Opinion Mick Malthouse MEGA THREAD

Expectations on MM should b very high, otherwise there was no point in getting rid of a final's coach in Ratts. We should b expecting no less than a GF appearance within two years. Sure, he has to get to know the list & vice-virsa, but he's got a mature list that many say is one of the best going round (hence part of the reason in getting rid of Ratts, although MM has said it's got problems, and he's right there in my humble opinion). Sanderson turned the Crows around in a year, coming from 12th, & MM is a far more heralded coach than Sanderson.

I'm a Ratt's fan & want him to stay, it's stupid saying he can't coach because he has runs on the board. But one thing MM has going for him is that he appears far more authoritative than Ratts, and he'll probably be better at putting the fear of god into some of our players, which is needed given some of the performances this year. It's an absolute joke that players on $250,000 run as hot & cold as our players, & that someone has to put the fear of god into them, they should be self-motviated. But that's where we're at. Will be interesting times ahead, to see how MM changes the game plan, which players will be kicked in / kicked out, changes to coaching staff, and no doubt Gibbs will be played more in the centre. If we've got the best list, and MM gets them performing week in / week out, then great. But given the events of this week "great" is what should be expected from the new appointment.

The excuses have started already.

Problem is ratten has left such a defensive mess he may need two years to fix it

:thumbsdown: Ignore list time.

Yarran went down in the first half even as McInness, Watson, Laidler, Tuohy, Henderson, Jamison all watched from the injury ward.

Yet we still managed to lead midway thru the last quarter. :rolleyes:

Now that Williams is confirmed as a richmond development coach, not that he was going to come to royal parade, but for those that wasn't completely sold on Malthouse being our coach next year, well he is just about 99.9% right now.

"Would need to convince myself Carlton are the right fit"?

Wtf - not too many better opportunities to come in and get to coach a team more than capable of finishing top 4 next year, and be a premiership chance.

Also his commitment hardly sounds convincing, nor does his description of our backline in terms of knowing our list/needs...

Really don't like how we are needing to sell ourselves to him rather than the other way around - offer the job to choco and tell Mick he blew his chance.

Is certainly acting like we have no say in the matter, and drinking his own bathwater. That would be 3 flags in 28 years Mick. It hasn't all been rosy.

MM and Swann have bent us over a barrel here.

:( Squidda and Paddy debuted today.

Midfielders, please.

No thanks. KPD's we still need. Unless of course you believe that Jammo and Hendo will play every game next year?

White has been doing an adequate job. There's Laidler. Watson and McCarthy need some faith shown. A more progressive regime will give them increased responsibilities in their third years. McInness will be back for the finals.

If we could snare cheaply Roughead (WB) or Keefe (Coll) and groom them as backup rucks, then fair enough.

I think our stock of talls is otherwise sufficient.

Is certainly acting like we have no say in the matter, and drinking his own bathwater. That would be 3 flags in 28 years Mick. It hasn't all been rosy.

Thursday is becoming more and more baffling, isn't it? If this is turning into a MM rebuild & we're giving up hope of a premiership in the next 2 - 3 years, then why not stick with Ratt's one more year to see if an upgraded 2011 was around the corner? If it didn't work, then there's Roos in waiting for 2014.

White has been doing an adequate job. There's Laidler. Watson and McCarthy need some faith shown. A more progressive regime will give them increased responsibilities in their third years. McInness will be back for the finals.

If we could snare cheaply Roughead (WB) or Keefe (Coll) and groom them as backup rucks, then fair enough.

Probably say the same about midfielders, we don't seem to struggle too much in that area. Boosting our defensive stocks would release Gibbs and Yarran into the midfield. Agree about White, but he still being developed.

Malthouse doesn't want to move interstate. He is not sure if we are the right fit & he doesn't believe he could step back into coaching in 2014, after 2 seasons out of the game.

As I understand it, there are only 2 senior coaching positions which are vacant at the moment (perhaps Mick knows something about other coaches facing the chop). One of them is interstate & the other one is Carlton. Does this bloke want to coach or not? I know the earth is slow & the ox is patient, but this is just ridiculous.

