Sera

Fremantle Dockers
Mick reignites Fremantle feud
By MICHAEL PLACE
22jun03

FORMER West Coast Eagles coach Mick Malthouse has reignited his feud with Fremantle by hurling a verbal grenade at inaugural coach Gerard Neesham and his successor Damian Drum.

As the Dockers surge towards their first finals campaign, Malthouse also took aim at the club's fans, claiming they had a "giant chip on their shoulders".

The outburst came in a foreword to a new book Way to Go, ironically about the Dockers, written by journalist and avid Fremantle fan Matt Price.

The current Collingwood coach accused Neesham of "arrogance" and a record in the draft that was "spectacularly bad".

He said he was left baffled by a conversation with Neesham soon after his appointment in late 1994. "He began speaking enthusiastically about people I'd never heard of . . . I was genuinely confused by Gerard's ramblings," Malthouse wrote.

"No wonder, since it eventually became clear he was talking about Hungarian water-polo players, not footballers. From that moment I was pretty sure we'd have Gerard's measure. There was a hint of arrogance and superiority about Gerard which was never borne out by his results."

Malthouse said his frosty relationship with Drum stemmed from the pair's first meeting shortly after Neesham's sacking.

"Someone had obviously already poisoned the well, because on our first meeting he was very defensive. `I've been told not to trust you', was Damian's greeting, and the ground rules were established."

In another blast, Malthouse accused the club of poor financial management. "I'll admit I had my concerns when the Dockers entered the AFL at the end of the 1994 season," he said. "The Eagles were already battling to recover from heavy debts . . .

"As Fremantle have struggled to pay their bills, I guess this scepticism was justified."

Fremantle chief executive Cameron Schwab hit back yesterday, saying since its inception the club had contributed millions of dollars to the WA Football Commission.

"We will contribute almost $2 million this year," Schwab said.

"We also have almost 27,000 members who have a great passion and love for the club. All of that sounds like a pretty good contribution to me."

According to Malthouse, the Dockers suffered at the draft because of a disrespect and distrust of himself and the Eagles.

"I always got the sense Fremantle officials were more concerned with not being duped by the Eagles than securing the players they required," he said.

Fans also copped a spray, with Malthouse labelling as "garbage" claims that Dockers followers were more passionate than Eagles fans.

He said there was a "nasty and resentful" edge to Freo supporters.

"I can walk past a bunch of Blues or Bombers supporters, and usually there'll be some playful ribbing which everyone can enjoy," he said.

"In Perth, there was often a bitterness, venom and envy about Freo fans. It was unwarranted, senseless and destructive."

Price, who is a columnist for The Sunday Times, said it was about time WA football fans got over their Malthouse phobia.

"Do you they want a bland, boring mob of public servants, or someone who is honest and interesting? Mick's foreword is in a book that gets stuck into the Eagles, but as always he's a straight shooter," Price said.

"Mick's criticisms are of the past regimes. He's a huge supporter of the national competition, including the Dockers."

That bit about nasty and resentful, containing a bitterness, venom and envy sounds like he has had a run-in with our very own Freo Hitman. :D

Mick always spiels some crap about opposition teams or the goings on in the AFL when his team isn't doing that well, it takes the focus off the team and more onto him.

The bloke effectively killed state or origin footy in WA, for that I'm bitter towards Mick himself, but not really the Eagles.

I don't think anyone can deny that the Fremantle Football Club has a created an underdog culture for themselves. It surprises me that anyone would purposely do this. Other noted clubs with this 'us against them' culture such as the Kangaroos, Bulldogs and Saints hardly have successful histories.

Originally posted by Sera
That bit about nasty and resentful, containing a bitterness, venom and envy sounds like he has had a run-in with our very own Freo Hitman. :D

Sounds like he has been talking to himself, He had a bit about treating the dockers as any other team but this was debunked by Bluey Mckenna on Sports talk this afternoon (sunday). Bluey reckoned he put more time into analyising the dockers than any other team. It probably stems from when Gerard was busy coaching Claremont to their flags and refused to be dominated by mick with regards to where he would play WCE players when they were not playing for the eagles.

