BrisGirl

Brisbane Lions
Not too many stuck their hand up today.

Story on Brisbane Lions site, called them:- disinterested.

Inaccurate kicking....... bombing, where did they go to today, because they weren't where they should have been.

Any one have any reasons?

We were beaten on the day.

The Eagles were good on the day, we weren't. We lost our first game in 21 matches. We could also lose next week, however, that will be a different story. There's nothing 'wrong' with the side that we need to worry about, at this point in time.

Apart from the fact that this year, we have a few players with premiership hangover (Hart, Lynch, White, Notting), and a few with injuries (Voss, Keating, McDonald, Power), I'm not overly concerned about where we are headed at this point in time.

If, over the next 5 weeks or so, we only win 2 or less games, then there may be some grounds for concern. However, apart from a lack-lustre performance today (and possibly last week as well), I don't think there is any reason to go into a great synopsis regarding what's happening out on the field.

Basically all it comes down to, is getting our best side out on the park, and getting them to play form football. Likewise, apart from the task of making the finals, and trying to secure a few home finals, I don't think there is any need to have a week-to-week pressure situation on our performances.

You know, I would not put this down to 'Premiership hangover'.

This is just a team against a team that plainly, wanted to win.

It was real simple.

The boys have been playing great footy, until today.

I am not being a hard task master, this is simple footy not being played out.

'It is not rocket science"

I do not understand 'the machine' type footy, from past games this year and then you get - today.

What was the difference, there truly has to be a reason, and I want to know what is was.

Was it the travel? Because I refuse 'Premiership hangover'.

I actually didn't say that we "lost the game this week" because of premiership hangover or that our 'team' has a premiership hangover, but rather that a number of our players seem to be suffering from a lack of form by comparison to last year's performances (in other words, a premiership hangover).

Lynch, Hart, White, and Notting have all either been hot and cold, or simply out of form, more often than not.

The reason why we lost, is because "that's footy"!! Some weeks you lose, some you win. WCE played well and deserved to win, and simply, we didn't. Considering it wasn't a capitulation, and our opposition DID play well, I'm not overly concerned - it was a reasonable loss, to a worthy opponent. If this loss hadn't come at the end of a huge winning streak, I doubt that people would be overly bothered (apart from wanting to turn it around the following week).

Really, in the lead up, there were a number of concerns over the performance of our side. Apart from that, there could also be any number of reasons as to why we didn't perform to our best on the day. But at the end of the day, this is our first loss in 21 matches. I think it would be wrong if the coaching staff were to become reactionary and obsessive, and look at all the reasons why we lost this week, instead of moving forward to the next match and trying to get the side back into some good form.

This game will most likely mean little in the course of the season. I doubt there is much that the Lions could learn from this game, that they haven't already learnt in the last 3 years under Matthews.

Ok Stocka, here, I will agree with you.

I have noticed, with interest, that White and Hart have not started on the ground for a couple of games.

Maybe, those two, who knows.

Lynch, I am not so sure. Maybe Lynch, doesn't like the extra attention he attracts now, now that he is a Premiership Forward.

In no way, have I put this down as a 'start to worry' game.

If anything, this game takes the pressure off them regarding the record and now they can relax and enjoy themselves again.

Love my footy team.

Originally posted by jod23
Its not the fact that the Lions played badly today and we played well. Its the fact that our pressure on the ball and the player who had the ball MADE the Lions play badly.

Exactly.

I just want to say one thing to you Lions supporters.

In my opinion, you guys are the best as opposition supporters. Not once reading your threads were you all bitter and twisted and you gave credit to the Eagles where credit is due. There are no lame excuses and you all agreed WC was the better side on the day.

You guys hold your heads high, not only is your footy team fantastic, but you supporters are classy people too.

I take my hat off to you.......

Originally posted by Goldenblue
I just want to say one thing to you Lions supporters.

In my opinion, you guys are the best as opposition supporters. Not once reading your threads were you all bitter and twisted and you gave credit to the Eagles where credit is due. There are no lame excuses and you all agreed WC was the better side on the day.

You guys hold your heads high, not only is your footy team fantastic, but you supporters are classy people too.

I take my hat off to you.......

Thank you, that is a very nice thing to say.

The one thing the Lions have to take out of the Weagles game is that when they are under pressure and don't have a viable option, then they must play the percentages and use the boundary line. Too many times did we turn the ball over with kicks and handpasses under pressure, and that is a cardinal sin.

I don't like the way football is played at the moment with flooding and rugby style packs, yet we have to adapt to it and once we do the cream will rise again. I'd lay off Crackers as well, even though he is short of a gallop. McLaren has struggled immensely in the ruck, I prefer him at CHB, so Crackers had to come in. Charman was doing well until injured early and we relied on Crackers too much.

Question: Which team has had the most success in dismantling the Lions' game plan over the past couple of seasons?
Answer: Carlton

Another question: And just who has been on the Carlton coaching panel during said years?
Answer: J.Worsfold

Join the dots.

Very well spotted, Ripper.

Another trend would also then include the attention given to S.Black, in the said circumstances.

the loss did eventually have to happen, and it was kind of refreshing that it was good quality footy that did it rather than ugly defensive tactics (a la the bulldogs game). the weagles ran the ball well and tackled and pressured hard (that kid kerr can play) .

still i think we shouldn't worry. some of our boys did look underdone (browny and crackers) and others looked out of form. there is room for improvement.

Its not the fact that the Lions played badly today and we played well. Its the fact that our pressure on the ball and the player who had the ball MADE the Lions play badly.

With all due respect to the Eagles, I don't think that's the reason. The Eagles played well, but not well enough to beat Brisbane at their best.

Anyone who watches Brisbane week in week out could see the reason we lost this week - FATIGUE. Rewind the tape to the middle of the third quarter. Vossy's goal puts us three points down. Now, at the Gabba and well rested, this would have been the point at which Voss, Black, Aker and co started running over the top of the opposition. On Saturday, they had clearly spent all their petrol tickets at this stage.

There was no running. There were no numbers to the ball, no runs through the lines, no leads down from the forward line. How many times did a handball from a contest go to an Eagles player? Every other week there would have been more Brisbane players at the contest than opponents and the odds would be that a Brisbane player would get the ball. This week, it was just the opposite. I haven't seen Brisbane resort to just bombing it downfield like they did this weekend since the game against Carlton last year.

There were other factors - Gardiner and Wilson were brilliant for the Eagles, and generally West Coast's kicking for goal was excellent, but I reckon faitgue was the most important factor in this game. Coming off a tough game in Melbourne, Brisbane weren't going to be able to keep up if West Coast stretched them, and to their credit, West Coast stretched them.

Don't fret, it's not a premiership hangover. We just need to get back to Brisbane, get some rest and beat the Cats before travelling again.

Originally posted by blackers

With all due respect to the Eagles, I don't think that's the reason. The Eagles played well, but not well enough to beat Brisbane at their best.

Anyone who watches Brisbane week in week out could see the reason we lost this week - FATIGUE. Rewind the tape to the middle of the third quarter. Vossy's goal puts us three points down. Now, at the Gabba and well rested, this would have been the point at which Voss, Black, Aker and co started running over the top of the opposition. On Saturday, they had clearly spent all their petrol tickets at this stage.

There was no running. There were no numbers to the ball, no runs through the lines, no leads down from the forward line. How many times did a handball from a contest go to an Eagles player? Every other week there would have been more Brisbane players at the contest than opponents and the odds would be that a Brisbane player would get the ball. This week, it was just the opposite. I haven't seen Brisbane resort to just bombing it downfield like they did this weekend since the game against Carlton last year.

There were other factors - Gardiner and Wilson were brilliant for the Eagles, and generally West Coast's kicking for goal was excellent, but I reckon faitgue was the most important factor in this game. Coming off a tough game in Melbourne, Brisbane weren't going to be able to keep up if West Coast stretched them, and to their credit, West Coast stretched them.

Don't fret, it's not a premiership hangover. We just need to get back to Brisbane, get some rest and beat the Cats before travelling again.

Disagree...no i dont think we could beat Brisbane if both our teams are at our best but the point is that on Saturday we didnt ALLOW Brisbane to play there best. We tackled hard, put pressure on the ball, had numbers at every contest....thats why we won not because Brisbane got tired.

Jod, you guys won. Isn't that enough for you?

Could you please allow Lions supporters the courtesy of disecting THEIR team and THEIR loss without you arguing every point from a WC point of view.

The issue that's catching us out is one that has been around for a number of years - rucks and contested marks. Any side with a gun ruckman - King at Geelong would be one - would be relishing a contest against us right now. We're lucky that the Bombers have a similar problem but Cats , Roos and Demons will really expose us there. It's up to our mid range players to cover and they looked particularly flat. I can see a player like Jeff White causing us untold grief.

