Universal Love Memory Lane: 1990 premiership

Dansa, I wasn't at the game as I had young children at the time and couldn't get hold of a ticket anyway. But that noise you refer to, it was building and building in the last quarter, I could hear it on the telecast. A number of my Pies supporting relatives were at the game (one flew in that day from Singapore, as he couldn't miss it), and they have talked about that noise. My cousin described it as primeval, the sound a mighty crowd makes when all as one experience immense relief and joy. She had never heard the like, and in many ways I hope we never hear it again, as it went hand in hand with being flag-less for decades.

You describe it better than I could. It was like one person finally had had the courage to believe and then the person next to them grew the courage and it was contagious.

People would be looking around at each others eyes trying to gauge whether they should also finally believe. Some people were still panicking that supporters should wait for the final siren. They had seen so many victories snatched before, the trauma had been to much for them to accept what was now plainly obvious.

This is why people who experienced the 1990 Premiership know that it will never be surpassed.

Edit: I should also note that I was sitting around a group of about 15 people who had been to every Collingwood game including finals since 1966. Seen 7 Grand Finals without a victory. They had only ever tasted tragedy.

I was enraged to the point of violence and screaming like an animal when Brown went down. He was my idol and I thought it was going to be another Russell Ohlsen incident that would steal the flag off us. I was also convinced then and now that it was pre- meditated. Rowdys provocation just gave them the context.

I got into a fight at quarter time because the loser in front of me tried to say Brown had started the fight.. he backed down pretty fast when he saw the crazy eyes o_O

I was also there at the ground and Vic park that night. Most amazing day and night of my life. Will never forget the euphoria that night at Victoria Park.

I also have copies of the herald sun post the win plus the footy record and my ticket from the day. Tucked away with other memorabilia of 2010.

Bring on 2014

Magpie Girl you are doing a great job on the nostalgia front!

I don't know what to add except to say its freaky how congruent we Magpies are sometimes! I have 2 copies of that newspaper in a special place in my old room at Mum And Dads. I watched the dying moments of the game with my Mum who'd seen every one of those 7 lost GFs.

I was enraged to the point of violence and screaming like an animal when Brown went down. He was my idol and I thought it was going to be another Russell Ohlsen incident that would steal the flag off us. I was also convinced then and now that it was pre- meditated. Rowdys provocation just gave them the context.

I drove from Ballarat to Melbourne and went to Vic Park that night. Amazing scenes. Alas I have never seen the Pies win a GF live. I only went to the 2 failed attempts against the AFL Sponsored Brisbane Lions. I envy those of you who were there. For me it was a blessed, long, long overdue relief.

Johnbe54 I was also an Elite freak as a teenager, cost me my school results very badly in my middle years. Computer games are a black hole addiction (kind of like footy!)

Magpie Girl you are doing a great job on the nostalgia front!

I don't know what to add except to say its freaky how congruent we Magpies are sometimes! I have 2 copies of that newspaper in a special place in my old room at Mum And Dads. I watched the dying moments of the game with my Mum who'd seen every one of those 7 lost GFs.

I drove from Ballarat to Melbourne and went to Vic Park that night. Amazing scenes. Alas I have never seen the Pies win a GF live. I only went to the 2 failed attempts against the AFL Sponsored Brisbane Lions. I envy those of you who were there. For me it was a blessed, long, long overdue relief.

Johnbe54 I was also an Elite freak as a teenager, cost me my school results very badly in my middle years. Computer games are a black hole addiction (kind of like footy!)
Wednesday do you know that David Braben almost has another Elite game just about ready to be released (March this year) called Elite Dangerous - can't wait lol.

My other main memory from 1990 was Abbortsford that night. I was only about 16 at the time so was pretty innocent but people went mental like has never been seen before or after. Johnston and Hoddle Streets were blocked all night due to the people just partying in the street. People who came through became trapped in their cars. I remember supporters jumping up and down on the bonnets and roofs of cars waving flags while people were trapped inside stationary in gridlock. I'll always remember the look in the eyes of a family as they pressed their scarves against the window hoping that would somehow protect them from the pandemonium. A police truck arrived but was shown the same respect. The crowd just massed on it and began rocking it from side to side trying to turn it over.

The streets around Victoria Park that night were completely lawless.

I saw that too it was literally anarchy on the streets. People in cars had fear in their eyes.
Couldn't believe it wasn't reported in the media. I'm glad it wasn't.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Wednesday do you know that David Braben almost has another Elite game just about ready to be released (March this year) called Elite Dangerous - can't wait lol.

Classic!! I better try and baulk this one. Mum isn't able or inclined to ground me any more for overuse of the computer and nowadays I am fighting my own losing battle to keep my kids away from what I frequently call 'those damn i-pads'.

I did have a great nostalgia chat with an old mate a few days ago who owned a ZX Spectrum, we would play Jet Set Willy, Lords of Midnight, Sabre Wulf and many other gems.

Sorry to hijack the thread, feel free to PM Johnbe (or else I'm sure there's some Magpie Gaming thread I've missed!)

Although I guess we are also by discussing PC games, doing what they call ' providing context' so further to that, when I first read Magpie Girls newspaper as shown I was in my second year of Uni, still listening to Def Leppard, wondering how the Gulf War was going to end, virtually un-datable to most Melbourne Uni girls because my twin obsessions were Brown and Daicos and I had no idea how to dress, frequently opting for the t shirt or flanny. I went to Vic Park on the tram to watch the Pies, Melbourne Central had just been constructed, I think bob Hawke was PM, nirvana were a little known fringe band in Seattle and George Martin was 3 years away from writing his first Game of Thrones novel. Others may be able to help recreate the period by adding to this.

Well done WW
It was amazing also to see the pictures of Keating and Cain celebrating so wildly!!
And Hewson and Hawke.

Do we still have a Number 1 ticket holder?

Well done WW
It was amazing also to see the pictures of Keating and Cain celebrating so wildly!!
And Hewson and Hawke.

Do we still have a Number 1 ticket holder?

I think they did away with that and now it's a kind of revolving ticket for whichever celebs make their way into the Westpac Centre or team huddle via the Maguire- Packer axis :)

Classic!! I better try and baulk this one. Mum isn't able or inclined to ground me any more for overuse of the computer and nowadays I am fighting my own losing battle to keep my kids away from what I frequently call 'those damn i-pads'.

I did have a great nostalgia chat with an old mate a few days ago who owned a ZX Spectrum, we would play Jet Set Willy, Lords of Midnight, Sabre Wulf and many other gems.

Sorry to hijack the thread, feel free to PM Johnbe (or else I'm sure there's some Magpie Gaming thread I've missed!)
PMed you Wednesday also there is a thread in the nest.

Sorry all carry on :oops:

Did anyone else notice Neil Roberts player ratings? Scott Russell 27 possessions and 2 goals (5) Paul Hamilton 8 possessions (7). Monkhorst had a great game and was given a (4). For a one sided GF 13 11 89 to 5 11 41 he seems pretty generous to the losers!

Collingwood hate alive and well in 1990!

love those pictures, ahhh....Terry Daniher would have pooped himself having lethal coming at him like that!
(Politically correct??? ummm....love ya lethal)

And some great pix of the old rat pack: Banksy, Pants, Shawy...
what a week? that was

Me old ma kept this - I'd totally forgotten until I opened up some old boxes

4c53431c781d11e2a52022000a1f9e5e_7.jpg

Had a ticket to go with my BiL but my MiL was rushed to St Vincent's in Sydney on the Thursday morning and I ended up down there until Saturday morning and couldn't go. Her son, my BiL went to the footy though. Bastard.
Rushed home in time to watch the game on the 'big' screen at the local footy club.

You can still get dual mode players Vicky and specialist copyists could copy your recording and clean it up a bit :)

theres a well known poster here who has restored a few VHS for me. i kept mine just for the big fat grin on the newsreaders face that night.

i recently sold a few original weg posters for $50 each - cheap by ebay standards.

1. Damian Monkhorst - In the last quarter he kicked a goal. But my highlight was the way he reacted to the contested mark he had just taken against (whoever - Gary O'Donnell, maybe) after he had just clipped him over the back of his head... (made all his bogan curls go upwards) and tried to hold Monky back from walking back to have his shot, he simply just froze, starred down into his opponents eyes, paused, said nothing, and gave him the best "Don't argue" push you'll ever see... and goes back rubbing the back of his head (to get the bogan "Fellas" back into place) - You are nothing he said - I am Collingwoods Premiership Ruckman.

2. Tony Francis - The one player they tried to IRON OUT at the opening bounce... ha ha ha... "Missed me" he says!

3. Michael Gayfer - Watching Tim Watson cramp after the Human Blanket made him go moldy with the lack of sunlight he got!

7. Shane Morwood - The uncompromising, step by step forward, invite to Derek Kickett to "Throw Down" one on one with him... just over "here".... (C'mon C***) quarter time... (even Millane was impressed)

12. Denis Banks - This Moment...

17. Doug Barwick - The toilet paper that come flying from the stands after Banksie handballed it to him to nail one in the last qtr

19. Graeme Wright - Ouzo and Coke...

21. Michael Christian - The biggest hug in the history of "Arms"... after the Siren.

22. Tony Shaw - The moment after he had already dropped to his knees, with his arms in the air... all he had left, was to drop his fists towards the ground and land on all fours. The uncompromising, grinding hard work had come to a halt... Thankyou Tony Shaw... You have earned the title... Collingwood God.

