regurgitates what he thinks the majority of readers want to read.
I want the Dockers to make a good account for themselves but tools like Bartlett and Walls do NOTHING to make the situation any better than what it is.

Spot on! Good win by the Eages in Adelaide though.

surfsup said:
I understand what you are saying patsmith but I think you missed the point of what iscah is trying to say.(or what I think he's trying to say)

I know Liam Bartlett and I can assure you he is a passionate Dockers supporter who like many other passionate supporters has had enough.
Wake up to the fact that if you play like ****, coach like **** and run your Club like **** you deserve to cop **** in the media particularly from passionate supporters who can use the media to express their frustrations.
The reasons why the Club cops **** in the media is because they deserve it, if the Eagles played, were coached and run like the Dockers then they also would cop ****. Simple as that!!

Bartlett has been taking potshots for years.

CC was just on ABC radio and said that his comments related to Byron Schammer.

He said that Byron is an important player going forwards and has the "yips" and every time he gets the ball he is bronx cheered which adds to the yips.

He said that Port put a big offer on the table for him last time and if Freo supporters want to see him at Port then keep it up.

There seems to be a lack of confidence and the treatment of Schammer is way out of line no matter how anyone spins it.

Liam should know better.

Seems a big co-incidence to me that both times the Eagles have lost this year the media have beaten up an anti Freo storm.

Boo-gate anyone?

Yes, of course it was the media that made 30,000 Freo supporters boo a BOG Brownlow medalist.:rolleyes:
And I'm pretty sure that when West Coast lose a game at Subi by 11 goals that it will make a pretty big news story! (and if Freo happen to win in the same week, all we will hear about is how the media didn't mention Freos win!);)

Ripper said:
It was only the Media that voted that way. The ones with a clue gave it ot Josh Carr.

Thankyou for backing me up.
Too bad that the Freo supporters booed and jeered (spat at?)the ONLY ONE who did give J Carr 3 votes, it maded them look stupid as well as being bad sports.

West Coast 06 said:
Too bad that the Freo supporters booed and jeered (spat at?)the ONLY ONE who did give J Carr 3 votes, it maded them look stupid as well as being bad sports.

Induced reaction by the media.
Freo fans were a bit dumb to take the bait though.

No one has heard anymore of the supposed spitter so it is safe to say that that was another beat up.

Ripper said:
Bartlett has been taking potshots for years.

CC was just on ABC radio and said that his comments related to Byron Schammer.

He said that Byron is an important player going forwards and has the "yips" and every time he gets the ball he is bronx cheered which adds to the yips.

He said that Port put a big offer on the table for him last time and if Freo supporters want to see him at Port then keep it up.

There seems to be a lack of confidence and the treatment of Schammer is way out of line no matter how anyone spins it.

Liam should know better.

Seems a big co-incidence to me that both times the Eagles have lost this year the media have beaten up an anti Freo storm.

Boo-gate anyone?
I'm confused by this big deal about schammer being bronx cheered?
I've only heard him jeered once and it was the game where he had about 6 straight clangers and then finally hit a target?
I think CC is trying to deflect critisism back onto the supporters.

BTW, I think Liam's right, CC said Schammer is in a form slump, then why hasn't he been dropped?

Scham said:
I'm confused by this big deal about schammer being bronx cheered?
I've only heard him jeered once and it was the game where he had about 6 straight clangers and then finally hit a target?
I think CC is trying to deflect critisism back onto the supporters.

BTW, I think Liam's right, CC said Schammer is in a form slump, then why hasn't he been dropped?

He was copping it constantly in the Geelong game.

As I said on another thread it was funny the first time but now has gone over the top.

Shamm has the yips , He is playing well otherwise. Liam can't have it both ways , last year He was going off about Macca being left out because he couldn't ht a target but showed a lot of heart.

The best thing about him going to 6PR is that we don't have to put up with him in the bush anymore having a weekly pot shot at Freo while professing to be a "supporter".

Ripper said:
He was copping it constantly in the Geelong game.

As I said on another thread it was funny the first time but now has gone over the top.

Shamm has the yips , He is playing well otherwise. Liam can't have it both ways , last year He was going off about Macca being left out because he couldn't ht a target but showed a lot of heart.

The best thing about him going to 6PR is that we don't have to put up with him in the bush anymore having a weekly pot shot at Freo while professing to be a "supporter".

How can you have the yips as badly as Schammer and still be playing well, Rip?
He couldn't hit an aircraft carrier from 5 meters at the moment... It's great he's getting the ball, but please stop giving it back to the other team
I reckon some WAFL time will do him the world of good

Lach72 said:
How can you have the yips as badly as Schammer and still be playing well, Rip?
He couldn't hit an aircraft carrier from 5 meters at the moment... It's great he's getting the ball, but please stop giving it back to the other team
I reckon some WAFL time will do him the world of good

He was good against the Bullies. His only clanger was that he kicked one oof after going in and getting it about three times and stopping what would have been an easy shot on goal to them.

I didn't think he missed that many against the Cats but didn't stop him being heckled.

He is running at the same efficiency % for the season as Chad Fletcher and 2% better than Dan Kerr.

http://www.prowess.com.au/pro-stats/reports/rankings.pdf

It is the sort of thing that if he hits his first couple of targets he is right for the game.

I reckon this is being blown up way more than it warrants.

patsmith said:

This is bordering on the hysterically funny given the irony. Iscah has been one of the most vocal critics I can rember of the club's adminstration. Telling him to focus on the club is like telling Keith Urban he ought to have s-ex with Nicole last night.

For once I agree whole heartedly with Iscah. Liam Barlett is a dead-set di*khead and we're better off without him.

And Iscah's post is not a go at the WCE. He highlights in a most articulate way, how a really probing look at the record of the two clubs, hides a multitide of sins. That we have to rely on Iscah to point these out is an indictment on the journalists.

Journalists tend to go with the flow, and never more so than in WA. The Eagles get a level of hero worship that does not accord with their record, and the Dockers get a caning that belies what they have done. Two journalists stand out in particular -- Grlijusich and Hagdorn. But the Mitchell's, Foreman's, Wilson's, McGrath's aren't far behind.

And BTW, I have it on excellent authority that most of the WCE players thought that Josh Carr deserved the Glendinning Medal. They were surpised because thir perception was Juddy had gone missing for a fair bit of the game.

If anyone happened to be listening to ABC radio on Saturday afternoon, as there were no games on they were assessing each team's season so far. The Victorian panel of Gerard Whately, Aaron Lord and Mark Mclure bagged Connolly, the chip around gameplan, Longmuir, Hasleby, called for the immediate axing of Bell, Farmer and Medhurst and claimed that Freo's finals prospects will depend on their last 3 games and that they will lose all 3. The only positive sentiments in their assessment of Freo is that Josh Carr, Johnson and Pav can play a bit.

They were on the money in some aspects of their criticism and way off it in others, but it goes to show it's not just the big bad pro-Eagles WA media that bags Freo's mediocrity.

Scotland said:
If anyone happened to be listening to ABC radio on Saturday afternoon, as there were no games on they were assessing each team's season so far. The Victorian panel of Gerard Whately, Aaron Lord and Mark Mclure bagged Connolly, the chip around gameplan, Longmuir, Hasleby, called for the immediate axing of Bell, Farmer and Medhurst and claimed that Freo's finals prospects will depend on their last 3 games and that they will lose all 3. The only positive sentiments in their assessment of Freo is that Josh Carr, Johnson and Pav can play a bit.

They were on the money in some aspects of their criticism and way off it in others, but it goes to show it's not just the big bad pro-Eagles WA media that bags Freo's mediocrity.
You can excuse these guys. The WA media have to actually watch our games and should know better.

Scotland said:

You left off the bit where Aaron Lord reckoned that CC was a top operator when he played under him at Hawthorn.