Brisbane Lions
GWS; CCMariners; NQCowboys; Ravens
So... all those people over the years who've said there's no legit way for them to keep all their star players turn out to be right.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ps-for-salary-cap-breaches-20100422-td91.html

Imagine someone in the AFL losing two premierships for salary cap rorts. That'd be huge.

I do have to laugh at the fact that it's still not appearing on the Murdoch-owned websites yet, almost an hour after the news broke, given they own the Storm.

Incredible.

You really have to feel for the fans. I would be absolutely gutted. Just imagine if the 01-03 premierships were scrapped, and we couldn't "win" a game this year. That's what they are going through. I think I would be suicidal.

My brother is as mad about the Storm as I am the Lions. He is devestated - threatening to never support them again, burning his jumper etc etc.

Waldron should be shot. Could not be more systematic and deliberate cheating.

Melbourne Storm and Carlton Football Club have something in common except Carlton don't look like winning a flag in the next 20 years.

If the Coach and players didn't know about it, you have to feel for them. They would be shattered. I actually like the Storm ,they will be lucky to survive now:(

There is something I don't understand about the "two sets of books" as David Gallop described it. Was there two sets of contracts? One at the home of Waldron and one for show for the NRL? If there is, wouldn't that mean they would have had to sign two different contracts?

If the Lions pulled something like that I'd be lost as a supporter. I doubt I'd cheer them on ever again. It's such a loss of trust.

Regarding the two sets of books, I'm pretty sure that's talking about copies of ledgers of player payments rather than copies of contracts. Though having said that, I'm sure some players would have had to have known what was going on, because they would have had to lie about their payments/situation. Otherwise it would've just been a case of interviewing the various players and adding together their pay... not much of a concealment job in that case.

It's an amazing story and I can't imagine how their fans must feel. I do find it hard to believe that the players didn't know - surely you would notice if you were being paid more than your contract? :confused:

Wonder if people will go to jail over this.

News Corp knew nothing! Bwhaaahaaahahhhaawaahaahaaa haaa...... and so on and so forth.

Pull the other one Rupert. You know how you spent your first dollar let alone not have a clue as to how an extra 1.7 mill of News Corps money was spent.

Anyway we should beat the Dees on the weekend. Pity Lukey ain't playing.

How can the Storm be allowed to keep playing this year, premiership points or not?

What of the teams that are scheduled to play this cheating "superteam" twice... they are at a clear disadvantage?

Alternatively, you can't just make it a bye and award their opponents 2 points, because then that disadvantages the sides that only play them once.

What a shemozzle. An absolute mess.

This might keep Fev out of the papers for a day or two.

You'd have hoped so, but no, we couldn't have that. Moving truck = story! Even though we already knew about it. This shit is getting seriously tiresome. I feel like finding a journo & punching them in the mouth.

After the whole logo and guernsey debacle a few months back, I decided to approach following footy to the tone of 'Follow the Team, Don't Follow the Administrators'. This whole mess just reinforces it even more.

I feel sorrow for the supporters, I feel sorry for the players that were in the dark and had no prior knowledge of what was going on. I feel real sorry for Parramatta last year (can't feel sorry for Manly...... :P )

GabbaGirl, I would suspect that several of them would be very nervous at the moment since statutory declarations were signed by these administrators. Now its clear that they lied. I would suspect Waldon would be trying to leave the country

I feel like finding a journo & punching them in the mouth.

3135fmg.jpg

After the whole logo and guernsey debacle a few months back, I decided to approach following footy to the tone of 'Follow the Team, Don't Follow the Administrators'. This whole mess just reinforces it even more.
Thankyou. My motto has, and will always be this.
This whole Melbourne Storm mess is not a laughing matter at all. Let's think about our board members for a second. Hmm, the stinking stench. :mad::thumbsd:

This whole Melbourne Storm mess is not a laughing matter at all. :

Certainly not for their supporters, nothing but sympathy for them.

But I dream of the day where Brisbane is a genuine AFL city and the Lions are the big boys in town.

Anything to hasten the demise of Rugby League is a good thing in my book. Yeah I'm a prick, but an honest one. ;)

Thankyou. My motto has, and will always be this.
This whole Melbourne Storm mess is not a laughing matter at all. Let's think about our board members for a second. Hmm, the stinking stench. :mad::thumbsd:

Would be nice if some of those people that were throwing the traitor tag at those intent on holding our admin to account over certain issues were to reflect on this. Will the board decide whether the Storm survive now? Nope, it'll be up to the supporters whether the club stands back up or dies. A poignant reminder of who the club really belongs to.

Haggis McHaggis: agree completely.

This is what happens when supporters allow their administrators to feel too safe and comfortable.

Many people who were questioning the club's direction in the off-season and demanding accountability from the board were branded as disloyal. They are anything but.

Certainly not for their supporters, nothing but sympathy for them.

But I dream of the day where Brisbane is a genuine AFL city and the Lions are the big boys in town.

Anything to hasten the demise of Rugby League is a good thing in my book. Yeah I'm a prick, but an honest one. ;)

In about 5 years I think it could be close to 50/50 at least in terms of media coverage. There will be a lot of league supporters who will want to watch K. Hunt play his first game of AFL because most of them will be hoping that he is a screw up for leaving league. Even if he fails as a player after 2-3 years its a win for AFL vs NRL if some league fans start watching some games.

The Lions had over 33,000 at the Bulldogs game while...
At Suncorp Stadium, the Queensland Reds-Bulls Super 14 match drew 26,669 on the same night, while 25,688 attended Sunday afternoon's NRL match between the Broncos and the Sharks.

Getting closer every year.

I feel sorrow for the supporters, I feel sorry for the players that were in the dark and had no prior knowledge of what was going on. I feel real sorry for Parramatta last year (can't feel sorry for Manly...... :P )

GabbaGirl, I would suspect that several of them would be very nervous at the moment since statutory declarations were signed by these administrators. Now its clear that they lied. I would suspect Waldon would be trying to leave the country

:thumbsu: ( I would be horrified if they gave the 2007 premiership to Manly! Manly for god sake! :D)

I was at a function years ago (wow maybe 7 years?) where Leigh was the guest speaker. He spoke about another function that he had attended not long after he moved to Brisbane. It was a night at which both he and Wayne Bennett were speaking. He said that during his speech, there was a fair bit of conversation noise coming from the audience, as if not all were listening to him, but he figured that this must be the norm... until Bennett got up to speak... and you could have heard a pin drop, such was the attention he was given from the room. He said it was at this point that he realised just where AFL sat on the Brisbane pecking order.

Granted that was many years ago now, but I'm not sure that all that much has changed? Imagine this thing with the Storm was a Melbourne AFL club - the Qld coverage would have been MUCH less I reckon.

Having said that, there's lots of us converts around who will never go back. I'd love to see the Lions as the main sporting team in town too. :thumbsu: