Memorable School Wagging

• Thread starter Thread starter Falchoon

In another thread I wrote

"Major League always brings back memories of cross country running.

Whilst the rest of the school was cross county running, we were bolting from Parliament Station to the Bourke St cinemas to make the Matinee session. It's hard running all that way carrying your schoolbag. Still not sure how we got away with it though.

Was funny the next day, when asked how I did in the run, in front of the whole class, "pretty good, we made it!" Chuckles from the back."

Another was I lined up my learners test on a free afternoon, unfortunately the free afternoon was cancelled, passed the test though.

2 close calls were I caught the train home and jumped on a bus at Moorabbin station, the bus took off with the throttle stuck on full, we went straight through a power pole, old bloke bouncing around the bus, holes in the roof, front end destroyed, hit Nepean Highway through 2 cars and a red light at + 80 k's an hour----- and I couldn't tell anyone despite making the local paper.

I used to row on the Yarra, and this meant we would often legitimately miss the morning roll call, with the second one after lunch, we would sometimes turn up to school at lunchtime, with a legitimate reason to miss morning roll call. Anyway one day it coincided with the Russell St bombing, another story I couldn't tell.

Once thinking we'd be pretty smart in about year 9 we stayed in a portable and played cards or something. Behind us their were year 10/11's playing tennis who got caught. We ended up packing ourselves sitting on the floor and hiding, last assembly we wagged.

and finally in year 12 we discovered the TAB, walking past the Fun Factory on the way back from the TAB we got sprung and admitted to being at the Fun Factory ;) and that we wouldn't do it again.

and an ode to a mate of mine who was a chronic wagger, still has many sick days from work.

He would rise at 6, catch the train in with his old man who worked in the city and made sure he went to school, he would get off at South Yarra, walk back to Hawksburn and catch the train home again :p

I think we had a sports carnival .. or something like that.. and being the enthusiast I was, I decided my day would be better spent watching the videos my parents had rented the night before rather than dragging my butt around a school oval.

Unfortunately I wasn't the only person in the family who had decided to "wag" it that day. Half way through my first movie my father decided to play sick for the day and left work early..

I frantically flipped off the video, sprayed air freshner around the house to hide the charming aroma from my cigarette (yes I was a precocious child), and bolted into my room in a panic.

Thinking I was safe (after all what could anyone possibly want in my room right?) I grabbed a book and started to read when to my shock I saw my door handle start to turn. I did a pretty good imitation of a stunt actor in an action movie and dove off the bed and rolled under it in one swift move. Could you imagine my horror when I heard the vacuum start??? Yes there I was hanging from my bed springs as the vacuum head swept in and out from under my bed thinking.. OMG I am dead!

Lucky for me the door bell rang and while my father was answering it I climbed into my cupboard.. and stayed there for the rest of the day wishing I was running around that damn oval after all.

It was my younger brother who saved my butt that day.. he came home from school and noticed my bag stuffed behind the lounge.. how my father missed it I don't know. So he took it out round the back of the house then unlocked the side door, walked in my room and whispered.. "I know your in here.. the side door's open and your bag is behind the BBQ.. Dad's in the toilet so be quick!"

In a flash I bolted out the side door.. grabbed my bag and walked in the front door like I had been at school all along.

All in all it was a horrendous day that put me off wagging for quite a while.. (I did do it again.. but never in the house!)

Hmm, was more memorable the actual days I went to school in some years than wagged it.

I think my first go round at year 8 I turned up for attendance a grand total of three days. Even then one of them I left at lunch time. Only went to see how things were holding together without me. They seemed fine so I saw no fit reason to go back the next day.

Years 7 missed half a year. Year 9 3/4ths of it. Only started in high school for some reason.

Do regret it now but cant really hold myself to much to blame with outside circumstances being the main factor in me being unable to handle school at that time.

The lady who worked at reception lived on my street.

I asked my Dad if I could have the day off "to study" for the HSC and he said no probs as long as I studied. I didn't and just hang out and watched TV.

My dad came home from work at 3.30 and asked me, as he did in those days, if I could cycle up the road to buy a litre of milk and bread. This was at 4.30pm. I had to pass this ladies house along the way to the shops and didn't thin nothing of it.

Much to my bewilderment I was called in the next day and told I was suspended for 2 days for truancy. The part I didn't understand is that I had permission from my father to stay home.

Well my dad told the Deputy and principle what he thought of the suspension and all matters were resolved. They didn't bother with me after that day.

Was a coincidence that the Principle was of redneck Anglo origin and loved all boys who played Rugby League, especially the captain. He didn't like the "soccer" playing ethnos.

Ahh the pleasures of attending a school run by Catholic Fascist Arseholes.

when i was a nobbut a young'un, I used to live in the sleepy little coastal town of mandurah, and wag chronic amounts of school. It a was a bit of a ritual for year 8s to skip school and head down to the old bridge and jump off it to prove our manhood- on the first day i did it, i hit my arm against the bridge on the way down and broke it! (the arm, rather than the bridge). Needless to say I had trouble hiding that from my parents, and I was, as was the terminology of the time, well and truly s****ed.
Another time, I was hanging out at the mandurah shopping centre during the day, and I freaked out rather badly when I walked around a corner and bumped straight into my english teacher. When I stopped hyperventilating, it suddenly occured to me that she was also looking a bit worried, and as far as I knew, she had no right to be away from school either. We both walked off in opposite directions post haste, and i never heard anything else about it.

Originally posted by Falchoon

I used to row on the Yarra, and this meant we would often legitimately miss the morning roll call, with the second one after lunch, we would sometimes turn up to school at lunchtime, with a legitimate reason to miss morning roll call.

I used to do that to.

Would often stick around in the Rowing Shed after a morning session so I would miss the first few classes. Sometimes we even went for a lunchtime run/ergo that would cause me to miss the first class of the afternoon.

haha we were always running off usually to training and mum would write fake notes or on the case of a fight with a teacher would just leave.

Once my mate got her P's we would run across the oval smoking um...certain things then down the alley way and go to maccas every lunch or go stealing. The first day she got her P's she crashed into a van at Maccas and we were very late back to class.

Another time we ditched the athletics and then realised the school bus was behind us in the car.

Best was the last day of year 12 and a big trip to the bottle shop then smuggling it all back into my locker and setting up a brewery in the locker bay!

Some good stories here people, a lot better than mine which is just wagging and going to a mates place to have a go on the N64 and 'smoke' some green leafy plant leaves! :eek: I mostly did this at the end of the years when you are finishing off your studies for that year, cause that's when the teachers didn't really give a sh*t about whether you went to school then or not. Teachers here don't bother to catch up with your absentees from the year before if they occured close to the end of the school calendar. With my last year when i was doing my TEE, i never went to school and went to a mates place to watch and smoke things, leaving the nerds to attend class and get TEE revision sheets. Probably explains why i bombed by TEE! But i managed to get to uni thru the back door and am currently about to finish me last year so it was worth it!

never wagged school without my parents knowing - faking an illness usually did the trick.

Wagged many things like classes, assemblies, line ups (where we all lined up like a mini assembly and got told the school events and any news or whatever every tuesday after lunch).

Wagged history one day in Year 11 so me and a mate could blow up this kids schoolbag. My mate got his hands on some explosives of some sort. To get to my busstop you had to walk down this road which led to some etsa plant or something near Port road...so we walked down there, chucked in these explosives and blew this kids (smartarse kid from year 8) school bag into about 100 pieces. Unfortunatly it made the biggest damn bang youll ever hear in your life....like someone blowing up a building and left an indent in the concrete....so we bolted. 5 minutes later there was 5 police cars, the swat team two fire engines down this street looking for the "bomb".

Next to our Year 12 study room was the English Year 12 room, but they were seperated by a tiny storeroom to store spare chairs and maybe a moveable blackboard in, and some stairs (to go down stairs)
So every assembly for about 2 months me and a chick used to hide in there to 'get to know each other better'. Considering assemblies often went for over an hour we got to know each other pretty well!
Me and two of my mates John and Mick used to hide in tehre for line ups. Did that for about 8 weeks. The word got around to the students and then suddenly a couple of girls would hide in the upstairs girls toilets as well. Then one week...just about every friggin girl in Year 12 decided to wag line up...so in a moments rush, me, john, mick and about 15 girls hid in the girls toilets. Me, John and Mick and decided to not use the little storeroom as a hiding spot as we nearly got caught the week before. About 5 minutes later i suddenly saw a slight change of light in the little vent thing at the bottom of the door and then heard the deputy principals voice "we know your all in there...better come out now while you get off lightly", so some girls went out while other girls rushed into the actual toilet area instead of just the little in between room (the toilets were seperated by two doors). I was standing behind the first door which seperated the hallway from the little inbetween room before the toilet area so i was packing myself. Most of the girls went out, then the deputy principal poked his hea din and saw me and Mick standing there. He went "oh my goodness" with a disgusted look on his face so we walked out. John the bastard hid in one of the cubicles and got away. The deputy principal had a good talk to the girls there, while we were all in teh principals office. Then he looked at me with the most angry disgusted look on his face. Im thinking he must be thinking we were having some sort of sexual romp in there and he went off his nut at me and gave me two weeks detention including two saturdays. Beinga christian school they didnt take lightly to me being in the girls toilets. Never did that again.

part two of Maccas wagging coming soon...

I can usually get a day off when I really want one.. but wagged a few assemblies... we have an assembly every day... but like stuff like sports meetings and house meetings and stuff... I never show up for sport meetings when I'm meant to lol... haven't wagged in a while, been a good lil girl! A mate of mine nicked off somewhere in the middle of class the other day and got in heaps of trouble... I won't be wagging for a while!

I was kind of like Macca and could usually get a day off if I really wanted it, Mum was superb like that and Dad would often give me days off and I would go to work and earn some cash for the weekends partes.

I remember during Euro'2000 Mum agreed to let me have the morning off so I could watch Englands games live(No jokes about not missing much school with the early exit please).

Originally posted by Macca19

Wagged history one day in Year 11 so me and a mate could blow up this kids schoolbag. My mate got his hands on some explosives of some sort. To get to my busstop you had to walk down this road which led to some etsa plant or something near Port road...so we walked down there, chucked in these explosives and blew this kids (smartarse kid from year 8) school bag into about 100 pieces. Unfortunatly it made the biggest damn bang youll ever hear in your life....like someone blowing up a building and left an indent in the concrete....so we bolted. 5 minutes later there was 5 police cars, the swat team two fire engines down this street looking for the "bomb".

LOL Classic.

Reminds me of this kid who used to love blowing up mailboxes, every weekend he would claim more scalps and brag about it. Anyway one day someone gave him a taste of his own medicine and blew his mailbox into a million pieces. LOL I nearly cried when my friend told me what happened.

Unfortunately later that year he was out at the local sand quarry testing out some new bombs and blew half his thumb off in the process.

A mate of mine lives next to my school, well you have to cross a creek, but there's a fallen tree to climb accross. We have gone tohis house numerous times for a "day off". My school does role checks at the start and the end of the day, so you just show up in the morning, then leave, then come back later in the arvo. We where nearly caught quite a few times, but it was worth it, the guy was a rich bastard (had a pool, tennis court, etc).

Pity he left my school, or I'd still be spending plenty of time over there during the school year.

First time I ever wagged a day of school was in year 7, when I was late for school, had some homework that was due that I hadn't done (what's changed!? ;)), and I just couldn't be stuffed. Thing is, I was in year 7, a good boy, and I didn't know how to wag!

I was scared someone was going to see me in my uniform and call the school or something, so I avoided all contact with people by going to a park in the centre of Dandy. I was absolutely paranoid that I was going to get caught, when in truth no one gives a stuff.

Basically I ended up in the park all day, and it was the most boring day of my life.

The Hitman

Originally posted by Macca19

LOL Reminds me of an escapade a few people had from my school. In yr 11, a major piece of assessment was a project where you had to teach an audience something. For some reasons (they didn't have a brain between them) this group decided to stage a robbery on a house armed with BB guns and cap guns.
A neighbour saw one of them in a dark trenchcoat walking into next door with a 'gun' and naturally called the cops.
Well, the whole road was blocked off and 4 cop cars carrying cops with shotguns and bulletproof vests surrounded the house and, once knowing of the situation, rang the Principal (a huge block who once whacked a kid on the head with a book so hard that the kid sa down in his seat with an almighty WHACK! that reverberated around the auditorium and shocked all assembled).
Their punishment? A letter of apology to the school and the police. Oh, and future Yr 11s have to complete this asignment at school. - which also had to do with the treatment of KISS FM when they arrived at our school 1 hour late, and hundreds of irate Yr 12s standing around, rocking the car and sratching it, priceless stuff!