Thursday is becoming more and more baffling, isn't it? If this is turning into a MM rebuild & we're giving up hope of a premiership in the next 2 - 3 years, then why not stick with Ratt's one more year to see if an upgraded 2011 was around the corner? If it didn't work, then there's Roos in waiting for 2014.

The club have gone for a quick fix, eliminated all other candidates, and now that candidate is dictating terms. It feels more and more that we are considered a basketcase and have to crawl on our hands and knees to the contract signing. Sheesh, rightly or wrongly, we have more pride than that .... don't we?

Hi Guys,
I've been hibernating for the winter.........what did I miss?

New fonts.......new posters.........

Just thought I'd chip in here, no idea where any of these thoughts belong.......

On KPD, I don't think we have all the answers with what we have, but we have enough to not make it the priority.
We had a very bad year injury wise, but I think there is enough to like about Jammo, Hendo, and White since he came back in, not to mention Laidler and Duigan that given a decent run we should be o.k. down back.
Waite is always a concern, but Mitchell and Casboult have now overtaken Hampson as the preferred number 2 tall forward. Levi looked more than competant in the ruck, and his kicking is no worse than Hampson's.

I think our biggest problem is our field kicking. It is horrible. No point spending a million a year on Cloke if we kick it to his opponents advantage. Good disposal not only goes to the forwards advantage but also dictate where a forward leadas.

We have too many blokes, especially who should be able to use it (i.e. midfielders) who can't hit targets. This has to be our focus recruiting wise.
Hence my surprise ruling out bidding for Goddard, but I'd have a crack at Boak as well.

Any ideas what happens if Malthouse says "No"?
Surely, to sack Ratts they must have some sort of undertaking?

No way they could go to an unknown coach..........thoughts?

BB.

Hi Guys,
I've been hibernating for the winter.........what did I miss?

New fonts.......new posters.........

Just thought I'd chip in here, no idea where any of these thoughts belong.......

On KPD, I don't think we have all the answers with what we have, but we have enough to not make it the priority.
We had a very bad year injury wise, but I think there is enough to like about Jammo, Hendo, and White since he came back in, not to mention Laidler and Duigan that given a decent run we should be o.k. down back.
Waite is always a concern, but Mitchell and Casboult have now overtaken Hampson as the preferred number 2 tall forward. Levi looked more than competant in the ruck, and his kicking is no worse than Hampson's.

I think our biggest problem is our field kicking. It is horrible. No point spending a million a year on Cloke if we kick it to his opponents advantage. Good disposal not only goes to the forwards advantage but also dictate where a forward leadas.

We have too many blokes, especially who should be able to use it (i.e. midfielders) who can't hit targets. This has to be our focus recruiting wise.
Hence my surprise ruling out bidding for Goddard, but I'd have a crack at Boak as well.

Any ideas what happens if Malthouse says "No"?
Surely, to sack Ratts they must have some sort of undertaking?

No way they could go to an unknown coach..........thoughts?

BB.
One can only speculate that perhaps there is another premiership coach that the club have their eye on & the Malthouse talk is just a furphy until such time as the club is ready to announce the new coach.

Just don't like the media posturing. I find it offensive and disrespectful to us.

I want to win, or at least I thought I did, but don't really want to sell my soul for it. Passion and respect for the CFC, its people and its history are of more importance to me.

Just don't like the media posturing. I find it offensive and disrespectful to us.

I want to win, or at least I thought I did, but don't really want to sell my soul for it. Passion and respect for the CFC, its people and its history are of more importance to me.

I sort of mimicked this mentality in the Ratten 'Toast' thread. We've just axed a coach that was truly passionate about the Navy jumper for a guy wanting to pull all the strings. Coaching shortcoming aside, I would like to believe that it is the former that would have been able to drive our players to their very last inch, but I suspect Malthouse will probably do a better job at it.

Knowing that does make me start to question why I watch this game and what I desire to get out of it - this past week is starting to make me realise empty premierships are not it, and I hope this whole affair does not make it feel like that should success eventuate.

