Murray Newman

• Thread starter Thread starter West123

The club got an explanation from Newman and decided the best course of action was to take him out of footy for a while - and not to put details of what he's going through in the public domain.

He's clearly going through some issues. I'm not sure how making a big frikken deal about it publicly will do anyone, least of all Newman, any good at all.
Yes, but they should of relayed some information on to the fans. Perhaps say that even though they acknowledge that his conduct was unprofessional, there were unmitigated circumstances. Or if they were internally punishing him, at least say that that is what is happening. Instead we are basically left in the dark besides from "The club are aware of the situation and have heard from Newman, No further comment is will be made on the matter". As fans, it gives us no explanation and probably helps to fuel more speculation. Just my opinion anyway.

I was referring moreso to the media, than the club in reference to making a big deal of it. It didn't really seem anyone in the media made any effort to find out or investigate anything even though we know how good they are at digging up information.

Don't get me wrong- I like Newman as a player and hope the club gives him a new contract.

The West Coast Eagles have today met with young forward Murray Newman and granted him compassionate leave.

Newman left Claremont Oval on Saturday at quarter-time and is dealing with personal issues associated with his pending court hearing into a grevious bodily harm charge.

The club is supporting Murray through this period and we ask that people respect his privacy as he deals with this matter.

The club will make no further comment on the issue.

http://m.westcoasteagles.com.au/news/2013-07-15/newman-granted-leave#sthash.fJI2EbwU.dpuf

Think that said enough, personally.

That doesn't say why he left the ground though does it? Not even ONE acknowledgement of why. Just that he is dealing with issues relating to his court case which we already know about. Hence why supporters are still in the dark and creating threads like these and more speculation. If he does continue his AFL career, he is going to get asked by the media in an interview eventually and explain himself. Might as well disclose some of the reasons now.

No thanks.

I'm sure we all want him to sort out his life, but it's now far beyond a recovery mission as far as the club is concerned with an AFL future. If list sizes were upwards of 60 you could possibly justify it.

As a hypothetical, imagine this had happened a year earlier (forget when he was drafted). Dalziell would've been next to go, and if he hadn't we wouldn't have drafted Hutchings. Both those guys have made strong contributions this season. Main list spots can't be used to keep emotionally fragile, unproven second-year players facing GBH.

I good example would be Chicky & Cousins. They battled their stuff but they went out and gave everything in games. Footy was always their outlet. They were worth fighting for and giving a go because 1. they were brilliant but 2. They were passionate for the team.

If you're going through stuff and that leads you to walk out on a game, not exactly the people you want to fight for.

That doesn't say why he left the ground though does it? Not even ONE acknowledgement of why. Just that he is dealing with issues relating to his court case which we already know about. Hence why supporters are still in the dark and creating threads like these and more speculation. If he does continue his AFL career, he is going to get asked by the media in an interview eventually and explain himself. Might as well disclose some of the reasons now.

Why is it our business?

The club is sorting it out with the player.

I dunno, but I reckon the stress of knowing you might go to prison would mess with most people's heads. I trust the club's judgment more than some armchair posters here. Talking about professional decorum is all well and good but sometimes you have to accept that people make mistakes. This will probably be factored into his future contracts so I suspect enough damage has been done to his career, you don't have to fire the guy for a hotheaded decision if there's reason to believe he can turn it around.

Why is it our business?

The club is sorting it out with the player.
Pretty sure when a player walks midway out of senior WAFL match, then it becomes more than the business of just the player and his AFL club. Not saying fans have the right to snoop on his private life, but it is common sense to expect some reaction and speculation. The club did nothing to clear up anything on this situation. In fact, the person who wrote the statement in the above link (Gary Stocks) sounds just as clueless on the specifics of what happened as much as the rest of us.

Maybe it's private. If you are so desperate to know what is going on in the private lives of sports stars and celebrities then buy a gossip mag.

The club said they wouldn't comment further. I'm fine with that.

Maybe it's private. If you are so desperate to know what is going on in the private lives of sports stars and celebrities then buy a gossip mag.

The club said they wouldn't comment further. I'm fine with that.
lol. Don't get so emotional bro.

I couldn't care less about Murray's private life. Whatever he did in his private life is no one's business. But what he did happened in complete public viewing.

