Melbourne City

fishmonger said:
Most Vics who go there come straight back (the grass always seems greener <sigh>)

It is mostly cockroaches that are moving up. And they are invading here too.

Dunno about that. 18 people in my family alone have moved up here from Melbourne, none of them have gone back and Im the 'newest' here and I been 5 years.

As for teh Roaches, they add a little character and crunch to your food. I used hate bugs and spiders before I moved here, now they're my friends, and sometimes they even come and have a crawl around me in my sleep..the funny lil blighters:p

playaplaya said:
Is there any where else in the world like Melbourne. Does anywhere else hosts as much sporting events as Melbourne.

In 2006 Melbourne Will host:
Australian Open
Australian F1 Grand Prix
World Super Bikes Grand Prix
Australian Motor Cycle Grand Prix
AFL Season
State of Orgin
Melbourne Cup
Australian Golf Open
Commenwealth Games
Soccer - Australia Vs Greece
Spring Racing
International Cricket
Rugby League
A- Leauge
Basketball
Boxing Day Test

I believe there is nooooo place like it .. sydney think they are thou

Gee, another person in Tardistan talking himself up. I have NEVER seen that before.:rolleyes:

My reply is just three words.
"BEST OLYMPICS EVER". :D So don't even bother replying pleb!

JF
PS:- Do enjoy your British Empire Games. I have hardly been watching them to be honest. All the attempts at hype have really started to bore me. The NRl was even on delay on Friday because of ruddy gymnastics FFS! :mad:

tigerdan said:
You can take Madrid and Paris off that list. A big soccer following and a bullring? A big soccer following and a grand slam? That's it for those two.

On the other hand, New York and London have some seriously great sporting events.

So le Tour de France isn't a big world class sporting event, is it? :rolleyes:

Some of you morons are so myopic & parochial, I guess you must think a trip to far-away Werribee Plaza is a culture shock.

(Then again, after seeing Street Talk on the Footy Show, maybe it is. :eek: )

JF

Jarryd_S said:
We have a little event called the AFL GF. Whereas you have your pitiful NRL GF. You get 12 people along if you're lucky.

So, which city won yours by chance? :p

Girlfriend, you have been OWNED! :D

NO COMEBACK!!!

JF

Calcium Man said:
Why isnt it relevant??? It was a discussion on the events held, The melbourne olympics may have been 50 years ago but they still have the same significance as the Sydney olympics 6 years ago!!

As for the rest, the guy who started the thread was being a D(ck by bring up all that crap, but you came along and compared sydney's list to Melbourne's!!

Maybe it is because he is an expat (or as I call them "reformed") Victorian! ;)

JF

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
Gee, another person in Tardistan talking himself up. I have NEVER seen that before.:rolleyes:

My reply is just three words.
"BEST OLYMPICS EVER". :D So don't even bother replying pleb!

JF
PS:- Do enjoy your British Empire Games. I have hardly been watching them to be honest. All the attempts at hype have really started to bore me. The NRl was even on delay on Friday because of ruddy gymnastics FFS! :mad:

In 1956 Melbourne was probably considered the best Olympics ever. Do you think that Sydney 2000 will still be considered the best ever in 2060?

The Dice Man said:
10 kilometres west of me is a subtropical rainforest.

30 Ks west of me is Mt Lamington National Park, little bit further is Mount Warning, both of which include some of the most spectacular scenery, waterfalls and rainforests in Australia

30Ks south of me begins the Tweed Valley

15 ks South west of me are the Currumbin and Tullabudgera Valleys

80 Ks south of me is Byron Bay

80 Ks north of me is Brisbane

10 ks east of me are some of the most beautiful beaches in Australia

Im surrounded by some of the very best natural wonders in Australia

You have the footy, and thats about it.

Glad to know my opinion irks you so:D

Great post. Those rainforest at the back of the Gold Coast & in northern NSW are seriously the best places ever. It goes 100% AGAINST my image of what life on the Gold Coast would be like.

The Gold Coast is still full of middle aged couples power walking with their poodles wearing pink polos white 3/4 shorts and boat shoes. But the natural scenery behind it is frigging awesome! :thumbsu:

My brother lives in Byron and doesn't even own a a winter jacket FFS. 25 degrees days in June are quite common.:eek: If there is something that is more beautiful than a sunset over Byron beach on this globe I'm yet to see it. (OK, Arizona sunsets are probably better, but you get my drift)

JF

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
So, which city won yours by chance? :p

Girlfriend, you have been OWNED! :D

NO COMEBACK!!!

JF

Premiership glory bragging rights usually last for one year. When the Storm won the League grand final it didn't make Melbourne the League Capital of Australia. Melbourne just held the cup for a year.