I sort of mimicked this mentality in the Ratten 'Toast' thread. We've just axed a coach that was truly passionate about the Navy jumper for a guy wanting to pull all the strings. Coaching shortcoming aside, I would like to believe that it is the former that would have been able to drive our players to their very last inch, but I suspect Malthouse will probably do a better job at it.

Knowing that does make me start to question why I watch this game and what I desire to get out of it - this past week is starting to make me realise empty premierships are not it, and I hope this whole affair does not make it feel like that should success eventuate.

Well yeah, we don't win flags every year and I still love the club. It is something more real than just winning flags. When we win, we win together and when we lose, we lose together. Things just feel a little fractured and less enjoyable.

Sure some will over simplify things and say 'if you don't like it, then you have no right to celebrate success when it comes', but I'm actually thinking about possible future success with less enthusiasm because of how it might be achieved.

I'm spoiled a little bit I think. I was late to the game as a former kiwi, and experienced 3 flags in my first 4 years as a supporter. It took 5 more years to get another but we made finals every year. Then it got harder. 8 years went by and we won in 1995 and I recognised the years of failing (by our standards) and cried with relief and sheer joy. I was really looking forward to the outpouring of emotion the next time around with 17 years and counting behind us.

That outpouring will only come if we still feel like Carlton to me. Then again, it is in the eye of the beholder. Carlton means something different to everybody.

The club have gone for a quick fix, eliminated all other candidates, and now that candidate is dictating terms. It feels more and more that we are considered a basketcase and have to crawl on our hands and knees to the contract signing. Sheesh, rightly or wrongly, we have more pride than that .... don't we?

Yep, this bloody angers me, now MM has all the hand in this.
The people currently at the club are just not up to it imo, its time a few key players were moved on.

Would love a shock announcement of Roos being named as coach just to stuff malthouse up, but will never happen.

"Would need to convince myself Carlton are the right fit"?

Wtf - not too many better opportunities to come in and get to coach a team more than capable of finishing top 4 next year, and be a premiership chance.

Also his commitment hardly sounds convincing, nor does his description of our backline in terms of knowing our list/needs...

Really don't like how we are needing to sell ourselves to him rather than the other way around - offer the job to choco and tell Mick he blew his chance.

Just Mick being Mick. Don't get lost in his smokescreen.
And as for Choco, please don't.

yep the window is narrow that's why we needed to replace ratten two years ago our time is now.

Problem is ratten has left such a defensive mess he may need two years to fix it

Let's pray the man can turn it around

On exposed form we have a huge amount of ground to make up but if anyone can mm can

So much wrong with this, I don't understand how you can despise Ratten so much.

We have 2 very good key defenders in Jamison and Henderson. We then have Laidler back there who has also been a gun. Yarran when on is one of the most damaging off half back in the league. The one key component missing from our defence is a good small defender. Now Walker did the job today on the flog, but we are sacrificing too much if we keep him back there, we need him up forward that's where he played his best footy. No use robbing Peter to pay Paul. Joseph and Touhy are not up to it. But it's hardly a defensive mess when you consider we have McInnes, Watson & McCarthy as our depth defenders. Only White and Davies aren't up to it.

The bigger problem then the small defender is the fact that we need a gun inside mid, one with pace, footy brain and the skill to pull it off, hoping we pick one or two up in the draft see if we can develop them.

The fact that Malthouse didn't identify these areas in his little interview there, already has me worried. Yes we need a key forward, but that issue isn't as glaring as the other 2 areas.

Just Mick being Mick. Don't get lost in his smokescreen.
And as for Choco, please don't.
He doesn't need the smokescreen though. Carlton were the arch enemy, we never bought into his circus act. In fact, most of us ridiculed for it. He's not bigger than the club already. We have had 148 years of history and some of the biggest names in the game at our club. A little respect wouldn't go astray.

If Sticks had the balls, he should be saying that we will decide if Malthouse is a good fit for us.

Trust me, this guy - no good. Throw Davies in too. Both will be axed soon.