My thoughts

• Thread starter Thread starter Macca19

WOW!!!!!

Well im off to Footy Park today to pick up the rest of my brain. I think it exploded when the final siren went last night.

What a game! What a win! Still cant beleive that we are actually in the Grand Final!

I thought we played like utter crap. We were very lucky to win that game. Everything was built up for a St Kilda win from the first bounce. The start with them getting on top ala Collingwood 02, their midfield finding absoultely ridiculous amounts of space ALL the time ala 02 and 03, Wakelin getting pantsed ala 03, Peter Burgoyne and Schofield proving they are completely worthless footballers in September ala 02 and 03. Everything was there for us to lose...but somehow we won.

The most worrying sign was that our running gameplan we have shown over the past 12 weeks was completely missing. We reverted back to the stop start chip around half back crap from past years. We must find a way to defeat the strong man on man tactics that seem to bring us undone.

The best thing is there is so much room for improvement on that performance. BUT...if it was stage firght which caused them to go back to old habits then it will be ten times worse next week.

The good -
Tredrea was excellent in the first half...depsite a couple of missed goals.
ROger James.....what can i say about this man. If there was any doubt about how bloody good this guy is, then show the doubters the tape of last nights game. Shows how much we missed him last year. His ability to win the ball at clearances is just about unmatched.
S Burgoyne was excellent in defence, gave Milne a hiding.
K Cornes was outstanding in the middle...he linked up extremely well and the only times our midfielders had any run it was because of him setting them up.
Mahoney was strong again...should have ended with more goals tho.
Wanganeens last quarter...two great goals.
Dew with his run and big kicks thru the middle. Thats where he should be played every week.

So many players were down. C Cornes, Pickett, Wanganeen, Thurstans, P Burgoyne, Schofield, Cassisi, Wakelin and Carr all played poor games.

Burgoyne and Schofield....jeez...talk about deer in headlights. They are absolute liabilities. Burgoyne would have had about 3 effective disposals all night. And Schofield. After next week he should never play another game for us again. Ive never seen someone so frightened in all my life.

The atmosphere was incredible, and well done to all the saints supporters that came over. There were heaps there and they made tons of noise all night.

THe whole last quarter is still a blur. All i remember is Stuey kicking a huge goal, Wanganeen kicking a ripper and Riewoldt taking about 18 marks in the last quarter. When Guerra was running into that open goal with a minute left I think my heart stopped for a few moments.....then he missed...thank god!!! Then the siren went and everything is a complete blur of hugging, crying, jumping. Just sheer relief that we actually made the big one!!

Onto next week. Changes?? After Tobys non performance last night then Damon White is playing for a spot in a Grand Final on Sunday. If he plays anywhere near well then he SHOULD get a go next week. With Schofield playing as awful as he did...surely someone like Salopek could perform his role and probably better. Even Cochrane.

Full credit to Mark Williams. HE got us up there again this year and now we are playing off in the big one.

Weve put up with a lot of crap from a lot of people this year and over the past few years. Everything we do is put down, belittled and laughed at. Givign away Stevens for nothing...giving away Guerra for next to nothing, Tredrea is crap, our midfield is crap, we are all chokers, we cant win interstate, we crumble under pressure, we wont make the finals without Primus and Francou...we are too old, too slow....well....we after all that we are in a grand final!!!!

We are in a grand final!!! How good does that sound!! We are off to the big one!! Anything can happen from here! Just imagine if we win!!

GO THE POWER!!!!

I thought Cassisi and Mahoney were the two little blokes in the forward line that didn't give up.

Carr kept Harvey out of it for the last half. Only had 3 touches in the third quarter I think.

The Guerra non-goal was also due to a great bit of desperation by JB.

Thank God we are back to playing a day game next week!

sog35 said:
The Guerra non-goal was also due to a great bit of desperation by JB.
Yeah a great effort by Burgoyne...
I was impressed by Mahoney - didn't seem to feel any 'finals pressure' out there - just gave a huge effort on every play as he always does.
Wilson deserves a mention as well - didn't have his best game but was still a big part of the Power's win.