Maybe if he got so angry that an opposition fan taunted him(which some have alleged happened) about the court case, that he proceeded to physically assault them- Are we still ok with the club's response then? Because that's essentially how the club dealt with this as a PR situation. They never once mentioned that what he did was completely inappropriate and unprofessional, because that's exactly what it was, regardless if there was good reasons for his actions or not. And no, they never had to disclose the reasons, just acknowledge that there were reasons for his actions in a statement, something they never did.

lol. Don't get so emotional bro.

I couldn't care less about Murray's private life. Whatever he did in his private life is no one's business. But what he did happened in complete public viewing.

Maybe if he got so angry that an opposition fan taunted him(which some have alleged happened) about the court case, that he proceeded to physically assault them- Are we still ok with the club's response then? Because that's essentially how the club dealt with this as a PR situation. They never once mentioned that what he did was completely inappropriate and unprofessional, because that's exactly what it was, regardless if there was good reasons for his actions or not.

Yes I'm the one getting emotional.:rolleyes:

It's a private matter between club and player. Once the court case happens then we'll know what we need to know.

Yes I'm the one getting emotional.:rolleyes:

It's a private matter between club and player. Once the court case happens then we'll know what we need to know.
Do we even know if what happened was even related to the court case? That's how crappolla that club statement was. Anyway, I'm not going to post anything further in this thread as I've already said everything I wanted to say.

Best of luck to Murray for the future. I hope the club gives him a new contract, the kid is super talented :thumbsu:

Do we even know if what happened was even related to the court case? That's how crappolla that club statement was. Anyway, I'm not going to post anything further in this thread as I've already said everything I wanted to say.

Best of luck to Murray for the future. I hope the club gives him a new contract, the kid is super talented :thumbsu:

I think the WAFL match incident was an extension of the GBH charge. Clearly wasn't in the right frame of mind.

He is super talented and well worth persisting with. Hopefully he get's back on track.

We made massive changes around the club after the drug saga and since 2007 we have had one incident being Newman.

Now if the club is serious about setting its players right then why not Newman? he has been at the club for barely 2 years and has had 1 major offield incident so its a perfect chance for the club to help out Newman.

It is not like he has been mucking up for 5-6 years and not learning from his mistakes..and yes he walked out on a game..how bout you be in his shoes? no one knows what is going on in his head and once the case has been finished then we can judge but for the meantime i think its unfair.

If we delist him this year what does that say to other players that come the club? I am not saying we reward him with a massive 3 year deal worth 200-300k i am saying we keep him on for another year on a low salary and say " Mate sort ya stuff out we are here to help in anyway possible". Look at Walters from Fremantle as example? If Fremantle got rid of him they would be kicking them self as he has turned it around and starting to look like an A grade player.

Thread full of hypotheticals and moralism receives 1.5 out of 5 Jubilant Mastos
LrkK4.png
halfmast.png

The club knows whats going on and I'm not too fussed that we don't know everything

At the end of the season though the club has to decide to renew his contract or not - if they do then someone else has to be cut so Newman can be retained. Players like Hams, Dalziell and Morton are the ones in the gun and Newman has more upside than all of them but with no guarantees he will fulfil his potential

The club knows whats going on and I'm not too fussed that we don't know everything

At the end of the season though the club has to decide to renew his contract or not - if they do then someone else has to be cut so Newman can be retained. Players like Hams, Dalziell and Morton are the ones in the gun and Newman has more upside than all of them but with no guarantees he will fulfil his potential

I'd keep Morton for another year and Dalziell as depth.

Hams out would be ok with me. Embley should retire as well.

I'd keep Morton for another year and Dalziell as depth.

Hams out would be ok with me. Embley should retire as well.
Morton has shown a bit and should be kept IMO. Hams is the bloke in the gun for me.

I dont really remember Newman doing anything that great that justifies everyones love of his football ability. He seems another small midfield/forward type that we seem to be fond of drafting lately, but i'm willing to see him play a few more games before i make my mind up. Hopefully he gets the oportunity soon.

Michael Walters hadn't shown much either before Lyon delivered some home truths and sent him away to sort himself out. Importantly, he left the door open and rewarded Walters once he'd shown the required commitment.

Fremantle now have a quality small forward and I think Newman has the ability to do similar but only time will tell if he has the desire