Missing Backpacker in Croatia

• Thread starter Thread starter rdhopkins2

Police in Croatia have confirmed that they have recovered a body in unrecognisable condition from a cove where Aussie backpacker Britt Lapthorpe disappeared in Dubrovnik. Whilst the identity is unconfirmed, it seems it is heading towards a very sad end for this young girl's family.

Hope they catch the bastards that did it, cut their balls off and lock them in a cell to rot.:(

Like everyone else, I hope that this story has a nice ending, but....

I don't know about this girl in Croatia, but I've done a fair bit of traveling, and we often do things we ordinarily wouldn't do when we're away from home.

Being a guy, I always felt relatively safe, but I always wondered about young women and their judgement.

On many occasions on my travels in Central America/South America, I saw women go off with groups of men, they had just met, often intoxicated, and I'd be thinking; What does this girl think these guys (locals) are going to do when she's away from a crowded area?

Once in the Ecuadorian Amazon, an Aussie girl (early 20s) even went off alone with a guy from an Amazonian tribe.:eek:

When I was in Cusco, (Peru) prior to going to Macchu Pichu, there were numerous attacks on foreign women. It was well known by all and even I looked over my shoulder after a long night at the bar. But every night, without fail women would be staggering around, or puking on the street and I'd be thinking..
1. stupid
2. Where the hell are her friends?

Sorry if this sound preachy, but seriously don't leave your brains at home!

Like everyone else, I hope that this story has a nice ending, but....

I don't know about this girl in Croatia, but I've done a fair bit of traveling, and we often do things we ordinarily wouldn't do when we're away from home.

Being a guy, I always felt relatively safe, but I always wondered about young women and their judgement.

On many occasions on my travels in Central America/South America, I saw women go off with groups of men, they had just met, often intoxicated, and I'd be thinking; What does this girl think these guys (locals) are going to do when she's away from a crowded area?

Once in the Ecuadorian Amazon, an Aussie girl (early 20s) even went off alone with a guy from an Amazonian tribe.:eek:

When I was in Cusco, (Peru) prior to going to Macchu Pichu, there were numerous attacks on foreign women. It was well known by all and even I looked over my shoulder after a long night at the bar. But every night, without fail women would be staggering around, or puking on the street and I'd be thinking..
1. stupid
2. Where the hell are her friends?

Sorry if this sound preachy, but seriously don't leave your brains at home!

I agree with you here mate, they don't even have to be drunk... i was on a street in Vietnam late at night with my then girlfriend and yeah, we were a bit lost. She pulls out a map (doh!) and we get swarmed by locals on scooters saying they'd take us to our hotel.... I was sceptical and didn't want us to seperate on different scooters at night... we showed the most pushy guy (and he seemed immediately dodgy/untrustworthy) the hotel business card and he said... "Long, long way, me and my friend we take you two.." I got my bearings and saw our hotel less than 500 metres away on the other side of the square.
Sure, they may have been trying to just rip us off a few dong by taking us on a long ride to charge us extra, but the chance was always there that they were going to drive us to any old secluded place, knock me on the head, take my shit and who knows what the GF would have been in for.... just gotta play smart sometimes.

I agree with you here mate, they don't even have to be drunk... i was on a street in Vietnam late at night with my then girlfriend and yeah, we were a bit lost. She pulls out a map (doh!) and we get swarmed by locals on scooters saying they'd take us to our hotel.... I was sceptical and didn't want us to seperate on different scooters at night... we showed the most pushy guy (and he seemed immediately dodgy/untrustworthy) the hotel business card and he said... "Long, long way, me and my friend we take you two.." I got my bearings and saw our hotel less than 500 metres away on the other side of the square.
Sure, they may have been trying to just rip us off a few dong by taking us on a long ride to charge us extra, but the chance was always there that they were going to drive us to any old secluded place, knock me on the head, take my shit and who knows what the GF would have been in for.... just gotta play smart sometimes.

You weren't looking from near Pham Ngu Lao in HCMC to the New World Hotel near Benh Thanh market by any chance?

Just a wild guess; but some dodgy characters hang around the corner of that park there. But the New World do a great Sunday brunch! :thumbsu:

Police in Croatia have confirmed that they have recovered a body in unrecognisable condition from a cove where Aussie backpacker Britt Lapthorpe disappeared in Dubrovnik. Whilst the identity is unconfirmed, it seems it is heading towards a very sad end for this young girl's family.

Hope they catch the bastards that did it, cut their balls off and lock them in a cell to rot.:(
I'd say it was the hotel owner's son where she was staying,he probably asked her for a slap and tickle and she refuse so he knocked her off.:thumbsd:

As sad as this is, with these constant media circus's I find myself getting more cynical and less caring by the day. First we had Corby, then that dude Nyngan, Beaconsfield, then 'pumpkin' now this. I don't see the person anymore, all I see is the editors looking for the next angle and the robotic journo’s calling up the father every 20 minutes looking for the next day’s catch phrase. The moment I saw her in the papers I though to myself, 'here comes the next 2 weeks page one.' The story has everything a circus needs: A pretty female in the prime of her life cut short, a grieving parent to empathise over and continual chances to take pot shots at the Government for 'not doing enough.' I wouldn't wish the loss of a loved one on anyone, but adding the constant attention, gossip and intrusion this is building into is cruel and unusual.

Jeez the dad is starting to shit me, just let the police do their work ffs

Until you have kids, you cant understand his pain. You would do anything for your kids, literally.

IF it is as reported, that the authorities over there are a little lax, then imagine yourself, you would be at your wits end. its your child .

Jeez the dad is starting to shit me, just let the police do their work ffs

I don't get the bit where he's complaining because a body was found and he's pissed off the cops didn't tell him.If they are fairly certain it isn't her then there is no need to tell the dad.It's nothing to do with him.

Interesting the an old guy from Melbourne [I think] went missing a few weeks ago while hiking in somewhere like Hawaii and there's barely been a mention of it since.

Until you have kids, you cant understand his pain. You would do anything for your kids, literally.

IF it is as reported, that the authorities over there are a little lax, then imagine yourself, you would be at your wits end. its your child .

As has been said in the thread. Im not sure why people are going over to place like Eastern Europe, without taking due diligence in looking after themselves.

I wouldnt wish anything like this on anyone, but surely the Government cant be held responsible for everyone who goes overseas on their own accord out of Government jurisdiction, and come in when the shit hits the fan...

Is anyone else sick of the way the dad is going on about it? I understand you would do anything for your kids but now its becoming clear that there is this arrogance in that he thinks because he is Australian we deserve to be treated better and differently to locals. Again another case of an Australian thinking he is bigger and better than the local customs.

Just show a bit of respect for the way things are done, regardless if in Australia it is done in a different manner.

And yeah the media using the same pic of her (you know the one where she looks pretty) to tap into our judgemental collective minds and flogging this story again a sad reflection on the way the media has sunk to levels lower than ever experienced.

I am 110% certain had this girl been of an ethnic background and carry a few pounds, not attractive or even a non anglo male then there would be next to no coverage.

The media in austalia is becoming ever so racist, perfect example is the "Our Nicole" "Our Kylie" saturation, even when they flop or kill a movie in kidmans case, the australian media cannot fault these two. Yet when a non anglo actor or singer manages to kill a movie the meida goes into a frenzy with its negativity.

I wonder why that is. Sick of the aussie media pampering to bogans and nuff nuffs.

Is anyone else sick of the way the dad is going on about it? I understand you would do anything for your kids but now its becoming clear that there is this arrogance in that he thinks because he is Australian we deserve to be treated better and differently to locals. Again another case of an Australian thinking he is bigger and better than the local customs.

Just show a bit of respect for the way things are done, regardless if in Australia it is done in a different manner.

And yeah the media using the same pic of her (you know the one where she looks pretty) to tap into our judgemental collective minds and flogging this story again a sad reflection on the way the media has sunk to levels lower than ever experienced.

I am 110% certain had this girl been of an ethnic background and carry a few pounds, not attractive or even a non anglo male then there would be next to no coverage.

The media in austalia is becoming ever so racist, perfect example is the "Our Nicole" "Our Kylie" saturation, even when they flop or kill a movie in kidmans case, the australian media cannot fault these two. Yet when a non anglo actor or singer manages to kill a movie the meida goes into a frenzy with its negativity.

I wonder why that is. Sick of the aussie media pampering to bogans and nuff nuffs.

Why would the media use a horrible picture of her? I mean, using the good looking photo is always going to happen, I don't see the problem with that.

And give us an example of a non-anglo actor or singer being berated by the the media in a situation where an anglo hasn't.

In the end, this stuff sells papers. The media is a business, just like any other. They make money out of stories like this and while the minority might not like it, the majority do, just like everything in life.

As sad as this is, with these constant media circus's I find myself getting more cynical and less caring by the day. First we had Corby, then that dude Nyngan, Beaconsfield, then 'pumpkin' now this. I don't see the person anymore, all I see is the editors looking for the next angle and the robotic journo’s calling up the father every 20 minutes looking for the next day’s catch phrase. The moment I saw her in the papers I though to myself, 'here comes the next 2 weeks page one.' The story has everything a circus needs: A pretty female in the prime of her life cut short, a grieving parent to empathise over and continual chances to take pot shots at the Government for 'not doing enough.' I wouldn't wish the loss of a loved one on anyone, but adding the constant attention, gossip and intrusion this is building into is cruel and unusual.
Exactly how I feel

Why would the media use a horrible picture of her? I mean, using the good looking photo is always going to happen, I don't see the problem with that.

Well for starters our judgemental society would not have taken to this if say she was ummm not attractive. If you think that australian soceity is not judgemental, racist or agesit then i think your very deluded to the current soceity we have created in australia. we like to think we don't judge people in this country but sadly we are champions at it. We all do it..

And give us an example of a non-anglo actor or singer being berated by the the media in a situation where an anglo hasn't.

Well lets start with the old man who has disappeared in hawaii..

In the end, this stuff sells papers. The media is a business, just like any other. They make money out of stories like this and while the minority might not like it, the majority do, just like everything in life.

Well then if it's a business then i really shouldn't give a **** about this story and should not be berated by others for doing so. I don't care about business, then why should i give a **** about some silly girl who thought she was wayyy independant and indestructable in a foreign country, especially when all reports have suggested she was a bit of a...****.

would love to ignore the media but its hard to do in this country most times.

Well for starters our judgemental society would not have taken to this if say she was ummm not attractive. If you think that australian soceity is not judgemental, racist or agesit then i think your very deluded to the current soceity we have created in australia. we like to think we don't judge people in this country but sadly we are champions at it. We all do it..

Well lets start with the old man who has disappeared in hawaii..

Well then if it's a business then i really shouldn't give a **** about this story and should not be berated by others for doing so. I don't care about business, then why should i give a **** about some silly girl who thought she was wayyy independant and indestructable in a foreign country, especially when all reports have suggested she was a bit of a...****.

would love to ignore the media but its hard to do in this country most times.

I'm not saying society isn't judgemental, it is totally. I just thought you were suggesting they should have used a less attractive photo of her, which I didn't see the point in.

The man who disappeared in Hawaii isn't an actor or singer but I understand your point.

You don't have to give a stuff about the girl if you don't want to, no one's forcing you too. We just need to remember that despite the media saturation of this, she is a person, she has got a family and none of us would want it to happen to us, especially with unsourced and unreliable comments that she was promiscuous.

I've done a fair bit of travel myself (and want to do more). I think just like at home you just have to be a little careful...ie you wouldn't get totally trashed in say Cabramatta and then walk home by yourself as a lone female (or indeed bloke). Sure, it's unlikely something will happen to you, but the risk is still higher than normal. There's some risks that should be take, others you should be a little more careful. That said, don't overstress about it....more chance of being killed by a drunk L-plater at home than in an Istanbul cafe.

You weren't looking from near Pham Ngu Lao in HCMC to the New World Hotel near Benh Thanh market by any chance?

Just a wild guess; but some dodgy characters hang around the corner of that park there. But the New World do a great Sunday brunch! :thumbsu:

Hi Leper - mate it was in HCMC but I'm not sure of the name of the hotel that we stayed at. Yeah, there were dodgy characters everywhere, but for the most part I found the Vietnamese people very friendly and helpful! :)

There is also a small blue synthetic Carlton footy getting kicked around somewhere in HCMC too - I took one with me for the purpose of having a kick-to-kick with some locals! Starting kicking it around with a group of about 4 teenagers and soon enough there was about 30 on the street booting it around and trying to take hangers! Didn't have the heart to take it back off them when it was time to go so i let them keep it! :D That was four years ago though so it might be a bit flat by now!

I'm not saying we have to wallow in the misery of it all but the day we stop caring about anything but ourselves is going to be pretty sad. Imagine how many organisations/charitys etc would just fall over if the volunteers all of a decided they were just going to look after number 1 and stuff everyone else. :(

The "if it doesn't directly affect me, I don't give a crap about it" attitude is exactly why society is slowly going to hell.

I would argue it's the mass hysteria and jump on popular causes attitude of current society that is slowly dragging us to hell, but that's just me.

I don't care personally about this chick. I don't wish it on her and if something was in my power to change the situation I would. But I don't see how someone expressing uncalled for grief via posts on a public forum does anything more than attempt to prove that person is some great empathic being worthy of praise and to get high on self satisfaction. As a matter of fact I find the whole process morally corrupt.

Obviously its incredibly sad that a young woman has gone missing, likely dead.

Can't help but think its that old missing white woman syndrome. Its big news because she had blonde hair and ****.

The hotel owner described her as promiscuous and we hear "oh no! he must have killed her!" - chances are she WAS a bit promiscuous, got split up from her friends when she went for a shag with a local, and her reckless nature has caught up with her in the most horrible way. A lot of western women simply don't understand how good they have it in society compared to nearly every other woman on the planet.

When I was traveling asia I always felt safe because as a male locals are going to take you seriously if things start to get a bit hairy (and they do from time to time). Women simply don't get that luxury in most countries. Australians travel more than ANY other nation, its about time our youngest bitches learned to show a bit of restraint.

Or she was just maggot, stacked it, drowned.

Or suicide.

I would argue it's the mass hysteria and jump on popular causes attitude of current society that is slowly dragging us to hell, but that's just me.

No shit.

Where's all the support for the Burmese monks from a year ago? The support for tougher anti-dog fighting laws in the wake of the Michael Vick case? The movement to get the US out of Iraq?

Oh, those things aren't as important anymore, right?