Suspended
Veteran 10k Posts
Dec 8, 2004
Hi CFC fans,

This is not intended to troll, but there's a thread ont he main board about age, and I posted this - thought it might come accross as me having a go at the Pies, but I personally just thought it was a good example of what I think is wrong with putting to much emphasis on youth in our game. I used Woewodin as an example, just wanted to find out what you think about this theory and wehter pies fans agree with me or not:

Best example I can think of, is Shane Woewodin at Collingwood. There would have to be at least a half dozen players on Collingwood's list that are worse players than him - I'm not saying he's worthy of their best 22 - but how could he not be worthy of a senior spot playing at Williamstown, on minimum salary (which he declared he would accept) at the espense of someone like C.Cloke, Iaccabucci (who I'm afraid to say is pure garbage) or David Fanning?

Why not have that option of a brownlow medallist, fit and busting his balls to try and earna nother crak at senior selection? Collingwood's midfield depth might not have been so exposed this year with someone like that there.

You might ask why it annoys me. Glad you asked. I just hate that we get exposed to seeing kids that simply aren't up to scratch, in the name of development. It used to be that teams would always try to win games, and put together the best list available. For anyone to claim that Woewodin isn't capable of at least being a depth player on minimum salary is laughable - his mind is certainly up to it, has one of the best atittudes towards football of any player, ever.

Yet he's playing in the WAFL and getting 40 touches a game whilst Collingwood fans lament their lack of midfield depth...

Sorry about the slandering of Yakka, ignore that if it's a bit trollish, but what do you guys reckon?

rJ

Probably with hindsight he'd be a better option than Morrison. But its six of one, half dozen of the other. Neither are much chop and neither would get a game ahead of Caracella who is the type of experienced player we really miss at present.

But I'm happy with the youth policy. Yakka, Cook, Toovey, Iles, Pendlebury, Rowe, and Thomas may not be the answer in 2006, but going forward they will add depth that is lacking now and has lacked for a few years.

Woewoedin has been woeful in the WAFL picking up cheap stats off the half back flank.

Id prefer Morrison anyday

Timmy from Thomastown said:
Probably with hindsight he'd be a better option than Morrison. But its six of one, half dozen of the other. Neither are much chop and neither would get a game ahead of Caracella who is the type of experienced player we really miss at present.

But I'm happy with the youth policy. Yakka, Cook, Toovey, Iles, Pendlebury, Rowe, and Thomas may not be the answer in 2006, but going forward they will add depth that is lacking now and has lacked for a few years.
Morrison aint that bloody bad. Jesus!

• Banned
Timmy from Thomastown said:

I spose that's the point though, why would you prefer going for depth in the future, when you could have had better depth now - considering you guys could still very much threaten for the flag this year?

I'm sure you know our club back to front RJ, but I'd prefer to see Iacobucci in the seniors instead of Woewodin any day of the week.

But like I said, you know best. The Booch is 'pure garbage'. :)

• Banned
dids4 said:
I'm sure you know our club back to front RJ, but I'd prefer to see Iacobucci in the seniors instead of Woewodin any day of the week.

But like I said, you know best. The Booch is 'pure garbage'. :)

I do know your club quite well actually, back to front might be a bit extensive, but certainly, I do know it better than most.

Firstly you have too look at your list strengths and weaknesses. We were too slow, too soft and too poorly skilled. Woewodin was a cause of the first two deficiencies. By no means the only one but part of the problem. Recruiting Morrison was a mistake but that doesn’t change the fact that Woewodin was a liability far more often than he was an asset and more importantly going forward offered very little in way of improvement for himself of the collective ability of the list.

Apart from axing Woewodin and recruiting Morrison, the cull did not go deep enough as I said at the time. Nevertheless Woewodin had to go as did the players that went at the same time. We pretty much have all the deficiencies we have had for a few years now.

rick James said:
I spose that's the point though, why would you prefer going for depth in the future, when you could have had better depth now - considering you guys could still very much threaten for the flag this year?