BTW I know Pickett had a shocker, but how much game-time did he get exactly?

Not sure I agree with the Peter Burgoyne bit.
He did what he does week in week out. It is not up to him to change his game, he is there to play that role, but for the others around him to play to their usual standards.
In my votes post I forgot to mention Bishop. Great game.

The downers were Toby Thustans who actually forgot to turn up for the second time in a row, and Schofield who produced another of his usual finals performances.
Schofield owes himself, his coaches and us, in that order, the game of his life next week. He does not want to retire from football known as a good regular season performer but a dud in finals.
Toby has not taken his many chances. One would feel really sorry for him if he got dropped next week, but that's his own fault. Just cannot afford to take passangers into a GF, and passanger is what he has let himself become.
On recent form, he has lost the right to be there.
Another that needs to produce a big finals game is Monty. Time to produce a big one champ.

I agree with sog35 about Dom and Mohoney. Mahoney got to the ball more often, but Dom did his bit. More so than Wanganeen (apart from the goals) and Pickett. They both need to be there next week, they have earned it.

Dew__Trade him like has been suggested at times? No wacken way. Play him in the midfield like last night. If he doesn't have a tank big enough for it, then rotate him off the bench.
10 mins there when the game is in the balance, are worth heaps more than a whole game in the forward pocket.

There should be three changes for this weeks game.
Out__Toby, Schofield and Monty
In__ White, Salopeck and Ebert

In reality there might be one change at most, White for Toby, and even that is unlikely.

And I'm with you PAflowr on the Peter Burgoyne comments. He is slow by hand, but bloody hell he gets put in some unfortunate positions, his teammates really don't do a whole lot to help him out.

He's certainly not a major kick-chaser like Stevens, so I'm not sure if Dimma and Kane are going to be to worried.

I had someone sitting next to me imploring Burgoyne to put his head over it. Then later on he dives on it ala Cornes and Hardwick and is lambasted for going to ground.

At the very least we have left ourselves with the opportunity to play better next week.

PAfolwr said:
Not sure I agree with the Peter Burgoyne bit.
He did what he does week in week out. It is not up to him to change his game, he is there to play that role, but for the others around him to play to their usual standards.
In my votes post I forgot to mention Bishop. Great game.

The downers were Toby Thustans who actually forgot to turn up for the second time in a row, and Schofield who produced another of his usual finals performances.
Schofield owes himself, his coaches and us, in that order, the game of his life next week. He does not want to retire from football known as a good regular season performer but a dud in finals.
Toby has not taken his many chances. One would feel really sorry for him if he got dropped next week, but that's his own fault. Just cannot afford to take passangers into a GF, and passanger is what he has let himself become.
On recent form, he has lost the right to be there.
Another that needs to produce a big finals game is Monty. Time to produce a big one champ.

I agree with sog35 about Dom and Mohoney. Mahoney got to the ball more often, but Dom did his bit. More so than Wanganeen (apart from the goals) and Pickett. They both need to be there next week, they have earned it.

Dew__Trade him like has been suggested at times? No wacken way. Play him in the midfield like last night. If he doesn't have a tank big enough for it, then rotate him off the bench.
10 mins there when the game is in the balance, are worth heaps more than a whole game in the forward pocket.

In reality there might be one change at most, White for Toby, and even that is unlikely.

MONTY wasnt great but to bring in 3 players for their first final esp a GF will not happen. I think maybe whitey for toby but thats it ..

MOnty is important to us as well esp if we play brisbane

Despite it not being out best game, I think the saints played very well last night. I've honestly not been to a game with as much pressure. Every contest was amazing.

The Saints were awesome last night. All of their good players brought their A games to the table. Only one of ours played a true four quarters. Yet we still won. I just can't believe how. I am constantly pinching myself and praying that given that we will be classed as underdogs this week, I hope our guys get the reality check that was required and come out burning.

Chad, Wakes, Carr, Pickett, Monty all owe it to their teammates who got them through that game, to pull out big matches in the GF.
Toby and Schofield don't deserve to be there - they definitely should be dropped.

Agree with most of your sentiments Macca.

While my dad didn't agree, I thought Cassisi really fought up forward. When you think about how easily Wangas (in the first half) and Byron let the ball elude them, at least Dom bottled it up. Plus, Jones was probably the one St Kilda playmaker not to do that much (maybe along with Dal Santo).

I also thought Peter Burgoyne was not at his worst last night. Not anywhere near his best, but I thought he was better than in the first final. At least when he got it, he banged it forward.

Well done St Kilda. Nick Riewoldt is a marvel. Hayes, Harvey, Black and Powell were incredible - we just stayed well off them. Luke Ball is class personified....

But our blokes somehow knocked you off. And that is the sign of a champion team. Win at all costs even when you are down.

I have a sneaky feeling, we will lift for next week. Remember the prelim of 1996 when Scotty got us there over Norwood. Last night's result was a similar effort and a good omen.

What I like most about our finals success is that a lot of supporters on the main board have had to eat their words. First week - "Port's gonna choke". Prelim - "Port's gonna choke". "Port has already lost the GF". It's working beautifully. People trying to call it early so they can gloat afterwards, but they've all fallen flat on their faces. There are a lot of folks scared about the Port juggernaut.

PJ Power said:
I have a sneaky feeling, we will lift for next week. Remember the prelim of 1996 when Scotty got us there over Norwood. Last night's result was a similar effort and a good omen.

1996 - our last Grand Final - it's time.

I thought Monty played a pretty handy game. P Burgoyne too, he just needs to calm down a bit when he has the ball, should look how his younger brother has handled pressure in finals.

White in for Thurstans is the obvious, hell we've all been calling for it all year. Wouldn't mind seeing Chaplin and Primus named as emergencies as one of our possible surprise selections, either throw Chaplin in the deep end and let him take on Bradshaw to release C.Cornes to go forward and give us a 3 pronged attack of Cornes, Tredrea and White or sit Primus at FF and give us some forward line leadership.

It would take a courageous coach to make either of those decisions and I don't think Williams is that coach (hell, we'll be lucky if he makes the obvious White/Thurstans swap) but it would certainly be interesting to watch.

Zombie said:
White in for Thurstans is the obvious, hell we've all been calling for it all year. Wouldn't mind seeing Chaplin and Primus named as emergencies as one of our possible surprise selections, either throw Chaplin in the deep end and let him take on Bradshaw to release C.Cornes to go forward and give us a 3 pronged attack of Cornes, Tredrea and White or sit Primus at FF and give us some forward line leadership.

It would take a courageous coach to make either of those decisions and I don't think Williams is that coach (hell, we'll be lucky if he makes the obvious White/Thurstans swap) but it would certainly be interesting to watch.

You know, that move of Chad up forward mightn't be such a silly idea. But Williams knows that he can't afford to make another last-minute change to a structure that has worked well all this year. It is just a pity that we don't have a Thurstans in form as a defender, or a Chaplin or Pettigrew mature enough to play yet.

What Chad needs is a rocket up him to make sure that this week he makes up for that below par effort last night. He needs to play a blinder.

I'd like to see him make two changes, but I doubt it'll happen. Although he did say in his press conference he wasn't afraid to pick the side he thought could win.

White in for Thurstans as per accepted wisdom.
Ebert in for Schofield. Ebert worked Chris Johnson over at the Gabba this year (that was his Rising Star nomination game I think). His pace and overhead marking looked to worry Johnson. Salopek has missed too much footy this year - wouldn't be match hardened enough.

I am worried the roach might return for tagging duties.

Ford Fairlane said:
I'd like to see him make two changes, but I doubt it'll happen. Although he did say in his press conference he wasn't afraid to pick the side he thought could win.

White in for Thurstans as per accepted wisdom.
Ebert in for Schofield. Ebert worked Chris Johnson over at the Gabba this year (that was his Rising Star nomination game I think). His pace and overhead marking looked to worry Johnson. Salopek has missed too much footy this year - wouldn't be match hardened enough.

I am worried the roach might return for tagging duties.

I agree. I also think that Ebert would be capable of giving Port a bit more run. I couldn't see him being any worse than Schofield.

