Murray Kangaroos

• Thread starter Thread starter Malibu

Malibu

Thanks to the bad, bad umpiring, the Muzzas went down today by 7 points.

I'd just like to add that I was disgusted with #11 (Nick Saunter) for his gutless elbow into the ribs of Daniel Pratt which saw Daniel on the ground in pain.

Another thankyou to #14 (Scott Simister) and his gutless head high tackle on Dylan Smith which saw his head smacking the ground and then Saunter giving us the thumbs up apparently for his 'good work' - gutless f'n shirt lifter!

Nice to see that old dud Luke Beveridge have a 'lag' to the umpires and Nick Saunter have a sook to them too, telling us to shut up because we were giving him the "WHAT FOR" after he did damage to Bob.

Usually I'm pretty happy with the VFL umpiring, but today's was blatantly one sided (I'm sure #22 and #29 umpires had money on the game) for the majority of soft decisions the handed out to the "dolphs"

Pathetic umpries, pathetic.

Good game from Lass.c.o.c.k., 'Bomber' Hilton, Jess Sinclair, Sox Up Joe, Griggsy and nice marks from Lindsay Smith and Motlop Junior.

Hmm, a bit disappointing toay.

Even though the umpiring left a lot to be desired, it did seem to me that we were outplayed today, letting Syringe City get a few uncontested goals in the first half.

Our best two players were Lassknob (sorry) and McLaren. Petrie, L.Smith, Sofi and Jones also did pretty well.

Joel Sofi would have to be a good chance of getting drafted at year's end. He gets a fair bit of the ball, and uses it well, and has been a very consistent player for the MKs this year. If only he didn't look like he was in a Duran Duran cover band, he might get a bit more credit for his efforts.

The MKs missed a lot of experienced and important performers today, which was influential on the result against a fairly experienced and physically mature Frankston outfit (lifting weights in the clink maybe?). The side was without regulars Lange, Teague, Spaull, Ainley, Watt, Olarenshaw, Morrell, Rawlings and dare I say it Heavy D Calthorpe.

They will probably regain Watt and Cochrane next week to get some game time, with McLaren and Martyn being included in the seniors.

Originally posted by Darky
. If only he didn't look like he was in a Duran Duran cover band, he might get a bit more credit for his efforts.

Love it! I got up pretty close to Sof' today at the 3/4 time huddle. Whatever styling product he uses on that do, well the hair just ain't moving for anybody. Stiff as a board!

I was pretty impressed with the 3/4 time address though. I hadn't been out there for a while because Hammer scared the bejezus out of me a while ago when he gave the boys a spray so I was keeping my distance. But we got out early and its times like this you can see first hand how fantastically cohesive the Murray Roos have become this season from all the encouragement they were giving each other. A few players make themselves heard before the coach gets out with their individual observations. The mouthiest were D Smith, Pratt & Hilton all screaming out footy cliches about mental toughness, breaking down the opposition etc.. Then the Hammer gets out there and starts telling the story about how its going to happen from the begining of the last quarter and how the game is going to be won. He holds the team captivated while he singles out players telling them what role they're going to play in the victory. He is a great motivator. I walked off the gound feeling so good about myself.

Unfortunately it wasn't to be, but they gave it a decent crack. Our team were so much better than that trash, I can't believe they gave away the early lead.

No one has mentioned Corey Jonesy's report in the last quarter. Good luck at the tribunal, mate. Hopefully we'll hear about the results on the grapevine pretty swiftly. ;)

Sinclair played really well despite the sledging he was copping from the Franger feralsquad on my side of the ground. Dirty little pretty boy was the standard line. One attempted hanger might have shut their ugly traps had he pulled it off. Its good to see a sample of his aerial work none the less.

Junior Motlop is showing alot. I'm pinning alot of hope on a solid pre season from the kid so that he may debut with the big boys in season 2002.

Joe McLaren plays better with sox down. I think he only did it to impress our Doc. Best on Ground.

Good to see Mark Ainley get down to watch the game today. He looked to be in fine shape wearing a big grin on his face. We missed you today, Ainners.

Murray: Lindsay Smith 3, Corey Jones 2, Jess Sinclair 2, Joe McLaren 1.
Best: Mark Hilton, Clayton Lass****, Jess Sinclair, Daniel Pratt, Jonathon Greigg, Drew Petrie, Liam Collins.

Reports: Jones (Murray) reported by field umpire Donlon for striking Burgmann (Frankston) during the final quarter.
At Coburg.

Special mention to the awesome Mark Hilton hip and shoulder - it was just sensational!

No Justice. Jonesy gets reported and 11 and 14 for Frankston get away with dirty play. I'm seething that the head high tackle on Dylan resulting in Dylan coming down thumping his head on the ground didn't even get a free kick, let alone a report for rough play.

I hope Karma gets 11 and 14....:mad: :mad: :mad:

We were definately outplayed early in the game, but they looked like a different side after half time. I have to agree with Malibu about the poor standard of umpiring, and while I don't advocate blowing the whistle every few seconds, I think that the players have to be protected from head slams like the gutless wonder Sinister gave Dylan (next time pick on someone your own size - oh yeah, that's hard now Heavy D isn't playing).

The boys did really well to recover from what could have been a thumping, and with a little fairness from the white maggots (did we get a single free kick in th second half?) it could have been a win

Originally posted by Malibu
No Justice. Jonesy gets reported and 11 and 14 for Frankston get away with dirty play. I'm seething that the head high tackle on Dylan resulting in Dylan coming down thumping his head on the ground didn't even get a free kick, let alone a report for rough play.

I hope Karma gets 11 and 14....:mad: :mad: :mad:

It makes me so angry when I think of what those a-holes got away with:mad: .

Jonesy's hearing is tomorrow night.

Was told by one of the players that the boys were a little dissapointed in the crowd attendance. :(

If you haven't got anything on this Saturday, make it down to Sandringham, if it rains, there's a stand!!!!! :D:

Originally posted by Malibu
Was told by one of the players that the boys were a little dissapointed in the crowd attendance

Well if every one of the players brought their girlfriend, the crowd may have doubled.

Maybe not all of the players have girlfriends? Surely everyone at least has a mum & a nanna?

I've worked it out....This year It seems,
If I go to a game it seems , the Roos in any format lose.
Port Adelaide...Ansett Cup
Crows....(Crap umpiring)
Frankston...And Corey Jones gets reported.(Bummer.)

Originally posted by 35eye

Well if every one of the players brought their girlfriend, the crowd may have doubled.

Maybe not all of the players have girlfriends? Surely everyone at least has a mum & a nanna?

One of the boys brought his dad along, does this count? :)