Memory Lane... Crows vs Saints

Redbacks, Sturt, Liverpool, Arizona
Welcome Adelaide and St Kilda fans to a regular feature on the Adelaide Board - the Memory Lane threads. This is an opportunity for fans of both sides to recall the momentous matches, moments and memories from our past. We didn't have a thread for Fremantle. Partly because I forgot, also because they're such a boring club who wear purple. But this week we're back!

We were completely over-whelmed early at the Melbourne suburban venues and copped a pounding at Moorabbin in 1991. The fans were packed in like sardines and they had some sort of 'animal enclosure' in those days, where the most feral fans packed into an area with wire fences. Talk about intimidating!

We only kicked 4 goals and lost by 131 points. I remember wondering how we were ever going to possibly compete in this league. Locket was unstoppable - 15 marks, kicked 12.6 and reamed Hughes, Bartlett and Smart along the way. He didn't lay a tackle though so I assume played VFL the follow- sorry... will try to keep the Craig bashing out of the thread.

We lost again to them at home later that year - Lockett kicked 10 and teenager Ben Hart spent a bit of time on him from memory. Talk about David and Goliath! Lockett backed that up with another 10 against us in 1992 (Sando played in this game). That's 32 goals in his first three games against us :oops:

We finally beat them in 1992 at home. Lockett 'only' kicked 3 goals but I seem to remember he got them early then limped off injured. Huzzah! Or maybe I'm mixing that up with 1993? He kicked 2 and we smashed them at AAMI (Modra 7, Hodges 6, Randall Bone 4(!)). By this stage Nigel Smart was playing on him.

In 1994 we had our only ever draw. At Waverley, we came from 29 points behind at three quarter time. I remember my football mad family crammed into the lounge room getting increasingly frustrated during the first three quarters. Then the comeback started. Early in the last quarter though with our excitement at its zenith the doorbell rang. Some of our cousins had made an unscheduled 'drop in' and weren't interested in football in the slightest. Infuriating! Small talk, tea and coffee, biscuits... all the while with all of us trying to keep one eye on the tv.

Non-football people simply don't realise that the two hours when your team is playing is a no-go zone. Any of the other 166 hours during the week - fine. These cousins had an uncanny knack for turning up out of the blue precisely when the Crows were playing. So I didn't really see much of the last quarter, except to see Greg Anderson (my most hated Crow of all time) blaze out on the full with scores level and seconds left :rolleyes:

Other games that stick in the memory bank:
- 2001, Rnd 15 we belted the Saints by 97 points at Docklands and Blighty got the sack!
- 2009, an 11-30 free kick count against us with the supposed benefit of our home crowd
- Oh, and a couple of finals - one good, one bad.

One bit of play from the 1997 Grand Final that I've never seen mentioned is at right of screen end. Fourth quarter I think. Nigel Smart and Max Hudghton slide together on the ground. The ball and camera start to move away but you can catch Smart give Hudghton a cheeky elbow in the face! Not really hard, just for fun.

darren-jarman-103952.jpg

Lockett was one of my favourite players as a kid. Him, Hodges and Dunstall, then of course Mods I have always loved forwards. As that was what I was when I played footy as a kid.

The day he kicked ten I had mixed feelings. Appreciated his effort, but wanted us to win.

Jamo went ok that day, I reckon he kicked 5??

art-wbAFLblightspeccy-420x0.jpg

Blighty actually ripped his pants doing this big leap. You can see him showing John Reid the tear a little bit later on. (Edit - actually which grand final was this from?)

wbRUCKoallen-600x400.jpg

180cm Trent Ormond-Allen in the ruck!

art-wbAFLblightspeccy-420x0.jpg

Blighty actually ripped his pants doing this big leap. You can see him showing John Reid the tear a little bit later on. (Edit - actually which grand final was this from?)

Pretty sure that's 98 Carl. Mark Stevens is there.

Its a pretty good hanger from Blighty won't you say? :)

I was their, infact it was my first AFL game watched live back in 01 when the Crows smashed them by 97 points.
Riewoldt and Kosi had just started out, Jarman was at the end of his career. And i nearly got reemed by some St.Kilda supporter who got punched down the stairs by a huge Crows supporter!

We finally beat them in 1992 at home. Lockett 'only' kicked 3 goals but I seem to remember he got them early then limped off injured. Huzzah! Or maybe I'm mixing that up with 1993? He kicked 2 and we smashed them at AAMI (Modra 7, Hodges 6, Randall Bone 4(!)). By this stage Nigel Smart was playing on him.

This was 1993. It was the week before Modras 13 Haul against Richmond. Lockett left early with a back problem. Smarty was CHF by then that year.

Its a pretty good hanger from Blighty won't you say? :)

I was their, infact it was my first AFL game watched live back in 01 when the Crows smashed them by 97 points.
Riewoldt and Kosi had just started out, Jarman was at the end of his career. And i nearly got reemed by some St.Kilda supporter who got punched down the stairs by a huge Crows supporter!

