Merry Christmas

• Thread starter Thread starter POBT

Twas the night before Christmas, and all were asleep
Not a noise was made; from Shermo, no peep
The footy socks were hung by the lockers with care,
In hopes that St Matthews would soon be there.

The players slept in hyperbaric chamber,
Dreaming of babies away in a manger
And Gubby in singlet, and Voss with no shirt
Had just settled down to uncover Fev dirt

When out on the Gabba there arose such a clatter,
Gub sprang from the desk to see what was the matter.
Away to the window he flew like a flash,
Tore open the shutters and threw up the sash.

There was a moustache, and shoulders set square
Voss knew that St Lethal had just arrived there
And more rapid than Daveys, his reindeer they came,
And he whistled, and shouted, and called them by name!

"Now Lynchy! now, Choppy! now, Leppa, now Fly!
On, Johnno! On, Pikey! On Crackers! Pass by!
To the top of the square! to the half forward flank!
Yes, Aker, come too, but don’t be a wank!"

As cricket pitch glistened in summer night air
St Lethal took up the reins with a stare
Met the gaze of young Voss with a knowing grin
“Big shoes to fill son, you better begin”.

And off took St Lethal and his flag winning deer.
To deliver the gifts to those far and those near.
And as they ascended past brights Gabba lights
Young Michael Voss knew that Barney was right

The Lions of old were strong, skilled and tough
So were the new boys, but not quite enough
3 were left from triple flag glory
Time to turn the page on that story.

We’ll need some more goals, give the side a rev
I know just the bloke – let’s sign up big Fev
What about Braddy? Well he’s getting on.
I’ve got just the answer, let’s make him a Swan.

Saucehead and the Pat – never play loose
But we need a gorilla – let’s sign up the Goose.
Raines, Stake and Buch, they’re as good as the next man
But we need some more magic – trade for the X-Man

They wondered if young blokes would step up again.
Bam Bam and Polks, and the Son of old Ken.
Would Blacky put on ‘nother masterclass?
Could Brennan pull any more from his arse?

As for the ruck, Clark and which one?
Go for big Leuey or the penalised one?
Drummo to wing, and Finger to pocket
Keep Ash in defence, the beaut little rocket

And they sat and planned for season twenty-ten
Knowing that the Lions' time was again
The clock had turned; it was flag winning time
Time to step up from two-thousand and nine.

From Browny to Bartlett, the team could belong
Alongside the Saints and the Dogs and Geelong
And they knew that their club was premiership worthy
Except for the horrible new bloody jersey

When September rolls round for the day at the G
Where nation’s eyes watch as the champions compete
For Browny to hold up the cup to the roars
That’s my wish for Chrissy, Santa Claus.

Have a safe and enjoyable Christmas everyone :). I've got work for 6.5 hours later and I work at a busy bottle-o, going to be run off my feet later, can't wait for 9:15 to come around lol.

POBT is brilliant.

A message from the club via Shermo.

BL10_Newsletter_Modules_Body_03.jpg

Hope everyone has a great Christmas, and santa brings everyone 'old' lions merch and not new stuff, unless you've been naughty. Great poem there POBT, perfect Christmas eve reading.

Was going to start a new thread, but couldn't think of a title, so will put this here.....we are home now, had a huge lunch, feel like a stuffed pig and everyone's having a nana nap, except me, I'm on BF instead!!:D

Got lots of lovely pressies, and LOTS of lottos, most for next weeks big 20 odd million draw.....that got me thinking!

If I won that much, I am going to overthrow the board, pay them all off, tell them to bugger off into blue yonder, not to be seen again.....then make some changes!

CEO..........weevil (he can keep everyone under control)

Chairman.....TheBrownDog

Media Managers........H.McHaggis and Nigilicious

List Managers........Dylan12, Acuguy, Vossy, TBD + Chezwick

Den Mothers.........ceebee, brisbanelioness, beausgirl and MM

Resident Photographer.........Stitchface + Mr. Ripper

Resident spy (read stirrer).....Duritz

Everyone else can be on the board...:p

Then I'm going to re-wind the clock back to the final siren of this years grand final, when everything was still as it was, our normal magnificent jumper, Braddie still with us, Henderson too........but..

Oh dear, and I haven't been drinking either...think I need a nana nap too!:eek:

It was a good daydream while it lasted;)..........What did you all get?

I'll start drawing up some stuff for the initial presser after the spill :D

Got a big round smiley face rug for the floor and a nice lil wad of cash on top of the JB & Hevy Devy tickets. Best haul in many years.