Who at the end of last season considered us a flag threat in 2006? And how many people at the end of 2005 rated Woewodin? I have no doubt he was considered right up until the last minute, but the club chose Toovey and Iles instead.

We've lacked depth for years. You improve your depth by getting rid of duds, not holding onto them. The recruiting of 2005 was one small step towards a long term fix of our list. We'll follow up with more of the same this year - moving on 2 or 3 non-performers who have had their chance, and drafting young players, hopefully wisely.

Presti_is_god said:
Contracts have to come into play as well. Woey was out of contract. Had Morrison and the rest of them duds been out of contract it probably would have been different.

good point.

I just think even if he didn't play a game all year, that woey would have been fantsatic for guidance of your younger players. I've never seen a guy as professional about his football as woey was (perhaps Ben Holland), plus he's a brownlow medallist, I tihnk his influence around the club would have been quite substantial - clubs imo, should be hanging onto those guys just for mentoring purposes in their twilight years, if nothing else.

Cassius_Clay said:
Morrison aint that bloody bad. Jesus!

HA! Lets not forget we swapped our NUMBER 7 pick overall in the draft for morrison!!!!!! then we got pick 10 and picked up chris egan who is a HACK he cant kick a footy and morrison is ****!

We should have kept our number 7 pick and kept wowy!!!!:mad:

Embers said:
Woewoedin has been woeful in the WAFL picking up cheap stats off the half back flank.

Id prefer Morrison anyday

You have lost the plot.....you have to run, make space and read the play to get the footy mate! No stats are cheap in footy!

rick James said:
clubs imo, should be hanging onto those guys just for mentoring purposes in their twilight years, if nothing else.
Once they did that. That had stalwarts captaining the reserves. These days list spots are precious and you can’t have players who can’t contribute to moving the club forward. Remove the unnecessary cap on list numbers and maybe clubs can do something alone these lines. Whether Woewodin would have been kept anyway is another matter, Buckley, Burns, Clement, Presti and others set as good an example as you could hope for.

rick James said:
Hi CFC fans,

Best example I can think of, is Shane Woewodin at Collingwood. There would have to be at least a half dozen players on Collingwood's list that are worse players than him - I'm not saying he's worthy of their best 22 - but how could he not be worthy of a senior spot playing at Williamstown, on minimum salary (which he declared he would accept) at the espense of someone like C.Cloke, Iaccabucci (who I'm afraid to say is pure garbage) or David Fanning?

Why not have that option of a brownlow medallist, fit and busting his balls to try and earna nother crak at senior selection? Collingwood's midfield depth might not have been so exposed this year with someone like that there.

You might ask why it annoys me. Glad you asked. I just hate that we get exposed to seeing kids that simply aren't up to scratch, in the name of development. It used to be that teams would always try to win games, and put together the best list available. For anyone to claim that Woewodin isn't capable of at least being a depth player on minimum salary is laughable - his mind is certainly up to it, has one of the best atittudes towards football of any player, ever.

Yet he's playing in the WAFL and getting 40 touches a game whilst Collingwood fans lament their lack of midfield depth...

Sorry about the slandering of Yakka, ignore that if it's a bit trollish, but what do you guys reckon?

rJ

Because we took a view that youth was he way to go, while at the same time keeping/blending experienced players that were sure of a playing senior football with the kids

Woey was being overtaken by the pace of today's game.
Current players will tell you that in the last 3 years the pace of the game has significantly increased.
He was just too slow and he was 30.

Of course the flip side is we kept Morrison who is even slower, although a bit younger, but I'm guessing he will go at the end of the year.

Our current crop of kids and second tier players are pretty good.
That is where our improvement will come from.

Woewodin had to go, he was slowing down. There comes a time in everyones career where they can't participate at the highest level. Woewodin had his.

Originally Posted by Presti_is_god
Contracts have to come into play as well. Woey was out of contract. Had Morrison and the rest of them duds been out of contract it probably would have been different.

I profoundly agree.
Anyway, Woewodin's form didn't warrant a contract extension, 30 years of age or not.

Midfield Depth/Woewodin