• Thread starter Thread starter The Hitman

Originally posted by Rohan_
Have to agree with Daics, The Yarra is Melbourne down to a tee. Live right near Studley Park and right near the Yarra; it is the most peaceful place in Melbourne.

My first ex's parents owned a house right on the yarra at Alphington, across the road from the APM, had a boat ramp & everything, it was like being in the bush when you were at the bottom of their property fishing.

This is what Melbourne means to me...

Melbourne sports massive fecal stockpile
Herald Sun |

"Melbourne is groaning under the weight of almost two million tonnes of stockpiled faeces. The pile, which is growing by about 80,000 tonnes every year across Victoria, in some areas dates back 50 years. Dotted around 22 Melbourne suburbs, as well as rural towns, it is unknown whether the dried excrement poses a health or environmental risk."
Read Article.....

Perhaps you could find one of the dung heaps Hitters? :D :D

Have the same setup and you would swear your in the bush even though it is 5km from the city. Takes about 20 minutes to ride along the Yarra track to get to the city.

Whenever "Homicide", "Cop Shop" or "Special Squad" had a rural episode they would film the exteriors there. Just one of the many wonders of Melbourne, bushland within walking distance of the GPO.

Originally posted by mantis
Docker Brat

You better have the balls to meet me before after or during the match in May. :D
Great minds.

Someone mentioned the Essendon game today and I thought 'wonder if Mantis is up for a beer'. :D

I am sooo there. :p

How about Melbourne as a whole?
From the Dandenonds looking towards the city as the sun sets and the lights from the city begin to take over.

Originally posted by Lethal
How about Melbourne as a whole?
From the Dandenonds looking towards the city as the sun sets and the lights from the city begin to take over.

That's a top idea for the final shot.

The Hitman

One of the best photo shoots I have ever seen was of Box Hill Station in the middle of winter. I think it appeared in the Age last year. Fantastically melancholic photos: for some reason they captured Melbourne at its best: people going quietly about their business regardless of the inclement weather.

Have to include the trams, the footy (a photo of the M10 crowd might just do the trick;) ), gardens and the Victorian architecture. Some other things I'd think about including are the Queen Victoria Market, Flinders St Station, Luna Park and Chinatown.

For a city of 3 million plus, there's a remarkable amount of greenery in and around the city. Perhaps a shot of the Botanic or Fitzroy Gardens in the foreground, with some cityscape in the background to illustrate that?

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
For a city of 3 million plus, there's a remarkable amount of greenery in and around the city. Perhaps a shot of the Botanic or Fitzroy Gardens in the foreground, with some cityscape in the background to illustrate that?

Yo dawgg

Wassup in the hood

I see pride
I see power
I see Rohan Welsh lining up from 45 on a tight angle

Who let the dogs out???

It was u wasnt it u bitch?

Originally posted by BahaMenForeva

Yo dawgg

Wassup in the hood

I see pride
I see power
I see Rohan Welsh lining up from 45 on a tight angle

Who let the dogs out???

It was u wasnt it u bitch?

What's Woosha got to do with anything?:confused:

Taking a shot from the massive round about at the top of Elizabeth street looking down towards the city would be a good shot especially with trams running through.Bourke street is a must as well perhaps a couple of the entertainers sucj as the statue man might get a gig.Maybe a shot from the rialto:confused: Friday night at dusk outside flinders street station is a fair sight aswell.

To me, THE landmark in Melbourne is the Westgate bridge. It looks great from just about every angle, especially at night. Good places to photograph it from include on the foreshore at North Rd Brighton and for something different why not take a shot from undereath it. It is accessible from Lorimer St Port Melbourne, right at the end. You may also be able to include the river somehow. It's also significant because of those who died constructing it and because, like just about every bridge or other civil engineering project in Melbourne, it has fallen over.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club

Yup. I was thinking Captain Cook's Cottage or someone lying down on their lunch break at the Botanical Gardens, as you often see people do.

The Westgate is probably going to be one of my shots - I know it looks sensational from afar at dusk when there is an orangy glow behind it shadowing the bridge.

Some of these are fantastic - so keep 'em coming! :D

The Hitman

Coming from a Sydney girl who loves Melbourne to death, the things I think of are the MCG (go figure), Luna Park, the Trams, Queen Victoria Markets, Fitzroy st and the docks in Port Melbourne (you know along where the spirit of Tas comes and goes from). IMO it's really pretty along there.

Good luck!

Why hasn't anybody mentioned Federation Square? Or the Arch? Oh, right. Because they suck.

Seriously, though, you could try the one place that hasn't been mentioned yet that is seen around the country during one very special time of the year: Sidney Myer Music Bowl.

Hey Hitter,
what they are looking for is something artistically beautiful, symbolism, significance, all things that Melbourne mean to you guys.

The way you shoot it is also very important. What are you trying to say? The work has to have a strong meaning behind it and have some significance. You may wish to do it in black and white, shoot it on a high or low angle, experiment with it abit to help better convey the meaning that you are trying to get across.

You must feel strongly about what your doing and have a connection with it.

Good luck mate.

Originally posted by PiesPremiers3
Go to the top of the rialto and take a pic of the yarra from there! Its a pretty good view from up there!

I thought when I saw your name on the last poster, that you'd suggest Vic Park - or even worse, Optus Oval! :p ;)

Keep 'em coming. The more ideas, the better.

The Hitman

P.S. I think it's obvious that Nick is also a year 12 Media student. ;)

Originally posted by The Hitman

I thought when I saw your name on the last poster, that you'd suggest Vic Park - or even worse, Optus Oval! :p ;)

Im sure you can see Vicky from the rialto!
Optus, pfft....:mad: