Millburn mouthing off?

Dunno how much there really is to this, but while listening to the Geelong vs Brisbane call on SEN today there seemed to be a few incidents where Dasher would give away a free kick by disputing things with an umpire.

Being a radio call I could not see the actual incidents myself, but there seemed to be a fair few strange decisions by the umpires. While it's fair enough to be left indignant by a bad call, surely Dasher (our most experienced player) must know that you just cant argue with the officious little bastards?

He was probably just saying what most the 24,000 present were thinking.....

You're right though. A player of his experience should know better than to argue with those twerps in charge of our great game.

Dash has always argued with the umpires.

Personally i much prefer the way he goes about it than those players who say nothing and don't get upset.
Unprofessional or not, i like to see the players feeling it as much as we are in the crowd.

when it costs you on the scoreboard, i suggest it is not a smart move

When did i say it was smart?

All i said was that i much prefer players who show their emotions (good and bad), rather than robots who show no emotion whatsoever.

I feel better about a dodgy decision if our player gets upset.

Id say 2 50 metre penalties and a free kick in 2 weeks are far too much free expression and he needs to be more disciplined when talking to small men in white/yellow/orange/kermi green. Also Gamble needs a lesson in when aggression needs to be shown and when to pull your head in

He was probably just saying what most the 24,000 present were thinking.....

You're right though. A player of his experience should know better than to argue with those twerps in charge of our great game.

Yes a player of his experience 'should' know better. It cost us the game v the Saints in the pre-season cup. His mouthing off cost us goals, and eventually the game in a close contest.

It was funny though, as when he mouthed off his mouth guard flew from his mouth. Pretty funny. Still though, not a good impression to leave on the game when it was in the balance.

Dash has always argued with the umpires.

Personally i much prefer the way he goes about it than those players who say nothing and don't get upset.
Unprofessional or not, i like to see the players feeling it as much as we are in the crowd.

Yes, that's all wonderful. But the reality is when you're the team's most experienced player you just can't afford to do that. I've never seen an umpire change his mind yet, and the only thing that will happen when you argue is you'll concede 50m - which Milburn is developing a nasty habit of doing. He's gotta stop it. Simple as that.

The other bad habit Geelong have is Wocjinski's total inability to tackle. Apparently his version is riding players into the ground and then falling on their back.

he other bad habit Geelong have is Wocjinski's total inability to tackle. Apparently his version is riding players into the ground and then falling on their back.

Totally agree It used to be Enright but now Woj seems to manage a to put the saddle on at least once a game

he other bad habit Geelong have is Wocjinski's total inability to tackle. Apparently his version is riding players into the ground and then falling on their back.

Totally agree It used to be Enright but now Woj seems to manage a to put the saddle on at least once a game

Was he the guy who laid the tackle in the middle yesterday when the Brisbane guy who was tackled sensed someone behind him, and actually jumped forward before any contact was even made, yet still got the free for a push in the back? Ridiculous decision!

When did i say it was smart?

All i said was that i much prefer players who show their emotions (good and bad), rather than robots who show no emotion whatsoever.

I feel better about a dodgy decision if our player gets upset.

i am glad when we win a game, and not have to work harder because someone opened their mouth

showing emotion and giving 50m penalties is not feeling better for the club

I remember one of the free kicks Dasher gave Saturday against the lions was because he spit his mouth guard at the other player which was a bit gross

I don't think it was intentional.

If you watch it again, he was frustrated with a call and whilst criticising the umpire as he turned to man the mark his mouthguard slipped out, and I'm not sure if it even hit the Brisbane player.

But Dasher has done it a bit this year, I mean show some passion and get emotional but he is obviously at times taking it over board giving away 50's. Particularly emphasised the last 2 weeks.

Hawkins was horribly undisciplined yesterday aswell, did some very stupid things, and gave away a number of sloppy uneccessay free kicks.

Hawkins did give away a free in the middle of the ground for slamming someone into the turf after they got rid of the ball, but i liked that - its part of the transition from man-child to man-beast.

I remember one of the free kicks Dasher gave Saturday against the lions was because he spit his mouth guard at the other player which was a bit gross

Nah that is incorrect CF, it was because he was venting his frustration that much that the mouthguard came out, he was mid stream stating his thoughts and it came out.

I doubt he intentionally spat it out.

Personally, I'm hangin' out for a player to totally lose it and deck an umpire. They are so f*cking frustrating. It is just amazing how much intel they lose when they put on that uniform!

and wojac was definitely too undisciplined in his tackling - tho its always been somewhat of a problem for him.

The other bad habit Geelong have is Wocjinski's total inability to tackle. Apparently his version is riding players into the ground and then falling on their back.

it is that polish anger...born angry, die angry.

and giving a 50m away in our forward square right in front of our goal and taking the pressure off the lions is inexcusable.

Dasher is always lipping on to the umps a lot lately...and it has cost us lately. I would hope for more from a senior player.

Was he the guy who laid the tackle in the middle yesterday when the Brisbane guy who was tackled sensed someone behind him, and actually jumped forward before any contact was even made, yet still got the free for a push in the back? Ridiculous decision!

Nah that was Smithy, Winty.

That diving straight to ground or sprawling as Gary Lyon has named it is really annoying me, as is the fact that dropping the ball like a hot spud whilst being tackled is no longer a free kick.

Fair dinkum, if I hear one more of those maggots yell out "came free in the tackle, play on" when the bloke just throws his arms in the air and drops the ball im gonna invade the field and force feed that bloody microphone to the brightly clothed prancing piece of shit.

This has been noted before, but I'll say it again. Since the umpires have been miked up they've become even more full of their own self-importance. They have a voice now. They're stars as well!

FFS...

Catattack, I reckon you're spot-on with that observation. Umpires seem to be just jumped-up failed footballers (in some cases) harbouring secret misgivings towards those who can actually play, I reckon.

I seriously question anyone who actually aspires to being an umpire.

I mean really, who wakes up and says ' I really like footy, I think I'll try and adjudicate a match'.

All through my junior days our umpires were players fathers pressed into the position because of a lack of interested persons for the position.

Re: Woosha's and Hawkins tackles, while it's not ideal to give away free kicks it does mean they impose themselves physically on the player and that can be a good thing.

Re: dashers mouthing off, just hurts the team and has no advantage. I have to say that looking at all those decisions that he reckons he was hard done by they were all there and it was a fair enough call, costing your side 50 metres is just stupid and as a senior player he needs to cut it out of his game.