Opinion Most Improved

• Thread starter Thread starter Punts

Parker for me this year has stepped up big time like everyone knows and is almost an elite mid of the comp , some will say he is now.
He just does everything

Rampe also has come leap and bounds from last year imo , his kicking was lets say pretty shit and when ball in hand looked shaky as hell.
Now he looks so good with ball in hand , makes the right decisions and can play on smalls and talls which is a great asset for the team.

Jettas new role and Cunningham you can argue has stepped up.

Kudos to the coaching staff and the hard calls they made and the development of the younger guys.

Mention to McGlynn also moving to the mids

Parker's a freak, he doesn't know the meaning of the word consequence.

Throws his body over the footy wherever it may be, and %95 he comes out with it, built like a brick shithouse and somehow glides like an eagle.

McGlynn's torn his old career a new arseh*le, his work rate is second to none, hardest worker on the field week in week out, he thrives on success and it's clear to see. Can never fault him!

There has been quite a few improvers throughout the squad and that's been a massively underrated reason for our resurgence. Obviously having such an incredible forward like Buddy is a huge thing too, but think about the improvements in almost every player on our list:

Bird - playing great football and has only been relegated to sub due to coming back from injury and not being able to force anyone out.
McGlynn - he's no longer a small forward, but a genuine midfielder that has given us a massive amount of drive.
Malceski - in career best form and incredibly important to our game plan.
Jetta - seems to have more appetite for the football these days and bounced back from a disappointing 2013.
Parker - I think every Swans fan knew he'd be a great footballer, but he has stepped it up a lot quicker than expected this year. Must've been VERY close to making the AA team this year.
Grundy - still defeats his direct defender on a regular basis, but has been a lot safer with the ball in hand and has actually taken the game on offensively a bit more.
Rampe - turned from being a butcher to a connoisseur of disposal. Always seems to have a lot of time.

But I think the biggest improvement has come from Gary Rohan, who is becoming the devastating force that we all hoped he would become. Turning him from a forward to a defender has been awesome. His closing speed both in marking contests and chase-downs puts the opposition forwards on edge. He has been getting more of the ball too and loves to take the game on, splintering through opposition defence setups. Love watching him play!

Can someone add a poll to this thread?

Harry Cunningham has gone from being overlooked by GWS after being in the GWS academy to playing every game this year for the minor premiers. That is amazing

Harry Cunningham has been great and should be proud of himself. Parker has always had the talent.

I remember watching Dane Rampe playing in the country championships in Wagga Wagga in 2012. He played in the midfield, played well from what I saw. Its amazing to be able to be in a grandfinal in the AFL two years later. Such a huge step up and has taken it in his stride

It must of been hard for them. So many kids to choose from, always going to miss a couple. Cunningham and Miles are two that are standing out so far.

I would say Rohan, last year and even early this year he was really struggling with his leg but his new role and confidence has really established him as an member of our starting 18.
Agreed and seemed like he was missing his good mate Jed Lamb

It must of been hard for them. So many kids to choose from, always going to miss a couple. Cunningham and Miles are two that are standing out so far.

Hombsch as well. They need backs if anything

The way the actual award at club B&F night is determined is the player with the largest positive difference in Skilton votes from 2013 to 2014. So with that in mind, I think the real contenders will be Luke Parker, Ben McGlynn, Harry Cunningham and Dane Rampe. Rohan didn't play last year so in a weird way he can't really be eligible as I understand it.

Parker was 6th in 2013 and will almost certainly be top 3 with a great number of strong performances so he's a shot but it's going to be tough for him given he had a good season last year. He won this award last year anyway so I doubt they'd give it to him 2 years in a row. Rampe played a lot of games last year and has been better this year but I don't think he has been THAT much better, good enough to win this award anyway.

I think McGlynn and Cunningham are the two main contenders. McGlynn, had he played a full year, would have been top 4 for sure and didn't have anywhere near as good a year last season. Although he played 21 games last year so even if he wasn't performing as well, he still played more games and had more opportunity to get votes. Meanwhile Cunningham went from playing a few games here and there last to playing every single game this year so he will poll far better in this count. I'd probably go with Cunningham to win it based on all of that, although I think Ben McGlynn and Luke Parker have actually been the most improved players this year.

The way the actual award at club B&F night is determined is the player with the largest positive difference in votes from 2013 to 2014. So with that in mind, I think the real contenders will be Luke Parker, Ben McGlynn, Harry Cunningham and Dane Rampe. Rohan hasn't played enough so I doubt he'll get a look in.

Parker was 6th in 2013 and will almost certainly be top 3 with a great number of strong performances so he's a shot but it's going to be tough for him given he had a good season last year. Rampe played a lot of games last year and has been better this year but I don't think he has been THAT much better, good enough to win this award anyway.

I think McGlynn and Cunningham are the two main contenders. McGlynn, had he played a full year, would have been top 4 for sure and didn't have anywhere near as good a year last season while Cunningham went from playing a few games here and there last to playing every single game this year so he will poll far better in this count. I'd probably go with Cunningham to win it based on all of that, although I think Ben McGlynn and Luke Parker have actually been the most improved players this year.
Cool, didnt realise that. I think one thing on Harrys side is that he has been given a lot of roles throughout the season that are more recognised by the coaching staff rather then the voting panel for the rising star.

I reckon Luke Parker has gone to new levels this year so it has to be him.

Rampe was always a raking left kick. I think he's just stopped going for the super-speculative passes that you can get away with at lower levels.

Cunningham has obviously stepped up massively. Tagger who can hurt you on the rebound, good goal sense. Career following a similar trajectory to Jack. Feel like he's the biggest improver.