Healy

The Mighty Cats
I think the club should tell Nathan to change his last name. Then he could play for us and he would not feel the pressure because people and the newspapers would not know who he is. I think this really can work. Can someone please let the club know of my idea.

C'MON THE MIGHTY CATS GET IT ON!

Healy said:
I think the club should tell Nathan to change his last name. Then he could play for us and he would not feel the pressure because people and the newspapers would not know who he is. I think this really can work. Can someone please let the club know of my idea.

Is he <i>really</i> that good? Has anyone actually seen him play?

Healy said:

??? .Really you cant be serious can you . I'll stop typing now before I get personal !

This would have to be one of the silliest posts Ive seen ever. Even if he changed his name to lets say "White" being Nathan White wouldnt change the fact he is brother and son of the Gary Abletts.

It's a great idea.

We would have to change his last name to another former players name so he is still available under the father son rule. How does Nathan Davis sound?

Unwritten_Law said:
It's a great idea.

We would have to change his last name to another former players name so he is still available under the father son rule. How does Nathan Davis sound?

Dont put pressure on the poor guy, Nathan Mensch it is!

technicality said:
Is he <i>really</i> that good? Has anyone actually seen him play?

Yes he is really that good. Imagine a Gary Ablett Junior with better foot skills, a better mark that stands at 194 centimeters.

Unwritten_Law said:
It's a great idea.

I like the sound of Nathan Whiskas myself.

If he doesn't want to play then he doesn't want to play, end of story.

Stupid threads like this may well be part of the reason why. Leave the poor guy ALONE.

skywalk750 said:
Yes he is really that good. Imagine a Gary Ablett Junior with better foot skills, a better mark that stands at 194 centimeters.

Are you serious? He has better skills than Gary Jnr? :eek:

I see why people would want him at the club

Nathan Ablett has grown up with unbelievable expectations, granted. The way he is acting it is almost him saying "Im too good too play AFL" It is a total joke. He should see it as a privledge to play AFL, not his "god" given right. He most probably is a gun.

He needs to get down to Geelong, get picked up in the draft and play some great footy. Once he has finished his career he can go back to being a little sook. Toughen up mate.

Im hurting at the prospect that he doesent want to play for us :( Dwayne Russel wrote a ripper of an article indirectly towards Yablett, N.

Jim Boy said:
Plenty of time yet, how old was his dad when he debuted for the club? Was it 22?

It was about that. I'm thinking along the lines that it may just take him some time, and he may well walk in at 21 or 22 and be an instant footballer like his dad was (well not like his dad, but able to play competently at AFL level). By this time, we should have Hawkins Jnr at the club as well. Key forward problem solved. Unfortunately we need something until then, and I'm hoping that when these guys arrive (hopefully) our time has not been and gone.

QuikWA said:
Nathan Ablett has grown up with unbelievable expectations, granted. The way he is acting it is almost him saying "Im too good too play AFL" It is a total joke. He should see it as a privledge to play AFL, not his "god" given right. He most probably is a gun.

He needs to get down to Geelong, get picked up in the draft and play some great footy. Once he has finished his career he can go back to being a little sook. Toughen up mate.

Let's hang the bastard.How dare he say he doesn't want to play AFL footy for any club.
He should be dragged kicking and screaming to the AFL and they should force him to play for any club or chuck him in jail. :rolleyes:

It must be time for another Ando article in the Hun.

JUBJUB said:
Let's hang the bastard.How dare he say he doesn't want to play AFL footy for any club.
He should be dragged kicking and screaming to the AFL and they should force him to play for any club or chuck him in jail. :rolleyes:

It must be time for another Ando article in the Hun.

I think the point of the post is that most people would love to have the natural talent to make it as an AFL player, and that it seems to be a waste that Nathan does not want to thrill Geelong supporters by putting his talent on display. Particularly as he is exactly what Geelong need right now.

Who knows, the Cats may have just assumed that he would join the club, and as a result did not draft any young key forwards with their high picks, becasue they thought that would not be a problem. This could be why Geelong are in the position that they are in. :confused:

WestCat said:
I think the point of the post is that most people would love to have the natural talent to make it as an AFL player, and that it seems to be a waste that Nathan does not want to thrill Geelong supporters by putting his talent on display. Particularly as he is exactly what Geelong need right now.

Who knows, the Cats may have just assumed that he would join the club, and as a result did not draft any young key forwards with their high picks, becasue they thought that would not be a problem. This could be why Geelong are in the position that they are in. :confused:

Or maybe the ones they traded draft picks for were duds.

QuikWA said:

He's not saying he's too good to play, damnit, he's indicating that he does not want to play. That is perfectly fair enough.

Imagine if your dad was an astronaut and everyone in the entire world wanted you to be an astronaut as well and you could if you wanted to (because your dad was an astronaut and you passed physics, you can be an astronaut too, you can be better than your dad and be the first human to walk on Mars or save an entire alien race from extinction) but you'd rather be an actor.
Would you say "I'm too good to be an astronaut" or "I don't want to be an astronaut"??

It's no good making Nathan sign a contract he doesn't want (which would render it void ANYWAY) and making him spend ten years in a career he doesn't want.