Minson offensive comments

Fahour and Mifsud got offened by an off the cuff remark or two as well, and a bloke lost his job.

The umpires heard the comment and were independently taking action without Port saying anything. Port approached the umpires to explain the reason for the fisticuffs. Clearly you can't explain the brawling without mentioning the words that sparked it.

The has been a whole lot of speculation by keyboard warriors trying to justify what Minson said. There is never any justification for joking/sledging/making light of/trivialising any type of violence against women. We live in a modern age and need to move beyond "its ok because it was sledging". That sort of tone sends the message that rape/sexual assualt/demeaning acts towards women are ok, as long as you are only joking. Those matters are no joke, unless of course you are stuck in neanderthal times.

There is a blurry line between sledging and work-place harassment. I think that we will see the line cleared up soon. In an age of professionalism in sport, sportsmen (and women) are going to be expected to conduct themselves as professionals in their workplace (on sporting field).

I just felt the need to quote this post, as it's probably the most level headed post in the entire thread and it's not from a Port/Bulldogs supporter.

The has been a whole lot of speculation by keyboard warriors trying to justify what Minson said.

Nonsense. Not one poster in this thread has attempted to justify Minson's comments. Ridiculing Pearce and others for their hand wringing, teeth gnashing and wailing over the comments, which could never be taken seriously, is in no way a justification of Minson's actions.

What did Pearce do wrong? He wreslted with Minson on field and didn't complain to the umpire. The umpire is there the entire time, heard Minson and reported it. So what would you like Pearce to do? Give Minson his unopend box of tissues when Minson choked up at his press conference?

Really? I actually didn't see any wailing and gnashing of teeth. Just some straight talk (and a few fisitcuffs on the field) about what is actually inappropriate behaniour in the real world. Ridiculing someone for being offended is a minimisation and trivialisation of the words Minson uttered. And as an extension is a way to play down what was said.

Why are people annoyed at Pearce I'm just not sure what he has done. No one from Port made the complaint the AFL has said this and has been linked plenty of times. Here it is again
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/138830/default.aspx

You can watch the incident on video showing the umpire right there while Minson is running his mouth off. Go to the AFL site or Foxsports and watch it. The only person that talks to the umpire is Minson after Pearce jumper punches him. Still people call Pearce a cry baby even though Minson is trying to get the umpires attention.

You can show with statistics where Minson's comments sit. How many sledges do umpires hear per game on average? call it "x". How many of these sledges have umpires felt needed further action call it "y" and there have been 102 games so far this year.

As far as I'm aware this is the first sledge an umpire felt the need to report this year so y =1

Therefore the percentage of sledges that this incident sits in front of is (1 -y/(102x))*100

If umpires collectively hear on average one sledge per game (unlikely), what Minson said was beyond 99.02% of sledges this year heard by umpires

At 5 sledges that percentage is 99.80%. 1 sledge in 500 heard by umpires

Is there anything wrong with that logic argument above? I really want someone to point out the flaw in this logic argument. Yet people still think it was a your mumma line? Umpires must hear at least one a game!

I think the most obvious give away that it wasn't a simple your mumma line is that Minson chokes up at his press conference, which he didn't do after telling Kane to go home beacause his son was dying - which most people think is far worse than an anal rape sledge. Thats the simple proof if logic is beyond your comprehension.

What did Pearce do wrong?
Made a huge issue out of a non-event and demonstrated to everybody his mental fragility.

Really? I actually didn't see any wailing and gnashing of teeth. Just some straight talk (and a few fisitcuffs on the field) about what is actually inappropriate behaniour in the real world. Ridiculing someone for being offended is a minimisation and trivialisation of the words Minson uttered. And as an extension is a way to play down what was said.

Crap. The words Minson uttered trivialised themselves. Reacting to them gave them credibility. Its almost like Pearce believed there was some truth in there somewhere.

Made a huge issue out of a non-event and demonstrated to everybody his mental fragility.

Crap. The words Minson uttered trivialised themselves. Reacting to them gave them credibility. Its almost like Pearce believed there was some truth in there somewhere.

Mate, I wrote way more than that arguing the point you are making, with links and a logical argument. You wrote one sentence answer with nothing but your belief based on your support for Minson. Seriously take your time and argue with what I wrote.

First of all find something that shows Pearce making a big deal - especially seeing as Minson choked on his words at a press conference (that is a big deal and ironic for your argument), he clearly did not make a report to the umpire, he wrestled with Minson on the field and spoke to press after Minson did.

Minson can blame himself and the umpire for taking it further if that makes him feel better.

Absolutely 100% correct. Minson has been hung out to dry here. The stuff coming out of the PAFC, Cornes family and 5AA has been nothing short of libellous. And you wouldn't want some of these Port supporters sitting on a jury.

Ah well. At least now we can expect every single player in every single game from now on to be dealt with in the same way as Will, right?

Absolutely 100% correct. Minson has been hung out to dry here. The stuff coming out of the PAFC, Cornes family and 5AA has been nothing short of libellous. And you wouldn't want some of these Port supporters sitting on a jury.

Ah well. At least now we can expect every single player in every single game from now on to be dealt with in the same way as Will, right?

What have the PAFC ever said regarding Minson - go through the Port statement and show me? They made a statement after Minson's which moved him to tears - he clearly thought it was serious. Again go through my post and show me what you would like Pearce to do? The umpire heard Minson say it, how is that Pearce's fault?

Edit - and yes if an umpire hears something equally as bad as Minson I expect the same result, I actually argued this same bit of logic as you to show how many sledges Minson's was worse than, only a few posts above. 99.8% of sledges was the lowest estimate where only one sledge is overheard by an umpire each game this year on average (they clearly hear far more than that but still that is a high percentage)

So we are now so PC we have to ban sledging from the AFL, despite it still existing in every other sport around the globe? Hate to see how Ali and Tyson would be handled in the AFL PC brigade. If the AFL were so concern with their image why is Bock and Silvia, both players who faced the courts over their assault on their partners still playing?

Never mind Scotland and Swan still having their AFL careers despite having been both charged with Assault, or is Assault only unacceptable with it against females?

I think these incidents/acts are far far more serious than a sledge that mentally weak players such as Pettard and Pearce can't handle, the AFL is not a typical workplace so to say sledging shouldn't be acceptable for this reason we may as well elimate everything from a competitive point of view in that case.

Just let it go. Minson said something stupid and has been suspended. You can argue with the PA supporters for days and days the fact is they don't know exactly what happened, neither do we and around and round we go.

Instead of wasting your time stand up for his character assassination by the gutter journalists in this country. Apparently saying something like this is much, much worse than beating your girlfriend. Despite this Stringer urchin being guilty I believe Will still is making headlines in the Vic shit rag!

So we are now so PC we have to ban sledging from the AFL, despite it still existing in every other sport around the globe? Hate to see how Ali and Tyson would be handled in the AFL PC brigade. If the AFL were so concern with their image why is Bock and Silvia, both players who faced the courts over their assault on their partners still playing?

Never mind Scotland and Swan still having their AFL careers despite having been both charged with Assault, or is Assault only unacceptable with it against females?

I think these incidents/acts are far far more serious than a sledge that mentally weak players such as Pettard and Pearce can't handle, the AFL is not a typical workplace so to say sledging shouldn't be acceptable for this reason we may as well elimate everything from a competitive point of view in that case.

I agree they are more serious but why say after that those two players are mentally weak? Just because they became public. Have you never seen a fight behind play at the footy? Or wrestling? i can think of Lynch throwing haymakers at Wakelin in the 04 GF with the ball no where near them. People loved it. Pearce was right there trying to wrestle with Minson on the field but the differentiation factor is an umpire standing right there?

Just let it go. Minson said something stupid and has been suspended. You can argue with the PA supporters for days and days the fact is they don't know exactly what happened, neither do we and around and round we go.

Instead of wasting your time stand up for his character assassination by the gutter journalists in this country. Apparently saying something like this is much, much worse than beating your girlfriend. Despite this Stringer urchin being guilty I believe Will still is making headlines in the Vic shit rag!

I'm happy to let it go as soon as people drop the Pearce is a cry baby and weak. Everytime I argue against it using logic, another person comes in and just makes a stupid statement when it is near impossible to argue it if you watch the video and read the AFL statement. The umpire overheard Minson, what should Pearce do?

I think Minson had punishment enough at the press conference and doesn't need to be suspended but that is just my opinion.

What did Pearce do wrong? He wreslted with Minson on field and didn't complain to the umpire. The umpire is there the entire time, heard Minson and reported it. So what would you like Pearce to do? Give Minson his unopend box of tissues when Minson choked up at his press conference?
Pearce didn't do anything wrong. He took the process that was available to him and utilised it. Everything else is conjecture and debate over personal opinion.

Agreed. One particular PAFC supporter seems to have done a Lucy and hijacked the discussion to constantly refer to him/herself, and is continuously using the term "logic" to describe what are actually leaps of logic.

I still have the feeling that the Corneses have played this beautifully to settle an old score, and left Danyle Pearce looking like a sook, liar and/or stool pigeon.

Agreed. One particular PAFC supporter seems to have done a Lucy and hijacked the discussion to constantly refer to him/herself, and is continuously using the term "logic" to describe what are actually leaps of logic.

I still have the feeling that the Corneses have played this beautifully to settle an old score, and left Danyle Pearce looking like a sook, liar and/or stool pigeon.

No need for your comment. Not trying to hijack the thread but am respoding by pointing out logic errors when people think Pearce had a massive sook. Each time I've done that, someone just sprouts a different unrelated piece of crud. I am just asking what Pearce should do differently next time an umpire hears a sledge and decides to do something. All you have to do to argue against logic is show where the fallacy lies - and I've posted all of my links and explained my logic so it is all there to take apart.

The fallacy lies in the fact that you think what you post is logical.

Pearce reacted to Minson's sledge and is therefore mentally fragile. He then had a sook to the umpire, that's been documented.

Your player is a pussy. You don't have to like it, you don't even have to accept it. Its just reality.

The fallacy lies in the fact that you think what you post is logical.

Pearce reacted to Minson's sledge and is therefore mentally fragile. He then had a sook to the umpire, that's been documented.

Your player is a pussy. You don't have to like it, you don't even have to accept it. Its just reality.

This is your argument, I am wrong because you said so? Argue what I posted not because I posted it. Again you can point out errors with facts, linked quotes or videos to make an argument. I won't argue that Pearce reacted to Minson's sledge, happens regularly on the football field, would be the reason for most fights on the field. This time an umpire thought the sledge was beyond what he had heard before.

No. 36 pages bickering over a mother comment is enough I would have thought.
In contrast to the Stringer incident, it's completely disproportionate, I agree. But it highlights to me that the AFL can inflate any story to a magnitude they desire.

To me, it is somewhat apparent that this is being propelled by certain media figures. How many articles has Caroline Wilson wrote on this in the past week as opposed to say, those honouring Sutton, or those condemning Stringer?

They necessarily paint one party as malicious, and the other a champion of righteousness. So much so that, within the last week, almost every player quoted on the topic has (now) labelled sledging about family members as 'off-limits' when it obviously is not (yet) and never has, nor probably never will be. Indeed, comments suggesting Minson is not fit to remain alive are met with less disdain, and even praise, despite the comments Minson made still remaining contested.

Obviously none of his teammates can flatly back him because doing so will automatically open them and their club up to labels of misogyny and barbarism.

Then again, perhaps the comments were as serious as Port Adelaide are suggesting. Pearce has every right to defend himself and utilise the processes available to him through the AFL. I remain fearful, however, that having his grievances aired in such a way - not that this is necessarily his fault - could cripple both of their (AFL) careers. How then does the process come anywhere near serving its purpose?

Nevertheless, I'm inclined to think there is much more than an ounce of truth to Pearce's accounts. Indeed, players have responded to far less than even the 'least' offensive jokes aimed at family members - neither Pearce's reaction on-field or Minson's apology off of it should sway opinion.

PAUR - What time on the countdown clock do you think the sledge occured? I don't think a field umpire was necessarily within earshot at that time.

Minson offensive comments