Miller Out - Recruiting Restructure at Tiger Land

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

richmond supporters always look for a scapegoat

4 years ago it was great that we had an administrator who could make things happen like get high profile players like kane Johnson and N. Brown to choose the tigers over other suitors, now in hindsight he is ridiculed and bagged incessantlyh on this board for doing what every single rfc supporter wanted at the time..

its the richmond way
you wouldnt know this bc you support the blues..

of course he is a scapegoat to the supporters - he johno and petts are like our "3 must-b-their faulteers" at the moment

i was referring in reference to him being made a scape goat by the club - as a result of his demotion

i probably know more about richmond than you tigerT (definitely NOT Tigerdan), which must embarrass you immensely, me being a carlton supporter and all:rolleyes:

i probably know more about richmond than you tigerdan, which must embarrass you immensely, me being a carlton supporter and all:rolleyes:

What did I do wrong????

Dude greg miller is doing 5 jobs at the club as well as recruiting.
He is one of the best administrators in the business and I'm glad his on the board. No way should he be kicked off
Didn't know Miller had kids, say G'Day to the old man for us and tell him were right behind him. :D

He is one of the best administrators in the business and I'm glad his on the board. No way should he be kicked off

Best administrators according to who????

You????

Is that why North booted him out??

They booted him out because he was a bad administrator and nearly bankrupted the club. Just like he nearly did to us.

Best administrators according to who????

You????

Is that why North booted him out??

They booted him out because he was a bad administrator and nearly bankrupted the club. Just like he nearly did to us.
our bank books have improved while he has been at the club:p

A-****ing-MEN!

get this imposter the hell away from recruiting and leave him and his fat ego at the door

its no good just having francis jackson and other part time recruiters if you want to be fair dinkum, we need a proper list manager who can point out to miller the cockups made the past 5 years and slowly but surely fill the holes

your not going to get the best guy out there at this time of the year anyway so i still dont know wtf they are going to do but its a step in the right direction

A-****ing-MEN!

get this imposter the hell away from recruiting and leave him and his fat ego at the door

its no good just having francis jackson and other part time recruiters if you want to be fair dinkum, we need a proper list manager who can point out to miller the cockups made the past 5 years and slowly but surely fill the holes

your not going to get the best guy out there at this time of the year anyway so i still dont know wtf they are going to do but its a step in the right direction
i agree, we are going to have to use who we have this year and start fresh next year

Miller has become the scapegoat for an under-resourced, factional and poorly performed Victorian club.

It is clear he has been bridging gaps with minimal resources whilst at the same time trying to adhere to a some form of long term plan.

We are just starting to catch the opposition but overall are still a long way behind.

We are starting to see the consolidation that a little financial stability can bring.

Everyone has been expecting him to turn water into wine, it was never going to happen. He has done well to hold the fort and now we take another small incremental step forward.

richmond supporters always look for a scapegoat

4 years ago it was great that we had an administrator who could make things happen like get high profile players like kane Johnson and N. Brown to choose the tigers over other suitors, now in hindsight he is ridiculed and bagged incessantlyh on this board for doing what every single rfc supporter wanted at the time..

its the richmond way
you wouldnt know this bc you support the blues..

Good posts

Now this is demoralising...our club has basically said "our recruiting over the last 5 years has not been up to scratch" and they are admitting we have made too many mistakes picking players..

We are making another half million profit this year at least, why can't we just spend our entire profits on recruiting? lol I know that is not realistic but we are not the poorest and cheapest club in the AFL - so why do we act like it?

1.It's not demolarising, it's a step in the right direction, one of many we have made over the last couple of seasons that are seeing our club finally catching up a bit.

2. It's admitting a problem that because of money, we had a guy that was on the board, in charge of the football department and head of recruiting. Too many hats. Now we have a bit more money, we can afford to let him concentrate on more appropriate matters and get a specialised recruiting manager in.

3. We are one of the poorest clubs. We have a big debt to pay off and a redevelopment of Punt Road coming up. These are competing for resources with recruiting and the football department. Money is in short supply whilst areas needing money are plentiful.

Big deal about the finances, I thought the success has to do with on the field. I love that we are 0-1-10. What a fantastic situation we see ourselves :)

Another who can't look beyond the win loss column to see the improvement at the club....

