crows_4_life

AUFC, Tottenham
I think there is 2 players who should be included in the crows lineup not both at once but at least one, they are:

Chris Knights and Richard Douglas, both are young speedy midfielders and are ball magnets, something we need after the obivous holes shown in our midfield by WCE.

crows_4_life said:
I think there is 2 players who should be included in the crows lineup not both at once but at least one, they are:

Chris Knights and Richard Douglas, both are young speedy midfielders and are ball magnets, something we need after the obivous holes shown in our midfield by WCE.

I'm unashamedly a fan of both. Knights averages a disposal for every 4 minutes he spends on the ground, which if he ever got a full game is 30 disposals - on average. He has critics over his disposal, but I'm sure his absence has shown that we are missing something when he's absent.

Douglas is a good un - a real good un, and IMO will play most games next year. I'd like to see him get a game this year, but I don't think that fits with the AFC thinking at this stage.

macca23 said:
Douglas is a good un - a real good un, and IMO will play most games next year. I'd like to see him get a game this year, but I don't think that fits with the AFC thinking at this stage.
Not sure why he's not on the radar. Danyle Pearce has proven that small light midfielders can play modern day AFL, and his pedigree is not as good as Douglas'.

CrowMagnum said:
Not sure why he's not on the radar. Danyle Pearce has proven that small light midfielders can play modern day AFL, and his pedigree is not as good as Douglas'.

I still dont get all the hype over Pearce. Sure he's a quick goal sneek, but otherwise what is there?

Sanguinarius said:
I still dont get all the hype over Pearce. Sure he's a quick goal sneek, but otherwise what is there?
Sure he's a receiver but you can afford one or two of these (although Nathan Lonie counts for 2 on his own) but he is quick and he used to fumble and have poor disposal but has improved these areas a lot. He's sure ahead of our 1st rookie pick that year - Ryan Nye (who?)

macca23 said:
Knights averages a disposal for every 4 minutes he spends on the ground, which if he ever got a full game is 30 disposals - on average.

Imagine if someone spent only 2 minutes on the ground and picked up a mark and a kick in that time. Then they'd average 60 possessions and 60 marks a game! Noone else in the AFL has done that !

Sanguinarius said:

You reckon. He's not in the top 3 running for the Norwich Rising Star award for nothing. With Cox, could go down as one of the best rookie picks of all time.

GoSarge said:
Imagine if someone spent only 2 minutes on the ground and picked up a mark and a kick in that time. Then they'd average 60 possessions and 60 marks a game! Noone else in the AFL has done that !

Your sarcasm is noted.

Knights plays on average 40 to 50% of a game, which is a trifle more than 2 minutes.

And his stats are based om several games - not one.

macca23 said:
Your sarcasm is noted.

Knights plays on average 40 to 50% of a game, which is a trifle more than 2 minutes.

And his stats are based om several games - not one.

Yeah I know, it wasn't a good attempt at sarcasm, plus I also forgot the sarcasm emoticon.

You make a good point, the boy can definitely find the ball. Pity his run of games ended with a quad injury, otherwise he'd probably be playing some real good footy by now and maybe enjoying more game time also.

Knights would have to be a chance but I'm wondering if it's not too late in the season for Douglas. In playing Douglas as this stage you'd be hoping for him to be an option in the finals, and I don't know that they'd be looking at any 4-5 game player for a finals spot unless (a) we had several injuries and / or (b) he tears the game up in his first few games (which would be nice, but hoping for that is not exactly a sound strategy for finals preparation).

I think our best hope for a midfield injection comes from Scott Welsh and Ian Perrie. With those two in, we can free up Roo and Thommo for more time in the midfield. ?

Kane McGoodwin said:
I would love to see Douglas given a game before the finals as this kid is something special. You never know, he may do a VB & hold his spot.

So would I but youy and I both no it won't happen. We could really use another small/midsize player with genuine pace while Maccas out.

Capitalist said:
What Porpy get a run in the guts this week ? he seems a more likely candidate than bringing in an untried draftee ?

Don't know that Porplyzia has the engine for a midfield role just yet and we need his forward abilities at the moment. I'd like to see Dougie given a run and just like Pearce, Dale Thomas etc. he could prove to be a surprise to the opposition and provide a real option. He has quick hands, is accurate with his disposal and reads the play exceptionally well. It is important for him to get a taste this year, so he is rewarded for the obvious effort that he has been putting in.

Whatever happens this week, we need to smash Collingwood in the midfield and take advantage of the fact that this is their weakest area that can be exposed. Their forward structure is strong, their defence is solid, but the question is over their pace and disposal from the midfield.

afc9798 said:
Whatever happens this week, we need to smash Collingwood in the midfield and take advantage of the fact that this is their weakest area that can be exposed. Their forward structure is strong, their defence is solid, but the question is over their pace and disposal from the midfield.

Agree. Rocca and Tarrant also rely on excellent supply from the midfield and their 2nd efforts are mediocre at best.