So when is Beau back ? I think the recruiting staff should pencil in - grab a gun ruckman from another club ASAP.

Disagree...no i dont think we could beat Brisbane if both our teams are at our best but the point is that on Saturday we didnt ALLOW Brisbane to play there best. We tackled hard, put pressure on the ball, had numbers at every contest....thats why we won not because Brisbane got tired.

You have the privilege of enjoying the fact that West Coast play at home every fortnight.

You know, that every 2nd weekend, you are going to see your team.

That means, West Coast travels every other weekend, mostly to Melbourne, with the occasional trip to Adelaide, and one trip to Brisbane.

Brisbane travelled to Melbourne last weekend, to follow up 6 days later to go to Perth, which has been proven to be the hardest road trip for any team. Brisbane to Perth.

So, as I am not using it as an excuse, there is a valid reason here to entertain the idea that Brisbane were tired.

Originally posted by BrisGirl

You have the privilege of enjoying the fact that West Coast play at home every fortnight.

You know, that every 2nd weekend, you are going to see your team.

That means, West Coast travels every other weekend, mostly to Melbourne, with the occasional trip to Adelaide, and one trip to Brisbane.

Brisbane travelled to Melbourne last weekend, to follow up 6 days later to go to Perth, which has been proven to be the hardest road trip for any team. Brisbane to Perth.

So, as I am not using it as an excuse, there is a valid reason here to entertain the idea that Brisbane were tired.

What so you had a little 2 hour flight down to Melbourne....big deal. We travel all the way across the country once a fortnight? You dont think were tired.

For all you other Brissie supporters, if you think im trolling ill go back to my board but im just simply defending my club. I dont think we won cos Brisbane got tired.

It had nothing to do with being tired - we didn't run out of legs, we were beaten almost all day. Eagles just too hard, too strong and we didn't handle the pressure well at all.

At least now we can just play the game without the pressure of not being able to lose. We're still a game and percentage ahead of third spot. We should be aiming to finish top after a 4-1 start to the year.

I think the boys'll be smarting after this one, and will really look to rip into the Cats next weekend. Looking forward to it.

We travel all the way across the country once a fortnight?

That's right, once a fortnight.

Ane, you stay at home, once a fortnight, you do not travel two weekends in a row.

There is no argument here. I am only stating facts.

It is a fact, but it's also a fact that Perth teams flying to Melbourne are in the air for around three times as long. A one-hour flight to Melbourne's no real problem, three hours is a very long time indeed.

Brisbane can't really use the long flight as an excuse either. They arrived 48 hours before the game, plenty of time to acclimatise and recover.

Originally posted by BrainOfMorbius
It is a fact, but it's also a fact that Perth teams flying to Melbourne are in the air for around three times as long. A one-hour flight to Melbourne's no real problem, three hours is a very long time indeed.

The flight from Brisbane to Melbourne is just over 2 hours.

And, at no stage have I used travel as an excuse, I have been defending it as a thought.

Because I have never had to play the game and travel two weeks in a row, I can not speak on behalf of the players that have done it. I am just imagining it, and it doesn't sound like it would be fun.

Look, we won a Premiership last year, taking into account all the travelling. I just shows what an incredible achievement it was.

Originally posted by BrainOfMorbius
It had nothing to do with being tired - we didn't run out of legs, we were beaten almost all day. Eagles just too hard, too strong and we didn't handle the pressure well at all.

I don't know, it looked more like tiredness to me. There were a lot of occasions when Voss or someone would handball or kick the ball out of a contest straight to an Eagles player. It wasn't so much a case of the guy with the ball being unable to handle the pressure - it's the same pressure whenever we play a good team - but of the fact that most contests would have 2 Eagles for every Lion in attendance. Given that we nearly had a full strength side on the field, I can only attribute the lack of numbers to tiredness. There was also an absence of running support all over the ground.

The other unusual thing was that the Lions just started kicking it without looking upfield in the final quarter, which is the sort of desperation I normally associate with St Kilda.

I don't mean to make excuses, just looking for reasons. I just think that while West Coast performed well on the day, they were not in unbeatable form and if we had played at home the week before it might've made a big difference.

On of my friends pointed out that, aside from 2000-1, the Perth trip has always been considered difficult, so we shouldn't be too surprised. We'll see how the Eagles handle the return trip.

Anyway, you're right Brain, we had a hell of a run but now the pressure is off and we can start focussing on the real prize.