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
Great post. Those rainforest at the back of the Gold Coast & in northern NSW are seriously the best places ever. It goes 100% AGAINST my image of what life on the Gold Coast would be like.

The Gold Coast is still full of middle aged couples power walking with their poodles wearing pink polos white 3/4 shorts and boat shoes. But the natural scenery behind it is frigging awesome! :thumbsu:

My brother lives in Byron and doesn't even own a a winter jacket FFS. 25 degrees days in June are quite common.:eek: If there is something that is more beautiful than a sunset over Byron beach on this globe I'm yet to see it. (OK, Arizona sunsets are probably better, but you get my drift)

JF

Mate if Im not working or heading out anywhere, I rarely put on a shirt after Ive showered. In fact I havent put on a shirt since sunday and its been 'cold' here today and yesterday.

And you're right, people who come and see the tourist strip only are seriously missing out. The natural beauty on my doorstop is what keeps me here, not the glitzy soulless glamour of Surfers or Broadbeach.

My favorite part of teh coast is Fingal which is about 10 Ks south of Tweed Heads. First time I went there I walked up to where teh lighthouse is, looked over the edge and 20 metres below me were a dozen dolphins surfing the waves... Leaves a pretty good impression on you. The Tweed Coast and Valleys are some of the best kept secrets on the East Coast IMO.

Beach is never packed, is un-patrolled and one of the best kept local secrets and only a 5 minute drive from Coolongatta:thumbsu:

fingal-light.jpg

Fingal%20Head%20wb%201.jpg

Fingal%20beach.jpg

we have so many sporting events because so many of us turn up to all of them. Why do we all turn up to them? cos there's ******** all else to do here.

seinfeld was right, melbourne is the anus of the world.

mustapha said:
In 1956 Melbourne was probably considered the best Olympics ever. Do you think that Sydney 2000 will still be considered the best ever in 2060?

Maybe if they can freeze-dry Juan-Antonio Samaranch and bring him back to life in the year 2066, it might still be? :eek: :D

JF

The Dice Man said:
10 kilometres west of me is a subtropical rainforest.

30 Ks west of me is Mt Lamington National Park, little bit further is Mount Warning, both of which include some of the most spectacular scenery, waterfalls and rainforests in Australia

30Ks south of me begins the Tweed Valley

15 ks South west of me are the Currumbin and Tullabudgera Valleys

80 Ks south of me is Byron Bay

80 Ks north of me is Brisbane

10 ks east of me are some of the most beautiful beaches in Australia

Im surrounded by some of the very best natural wonders in Australia

You have the footy, and thats about it.

Glad to know my opinion irks you so:D

One and a half hours drive from some of Australia's best snowfields.

A couple of hours away from some of Australia's best beaches, Bells Beach, Torquay, Lorne and the Great Ocean Road, Twelve Apostles are just west.

Beautiful Mornington Peninsula, Port Phillip Island, Wilson's Promontory just over an hour to the south.

The Dandenong Ranges, Australian Alps, Australia's Riviera, the Gippsland Lakes a couple of hours to the east and the spectacular Grampians and Otways the same distance to the West.

Deserts, rainforests, mountains, rugged coastlines, rural landscapes, rainforests, lakes and remote wilderness all within a day trip ...

4 other states within 4 hours drive (excluding a great ferry ride) !

Im also surrounded by some of the very best natural wonders in Australia.

But who cares about just natural wonders ....

We have the best sporting events (as previously mentioned), the best culture, best variety of restaurants, a great (but needs work) transport system and some of the best old architecture.

I live in a vibrant multicultural international city of over 4 million people and central to another million. With heaps more to do than almost anywhere else in the country, but we still love sport.

Just 100 ks east and north are some of the best wineries going around.

Just 100 ks north and west are the historic goldfields and the beautiful Victorian cities of Bendigo and Ballarat.

Less unemployment, less crime. And the weather is much better than Toronto ....

mustapha said:
Premiership glory bragging rights usually last for one year. When the Storm won the League grand final it didn't make Melbourne the League Capital of Australia. Melbourne just held the cup for a year.

The difference is, the people of Sydney genuinely cared.

How is your rectangle-field stadium going?:rolleyes:

How is your Super 14 team faring these days?

How did your team in the A League go? What sort of crowds is "the Sporting Capital" getting to Melbourne Storm games these days?

How many teams from Victoria will be in the AFL finals this year?

JF

PS:- You guys started all this parochial chest-beating. All I'm doing is replying to put you in your place. :thumbsu:

fishmonger said:
One and a half hours drive from some of Australia's best snowfields.

2 hour flight to NZ, far better snowfields, and cheaper than going to Aus snowfields too.

A couple of hours away from some of Australia's best beaches, Bells Beach, Torquay, Lorne and the Great Ocean Road, Twelve Apostles are just west.

What's your water temp like between March and December?

Beautiful Mornington Peninsula, Port Phillip Island, Wilson's Promontory just over an hour to the south.

Frankston is an hour drive from the city, Phillip Island your looking at 3, and Wilson's Prom.. thats about 3 from Frankston, and the Mornington Peninsula doesnt start getting good till you get past Mt.Martha, and the real pleasure is down Sorrento way.. 2 hours from Melb.

The Dandenong Ranges, Australian Alps, Australia's Riviera, the Gippsland Lakes a couple of hours to the east and the spectacular Grampians and Otways the same distance to the West.

Yeah they're ok.. Nothing on God's Country though.

Deserts, rainforests, mountains, rugged coastlines, rural landscapes, rainforests, lakes and remote wilderness all within a day trip ...

I have all that within a 30 minute drive. Better temp and more spectacular.

4 other states within 4 hours drive (excluding a great ferry ride) !

Actually that's only 2 states within a 4 hour drive, and you'd be pushing it to reach SA in that time after spending an hour just to get 40ks out of Melb. What are these other 2 states you can somehow freakishly drive to within 4 hours?

Im also surrounded by some of the very best natural wonders in Australia.

LOL, ok then.

But who cares about just natural wonders ....

We have the best sporting events (as previously mentioned), the best culture, best variety of restaurants, a great (but needs work) transport system and some of the best old architecture.

Transport system beats ours easily. Sydney's architecture blasts Vics out of the water.. And what's with all those housing commision-type buildings at Docklands... Very ugly(though that is common in modern architecture)

I live in a vibrant multicultural international city of over 4 million people and central to another million. With heaps more to do than almost anywhere else in the country, but we still love sport

Fantastic if you like being packed in with 3,999,999 other souls like sardines in a tin can.. Sorry, not my thing.

Just 100 ks east and north are some of the best wineries going around.

Dont forget south too, remember the Mornington Peninsula ;)

Just 100 ks north and west are the historic goldfields and the beautiful Victorian cities of Bendigo and Ballarat.

I went to Soverign Hill once as a kid. I fell asleep standing up

Less unemployment, less crime. And the weather is much better than Toronto ....

Far more crime, worse weather than here, not sure about unemployment stats though.

Each to their own though, Melbourne just doesnt do it for me anymore. The City is full of people walking around with cold depressed faces and just too populated and have to travel to far and too long to get anywhere nice for my liking.

As I said earlier, you have the Footy, and that's the only thing I miss. The rest just doesnt rate for me anymore.:o

The Dice Man said:
2 hour flight to NZ, far better snowfields, and cheaper than going to Aus snowfields too.

Frankston is an hour drive from the city, Phillip Island your looking at 3, and Wilson's Prom.. thats about 3 from Frankston, and the Mornington Peninsula doesnt start getting good till you get past Mt.Martha, and the real pleasure is down Sorrento way.. 2 hours from Melb.

Actually that's only 2 states within a 4 hour drive, and you'd be pushing it to reach SA in that time after spending an hour just to get 40ks out of Melb. What are these other 2 states you can somehow freakishly drive to within 4 hours?

LOL, ok then.

Transport system beats ours easily. Sydney's architecture blasts Vics out of the water.. And what's with all those housing commision-type buildings at Docklands... Very ugly(though that is common in modern architecture)

Fantastic if you like being packed in with 3,999,999 other souls like sardines in a tin can.. Sorry, not my thing.

Far more crime, worse weather than here, not sure about unemployment stats though.

Each to their own though, Melbourne just doesnt do it for me anymore. The City is full of people walking around with cold depressed faces and just too populated and have to travel to far and too long to get anywhere nice for my liking.

As I said earlier, you have the Footy, and that's the only thing I miss. The rest just doesnt rate for me anymore.:o

a lot of effort into your response!!

Tourism Australia or whatever they call themselves would be cheering right now.

We're all just doing our own bit of bloody advertising non gratis. :D

The Dice Man said:

LOL, ok then.

F@rk with that sad sack attitude we sure dont miss you

Warwick said:
Absolute rubbish having the SOO down there. You dont care about it and we want it back. Its the sporting event that Qlders get most passionate about and it should not be in Melbourne. Same with any Bledisloe test - belongs to Sydney or Brisbane.

BTW which city hosted the Goodwill Games in 2001??

Thats right - suffer in your jocks.

:rolleyes:

I was up there then. They were a bit of a laugh really. They even shunted the Swans match to the night before because of the bloody Marathon. It hadn't rained for 3 months. It was perfect on the day of the Marathon as well.