23. Craig Kelly - Van Der Haar, Long, Kickett, Ezard, Salmon... (and the other dude? who was already on the ground) all trying to smash Ned at the start of the quarter time Fracka!... 2nd toughest man on the field that day. No one could knock Ned out that day!

24. Jamie Turner - The mark he took running back with the flight, over his head, with no fear, with 2 minutes left... I will never forget that mark. We were a different level that day... I know it was with 2 minutes to go... but on that day, that's where I finally admitted to myself, We were the Premiers. (and the fact he cried for about 3 days after we won... I cried for 5... and have a few tears now)

26. Gavin Brown - The knee he threw at Daniher on his return in the third quarter... The ONLY time "Rowdy" ever wanted to get it on... Ever

27. Craig Starcevich -Poor dude looked like he'd come out of Rehab after getting Knocked the F*** out... wore his dressing gown through all the celebrations!

28. Gavin Crosisca - The double fist pump after his second goal.

29. Scott Russell - The index finger he raised to the sky in the second quarter, eyes to the ground... this is happening.

30. James Manson - The fist pump he threw out to himself after he hugged Lethal and Gubby, wearing his dressing gown.

34. Michael McGuane - That Photo of him holding the cup up to the crowd... all by himself!

35. Peter Daicos - The "Peter Cransberry" call on the commentary call!

42 - Darren Millane - "Darren Millane can still speed down the Flank, he will feel No Pain tonight..."

44. Shane Kerrison - Every photo taken for the 30 seconds after they gave the Cup to Daics!

C. Leigh Matthews - The single fist, the double fist pump... the hug... the sit down... Greatest 3 seconds in Collingwoods History.

Might be a bit skew iff on a couple of the details, as it has been a while since I watched the greatest day in Collingwoods History.

But writing that post was worth it :thumbsu:

Floreat Pica

1990 = Collingwood Mecca

Until I witnessed the birth of my first son in 2001, the 1990 G.F. was easily the best day of my life. I originally posted my 1990 story in the "sneaking into the grandfinal" thread. Here it is again.

It was October 1990, I was 17 and Collingwood were playing in the Grand Final. I didn't have a ticket but I knew I was going to that game. On the Thursday morning I caught a train from Blackheath to Sydney, then a flight to Melbourne and a train to Upper Ferntree Gully. I gave Granny & Gramps a big hug, smashed some tea n' scones, declared my intentions to them and hightailed it out of there. Within a couple of hours I was at Victoria Park in a state of absolute bliss, amongst a huge Magpie army watching the final training session.

When Saturday rolled around I still didn't have a ticket but with $120 cash in my pocket there was no doubt in my mind I would be sitting inside the MCG by 2PM.

I left Upper Ferntree Gully that morning by train and was walking and watching with intent outside the Hallowed Ground by about 9.30-10.00am. After about an hour and a half I had nothing, not even a sniff of a ticket, my optimism had evaporated and a feeling of panic was starting to set in. Then it came like music to my ears, the sound I was waiting for, the call of the scalper not too loud but not too soft.... a bit like a dog whistle "tickets! anyone want to buy a ticket?". The negotiation lasted about ten seconds: I offered him $60, he demanded $80, it was a no brainer! The ticket was for "STANDING ROOM ONLY" and had a price of $14 on it.

The guy at the gate liked the look of my ticket and let me straight in. The MCG was virtually empty at this point, from memory I think it was around 11.00 to 11.30am and many of the guards at the gates between the Grandstands either weren't there or weren't paying attention. So like a ninja I explored all the potential vantage points until I found myself sitting on an empty bench only a couple of rows back from the font of the first tier level right above the goal posts.

When the umpire bounced the ball at the start of play I was clenching on to the end of that bench with less than half an arse cheek only thanks to the mercy of a group of four of five men who must have walked straight out of the bar 2 minutes before play and claimed my spot on the bench. But 4 odd inches was all I needed to enjoy the biggest game of my life. I was nervous when Paul Salmon booted the first two goals of the match right below me, shocked to see Gavin Brown lying on the ground motionless in the middle of the brawl at quarter time and ecstatic when Daicos threaded his first goal through at the opposite end of the ground.

After the final siren I worked my way down to the seats on ground level below and mingled with the Collingwood Cheer Squad. They were crying and I cried with them. What a great day!

There were reports on the news after the game that a some people had been arrested for forging and selling grand final tickets and that several of the fake tickets had been sold on the day. I've always suspected that the ticket I bought was a dodgy one but I guess we'll never know.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk