Murray Newman

• Thread starter Thread starter West123

The lesson Murray will learn is to not broadcast his intent. I'm sure his fellow inmates will recount their experiences in preferable dumping sites in Gnangara forest.

I hope the lesson he learns is that it is not ok to smash someone in their face

That said he plays a sport where someone like batty hall can punch an opposition player and break his jaw without consequence in a court of law

He was also the highest pick we had in either of those two drafts

Looked through the rest of the 2011 draft after Newman - virtually nothing to get remotely excited about. Brad Hill and Elliot Yeo probably the best of them
Lachie Neale and Cam Sutcliffe are going ok considering where we got them.
Feel sorry for Newman. Plenty of people get off worse stuff than he did without going to Jail.
I'm a fan, saw him play at Swans a bit. He can really play.

That said he plays a sport where someone like batty hall can punch an opposition player and break his jaw without consequence in a court of law
To this day I am baffled why nothing came of that in NSW. In WA that would be criminal.

Do your dogs bite?

The dogs in footscray know better than to make their prescence known lest they end up in no. 45 beef in black bean sauce

He was also the highest pick we had in either of those two drafts

Looked through the rest of the 2011 draft after Newman - virtually nothing to get remotely excited about. Brad Hill and Elliot Yeo probably the best of them

I'd have Brad Hill and Yeo ahead of Newman any day of the week.

It will be interesting to see if he is retained for 2015, it would most definitely be on the rookie list I'd suggest.

I think Marley Williams will also get jail time but not 12 months. The difference was Newman premeditated his actions days in advance and Marley not so much.

Then again Marley's act was caught on camera so maybe that may not help.

Hopefully the kid learns from this and comes back as good as Krakour did.

Hang on: he had been sending threats of violence in the lead up.

Had it been a brief, spur of the moment scuffle I am sure there would have been no jail time.

Don't blame the one punch campaign, blame Newman for thinking he could send threats of violence to his victim, then carry that threat out.

This is GBH - if it had have gone down differently it could have been attempted murder.

Poor muarry, needed his big boys.

Like most people I hate violence and it's hard to feel any sympathy for a person who goes around belting people. Footy clubs are close knit families as and such I believe the Eagles family should stand by Murray for now and give him a chance to learn from his mistakes and stupidity, people do turn around with support and love..if he was my kid I would hope that people closest to him wouldn't just turn their back on him straight up. Dunno if he has a history of violence or unsatisfactory behaviour? If he does then I'd be comfy with the club ditching him.
Barry Hall should be thanking his lucky stars he's not playing anymore..this is high on the agenda for society now.

I guess this opens the door up for Sinclair's elevation. He deserves it too as he has been performing really well in the practice games. Could be our chf in rd 1.

Newman was on our rookie list so him going to prison doesn't open up a spot for Sinclair

I'm disappointed in a selfish spectator sense because I really wanted to see him play but the reality is he got what was coming. There's too much violence in society especially the younger generation getting all macho out on the piss. It's good to see a crack down on this type of stuff. I thought he might get a suspended sentence but given the circumstances and the premeditation jail was probably the right decision. I still understand someones emotions getting the better of them but a tough deterrent such as jail time might be enough to sway people's errors in judgement in future.

Not harsh, and not a shame at all. He's there because he behaved like a violent, feral dickhead, he can count himself very lucky the bloke didn't fall over and crack his head. You can judge his level of remorse by the fact he still pled not guilty.

People need to get the head around the idea that this sort of behaviour, whether its committed by your mate, or a footballer in a team you support or whoever else, are not stupid or disappointing, they are the actions of a Very Shit Bloke, not deserving of the slightest sympathy whatever punishment they get for it. I reckon this is a very good sentence in the sense that it sends a message to every other aspiring shit bloke out there that crocodile tears and a QC aren't necessarily going to prevent you from utterly ****ing up your life if you decide to be a tool.

He's got a sliver of a skerrick of an opportunity to still make an AFL career when he gets out, and if he has a brain cell in his head, he'll do everything in his power to take it, because there aren't going to be many more chances.

Regarding prisons in WA, I've had a look around Hakea, Casuarina, Wooroloo and Acacia, and they are all neither particularly nice nor downright awful. Certainly a pretty good place to get fit though, no hooch, regular, somewhat nutritious meals, and lots of time to exercise- as long as you stay off the drugs.

Newman was on our rookie list so him going to prison doesn't open up a spot for Sinclair

Yes Murray was on the rookie list, but the general perception was that it would be either Newman or Sinclair that would be elevated to replace LTI Barrass. Now that Murray is out of the picture, it opens the opportunity for Sinclair to take that spot. Perhaps, I should have made myself clearer.

Ok makes sense now.

Carry on - don't mind me

People need to get the head around the idea that this sort of behaviour, whether its committed by your mate, or a footballer in a team you support or whoever else, are not stupid or disappointing, they are the actions of a Very Shit Bloke, not deserving of the slightest sympathy whatever punishment they get for it. I reckon this is a very good sentence in the sense that it sends a message to every other aspiring shit bloke out there that crocodile tears and a QC aren't necessarily going to prevent you from utterly ******* up your life if you decide to be a tool.
Totally agree with most of your points, but I think the bolded part may be a reach,.

Completely shit action, and no doubt he was being a shithead at the time, for which he deserved to be punished.

bad for Murray it`s true but one positive , it sends a very clear message to other young talented footballers that actions have consequences that can tear down everything they have strived for ..

I wonder if ASADA have the power to test for performance enhancing drugs on a prisoner?
Not saying Murray should or would use performance enhancing drugs whist in prison, but how would that affect his registration to an AFL club?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Regarding prisons in WA, I've had a look around Hakea, Casuarina, Wooroloo and Acacia, and they are all neither particularly nice nor downright awful. Certainly a pretty good place to get fit though, no hooch, regular, somewhat nutritious meals, and lots of time to exercise- as long as you stay off the drugs.

Well thats true dedication thanks for sharing ,haha