saj_21

Melbourne Board Tipping Champion
Warney's IPL team!
This bloke has one assest to his game. marking. He couldnt even do that tonight. The delievery was bad but he is a very average footballer, everyone goes on about him been the next big thing, the bloke cant get out of 1st gear, ball hits the ground and hes out of the contest, doesn't attack the footy, chases but cant run. All he can do is fly for a big mark. thats about it. Get him back to Sandrigham.

AND

Colin Garland should NEVER, EVER be aloud to put on a red and blue jumper. He shows absolutly NOTHING. One of the worst players ive seen play for the club since Brent Grigc was around.

This bloke has one assest to his game. marking. He couldnt even do that tonight. The delievery was bad but he is a very average footballer, everyone goes on about him been the next big thing, the bloke cant get out of 1st gear, ball hits the ground and hes out of the contest, doesn't attack the footy, chases but cant run. All he can do is fly for a big mark. thats about it. Get him back to Sandrigham.
Had a poor game but he isn't at the top of my list to start flogging, he's a full forward and if he can mark it 4 times a game close to goal he'll kick at least 2 and we will be happy. He had a poor night but he is better than Miller thats for sure, speaking of Miller, suprisingly he wasn't absolutely disgraced playing in a backline that was always going to cop of hiding with the delivery from Hawthorn's midfield.

Give guys like Garland more than 1 game before you axe them. Newton's chasing last year was actually quite good and he'll show that as the year goes on. I did think that he looked a bit slow today...slower than usual.

Geez, bit rough to single out a Young KPP in his 2nd season - Stick with Newton

Plenty of serial offenders that have been treading water at the club collecting fat pay packets for years to have a crack at b4 this bloke.

Give guys like Garland more than 1 game before you axe them. Newton's chasing last year was actually quite good and he'll show that as the year goes on. I did think that he looked a bit slow today...slower than usual.

This bloke has shown NOTHING in his 3 of games so far. He hasnt even shown a passage of play were you thought, "this kids alright" he is a nothing player and he may have only played a few games but has shown nothing to prove he will be anything. He didn't desreve a game round one, also showed nothing in practise matches, which usually is where young players show if there any good. This bloke should NEVER play for melbourne again.

Get off his back.

Hes played 11 games.

Fair call BC but I have never seen a slower player for the MFC and that is saying something - all this guy has is his overhead marking ability and he failed too show the pre-2006 Neitz like grip on the footy today that he promised last year - havibg said that he does deserve the rest of the year to prove himself but that is not the case with 75% of the team including the coach - bring back the Preacher!!!

This bloke has shown NOTHING in his 3 of games so far. He hasnt even shown a passage of play were you thought, "this kids alright" he is a nothing player and he may have only played a few games but has shown nothing to prove he will be anything. He didn't desreve a game round one, also showed nothing in practise matches, which usually is where young players show if there any good. This bloke should NEVER play for melbourne again.

do many players show much in their first three games, especially when their team is getting absolutely killed in each of them!?!

give him a chance mate, not every players gonna set the world on fire at 19 or 20.

AND

Colin Garland should NEVER, EVER be aloud to put on a red and blue jumper. He shows absolutly NOTHING. One of the worst players ive seen play for the club since Brent Grigc was around.

I'd be pointing the finger at guys like Robertson, Neitz, Yze, White etc. who are the SENIOR players. They were worse.

And I actually thought Garland did a few good things. He certainly wasn't great, but he didn't look as out of depth as he did last year.

I'd be pointing the finger at guys like Robertson, Neitz, Yze, White etc. who are the SENIOR players. They were worse.

And I actually thought Garland did a few good things. He certainly wasn't great, but he didn't look as out of depth as he did last year.

Yep I agree re Garland CFH - he definitely will be a good player - looks like a taller slender Whelan IMO

We got killed out there today, and to single out 2 kids who have played 11 and 3 games respectively is stupid and harsh. The players who the finger needs to be pointed at are Robbo, Yze, White, Bruce (although was underdone) etc. I'd prefer to see Garland, Newton, FRAWLEY, Dunn, Bartram, Maric, Morton et al play the rest of the year out then persisting with older players who we should have disgarded with TJ.

Today, could find only positive in Moloney, and even then he wasn't outstanding. But mediocrity rises above everything in such a horrid performance. Jones didn't disgrace but didn't impress either though.

My beef with Newton is that he gave up and didn't show like he cared much.

If he showed a bit of grit, then i'd give him a pass. Alas no...

He seemed to make very little effort when the ball hit the ground, and when he had to chase opponents. That is a mental thing more than anything. I'd hope it will be drummed into him by Mahoney and Bailey over the next few weeks. Other than that, he is still a good prospect.

There was no leadership from the "leadership" group. Neitz, Robertson, Yze, Bruce and Miller were missing for most of the game, McLean wasn't that much better.

And what really grinds my gears is how some people on this board have questioned Morton! It was his first game ffs and the kid put his body on the line when the game was all but over, imo that oozes courage and committment to the MFC, which i did not see at all from the majority of the leadership group yesterday.

A man (much smarter than myself) once said that you can't tell "if a player is a player" in a game decided by more than 10 goals. It's too far from the norm to judge. About the best you can look at is effort till the final whistle.

From an opp supporter, I'd be pretty happy with #1 (Buckley?), #21, #22 (Moloney?), Jones and Johnson. I'd be very unhappy with Davey, White, Green, Bruce, Neitz, Robbo. They'd go close to being your top 6 too, certainly in the top 10 I would think. Having all those senior players having down games makes the margin much less suprising.

In a way, I'd almost be glad they are the teams 'senior' players (and will mostly be gone in a couple of seasons).

It felt like we had a physical superiority (in terms of size/strength/physical aggression) out there, which I haven't seen too often. Did you guys play a lot of younger (1st/2nd season) type players? Or is it just the 'style' of play you guys want/were forced to play?

A man (much smarter than myself) once said that you can't tell "if a player is a player" in a game decided by more than 10 goals. It's too far from the norm to judge. About the best you can look at is effort till the final whistle.

From an opp supporter, I'd be pretty happy with #1 (Buckley?), #21, #22 (Moloney?), Jones and Johnson. I'd be very unhappy with Davey, White, Green, Bruce, Neitz, Robbo. They'd go close to being your top 6 too, certainly in the top 10 I would think. Having all those senior players having down games makes the margin much less suprising.

In a way, I'd almost be glad they are the teams 'senior' players (and will mostly be gone in a couple of seasons).

It felt like we had a physical superiority (in terms of size/strength/physical aggression) out there, which I haven't seen too often. Did you guys play a lot of younger (1st/2nd season) type players? Or is it just the 'style' of play you guys want/were forced to play?

Number 21 is bell, i would add Maclean to that group his 28 possessions were not pretty at all but he a fair dinkum crack all day.

Nietz tried hard and battled all day, and the ball barely came down to him. But the other senior guys u mentioned were pathetic and an embarrasment to the red and blue. Also add yze in that group.

You make a good point. I can't wait for the next few years when our senior players are McLean, Jones, Rivers, Moloney, Bell, etc... What a great bunch of leaders they'll be for our young blokes. You can be sure that they will never throw in the towel. Unlike our current side, whose senior players are the ones failing us.

You look back to our best side in recent years, 1998. Our leaders were Lyon, Schwarz, Viney, Stynes, Tingay, Ingerson, etc... No wonder we had a great season. Since then we've had some good seasons, but based purely on our skill and ability (not our determination and leadership).

NB - I shall exclude Neitz from this post, as he has always been a great leader. Even now that he is on his last legs, at least he still flattens blokes and makes an effort.