Was that game at Telstra Dome?
I reckon I went to that. Only game I've been to in Melbourne. Was it also the game that Jason Cripps (I think) was making his come back from injury? From memory he actually started out pretty well and the Saints looked as if they had a sniff. But we creamed them from then on. There were Saints supporters behind me that gave up and started cheering for the Crows.

Was that game at Telstra Dome?
I reckon I went to that. Only game I've been to in Melbourne. Was it also the game that Jason Cripps (I think) was making his come back from injury? From memory he actually started out pretty well and the Saints looked as if they had a sniff. But we creamed them from then on. There were Saints supporters behind me that gave up and started cheering for the Crows.

Yeah thats the game mate. Jason Cripps kicked the first goal of the game after coming back from injury after 24 months on the sideline. Everything just went downhill from their for the Saints tho

How about our farewell game for McLeod/Goodwin/Burton/Hentschel in round 22 of 2010? Special atmosphere when they did their lap of honour. Can still remember the supporter screaming "I LOVE YOU MACCA, WOOOOOO!!!!!!" when Andy gave his final word to the fans.

i went over for the 2001 blighty sacking game. the ground announcer gave ian "PEARL" some goalkicking credits.

I still remember the first game vividly. Lockett back from injury being just so much bigger than anyone else, it was a day that he should have broken the goal kicking record. Up to that game I thought we were a chance for finals football but during that game realised we had a lot of time to go in the gym before we'd match it with the top teams.

I spose we better mention the 2005 qualifying final... :(

No Ricciuto, copped a week for pole axing Stenglein the week before. McGreger started the game on fire. Had three goals in the first quarter and we were ahead. Took another grab 45m out later that quarter and INEXPLICABLY passed it off. Was the turning point of the game. We didn't kick another goal for the best part of a half of football after that.

To this day I have no idea what he was thinking. I know he wasn't the longest kick but he could get them from 50 and was kicking them beautifully this day. Classic case of Crow-Final-itis during this period - doubts creeping in, second guessing yourself, handing the responsibility to someone else, safe option... just gutless, gutless football and the whole 2005-09 period was littered with it.

Didn't help that Robert Harvey ran rampant (and unchecked) throughout the game, had something like 40 touches and kicked 3 or 4 goals. Also James Gwilt joined the Callum Chambers Club with the Greatest Performance of his Career.

I know we've had some finals heart breakers and copped some pastings but surely this loss sits head and shoulders above any other in Crows history. '93 prelim maybe the exception. Basically we gave a premiership away on this night. This loss became the anchor around our necks that we dragged around with us for the next four seasons.

yeh if only mcleod didnt miss that shot on the run from the boundary at the northern end

How about our farewell game for McLeod/Goodwin/Burton/Hentschel in round 22 of 2010? Special atmosphere when they did their lap of honour. Can still remember the supporter screaming "I LOVE YOU MACCA, WOOOOOO!!!!!!" when Andy gave his final word to the fans.

I teared up during that lap of honor...

May, 2005.
Drove Canberra to Melbourne for the game.

Quarter time - Saints led by 4 goals.
Full time - Crows won 103 to 57.

Bock gave St Nick a bath.
Roo - 32 possies, Welsh 5 goals.

Interestingly, Scott Thompson only 8 possessions for the game.
(Luke Jericho - 3 possies - lol)

trent ormand-allen rucking was one of the funniest things i've seen on a footy field

from memory, he teared spider everitt a new one

here's another highlight from that game, burton had threatened to do this all game, and had a couple of attempts that were higher than this one, but this one was a beauty

What about the game in our flat-track bully year of 2009?

I think we were coming off a seven game winning streak and a 20 goal win over Fremantle and then we let Farren Ray get 39 touches and Baker 32. St Kilda had eight players reach 30 disposals (compared to zero for us) and recorded a total of 145 marks. 3 goals to 11 after quarter time as the Saints went on a training drill. Even the tackle count was 73-50 their way. Oh Neil what were you thinking?

I remember this board going into meltdown after that game.

Our games against the Saints last year actually played a huge part in getting us to where we are now.

Round 6, 2011: After a shocking start to the season, we showed some balls and played "unsociably" on our way to a great win over the previous year's Grand Finalists. The game was, however, a catalyst for how our next few months would go. Enter the Toughness DVD, and Tambling's crucifixion, the next week we got flogged by 96 points against Melbourne. Yep, that Melbourne.

Round 18, 2011: Since the last time we met St Kilda, our new brand of "tough" footy went 2-8, with our only wins being against the Gold Coast much to everyone else's relief, and a slog win over Sydney in the wet. And well, we know how this game ended. Our lowest score ever. Etihad's lowest score ever. Craigy decides that's enough, and takes a stroll.

And you know how it works. A butterfly flaps its wings in Tokyo, and nek minnit, we've got Sando and are looking the goods. Let's hope this game is rather uneventful by recent St Kilda/Adelaide game standards.