Chelsea, Black Caps, Sea Eagles, Subiaco
Today was classic Milney, both brilliant and shocking at the same time.

The Milnedog looked for all the world like he was going to be a non-contributor today. Missed a couple of chances in that first half, then went off injured. Then as he so often does bobbed up with a couple of crucial goals in the last quarter.

That brilliant soccer off the ground to put us in front had me praising him as "Milnaldo". Then all of a sudden he spoiled it by stupidly playing on from that mark inside 50 and getting caught holding the ball :rolleyes:. Sums up Milney really, one minute you're in love with him and the next minute you're swearing at him.

When you weigh it all up though, I'd hate to be without him.

Thoughts?

Milney is a ****ing legend. If you look at the mans stats he is the best small crumbing forward of the last 5 or so years.

Always up there in our goal kicking and will kick the goals when we need them. Like today!

Sure he is a loose cannon and will make some stupid decisions, but you gotta love the man.

HE LOVES TO SNAP!

YOU ARE THE MAN MILNEY.

That soccer goal was phantastic - he meant to kick it that way (I first thought that it was a bit of a fluke).

Milne wouldn't be Milne had he not played on after his mark. I guess his chance of success with such an angle from his wrong side would not have been the best anyway and unlike the Morton 'incident', there was a lot of time left.

Footy would not be the same without Milney.

I love him !

Sums up Milney really, one minute you're in love with him and the next minute you're swearing at him.

Thoughts?

Exactly that. You wouldn't want to get rid of the man because when he's up he's utterly brilliant, but at the same time you want to because when he's down he's then does some really, really stupid things. So it's love/hate and "dammit Milney, why do you keep cheating on me!":p

Milney is a ****ing legend. If you look at the mans stats he is the best small crumbing forward of the last 5 or so years.

Always up there in our goal kicking and will kick the goals when we need them. Like today!

Sure he is a loose cannon and will make some stupid decisions, but you gotta love the man.

HE LOVES TO SNAP!

YOU ARE THE MAN MILNEY.

I thought you might like the Milnedog's snapping ability. :D

That soccer goal was phantastic - he meant to kick it that way (I first thought that it was a bit of a fluke).

Milne wouldn't be Milne had he not played on after his mark. I guess his chance of success with such an angle from his wrong side would not have been the best anyway and unlike the Morton 'incident', there was a lot of time left.

Footy would not be the same without Milney.

I love him !

Exactly that. You wouldn't want to get rid of the man because when he's up he's utterly brilliant, but at the same time you want to because when he's down he's then does some really, really stupid things. So it's love/hate and "dammit Milney, why do you keep cheating on me!":p

Agreed, you take the good with the bad with Milney. No one else could kick a soccer goal like he did today, he gives us that much needed X factor. OK, he stuffs up occasionally but he wins us more games than he loses.

The funny thing about Milney is that almost every opposition supporter hates him, although I reckon at least half of them would love him in their side. As much as I swear at him, I still love the little bloke.:thumbsu:

Yeah if Milney tried to be careful all the time and not try the dodgy stuff, he would lose his brilliant stuff.
Like some of the other teams have been saying , No risk , no reward.

The good thing is , with the Saints producing some decent forward line pressure at the moment , chances are that it will come round and we get another try. The opposition kicking out from the goal square is actually producing some good opportunities for us - thank god they banned rushed behinds.
A year ago he would muck up and the ball would be straight to the opposition 50.

Can't believe he had an "air swing" from 5m out yesterday. :o

But imagine if he was doing that shit and the rest of his bag of tricks for another team against the Saints - no thanks!!!

When we are talking about doing the team thing, has anyone else noticed that he lets the ball go over the line a lot this year for throw ins? To me, this is a team instruction (rather than trying to do something ridiculous to keep it in play and allowing the opposition an easy rebound).

Milney has done it over a dozen times this year (wouldn't have resisted temptation in previous seasons), and is doing alot more of this team-oriented work.

With Gardi and King, we seem to have a number of good set plays going from the boundary near goals, and no longer fear the boundary line as we did with the obsession-possession game of 2007 and early 2008.

Was I the only one that used to yell out 'MILNEYYY' as I snapped a goal fromt the pocket back in the day?

He's a bit of an idiot at times, but we would be so far worse off without his name in the forward pocket for the last 8 years.

For me, the big moment where I realised how important he is, was when he hobbled off the ground, looking like he had some kind of leg injury. I then started to think who we would bring in to replace him, and had absolutely no idea. We have heaps of depth for most other parts of the ground. Even if Roo had been out, I would have been able to cope with, say, Goose coming in as a quick replacement. But what do you do without Milney? Who is there? Tunga? Nup, not yet, so.... we would be stuffed. He is a really, really important player for our forward structure.

