Moloney steps down.

• Thread starter Thread starter Buddha117

really disappointed for him, he obviously loves the club

but he made a mistake and this year, he won't be part of the leadership group

he will still be an leader on and off the field

Harsh call but a good one IMO. A good leader's actions should do the talking, and in this case Moloney did the wrong thing. We need our leadership group to be strong right now with such a young list. Might seem excessive, but I think we made the right call. Moloney seems embarrassed and hurt by his actions, so hopfully he moves on and gets back into the leadership group...

This is an over the top knee jerk reaction.
If he didn't piss on the bar then he should be fined and that is all. He has never been in trouble before and he should be severly warned, but that is all. I mean for christ sake he has been the only good player in the first 3 matches for us.

So disappointing. Watch the flogs get on the Melbourne-bagging bandwagon even stronger now.

We really need to come out and smash the GC this weekend, and then some.

The right call to stand him down. Standards need to be set and maintained if we are going to achieve what we want to achieve. All those who don't tow the line let themself and the club down. Not good enough.

In saying that, Beamer is remorseful and will fight back. The boys will get behind him.

Brent, as a leader, should be setting a positive example for his teammates, particularly in this case as many of them are young.

With this in mind, the club has made a good call.

Pretty harsh. Maybe there have been other incidents we're not aware of, the punishment seems excessive for the crime IMO. Hopefully he comes out of it a better player as Bailey kept saying.

I think its a good call from the club. Anything less would be to not acknowledge the seriousness of the rules that the players have set themselves.

The players in the leadership group MUST comply with the rules set by the players because they are basically the internal enforcement body within the club and the leaders that the younger players aspire to be like. Treating breaches of the rules by players in the leadership group with lip service only sends a message to the younger players that the rules just aren't that serious. This punishment sends the right message to the younger players that the rules are serious and all players are required to follow them.

Now Beamer...rip the Gold Coast a new one son! We all love you mate :thumbsu:

Vice captains and leadership groups are a massive wank. Great result if it means he doesn't miss a game.

tell that to the players mate, i'm happy that he won't miss a game as well but beamer will be devastated

If you need to have a title next to your name to be a leader then you shouldn't be in the group in the first place. He'll be exactly the same player he was last week now - the only thing he'll be bleeding about is being dragged through the mud by the scum in the media.

So disappointing. Watch the flogs get on the Melbourne-bagging bandwagon even stronger now.

We really need to come out and smash the GC this weekend, and then some.

This. Cliche but the best way to shut up the bagging is to absolutely belt the living pi$$ out of the new boys, take the bye to attend to any niggles and come out and keep it going against WC. If we can take some form over there and get a win this will be largely forgotten (by the public that is).

Then there is Adelaide at home, Norf and the Saints. Not exactly the 'worst' next four games to be playing even though most aren't at the g.

Just concentrate on your footy, boys

Just an example to the young guys - I have no problem here.

Given everything Beamer has done at this club, I would fine him as well, then re-instate him as VC in approximately 8 weeks.