PAfolwr said:

I agree with you on P Burgoyne. He'll be ok.

As for Ebert....you've got to be joking? Ebert is badly out of form and I'd say he's so far away from a game that it's actually sad. I am concerned that Choco may bring Cochrane in as a tagger. :(
Schofield will be delisted or traded.

Honestly, I'd take Cochrane over Schofield at this moment. At least he bombs it long, and has the uncanny ability to pull something out of his ass... Obviously, I'd rather Ebert or Salopek, but I'm trying to think in the realistic confines of Choco's mind.

Still, I doubt Schofield will get dropped. It would be labelled one of the all-time shafts, which I don't think Choco is willing to wear. Something myself and others have criticized him about in the past, the inability to make tough decisions.

IN: White, Cochrane
OUT: Thurstans, Schofield

Even though i've been a backer of Schoey, i really dont think he deserves his spot in the side. We cant carry both him & PB early on in the game when it's full on.

White must come in, Thrust must make way, what's the point of having someone who is versitile if you never actualy play him other than a tall forward?? White is the better forward and the Thrust wasn't even used down back when Gehrig & St Nick were killing us.

I feel that White for Thrust is a must & probably Cochrane in for Schoey. I dont think Salopek or Ebert have the form to get back in, neither has played for weeks so Cochrane is the only real contender for that spot. I'd rather carry Schoey again than give Poults a game in the GF as his form and lack of games recently would make it a very tough ask.

Bresh said:
Still, I doubt Schofield will get dropped. It would be labelled one of the all-time shafts, which I don't think Choco is willing to wear. Something myself and others have criticized him about in the past, the inability to make tough decisions.
Bresh, he's just coached us into a grand final. He has received the coaches association award for being the best coach around this year. And yet you still question his decision making?

I would have thought we had gotten to the point where we can safely assume that if Schofield by Mark Williams, it is the right decision. Likewise if he is not selected.

I am rapidly tiring of the negativity on this board towards Choco.

Pred said:
I would have thought we had gotten to the point where we can safely assume that if Schofield by Mark Williams, it is the right decision. Likewise if he is not selected.
Yet we can look at other clubs in grand finals, suggest that some of those players are lucky to be there, and thats ok.

I must've missed the part where for Port fans every selection is automatically golden, every game plan is perfect and every opposition win is a fluke.

Pred said:
Bresh, he's just coached us into a grand final. He has received the coaches association award for being the best coach around this year. And yet you still question his decision making?

How very precious. Choco has done very well to get the team where it is, carrying 1 or 2 passengers for practically the entire season. I disagree with one selection out of 22, it's not as if the noose is in hand FFS. You yourself described Schofield's game as an "abomination". Schofield does not have a track record where we can carry him in good faith into a Grand Final, where you cannot have one passenger. It's not as if there's a huge margin for error in this game. Brisbane eat inefficient teams alive. We're carrying a player who has not performed in this, or any other finals series... but it's OK because Choco says so?

Pred said:

God help us if we ever get to this point. However I understand where you are coming from.

Choco's still learning to make the 'right' tough decision. Made one with Paco and the jury is still out. Makes one with Schoey and the majority sigh with relief. Bresh is right in part though Choco isn't really known for making the real tough decision.

Maybe this week will be the making of the man.

Bresh said:
How very precious. Choco has done very well to get the team where it is, carrying 1 or 2 passengers for practically the entire season. I disagree with one selection out of 22, it's not as if the noose is in hand FFS. You yourself described Schofield's game as an "abomination". Schofield does not have a track record where we can carry him in good faith into a Grand Final, where you cannot have one passenger. It's not as if there's a huge margin for error in this game. Brisbane eat inefficient teams alive. We're carrying a player who has not performed in this, or any other finals series... but it's OK because Choco says so?
Yes it is. He knows because he is in the centre of the situation. Noone else could know as well, whether or not a player should be played.

I called Schofield's game an abomination, or something similar, but what you have missed is that I do not place my judgement before Choco's. You can question his decisions til the Cows come home, but I find it tiresome. Ok?