And as for recruiting Neesham did not have the pre draft consessions that Mick enjoyed. In fact when on a level playing field and collingwood having spent as much time on the bottom as Freo and the Saints, one could argue that in fact he has stuffed up his draft picks. At least he must envious after his outburst the other day about the Saints and St Kilda.

Agree

I really could not find anything to disagree with in Mick's summary of Fremantle and especially their supporters!

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
And as for recruiting Neesham did not have the pre draft consessions that Mick enjoyed. In fact when on a level playing field and collingwood having spent as much time on the bottom as Freo and the Saints, one could argue that in fact he has stuffed up his draft picks. At least he must envious after his outburst the other day about the Saints and St Kilda.

The "concessions" Mick enjoyed weren't really concessions... they were purely so that the Eagles could bring their list up to 52 like every other team in the AFL had at that stage.... as the Eagles were handicapped with only a 35 man playing list due to the paranoia from Vic clubs that we would be a virtual state team. The AFL fixed this once they ralised how poor we were (1987 to 1989) As it worked out the VICs didn't choose many of the West Australians anyway which meant we were able to pick them up. More their problem than ours.

The difference between when the Eagles were formed and when the Dockers were formed came down to 2 things.

1. In 1987 the WAFL was a strong competition and proved that by showing players ni the WAFL could come straight into the then VFL and be competitive. By the time the Dockers came into the comp in 1995 the WAFL was a weakened competition.

2. When Neesham formed the Dockers his intention was not on making the Dockers successful but by saving his own club Claremont from financial ruin... and the best way to do that was to pick Claremont players in the inaugral Dockers team even if they weren't up to standard. This meant Claremont were "compensated" for every player that was drafted, made their debut and then even more money if they reached 50 games etc. Neesham did not pick the best talent available to him and thats nobody's fault but the Dockers... and I reckon they are still paying for it today.

Originally posted by Chris_Judd
The "concessions" Mick enjoyed weren't really concessions...

1991 Zone Selection Jason Ball (GF team not really a concession) :rolleyes:

1990 Zone Selection Glen Jakovich
1990 Zone Selection Mitchell White (PF team not really a concession) :rolleyes:

1. In 1987 the WAFL was a strong competition and proved that by showing players ni the WAFL could come straight into the then VFL and be competitive. By the time the Dockers came into the comp in 1995 the WAFL was a weakened competition.

Exactly that is why the dockers should have had MORE not less concessions

2. When Neesham formed the Dockers his intention was not on making the Dockers successful but by saving his own club Claremont from financial ruin... and the best way to do that was to pick Claremont players in the inaugral Dockers team even if they weren't up to standard. This meant Claremont were "compensated" for every player that was drafted, made their debut and then even more money if they reached 50 games etc. Neesham did not pick the best talent available to him and thats nobody's fault but the Dockers... and I reckon they are still paying for it today.

Drawing a long bow there, in 1995 the dockers won 8 games and if anything were TOO successful as it stopped them getting further concessions.
When most of the "Experts" thought that if they won 1 or 2 games they would have done well.
Mick's parinoia stems from the fact that in 1994 Neesham was busily getting Claremont into another GF until Mark Riley took over and he also coached the last WAFL team to beat the SANFL.
Bring him out of retirement to coach the WAFL team next year I say.

Rip

I could rip into you about your obvious bias, but I can't bothered. Instead, I will simply say the following five words: "John Hutton and Craig Nettlebeck".

Liked the bit about the Hungarian water polo players.

FWIW, I thought Neesham added a lot to the game by his innovative stuff, I just don't think you can win the AFL premiership doing it. Drum was just, well, Drum.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
1991 Zone Selection Jason Ball (GF team not really a concession) :rolleyes:

1990 Zone Selection Glen Jakovich
1990 Zone Selection Mitchell White (PF team not really a concession) :rolleyes:

Ohh, so THATS why we won two premierships?

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Ohh, so THATS why we won two premierships?

Don't encourage them, remember

"In Perth, there was often a bitterness, venom and envy about Freo fans. It was unwarranted, senseless and destructive."

Originally posted by Voice of Reason
Drum was just, well, Drum.