Myself? going to a school out in the sticks, wagging during school hours was not on, and i was such a darling angel that whenever i did miss a class, it was because i was helping out a teacher. I was with bout 3 other people who were allowed to go upstairs in the Drama Centre and sleep after having a gruelling performance the night before. Great memories!

I apologise if i have bored anyone!:D

Once in English class, we had an assesment item coming up in a few weeks and we were taking a list to see who could hand in drafts by tomorrow...anyway, my name came up and announce proud as punch that I would not make it because I was going up to Brisbane that day for the cricket!

Anyway, the teacher had a word in my ear telling me to offload the ticket to someone else so I could come to school...but nah.

I went to the Cricket but I got my just desserts, it was a wash out and I saw about 10 overs all day!

The first time I wagged school must have been in year 9(and by that I mean wagging, not faking an illness, I'd learnt that one in about grade 5). I probably had something due, but I went into the city with a friend who had a day off school, and we went to see Jerry Maguire.

Then in year 10, I took off every time we had "electives" because the roll never got matched up. As a result I failed Commerce (the most boring subject I ever took in school, apart from economics the year after,) because I was never there to hand in homework. We just went round the back into a long field behind the school, leading on to loads of parks. Why they'd put them near a highschool I don't know, it's just asking for kids to wag school.

In year 12 I missed a lot of school. I told my mother in the morning that I had spares first two, and my sister in the evening that I had spares last two. Or I faked an illness or something. I was very very close to dropping out in year 12.

I never got caught though. Perhaps because I always calculated things beforehand, I made sure I never got caught. So... well no memorable stories really.

well, these days i can't wag. My dad works at my school and would know straight away! i've never been much of a wagger anyway.
In year 7 and 8 i wagged CLASSES... but i don't think i ever wagged a whole day, except faking a sicky etc.
i don't think i went to any French or Maths classes in yr 7 and now i'm doing Maths Methods in yr 10 and am planning on doing French for VCE, so i don't think it effected me too much!
don't have any good story myself, but a coupla kids from my school were wagging in Chapel st one day and they bumped into my ditzy English teacher (who can't even spell ELEPHANT) they obviously got in alot of trouble... but i wanna know what SHE was doing there in the middle of school!

Nothing too memorable, our school was renowed for its wagging before we got a new principle when I was in Year 10. Our school backed onto a large patch of bushland where groups would dissappear for an hour or 2 and emerge hungry with red eyes ;)

The only times I wagged was with a dodgy mate of mine, one time we wagged and when to a local oval where he started graffiti-ing the clubhouse, just as some council workers rocked up and threatened to beat the crap outta us ... another time we were walking down a street adjacent to school when we noticed a teacher's car approaching so we decided to run through someone's backyard and jump the fence back to school, only problem was when we got to the backyard the neighbour saw us and started screaming obscenities at us ... another time our regular teacher was away and a teacher from another department was going to take over the lesson but just as she arrived she realised she left something so she told class to remain (she trusted us, we were in Year 11) but my mate and I decided to flee, only to be spotted as the teacher was returning to class, she asked where we were going, "ah, back to class" we replied. :cool:

Originally posted by clucas91
Once in English class, we had an assesment item coming up in a few weeks and we were taking a list to see who could hand in drafts by tomorrow...anyway, my name came up and announce proud as punch that I would not make it because I was going up to Brisbane that day for the cricket!

Anyway, the teacher had a word in my ear telling me to offload the ticket to someone else so I could come to school...but nah.

I went to the Cricket but I got my just desserts, it was a wash out and I saw about 10 overs all day!

LOL!
I remember saying to you "Why the hell did you tell him you were going to the cricket? He's the dean of students!" :D

Ah meomeries.
This year mate, it WILL NOT be a washout. :eek:

Touchwood!