During the Swans match there was a thunderstorm that basically lasted the whole second half. I was saturated and did NOT have a spare lot of clothes (so went out in sopping wet jeans, what a fashion guru I was that night I tell you! :(

The flags I had packed into my backpack were STILL dropping when I got out at Mascot the next night.:eek: :thumbsd:

JF

douls said:
a lot of effort into your response!!

What you and I consider alot of effort is obviously way different. Five mins typing at a keyboard isnt exactly 'alot of effort' in my opinion.

Sainter35 said:
F@rk with that sad sack attitude we sure dont miss you

Fellings mutual, everyone's happy. :) :thumbsu:

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
The difference is, the people of Sydney genuinely cared.

How is your rectangle-field stadium going?:rolleyes:

How is your Super 14 team faring these days?

How did your team in the A League go? What sort of crowds is "the Sporting Capital" getting to Melbourne Storm games these days?

How many teams from Victoria will be in the AFL finals this year?

JF

PS:- You guys started all this parochial chest-beating. All I'm doing is replying to put you in your place. :thumbsu:

How many Swans players could the average Sydney person who cares name? Do the majority of Sydneysiders really care or was it more a case of people getting behind Sydney when they were winning? Will they still care when the Swans struggle?

I believe that a new rectangle stadium is being built near Olympic park. I am unsure of the target date etc.

Super 14 is not going well . We have no team. Rugby (Leugue or Union) struggles in Melbourne.
The Storm don't seem to be marketed very well. Does the Leugue administration have the same expansion goals as the AFL?

The Victory have the youngest squad so we could not expect a great finish. It was a dissappointing end given how well we started. We were also coached by Ernie Merrick. Our crowds were encouraging considering how poorly we played towards the end of the year. Would the Sydney die hards still show up if they played as poorly as us?

There will be more Victorian teams than NSW teams in the AFL finals this year;).

This is a chest beating thread but the main points are hard to argue against and in terms of holding major sporting events I don't think there is a bigger sporting city than Melbourne.

Don't think there is much doubt that Melbourne does have the big sporting events. Personally I love all of the Aus cities ( yes, Adelaide too, very pretty, wineries and great beaches )

But, I do get to sit on my deck, in the middle of July, in shorts and singlet, having a few beers or Bundies, whilst the good people of Melbourne are freezing their **** off.

playaplaya said:
Is there any where else in the world like Melbourne. Does anywhere else hosts as much sporting events as Melbourne.

In 2006 Melbourne Will host:
Australian Open
Australian F1 Grand Prix
World Super Bikes Grand Prix
Australian Motor Cycle Grand Prix
AFL Season
State of Orgin
Melbourne Cup
Australian Golf Open
Commenwealth Games
Soccer - Australia Vs Greece
Spring Racing
International Cricket
Rugby League
A- Leauge
Basketball
Boxing Day Test

I believe there is nooooo place like it .. sydney think they are thou

Yes the Victorian government aggressively campaigns to get as many major sporting events as possible to counter the massive exitus of people migrating out the place. Marketing to everyone else “look at what sporting events we got” fails in comparison to good weather, relaxed lifestyle and stunning beaches.

Here in beautiful Qld we have what most families really want. Victoria will always be a very poor substitute to Qld for lifestyle and that will never ever change, no matter how many sporting events you manage to thieve of other states.

I'm from Melbourne and it’s a dead set depressing hole! I only visit the place to see my remaining relatives that still live there, who haven’t seen the light yet. All my other relations have moved up..............

rooboy said:
Don't think there is much doubt that Melbourne does have the big sporting events. Personally I love all of the Aus cities ( yes, Adelaide too, very pretty, wineries and great beaches )

But, I do get to sit on my deck, in the middle of July, in shorts and singlet, having a few beers or Bundies, whilst the good people of Melbourne are freezing their **** off.

Yes, winter gets cold, but isn't that what winter is supposed to do ?

We have 4 seasons ... summer, autumn, winter, spring

Right now we are having some of the best weather you could ever ask for. Not too cold, not too hot, just perfect !

We get it in Spring and Autumn, and Autumn is real autumn (ie. leaves actually fall) ...

As an ex-Queenslander I love it here and wouldn't live anywhere else. Too many Queenslanders (especially the ex-Vics) are absolutely full of themselves. They think the sun shines out of their arses.

Don't kid yourselves Queenslanders, Brisbane is a boring hole of a country town populated by Pauline Hanson worshipping ferals, and the Gold Coast is all balconies and fairy floss.

You can't even compare muddy Moreton Bay and the mangrove infested Brisbane River with the spectacular beauty of Port Phillip Bay and the picturesque and very personal Yarra ...