So please show us how we judge a club???????
By some airy-fairy, intangible sense of improvement that you go by.
Gee, it's tiring listening to you guys saying we are improving, BUT YOU CAN'T PROVE IT. You're like some obscure, nutty religion we have to believe in, just because YOU do.

Does a horse trainer base his improvement on how his young stable is progressing, or how many races he's won?

Smell the roses, and get with program....

Shees

:thumbsd:

Gee, it's tiring listening to you guys saying we are improving, BUT YOU CAN'T PROVE IT. You're like some obscure, nutty religion we have to believe in, just because YOU do.

Does a horse trainer base his improvement on how his young stable is progressing, or how many races he's won?

Shees

**** oath

It is great that our finances are improving. But you go to football to win and not be 0-1-10. Its great seeing the young talent we have. But at the end of the day you like seeing teams winning.

They make profits from success breeding success.

Shees

Judge it by it's financial position. By it's number of members. By it's quality of list. By the number of games it's been competitive in, despite fielding extremely young sides. Judge it by the potential in the list to build for the future and the rapidly dwindling number of mid-level players that will never take us past 9th place. Sure wins are important, but they are not everything.

Whether you want to ignore it or not, we are improving in every aspect of the club and in most cases, are light-years ahead of where we were 3 seasons ago. No longer are we a club satisfied with building side with mid-level recycled players that will scrape together 8-10 wins a season and be content with 9th place (which you would seem to prefer).

My eyes are wide open to everything that matters, not just one thing.

It is great that our finances are improving. But you go to football to win and not be 0-1-10. Its great seeing the young talent we have. But at the end of the day you like seeing teams winning.

They make profits from success breeding success.

Finance is but one of the important factors.

Who is 'they', that make profits from success breeding success? That'd be nice and all, but when you're starting from bottom, with big debts, poor facilities etc etc that you have inherited, success is not possible in modern football. Money is massively more important these days than it was 10 years ago when a side like North Melbourne could win flags despite being an off-field rabble.

Nowadays, money rules all. More money means a full list or rookies. More money means the best assistant coaches. It means player development managers aplenty. It means more sports scientists and physios than you can dream of to make sure you're getting the most out of your players. It means more recruiters watching more kids more often, to make sure you draft the right ones.

Money money money.

We don't have it. The current administration inherited big problems when they took over. They are gradually righting the ship and eventually we will be at a point when we can compete with the big clubs, both on and off field.

finally his abysmal performance has been recognised by the club. his list management and recruiting have been terrible. his management of funds not much better his blackmailing the membership showed a lack of integrity along with his conflict of interests.
ive voiced concern about this bloke and criticised his work in the footy dpt for the last 4 yrs. its cost me plenty when debating him with other tiger supporters. his performance even contributed to me getting banned from anothe r site. i now feel vindicated but wont be happy until the overrated underachieving dud is gone altogether.

Who is 'they', that make profits from success breeding success? That'd be nice and all, but when you're starting from bottom, with big debts, poor facilities etc etc that you have inherited, success is not possible in modern football. Money is massively more important these days than it was 10 years ago when a side like North Melbourne could win flags despite being an off-field rabble.

Nowadays, money rules all. More money means a full list or rookies. More money means the best assistant coaches. It means player development managers aplenty. It means more sports scientists and physios than you can dream of to make sure you're getting the most out of your players. It means more recruiters watching more kids more often, to make sure you draft the right ones.

Money money money.

We don't have it. The current administration inherited big problems when they took over. They are gradually righting the ship and eventually we will be at a point when we can compete with the big clubs, both on and off field.

Collingwood, Essendon, Geelong, Hawthorn, Adelaide, West Coast, Sydney, Port, Freo and Brisbane

Money money money.

fund raising and cost cutting can only get you so far

you want to make money the best way is to get a quality team on the park, you dont feel sorry for yourself and cry about what you dont have you just get on with the job and do what you can

we might trickle past the 30k members this year but it wont mean shit because there are a heap of other clubs who are moving up as well, we wont smash the mid 30's until we see finals action and thats a long way away

you want to make money the best way is to get a quality team on the park, you dont feel sorry for yourself and cry about what you dont have you just get on with the job and do what you can

Isn't that what we're doing though? Finally trying to build a quality team, recognising finally that we may actually have to go through some rebuilding to do that, rather than just keeping on bringing in mid-level guys from other clubs to get us 8 wins a year but not have any improvement in the list?