Milne charged

This post is a disgrace. You know nothing about this woman. You know nothing of what happened to her or her motives. Regardless of where she 'placed herself', she is allowed the right to her own body, including the right to consent to whatever she feels appropriate. Anything she did not consent to is, by every definition, rape. Now I know the case in question isn't as black and white as that, but your logic in defending Milne is completely out of place.

There's not a single reasonable person who doesn't believe this, I don't think. I'm not entirely sure that poster was suggesting that they can't say no, simply that it seems unlikely that you would engage in "minor" sexual acts and then refuse further. If she legitimately refused, he is clearly in the wrong, I think that other poster may have been suggesting it unlikely, even though possible of course.

The most unfortunate thing about the resolution of the case is that nothing definitive has been determined either way. He plead guilty to a lesser charge in reality in face of a lack of evidence. That isn't to say he didn't do it, just that we don't know. To anyone who hasn't followed the case i.e. 95% of people, then he will forever be labeled.

Again, what he is accused of is incredible wrong and ought to be punished if it could be determined that was what happened.

I think its disgraceful that the HUN continues to call Milne as "disgraced". He is the greatest small fwd the game has seen and did something when young and stupid (that I know for a fact has been blown well out of proportion by the media). I don't condemn nor condone what he has done, but the constant labeling of Milne is disgusting. Report facts HUN for heck sake.

There's not a single reasonable person who doesn't believe this, I don't think. I'm not entirely sure that poster was suggesting that they can't say no, simply that it seems unlikely that you would engage in "minor" sexual acts and then refuse further. If she legitimately refused, he is clearly in the wrong, I think that other poster may have been suggesting it unlikely, even though possible of course.

The most unfortunate thing about the resolution of the case is that nothing definitive has been determined either way. He plead guilty to a lesser charge in reality in face of a lack of evidence. That isn't to say he didn't do it, just that we don't know. To anyone who hasn't followed the case i.e. 95% of people, then he will forever be labeled.

Again, what he is accused of is incredible wrong and ought to be punished if it could be determined that was what happened.
It's perfectly likely she only consented to minor sex acts and refused further. Given we know relatively little about what actually occurred that night, casting aspersions on her character is wrong and labelling her a 'tart' (as the OP did) because she agreed to go home with Milne/Montagna is wrong.

Devils advocate, you also don't know the other is true. In the Lovett case the prosecution successfully argued that the victims testimony as to what happened to her was invalid because alcohol and memory, in this case, and perhaps rightly so, the victim won't have to go through others telling her how blatantly wrong, stupid and poor she is as a person, but likewise, there's no vindication or relief if she ends up being a Duthie and making it up as she goes a long. Sure, 10 years is a long time for such a thing, but this whole ordeal has stunk form the beginning as it is.

Exactly. I don't know what's true or what isn't. I don't know what happened that night. Most of us here don't. My main point is people are making judgements on opinions, rumours and very little facts. It's a vastly different situation to the Duthie saga, where anyone with half a brain (i.e everyone not in the media) could see she was doing it for attention.

I think its disgraceful that the HUN continues to call Milne as "disgraced". He is the greatest small fwd the game has seen and did something when young and stupid (that I know for a fact has been blown well out of proportion by the media). I don't condemn nor condone what he has done, but the constant labeling of Milne is disgusting. Report facts HUN for heck sake.

Just refer to them as "disgraced media outlet". Disgraced by their own work.

what about the extraordinary story by Richmond cheerleader Caroline Wilson about Nick Reiwoldt attending court and giving character evidence for Milney. No mention that Lenny Hayes was there also, because that would have diminished her weak story. This is the type of case where character evidence is helpful to the court. Nick showed the loyalty that we expect. He did not support Milney's actions on the night, he did not criticise the girl, he supported a team mate. That is what happens in team Caroline.

This part of the article was one I found particularly distasteful:

"Still Riewoldt, despite his second-hand involvement, has been no stranger to scandal during his time at the helm of the Saints. He cannot have been completely surprised at once again finding himself on the front pages for the wrong reasons and must have weighed that up before agreeing to Milne's request that he show solidarity in court."

What is she playing at?

This part of the article was one I found particularly distasteful:

"Still Riewoldt, despite his second-hand involvement, has been no stranger to scandal during his time at the helm of the Saints. He cannot have been completely surprised at once again finding himself on the front pages for the wrong reasons and must have weighed that up before agreeing to Milne's request that he show solidarity in court."

What is she playing at?

