Most promising talent for Crows?

• Thread starter Thread starter Bockchoy67

Who's the most promising talent for the Crows?

• Brent Reilly

Votes: 21 52.5%
  • Michael Bratton

Votes: 2 5.0%
  • Jacob Schuback

Votes: 9 22.5%
  • Luke Jericho

Votes: 4 10.0%
  • Ben Rutten

Votes: 9 22.5%
  • Other

Votes: 6 15.0%

Bockchoy67

In my opinion Brent Reilly is seeming to be the best pick in 2 years for the Crows. He's quick, gets the ball, and is a thumping kick.

I also think Ben Rutten will make the senior side in 2004 for a period of time longer than 2 weeks. Although he lacks pace, he is strong, very good in the defence, and is also accurate when it comes to kicking goals. (Adelaide vs Fremantle this year: kicked 3 goals from 3 kicks)

Jacob Schuback also looks promising, and Michael Bratton is fantastic when it comes to getting the ball.

But that's enough of my opinion, what's your opinion on who's the most promising talent for the Crows?

PS: I would just also like to say this is my first post here, and it looks like a great forum. Hope to have a good time here.

Originally posted by Bockchoy67
In my opinion Brent Reilly is seeming to be the best pick in 2 years for the Crows. He's quick, gets the ball, and is a thumping kick.

I also think Ben Rutten will make the senior side in 2004 for a period of time longer than 2 weeks. Although he lacks pace, he is strong, very good in the defence, and is also accurate when it comes to kicking goals. (Adelaide vs Fremantle this year: kicked 3 goals from 3 kicks)

Jacob Schuback also looks promising, and Michael Bratton is fantastic when it comes to getting the ball.

But that's enough of my opinion, what's your opinion on who's the most promising talent for the Crows?

PS: I would just also like to say this is my first post here, and it looks like a great forum. Hope to have a good time here.

Welcome,

I used to think Ben Rutten was our most promising of the young & unproven but his lack of recovery & pace could hold him back,

so i voted for young Reilly who with natural improvement will become a regular next year,

Well, Michael Bratton is rookie listed and I don't think he'll be upgraded. I hope you're right about Reilly - I really liked the look of him the start of this year, but was disappointed he didn't come on more this year. I fear that Rutten is going to be found out for his lack of pace.

I like Schuback, though he's small, and I've always been a big Skipworth fan, even if I feel a bit alone on the Skipworth bandwagon.

But I reckon Trent Henschel might be my vote - good mix of height and talent ...

Welcome Bockchoy67.

As for your poll, I went Reilly, because he has already displayed in his few game that he has the necessary ingredients for AFL footy. A bit of height for a winger, pace, great skills and is not a faint heart.

As for the others, Schuback has all of these ingredients except height. He still looks like an AFL player to me.

Jericho is a bit of an unknown but I liked what I saw in the pre-season with his pace, leap and skills - could be a smokey.

Bratton's an unknown to me - Norwood fans might be able to better comment.

Rutten is very doubtful. All the attributes to play AFL footy except leg speed and mobility. Must improve in these areas or won't make it.

Originally posted by Kristof

But I reckon Trent Henschel might be my vote - good mix of height and talent ...

I knew I forgot something.

Contrary to popular opinion on this board, Trent Henschel will make the grade as well next year. Very talented player who just has to overcome his nerves at this stage.

Originally posted by macca23
Welcome Bockchoy67.

Bratton's an unknown to me - Norwood fans might be able to better comment.

Well I am a Norwood fan and I am a big fan of Bratton. Seen him a few times this year and the kid is a ball magnet. Game against Port at Adelaide oval this year he dominated his wing against some decent opposition (Fabian Francis and Lyle etc). His body just needs some weigth work but he never pulls out of contest and his kicking skills are very good.

Also I think Schuback is going to be a damn fine player as well. Saw him play for Glenelg against Norwood at the Parade and even though Glenelg lost he definitely stood out and has some toughness and skill about him as well.

I think Schuback will be are shining light in 2004. In his one and only game this year in our loss against Collingwood, he was one of the only players out there who seemed like he was putting in 100% The guy has pace to burn which is definately a huge asset at AFL level. I guess only time will tell how far this kid can go.

I went Reilly as he's already proven he can play at AFL level, but like a few have mentioned Schuback also looks the goods. I've been a big fan of Benny Rutten for a while now, it's just his lack of pace and mobility that worries me.

Welcome Bockchoy67:)

I think everyone on this board knows by now that I am a big fan of Trent Hentschel and Jacob Schuback:)

I think Hentschel just needs to get more muscle on his light frame and he will be good. Probably our most skillful youngster. I love tall skillful players:D

I love real goers and Schuey is one of those. For a bloke his size, he always puts his body on the line, has pace to burns and capable of kicking BIG goals.

Reilly is also a very good youngster and one most likely to have biggest impact in 2004.

I went for Reilly and Schuback.

I really hope these two can cement a spot next year. If not, I have grave fears about the future quality of our playing list.

Cheers guys,

Great to see people involved in this discussion. I myself believe that all of these upcoming players are needed for the success of Adelaide, but its great to see people's opinions on whose best.

Trent Henschel and Nathan Bock especially are fantastic players and hopefully get some valuable game time in 2004.

I would also like to say to fans of Trent Henschel, Nathan Bock, etc, to please vote in the "other" category. Makes it easier for all readers.

Thanks once again.

Originally posted by DaveW
I went for Reilly and Schuback.

I really hope these two can cement a spot next year. If not, I have grave fears about the future quality of our playing list.
I really hope both of them stay away from any serious injury. That'd be a pretty big blow to our future..:(

I went with Rutten.
Not that Ive seen him play for Westies all that much; its just that he does have an impressive frame.

If; like most people above me agree; Ben lacks leg speed over the first 5 yards and he can turn that around, he will take some topping :D

Hey boys, who does Jake play for in the SANFL? I am a former team mate of Jake's and would like to watch him on Fox Footy but I don't really know his family well enough to ring them up and ask who he plays for and other than that I am not sure where else to find out.

Originally posted by Cupido13
Hey boys, who does Jake play for in the SANFL? I am a former team mate of Jake's and would like to watch him on Fox Footy but I don't really know his family well enough to ring them up and ask who he plays for and other than that I am not sure where else to find out.
He plays for Glenelg.

He was originally taken by West Adelaide in the mini-draft when he came to the Crows. But he switched clubs midway through 2003 because he wasn't getting a go in the seniors. (Westies are a stronger team, they finished 2nd this year - as opposed to Glenelg who finished 2nd last)

Amusingly, in his 2nd (?) game for Glenelg he kicked 5 goals against West Adelaide. Glenelg almost caused an upset, leading for a lot of the day, only to lose by two poitns.

As DaveW said he plays for Glenelg now after a midseason move from West Adelaide.

No need to worry. he'll be playing a few games for the Crows next year. Did you watch him make a debut for Crows against Collingwood in round 20??????

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
As DaveW said he plays for Glenelg now after a midseason move from West Adelaide.

No need to worry. he'll be playing a few games for the Crows next year. Did you watch him make a debut for Crows against Collingwood in round 20??????

Yeah, I watched it.

It was quite strange because I am not sure, but, I think he may have been a bit of a last minute inclusion. I don't think he was picked in the original 22 (he may have been and I just didn't see the teams that week) and as I turned the game on he was standing up at the boundary line ready to come on. So, I was lucky enough to see all the time he had on the ground.

How has he gone in the SANFL, obviously well enough to get at least 1 game with the Crows?

Yeah, I watched it.

It was quite strange because I am not sure, but, I think he may have been a bit of a last minute inclusion. I don't think he was picked in the original 22 (he may have been and I just didn't see the teams that week) and as I turned the game on he was standing up at the boundary line ready to come on. So, I was lucky enough to see all the time he had on the ground.

How has he gone in the SANFL, obviously well enough to get at least 1 game with the Crows?
Nah he was the original inclusion in that team.:)

Last season Schuback was really developing and during the pre-season he was one of the big improvers. In a first Crows trial match for the year he was playing some real good footy and was supposed to play in the Wizard Cup but he copped a nasty ankle injury which kept him out for 5-6 weeks. At this time West Adelaide were unbeaten and doing really well so he spent the rest of his time at Westies in reserves and was regualry getting into best players and kicking a lot of goals.

Mid way through the year he went to Glenelg and started playing really well. He made his name as a small crumbing forward that could play in the midfield. He played some very good footy with Glenelg and he got rewarded with an AFL game. Personally I wouldn't have dropped him after Collingwood game as he had done enough to keep his spot but match committee had different ideas.

We expect some good things from Schuey in 2004;)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Nah he was the original inclusion in that team.:)

Last season Schuback was really developing and during the pre-season he was one of the big improvers. In a first Crows trial match for the year he was playing some real good footy and was supposed to play in the Wizard Cup but he copped a nasty ankle injury which kept him out for 5-6 weeks. At this time West Adelaide were unbeaten and doing really well so he spent the rest of his time at Westies in reserves and was regualry getting into best players and kicking a lot of goals.

Mid way through the year he went to Glenelg and started playing really well. He made his name as a small crumbing forward that could play in the midfield. He played some very good footy with Glenelg and he got rewarded with an AFL game. Personally I wouldn't have dropped him after Collingwood game as he had done enough to keep his spot but match committee had different ideas.

We expect some good things from Schuey in 2004;)

We are a pretty proud town at the moment when it comes to AFL players. Shane Birss, Jason Gram, Dylan McLaren, Tristan Lynch, Stuart Anderson and Jake are all from Sale, which is a town consisting on little over 10,000 people, and have played in the AFL in the last 7 or so years. Not a bad effort for a country town I reckon. Even more impressive probably is Heyfield, who have David Wocjinski, Leigh Brown, Matt Ferguson and your boy Mark Stevens on AFL lists and there is less than 2000 people living there. Pretty impressive, I reckon.

Also, there is David Piasente, who plays for West Adelaide and Rodney Love, who plays in the SANFL for a club with a jumper that looks like Carlton's. I think Lovey plays in the under 19's or reserves though, I am not sure. But, they are both from Sale as well.

Cupido13,

That jumper would be Sturt, also known as the double blues.

They had an amazing year considering one or some of their players were burnt in the Bali bombing last year.

I have full respect for Sturt.

PS: Sturt also contains Adelaide players such a the improving Ben Nelson and talented James Begley.