Sometimes they pay off sometimes they don't

I'm glad we had a crack and I hope we do it more

Nathan Freeman story isn't over yet. He has a whole season to show something

If you dont take risks the you don't win flags

yep. a second rounder for a top 10 talent. I'd take that risk every time!

yeap, worth remembering collingwood tried to retain him and were unhappy that he was leaving, for the very reason you mentioned

the big issue the AFL has is its list management is too restrictive. there are not enough avenues for well run clubs to rebuild their lists. its a massive concern for the AFL that you can have well run clubs like ours still not play finals after 6 years, even though they consider them to be doing all the right moves to get back there

i heard Gill say as much on SEN last year, and he just repeated it on whatleys new show this week. which shows you its a major concern. its a view shared by hocking who is the new football boss at the AFL. they want to open it up with some more list mechanisms

so going back to us and freeman, i think we've made the right move (as you put it) and i think we've made very diligent and smart recruiting moves over the course of the rebuild, be it trade/draft/free agency. even when i've been critical of them, over the longer term, they end up right. i think the issue is that we havent had enough mechanisms to use and the base with which we could work with in 2012 wasnt strong (due to how poor the football dept was in the ross years). i also think we've turned the corner as club last year, where the focus is moving away from development to contending. the temperature is being turned up on the football dept by the administration, which the lethlean appointment will help us do. so if nathan doesnt work out, then meh, we have a handful of other high potential young midfield prospects who are all chomping at the bit for midfield time.

Sorry.
Not sure what you are saying in response to my post.

Simples. He was/is no bigger risk of a second rounder than any other second round pick.

The pick we gave up for him was a part payment for James Aish who doesn't seem to be as good as Jack Sinclair.
It was used in the draft for Willem Drew, who's SAFL season was nowhere near Nick O'Kearney or Jack Lonie's VFL season.

Lost nothing if we'd used that pick on Battle?

So even if we'd done so (which is no guarantee, especially with the highly rated Rotham going just before we picked Battle) are you assuming that we would have then passed with the pick that we did get Battle with (pick 39), only to then use pick 56 as we did, to get Phillips?

That seems extraordinarily unlikely, it's also very unlikely that we would have taken Phillips at 39, given that all of the following went between 39 and 56, and all played senior AFL footy last year, unlike Ed: Jack Graham, Mitch Hannan, Tom Stewart, Brennan Cox, Harrison Macreadie, Lewis Young and Jacob Allison (who we bid on at pick 55).

I get what you're trying to say and I for one am not writing him off, but to say we "basically lost nothing" if he is a bust, is a furphy. There looks to have been plenty of talent in that 33-56 range and if we'd had an extra pick at 33 it would have given us another crack at one of them. If not at 33, then most likely at 39.

Hopefully Nath has a good career from now on and it doesn't matter though.

Hang on, WTF has any of this got to do with Battle??

So from this thread I take it Freeman has retired due to his hammy.
Sorry to hear that. Might as well give up because of a twing and dont bother trying for the rest of the season or ever.
Probably too old must be at least 22 by now.

Thanks for the effort Nathan

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Sorry to hear that. Might as well give up because of a twing and dont bother trying for the rest of the season or ever.

He's only played as much footy at 22... as Clinton Jones had. No hope for him.

We're just practising the eulogy. It's almost perfect.

Very unfortunate.

And things had been going so well. As the video shows, Nath had regained enormous flexibility in his strings.

But then suddenly...

giphy.gif

Freeman WILL debut this year at some point. Even if the medicos decide that in the long run his body wont hold up he will still be trialled at some point because we, and Freezer, have nothing to lose by doing it.

He will need to earn his spot like everyone else - we won't be gifting him a game for sh*ts & giggles.

If you dont take risks then you don't win flags

I agree to a point, I was never happy going after him for a second rounder. Collingwood played hard ball on him and we probably over paid for a player with such a massive history of injury. Any other club probably would have been happy to ship off the medical bills and done the deal in good faith. I hope he makes it, he is a distant relative and is my best shot at ever having someone in my gene pool playing footy at the Saints. Anyway while he's listed there is hope but it must be getting less likely by the set back.

I've said it before, but I really think agreeing to Nathan for a second when we did helped support our signing of Carlisle. It let us say to him that we were moving to sign people and that it was the Bombers that were being unreasonable.

In the situation we were in I was happy, even though if we weren't struggling with Carlisle we could have got away with a third for Nathan I reckon.

He's only played as much footy at 22... as Clinton Jones had. No hope for him.

Clint was a WAFL star when we grabbed him. Nath has played about 25 games of VFL since 2013 while missing around 50 with injury.

Yeah and all of them had better disposal than CJ. :p

Also :

27 games since 2014.
23 games since 2015.
13 since 2016.

YES. We all know he didn't play much 2014 and 2015.
In one of his few games in 2014 he won the most disposals for the magpies VFL.
In one of the development team games 2015 he won a stupid amount of the footy.
In 2016 he found plenty of the ball in VFL Seniors.

So where he's missed some games from injury, i think the risk of him having "forgotten" how to play is absolutely minimal.

Yeah and all of them had better disposal than CJ. :p

CJ's handballing skills were actually very good. In addition he was a quick decision maker that meant he passed the ball on well quickly.

His kicking looked awkward but was reasonably ok in terms of effectiveness at close range.

Simples. He was/is no bigger risk of a second rounder than any other second round pick.

The pick we gave up for him was a part payment for James Aish who doesn't seem to be as good as Jack Sinclair.
It was used in the draft for Willem Drew, who's SAFL season was nowhere near Nick O'Kearney or Jack Lonie's VFL season.
Sorry for being dumb, I still do not understand how your posts relate to my original post.
All I said was he was a risk.
Some work out, some don’t.
Hoped he had an AFL career because I had spent some of my time watching him.
How is that observation linked to your subsequent posts?
You’re confusing me.

Sorry for being dumb, I still do not understand how your posts relate to my original post.
All I said was he was a risk.
Some work out, some don’t.
Hoped he had an AFL career because I had spent some of my time watching him.
How is that observation linked to your subsequent posts?
You’re confusing me.

It wasn't an attack on you specifically ( it wasn't an attack at all ) , there were just a lot of people talking about "the risk" and how we'd blown it.
I was just pointing out that the risk was no worse than taking a player in the draft.

Not worth going on about :D

It wasn't an attack on you specifically ( it wasn't an attack at all ) , there were just a lot of people talking about "the risk" and how we'd blown it.
I was just pointing out that the risk was no worse than taking a player in the draft.

Like anything, if he paid off it was a genius call, if it ****ed up you were an idiot. No middle ground in football recruiting.

I know it wasn’t an attack, sorry if I gave you the impression that I thought it was.
I was just trying to follow the conversation flow and you lost me.
That’s all.
We’re good. :)