NAB Cup round 1 team

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

Im very happy we are fielding an inexperienced team.

1. It gives these young guys a game under their belts

2. They are playing against almost full strength teams, giving them an insight what to expect.

3. We give our opposition nothing, we play the tankers again in 6 weeks, keep them guessing.

Looking at Carlton, they've only dropped off 1 or 2 from each of the areas, from their full strength team.
Austin from defence
a few more from their mids: Judd, McClean and Carrazzo
and Henderson and Gartlett from forward.

At least they've dropped their grunt (what they have of it anyway) from the midfield, because apart from Tuck, we've got zip.

And the Pies are missing from their normal team
Defense: Maxwell and NBrown
Mid: Swan
Fwd: Cloke and Didak

Theres maybe a couple i missed, but both a running quite full strength teams.

NAB Cup was always a bullshit comp but this year with the "circus novelty" 2 games in a row concept it really is a nothing but a string of televised practice matches.

Go with the youth Tigers, let's zip it around the park & play attacking footy and get some experience into the kids on a "big" stage. (sort of)

The result on the scoreboard on Saturday night does not worry me one bit... just looking forward to seeing our new fella's. (And how last years new guys back it up) :cool:

My post from yesterday still applies...

Bring it on!

Reckon we'll line up like this:

B: Dea Thursfield Moore
HB: Batchelor Astbury Connors
C: Morton Contin Nason
HF: Taylor Miller Conca
F: King Vickery Westhoff
R: Browne Tuck Edwards
I/C: Rance Nahas Helbig Gourdis White MacDonald Derickx O'Rielly Webberley Jakobi Grimes Keddell

No Houli or Grigg is disappointing. No Collins for the Blues either?

Be good to see the youngsters play, but I hope we aren't torn to pieces.

My stab at the line-up;

B: Grimes - Gourdis - Moore
HB: Connors - Astbury - Rance
C: White - Tuck - Contin
HF: King - Miller - Conca
F: Nason - Vickery - Nahas

1R: Browne - Edwards - Morton

Int: Thursfield - Helbig - Derickx - O'Reilly - Dea - Taylor - Webberley - Jakobi - Westhoff - Keddell - Batchelor - MacDonald

Disappointed with the squad. The reigning premiers play a 90% squad, the scum are fielding an 80% strength squad, we're providing a topped up Coburg side. I understand Dimma's logic, but question the timing of it, particulary when we've just announced our debt demolition strategy. Would have been an ideal time to put up a fight, draw some new members and inspire people to donate. I reckon we've missed the mark strategy wise with this squad. Having said that, will be there suporting as always. Hope we can snag one win from two games. Go Tigers.

Anyone have an idea as to why the Postman's been left out of the squad....
Without Jack and Griff i would've thought it'd be a perfect oppurtunity to stick him at FF

No Houli or Grigg is disappointing. No Collins for the Blues either?

Be good to see the youngsters play, but I hope we aren't torn to pieces.

My stab at the line-up;

B: Grimes - Gourdis - Moore
HB: Connors - Astbury - Rance
C: White - Tuck - Contin
HF: King - Miller - Conca
F: Nason - Vickery - Nahas

1R: Browne - Edwards - Morton

Int: Thursfield - Helbig - Derickx - O'Reilly - Dea - Taylor - Webberley - Jakobi - Westhoff - Keddell - Batchelor - MacDonald

I agree , after so much about earning your spot, jumper number etc , these two need to earn their spot .
They have done less for the club than any player who was on our list last season and should be treated and ranked as such .

All the best to our young brigade tomorrow evening.

Realistically, the scoreboard is not an issue when youngsters such as Conca, Helbig, MacDonald and Batchelor etc have been named.

Also consider that our pre-season campaign was partly derailed thanks to remnants of Yazi last week.

Considering we want sideliners to invest in the club, with donations and memberships I would've expected a more experienced team on Saturday night, this really flies in the face of the campaign.

Or is it a way of showing how much $$ we'll need for development.

Overly cynical probably but just a thought.

Considering we want sideliners to invest in the club, with donations and memberships I would've expected a more experienced team on Saturday night, this really flies in the face of the campaign.

Or is it a way of showing how much $$ we'll need for development.

Overly cynical probably but just a thought.

I agree. "it stinks of Richmond"

I understand all about saving your best side for round 1 etc, but we are still trying to attract a sponsor and getting belted by 10 goals twice in a night won't do that. Or maybe they are affraid that even if they field a better side they would still have been pantsed and would have any excuses

I agree. "it stinks of Richmond"

I understand all about saving your best side for round 1 etc, but we are still trying to attract a sponsor and getting belted by 10 goals twice in a night won't do that. Or maybe they are affraid that even if they field a better side they would still have been pantsed and would have any excuses

get real dude. Its a round robin party type carnival, that we want to unveil our youngsters in and see what happens.
Whatever happens, i.e. we get pantsed or we actually acquit ourselves well and win, it all goes out the door one way or the other, at around 10:00 pm on the 24th March, the end. ;)

For my mind 2x20min halves is great way to introduce young players and RFC is at a totally different time in it's development to Coll & Carl'n. Our young guys get a taste as well as peripheral players. It keeps their feet on the ground and working hard to earn their spot.which works well for competion for spots or those who can't will be seen and moved on making room for new blood at the end of the season. I think it will be tough this year for a few who will be moved on.

get real dude. Its a round robin party type carnival, that we want to unveil our youngsters in and see what happens.
Whatever happens, i.e. we get pantsed or we actually acquit ourselves well and win, it all goes out the door one way or the other, at around 10:00 pm on the 24th March, the end. ;)

That's incredibly short sited... Its not "the end" it also has an impact on sponsors, memberships etc

I doubt Nab Cup results would have any impact at all on sponsors.

Businesses look at the bigger picture when spending those sorts of $$$ and Benny Gale & crew will be talking to corporates about the Tiger brand moving forward... a young team which will build over time and the excitement that is generated over that time aids to the lure of wanting to be part of it.
It won't go unnoticed that we are fielding a team for the future... not for, let's face it, a pretty meaningless pre-season novelty comp.

Look at the converse... if we name and play our most experienced and best possible line up, still get well and truly pantsed, then where else is there to go?

How do you 'up-sell' that?

On memberships, well ther might be a couple of Shallow Hal's who decide not to fork out for a membership just because our incredibly young team gets hammered... but again, the showcasing of our future stars (win, lose or draw) IMO goes a lot further towards enticing many others to peel open their wallets and join the groundswell.

Mate, so much more satisfaction in getting on board at the start of an exciting trip than just jumping on for the final fling.