Second hand involvement is skirting awfully close to libel there Caro. Fairly implied involvement in that line despite him having nothing to do with it. The only other scandal he has been involved in was the stupid ass photos one which.. is literally a non story. People who actually belong to footy clubs know that nudity is a non issue and stuffing around happens all the time, sometimes even on camera!

Not that I strut around naked or anything, wouldn't want to embarrass the guys
yI18cId.gif

Exactly. From all I've heard Milne has lead an exemplary life since the incident, but Nick would know better than I would.

Second hand involvement is skirting awfully close to libel there Caro. Fairly implied involvement in that line despite him having nothing to do with it. The only other scandal he has been involved in was the stupid ass photos one which.. is literally a non story. People who actually belong to footy clubs know that nudity is a non issue and stuffing around happens all the time, sometimes even on camera!

Not that I strut around naked or anything, wouldn't want to embarrass the guys
yI18cId.gif

Makes as much sense as saying Caro was involved with a scandal where she was naked on the footy show.

When all is said and done, it would be a reasonable gesture for St Kilda FC to make a sizable donation ($20k) to the Centre Against Sexual Assault.

The AFL can do this. Lets not pretend that other clubs don't have their own issues.

what? for something that happened 10 years ago. no thanks. the saints would be all over the papers again.
Perhaps Beams could give some money as well

Interestingly it was "anti violence " groups that Caro said weren't impressed by Riewoldt turning up.

Just goes to show how much people like to comment on what they know very little about.
It's never ever been suggested that there was any violence involved.

Well, sexual assault is unwanted, and therefore invasive and often a violent act for the victim.

As to groups/individuals being upset with Riewoldt, hopefully they can understand leadership, friendship and the idea of innocence before being proven guilty.

In all seriousness, if any of us are serious about the stuff we've been discussing, irrespective of the Milne case, there's the chance to show it.

White Ribbon Day will be held on November 25 this year. White Ribbon will hold marches and other events on that day, as part of their campaign to end violence against women.

https://www.facebook.com/whiteribbonaustralia

The International Rules Match is directly supporting White Ribbon, as well.

For every good supporter from another club who jumps on another teams board to give an opinion, there is always another smart arse who just wants to cause trouble.
Id rather listen to St Kilda flogs :)
Not flogs from other clubs.

It's been and done. Closure for the victim, less time and money wasted for Milne, and very slightly less egg on the face of VicPol, whose incompetence has seen this shitshow last a decade.
Whoa whoa, now let's not tarnish an entire organisation with the errors/stupidity/incompetence of a few mate.....ironic really considering what other supporters throw at STK in relation to Milne/Lovett etc

The moderators here wish to ensure that this topic is treated with respect and consideration of the parties involved.
Milne (and Montagna) were upfront about what happened in 2004. They hid nothing from the club or the police. They participated openly and frankly in the investigation and the police did not lay charges. It should have been over, but it never was. Milne has been labelled a rapist ever since that day. The police, by not laying charges denied Milne the opportunity to clear his name in court. The alleged victim was not served by the police as she never felt justice to have been done.

The punishment and humiliation that Milne has received in the court of public opinion has been a harsh one - he has been branded a rapist without evidence.

At least now Milne gets the opportunity to stand up in a court of law and defend himself.

I stand behind Stephen Milne. He is a man of immense character. He has carved a wonderful career for himself against all probability and despite considerable adversity.

Milne has friends and family including his own children. He has suffered a slur for most of his career and the people in his life are also affected.

Please lets not discuss Milne's accuser or the degree of trauma she may or may not have suffered, in this thread

I want to thank posters for keeping this thread fairly respectful.

I ask that you try to restrict discussion to the known facts of Milne's case and the resultant court decisions

Rape, sexual assault and other sexual violations are a terribly emotive topic.
Trivialising aspects of it is disrespectful and will not be tolerated on this board.

I want to thank posters for keeping this thread fairly respectful.

I ask that you try to restrict discussion to the known facts of Milne's case and the resultant court decisions

Rape, sexual assault and other sexual violations are a terribly emotive topic.
Trivialising aspects of it is disrespectful and will not be tolerated on this board.

I'm sorry Kildonian , I'm not trivializing what Milne did. But it cannot be stated that he committed a violent act.

The degree of violence involved in these sorts of cases is something that will be considered in handing down a penalty, its part of the law, therefore the act in itself is not the violence. From everything we have heard about this case there was no violence on Milne's behalf.

I have to agree that Milne does not appear to have been violent, but that is not necessarily how everyone sees it.

I am disappointed with some saints supporters here. There is no need for a blame game. This is a serious matter. How would you have felt if the female in question was someone you knew or related to?

Why do people keep posting this sort of thing?