Mijhaa

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/dees-morton-puts-contract-talks-on-hold-20110610-1fx4r.html

Given his manager Paul Connors recently stated in an interview he saw no point in putting off contract talks to wait for the new CBA, Morton doing so definitely seems strange although the article does go on to say he isn't believe to be a GWS target.

I like how players put contract talks on hold to assess their situation when, in reality, the club isn't to blame. Not our fault he's a soft **** who has been in poor form for the last 2 years. Not our fault that other players have come on and are now ahead in the pecking order because he couldn't get himself going. The bloke has been given enough chances, if he wants to "assess the situation" because he is a sook then he can **** off to another club as far as I'm concerned.

Or he could just want to focus on his footy and talk about the contract later?

Regardless of what his manager has said recently, it could be a manager driven thing?

Just a couple of thoughts.

Although it seems unlikely to us, and the author of the article has no reason to think it, I think he's actually a likely target of GWS. Wouldn't be thier first choice but given the trouble they seem to be having attracting big names, I wouldn't be surprised.

Personally I say meh. Happy for him to stay and see how he developed over the next 2 years; but couldn't care if he went. Reckon the compo people might over rate him too. So we could get a half decent pick...

But whatever. We can cover the loss of Cale Morton without blinking.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

SPOT ON! Although you forgot having a sook at VFL level when dropped rather than taking the bull by the horns like someone like Ricky P does also...

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

SPOT ON! Although you forgot having a sook at VFL level when dropped rather than taking the bull by the horns like someone like Ricky P does also...

As much as I love Petterd, he doesn't do too much when dropped. That's Bate

Bad timing HFF.

Usually you would be right in saying Petterd treats VFL with less enthusiams as others byt he did just play a monster game yesterday with something like 39 D and 10 tackles.:p

Don't want him. What sort of afl player doesn't put on any size in 3 years? Not hard and not committed. Not a Demon.

Robbie Flower - but yeah nah, if he wants to go to GayWeakSpastics, sure thing.

Bad timing HFF.

Usually you would be right in saying Petterd treats VFL with less enthusiams as others byt he did just play a monster game yesterday with something like 39 D and 10 tackles.:p
He was 2nd BOG the week before as well. On Petterd I think the reason he isn't getting a game is his fitness. He didn't look fit early in the year and I don't think he had the tank to play midfield at AFL.

Bailey has been all about versatility and Petterd hasn't given us cos he could only do a froward pocket role, now that he has proven the he can handle playing in the midfield at VFL level I don't think it will be long before he's back at AFL level, he should of played this week.

Morton's gone no doubt about it! Going on the Big Footy philosophy that if doesn't sign immediately then his bags are packed especially if he is getting pressured to sign then it's a no brainer.

Now that he is definately gone what compensation do we get for him? and what compensation do we get for the rest of the players that haven't sign cos there gone too?

The positive is that we will have a lot of draft picks in the draft.

Robbie Flower - but yeah nah, if he wants to go to GayWeakSpastics, sure thing.

Morton needs size simply because he doesn't have the skills or the courage or basically anything that Robbie did.

People on Bigfooty have really short memories

How so? I'll get in before the "dominated 2-3 years ago when he looked great on a terrible team" post and retort with the fact he hasn't really done a thing for a few years now. Looked better last week but he's not in our best 22.

True that - Robbie was the best Dee player i've ever seen.

Amen to that. I was only a young fella when he retired by he was my old man's favourite player so I was able to witness plenty of footage and hear plenty of stories throughout the years. Bled red and blue and I LOVE that.

He has been getting a hard time at training in recent weeks from all reports. They are trying to toughen him up and make him hungry - good coaching.

I hope he is not having a sulk because the last thing this guy needs is a soft attitude.

That said, if I was Morton I would hold off at the moment as well - his currency is way down at the moment.

He has been getting a hard time at training in recent weeks from all reports. They are trying to toughen him up and make him hungry - good coaching.

I hope he is not having a sulk because the last thing this guy needs is a soft attitude.

That said, if I was Morton I would hold off at the moment as well - his currency is way down at the moment.

Exactly right. His currency is at it's lowest point since entering the AFL. If he can string together some good games in the second half of the year, he will have more bargaining power at our club. And if we aren't willing to meet him halfway with his demands, then he will know he will comfortably get over the odds at another club. He's backing himself in, and I like that. He's had injuries and with a lack of confidence, been well down on what the club expects from him. I'm backing the kid to have a solid second half of the year. He truly does love the Dees and would love to stay, and I think this will happen...

Player not performing at his best puts off contract talks till he plays better!!!!

Holy ****! Well now I have heard it all. Now this is what i call a slow news day.

I've got a very long memory...

Morton is now worse than his haircut on draft day :eek::D

And as far as VFL form Petterd might not of done it all the time but he was pretty darn good for Casey this week :thumbsu:

Robbie...:heart::heart::heart::p

You need to get on the front foot.

I would package Morton to GWS with Scully. You will end up with MORE than you paid for them if you are smart.