Drum might not have been the best coach around but I still believe he did a good job with our footy club. He did a great job drafting and developing players and a fair bit of the success we are having now is due to him.

IMO, Jason Ball was instrumental behind us winning our two premierships

The concession pick we used on him was the catalyst for our future success.....

Oh, and i thought pretty highly of Drum, pity he got shafted

Micks welcome to his views and he may be right on some issues, but remember he is seeing it from his perspective.

An interesting point was made that Gerard spoke about sportsman Mick knew nothing about. In footy these days I regularly hear coaches talk about American baseballers, footballers and international soccer coaches who have given them insperation. Just because Mick hasn't heard of a Hungarian water polo player, does that mean that person is any less inspirational than say Michael Jordan.

The relationship between Gerard and Mick had always been bad due to the Eagles telling Claremont who to play. Example 1 was Ashley Mc in 1992 who was playing to regain form after injury, he played pathetically (read did not try), Claremont advised he would be playing in the 2's next week and Mick was not happy, Claremont refused to back down, so Mc sat out the next week.

Example 2, Claremont won their way into a grand final and were told to select Hepburn (who admitted he was out of form), the Claremont selection panel refused to tell the player to be "dropped" (Brendan Barrows), after a stand off, I understand the General Manager had to tell him.

Anyway as this book is historical his comments make good reading, but the club he is talking about has moved along.

Having listened to Woosha and Bluey, Mick has a strong point of view and when he runs up against someone with differing ideas, sparks fly.

Originally posted by masai

The relationship between Gerard and Mick had always been bad due to the Eagles telling Claremont who to play.

I always thought it was due to Neesham getting ****ed off about losing his best Claremont players to West Coast, and then having other guys in and out of the side periodically.

I distinctly remember Neesham whining on several occasions on West Coast pinching "his" players when he was coach of Claremont.

...Just because Mick hasn't heard of a Hungarian water polo player, does that mean that person is any less inspirational than say Michael Jordan...

Bit hard to be inspired by someone you have never heard of or seen. I'd say 99.9% of the population know nothing about Hungarian water polo players (including the Freo team). He may as well have stuck a pin in the phone book, to select his inspiring example.

What I should point out is that Gerard is one stubborn b, as he had to be to achieve what he did with limited natural talent. When 2 stubborn b's meet, ouch.

Thawn, you're on a similar track as me. It was mainly players being sent back to Claremont to find form, and Gerard being told where to play him. If I was in that situation, I might get a bit grumpy, especially if the AFL players are pushing out a good WAFL player. Anyway this situation is happening regularly in the WAFL. eg. Claremont and Waterhouse.

Jabber the point I was trying to make was that if you tell a story about a man from a wealthy family, who gets the best coaches and makes millions out of say basketball, that would be interesting. Tell a story about a player from a poor background, overcomes many injuries and personal tragedies, to come out the otherside as the best "farnarkle" player in the world. Which story is more inspiring?.

Funny we are hearing alot about Mick and his views on various issues, but very little about the footy side Collingwood. I wonder why .......?.

Jabber the point I was trying to make was that if you tell a story about a man from a wealthy family, who gets the best coaches and makes millions out of say basketball, that would be interesting. Tell a story about a player from a poor background, overcomes many injuries and personal tragedies, to come out the otherside as the best "farnarkle" player in the world. Which story is more inspiring?.

The basketball guy, because I've never heard of "farnarkle" :D

Originally posted by iceman
IMO, Jason Ball was instrumental behind us winning our two premierships

The concession pick we used on him was the catalyst for our future success.....

I believe Jason Ball didn't play in the 1992 premiership... only in the 1994 premiership... mind u if David Hynes could get a game as ruckman in that year... then Jason Ball would.

Originally posted by Chris_Judd
I believe Jason Ball didn't play in the 1992 premiership... only in the 1994 premiership... mind u if David Hynes could get a game as ruckman in that year... then Jason Ball would.

Ball played in 94.

I thought he was better as a ruckman than a forward, regardless of Ball topping the WC goals one year.

I think there were too many ruckmen at the club and Ball needed to make way due to his injuries at the time. he has still had many injuries since moving to Sydney, but when he is out on the field, the Swans seem a better side.