MACDAICOS

MVFC.
Anyone read Mike's article & tip this morning in the Sun?

Mike Sheahan

CAN a team be shamed into bringing an embarrassing run of losses to an end? As Mike Sheahan writes.

Can the spectre of a piece of damning history move a group to perform at a level apparently beyond it for the previous four months?

There is a growing suspicion we shall see a different Richmond at the MCG tonight. That the team known as the Tigers finally may live up to its name.

While it is improbable to think the bottom team might beat the sixth team (Collingwood), there is movement at the station.

Perhaps it's just a hunch - the bookies certainly don't see it as a contest - yet there are times when a club simply has to rise to the challenge.

Every person in this football club is feeling the heat: players, coaches, officials alike; supporters are embarrassed.

Richmond sits at the bottom of the AFL ladder, with one win and a draw from 18 rounds.

Not only is it headed for its seventh wooden spoon, it is on the brink of its worst season since joining the AFL in 1908.

The worst came in 1960 when the Tigers finished last of 12 in the VFL, with two wins and two draws.

Richmond has had a shocking month. It has lost to Hawthorn, Port Adelaide, Sydney and Geelong by a total of 244 points. The equivalent of 40 goals in four games.

That's embarrassing, demeaning. That's more than enough to spark a rearguard action at some point.

If there's any situation that can spark a response from a group in a trough, it's a clash with Collingwood at the MCG on a Friday night and national television.

Funnily enough, it's probably the perfect match-up for the Tigers.

Collingwood won their Round 3 encounter by 25 points, but the Tigers led by 22 at halftime. Richmond beat Collingwood in their only meeting last year and in 2005.

They were 1-1 in 2004 (Collingwood won by five points). So, in four seasons, Richmond leads 3-2.

Coach Terry Wallace reportedly laid it on his senior men last week.

Despite the dismal record this year, the coach isn't going anywhere. It's his players who are playing for their future.

Nathan Foley is the only Richmond player who has enhanced his reputation this year. He and Graham Polak would have the best-and-fairest between them.

The rest of them owe the club, owe themselves, although Richo has been Richo and has earned himself a place in the top 10 on the goalkicking table and you've got to admire Chris Newman's attitude.

If the Tigers fly the white flag again tonight, the fallout is going to be extensive, despite the unusual unity within the club.

""""Collingwood may be playing for its place in the final eight, but the stakes are even higher for Richmond""""""" :confused:

Richmond by 6 points.

Me and the boys at work keep his Collingwood tipping record at work, he has tipped Collingwood 4 times out of the 19 rounds this year, he was always going to tip Richmond tonight, he doesnt rate Mick Malthouse or Collingwood F.C he is anti-Collingwood number 1.

Pies by 20 points.

ONLY 1 WAY TO STOP THIS TYPE OF CRAP!

PIES need to establish themselves as a GENUINE contender and START beating teams in a similar fashion to the cats at the moment, until this happens the PIES will remain 'beatable' and will continuously be challenged by weaker teams... sometimes with embarrassing results to the PIES.

THE TEAM needs to stand up and assert themselves on the competition and realise they may not be in this good a run home for some years to come.

He makes a bit of a point tho does Mike i reckon, the tiggers have copped a bit of a spray this week......they will come out fired up for friday night

pies have been struggling just going through the motions in the last few weeks

first quarter will tell the tale, if we are ahead at quarter time we will smash em, if behind im not so sure

Hopefully we are switched on and pump it long to Rocca and Cloke from the get go!

I reckon this game(& next weeks) will show us if we have improved from the corresponding time last year. Last year, the Pies aiming to finish top 4 play a struggling Essendon, on a Friday night too i think. We got beat, there goes our top 4 chances, & any realistic shot at the title. This is an absolute danger game, Tigers have been pilloried all week from all angles, & will come out pumped. Reckoin i might have a saver on the tigers at $5.50, so its a win/win situation.....

Sheenan is just F#%kw@t thats has always hated collingwood and always will pure jealiousy his never got collingwood players in his Article of the year SHEEANS TOP 50 dont warry about him no1 takes his opionion on board anyway his a half ass journo

ONLY 1 WAY TO STOP THIS TYPE OF CRAP!

PIES need to establish themselves as a GENUINE contender and START beating teams in a similar fashion to the cats at the moment, until this happens the PIES will remain 'beatable' and will continuously be challenged by weaker teams... sometimes with embarrassing results to the PIES.

THE TEAM needs to stand up and assert themselves on the competition and realise they may not be in this good a run home for some years to come.

Well said. Genuine contenders don't struggle to beat Carlton or get belted by interstate teams at the G by 100 points.

Having said that, I think tonight might be Collingwood's turn to finally stand up and dish out a decent belting for once this year.

Hate to admit it but, even allowing for a very-obvious anti-Collingwood bias, he has a point this time. We need to be VERY switched on - as a few other contributors to this thread have pointed out.

Last year we lose probably both of these games. The key thing is we haven't played Melbourne this time of year for a while, that's why I say 'both' as opposed to just one. This, as weird as it may sound, is our litmus test. Funny how a finals side can come up against 16th and 15th in consecutive weeks and supporters are treating them as tough games. Don't worry so much about Sydney and Adelaide the weeks after.

not sure why so many people get upset with what mike has to say. I have no concerns about mikes opinion because I dont think he has the best knowledge of the game. It is one mans opinion and it does not effect the result so there is really no need to get p!ssed off over it.

say all you want about Shehan and what you think of his prediction, but this game looms as one where we could easily fall over. We are playing crap and Richmond will know this and always seem to push us.

We need to assert ourselves and absolutley play like its a position in the top 4 at stake, because essentially it is.

There is this one eyed Collingwood supporter at work and he refuses to read articles written by Mike Sheahan because he says he is the most negative journalist in the land and continually bags the crap out of Collingwood. I wasn't at work today but I wish I was. And I wish I was going to be there tomorrow too.

well ,actually your mate IS right - Mike Sheahan is extremely anti Collingwood .

yup we lost , but i would'nt honestly give any credit to f'head Sheahan, it's very easy to sound like you know what your talking about when you say negative shit ..then go on to say ...see - i told you so.
but if we won ...ya would'nt hear a word from him.
the very fact is Mike Sheahan ..just like Caroline Wilson , speak absolute crap at the quietest of times.
Sheahan did'nt make this happen, and i doubt wether he genuinly thought they'd win ..he just likes to stand out in the minority , so if he's right ( by luck ) he's Mr know it all .
gawd - the Sheahan would go against Collingwood if we were playing the local old lads from the bowls centre just to be defiant !

the guys a fair dinkum tool !