Tank

Hope you guys don't mind a Bulldogs supporter posting on your boards but I was wondering if anyone knew if there was any truth to the rumors about Nathan Bassett wanting out of Adelaide?

Is Bassett under contract? What would be a realisitc trade from the Bulldogs to obtain Bassett?

He signed a 3 year deal mid year.

He would only be traded if we get a ready made replacement for him in the trade. Someone like Mal Michael;)

He is worth more to us than any other side would offer.

He might want out. Is reported to have problems with Ayres - was dropped near the end of the season and not too happy about it.

I'd probably take a second round draft pick for him - especially if it was the Bulldogs' pick, ie 19.

He would be more likley traded for Mal Michael than to the Bulldogs as the Doggies dont really have a player that the AFC really needs.....................unless you have Darcy up for grabs;)

Originally posted by maccas_no1
He would be more likley traded for Mal Michael than to the Bulldogs as the Doggies dont really have a player that the AFC really needs.....................unless you have Darcy up for grabs;)

How about Bassett and something for Pick 4/6 for Michael?

a realistic trade involving Nathan Bassett would be something like this:
Nathan Bassett to Carlton for Justin Murphy.

Originally posted by Russian
How about Bassett and something for Pick 4/6 for Michael?

If Michael or Luke Power are on the market, I'd assume we'd try using those early picks to obtain of them (esp. Power).

If not, and assuming we do get pick 6 from Richmond, how would the following trade sound:

Bassett, Perrie & 3rd rd pick FOR
pick 6.

I know some supporters are not too keen on Perrie but I reckon he could be just the type of player the Bulldogs need.

Originally posted by Tank
Bassett, Perrie & 3rd rd pick FOR
pick 6.

Perhaps a fringe tall from the Bulldogs as well (don't know much about value of Walsh, Wight, Skipper, Wiggins, Minson, McGuinness, Harris, Bowden) Maybe if one of these players is good enough then Crows could give up their 2nd round pick instead of their 3rd

Originally posted by SkARkS_69
a realistic trade involving Nathan Bassett would be something like this:
Nathan Bassett to Carlton for Justin Murphy.
Yeah, very realistic :rolleyes:

Don't think Carlton have much that interests us, although like the look of Waite.

Originally posted by naughty monkey
Nope, Bulldogs would be looking for a new Receruiting Officer more like it.

If by some chance they did go for it, you'd do it in a second!

Sorry

I have more loyalty and regard for my Club's players' abiliity than that.

Bassettt Perrie and pick 45 for pick 6

Pick 6 will get us a player that MAY develop into an AFL footballer

We would be giving up a player who has done a tremendous job over a number of years and one that has developed significantly this year

Two key postiions players and a thrid round pick for a go at one good young player. I think not.

Originally posted by Jars458
Sorry

We would be giving up a player who has done a tremendous job over a number of years and one that has developed significantly this year

Two key postiions players and a thrid round pick for a go at one good young player. I think not.

I'm sorry Jars, but you are so far off the mark on this.

Do you understand just how rare an opportunity it is for an AFC to get a top 5 or 6 pick?

Historically clubs have farked up with their early picks, but the track records are much much better now.
Getting a pick that early nowadays almost guarantees a top 5 player in the club over a 10 year period at least. That is the sort of thing that only comes along every 5 or so years.

When you get one without earning it (by finishing 12+) you must seriously consider it. Especially when the cost is one bloke who is not in your best 22 and another outside the top 10 with a serious attitude problem, that is too much of a bargain to pass up.

I'd be a bit hesitant to let go of Bassett, but it's a good deal nonetheless.

With #6, we'd get a gun youngster which we desperately need.

I just hope Rutten or Parker or someone can step up at full back...

Originally posted by DaveW

You are right its a too good a deal not to give it any consideration.

The only way I would agree to that deal is if we get a FB of equal or greater ability than Bassett.

If we got Mal Michael I would do that trade and run before they change their mind:)

Originally posted by Jars458
Sorry

you are bang on the money here.

pick 6 is no guarantee of anything. Geez look at some of carltons picks recently. Luke Livingstone (4), Murray Vance (6), even Massie (7). Now 1997 a the time was thought to be the greatest draft pool ever, and Massie was supposed to go no.3 to Hawthorn (they picked croad), he slipped to no.7 Now I like Massie, but a no.7 pick ???
Also, how have we done with high picks? Gilligan (12), we wanted to move heaven and earth to get Ryan Fitzgerald at no.3 - just didn't pan out. We traded pick 6 to brisbane for matthew clarke, who draft Damien Cupido - no thanks. We pick Laurence Angwin at no.7 !!!

anyone who thinks no.6 in a POOR draft pool is a guarantee of a top player, just isn't paying attention.

As for drafting getting better, I'd say it's getting worse. Too scientific, and plenty of guys are slipping through - witness Johncock at 64, and Kenny at 86. Kenny was Malthouse's pick for all australian CHB this year. Pavlich was overlooked by EVERY club as a 17 year old.

drafting is not a science, and JARS is 100% right here.

Originally posted by Crow-mosone
you are bang on the money here.

pick 6 is no guarantee of anything. Geez look at some of carltons picks recently. Luke Livingstone (4), Murray Vance (6), even Massie (7). Now 1997 a the time was thought to be the greatest draft pool ever, and Massie was supposed to go no.3 to Hawthorn (they picked croad), he slipped to no.7 Now I like Massie, but a no.7 pick ???
Also, how have we done with high picks? Gilligan (12), we wanted to move heaven and earth to get Ryan Fitzgerald at no.3 - just didn't pan out. We traded pick 6 to brisbane for matthew clarke, who draft Damien Cupido - no thanks. We pick Laurence Angwin at no.7 !!!

anyone who thinks no.6 in a POOR draft pool is a guarantee of a top player, just isn't paying attention.

As for drafting getting better, I'd say it's getting worse. Too scientific, and plenty of guys are slipping through - witness Johncock at 64, and Kenny at 86. Kenny was Malthouse's pick for all australian CHB this year. Pavlich was overlooked by EVERY club as a 17 year old.

drafting is not a science, and JARS is 100% right here.

Well i guess that makes 2 of us that agree with Jars,

Unless pick 6 would lead to an Ottens or someone of that worth but no way should we trade 2 reg kpp + pick 45 just for the chance of drafting some unproven junior who just might turn out to be a Reiwoldt or a Gardiner,

I know we are in need of an up & coming ruckman but let's not be too drastic with what we've already got,

Interesting to see the wide divergence of opinions here, but that's good - footy is an emotional game.

I think Jars is right if it's just a trade for a draft pick that we use in the draft. We are giving up 2 KPP's that played virtually every game this year plus a 3rd round draft pick for a gamble at getting a class youngster. Very tempting but a lot to give.

On the other hand if it were an exchange that netted Mal Michael, then I'd do it - I think. It's still a hell of a lot to give, but our spine would be improved by a fair amount with Michael in place of Bassett.

Originally posted by macca23
Interesting to see the wide divergence of opinions here, but that's good - footy is an emotional game.

I agree...and thanks to everyone for replying to the post. All the best to Adelaide for the trade period and next season.

Originally posted by DaveW

Unless we can land Michael, we should not be trading Bassett except if we get an exceptional deal. Throwing in Perrie & our round 3 pick isn't an exceptional deal IMO. Would want a top-3 pick to make it worthwhile of risking the season lacking depth without 2 useful KPP's.