Have you noticed how he doesnt go for marking the ball this year. He waits for it to bounce even when he's by himself. Strange

Can't believe he had an "air swing" from 5m out yesterday. :o

But imagine if he was doing that shit and the rest of his bag of tricks for another team against the Saints - no thanks!!!

When we are talking about doing the team thing, has anyone else noticed that he lets the ball go over the line a lot this year for throw ins? To me, this is a team instruction (rather than trying to do something ridiculous to keep it in play and allowing the opposition an easy rebound).

Milney has done it over a dozen times this year (wouldn't have resisted temptation in previous seasons), and is doing alot more of this team-oriented work.

With Gardi and King, we seem to have a number of good set plays going from the boundary near goals, and no longer fear the boundary line as we did with the obsession-possession game of 2007 and early 2008.

Yeah Milney has become a lot more team oriented recently. I guess being dropped for that game last year must have hit home to him that he needs to do more than just kick goals. Whilst it's great that he is now doing more of the team things and improved his defensive pressure, it's also good to see him keep that attacking edge.

Like I said, Milney is one of those few players with that X factor that can produce goals out of nothing. As PS points out, that makes him one of our most important players, purely due to the fact that he is so unique and therefore irreplaceable.

Have you noticed how he doesnt go for marking the ball this year. He waits for it to bounce even when he's by himself. Strange

I think that may be because he prefers kicking for goals on the run rather than taking marks and having a set shot. That probably explains why he tries to play on from marks and free kicks so often, not always with the best results as we saw in the last quarter yesterday.

Today was classic Milney, both brilliant and shocking at the same time.

The Milnedog looked for all the world like he was going to be a non-contributor today. Missed a couple of chances in that first half, then went off injured. Then as he so often does bobbed up with a couple of crucial goals in the last quarter.

That brilliant soccer off the ground to put us in front had me praising him as "Milnaldo". Then all of a sudden he spoiled it by stupidly playing on from that mark inside 50 and getting caught holding the ball :rolleyes:. Sums up Milney really, one minute you're in love with him and the next minute you're swearing at him.

Thoughts?

Spot on Plugga one minute you want to jump the fence,grab him by the throat and slap him the next thing he does a bit of magic.As Robert Walls said on the radio thats Milney:thumbsu:

Sometimes I wonder if he lets the ball bounce on the ground ( rather than take the mark ) so he dosn't need to think about stopping for the set shot.

I think that was definitely the case for his last goal - he had the chance to take a (diving) mark or wait for the bounce and then kick it around the body.

I was surprised to see his reaction after all three goals though - quite controlled and professional. I don't know whether someone had a word with him at 3/4 time or what was on his mind. I love seeing the kid in Milney when he celebrates a goal.

I really think many people (mostly opposition supporters) underestimate just how good a player Milne has been over the course of his career.

To do what he has achieved (averaging over 2 goals a game) playing in a position Ross Lyon described yesterday as "starvation corner" is a brilliant effort.

You have opposition defenders watching you like a hawk to the extent that you might only get a handful of kicks each game so you have to make every kick count.

He won us the match yesterday. No doubt about that. And during that last quarter in between doing that, he managed to squeeze in one of his trademark brain fades. That's why we love (and hate) him. :thumbsu:

351 goals from 174 games tell me just how good he is (Riewoldt is on 348 from 167 games).

14 to go to the VFL / AFL all time top 100 !

And did you know that his personal record of hitouts is 3 (Rd 10 2005 v Sydney) ?

Spot on with the comments brothers.

Everyone who hates Milney would love him if he played for their team.

Kudos to the Milne Dog. How many times has he infuriated us with a silly mistake by trying for too much and instead of going back into his shell he dusts himself and goes again.

I wouldn't swap him for the world.

LOVE YOU MILNEDOG.

I love him. I hate him. No, I love him! **** Milney I hate you! Then I hear him sing the song and love that he loves our saintas so much that I love him again (I always did).

I have noticed him let the ball bounce. The third goal was the correct decision but in the third I thought he could hAve made it to the ball on the full. I wrote him off at 3/4 time but you have to have him there because he can do what he did tonight (yesterday).

The best thing about Milney is he has actually managed to improve again this year despite getting on in age. It is hard to believe that Milne is about 29 I think now? Going on 30? But his improvement has come in defensive pressure, tackles inside 50 etc...But he still hasn't lost the ability to read the ball and know where the right place to be is.
But if he ever does what Russel Robertson tried to do on the weekend, I would not be singing his praises. I thought when I saw that that not even Milney would do that!!

351 goals from 174 games tell me just how good he is (Riewoldt is on 348 from 167 games).

He also only needs another 40 goals to overtake Fraser Gehrig's 390 goals to become St Kilda's 4th highest ever goalkicker!

afl-guns-gallery-saints-milney-600x400.jpg