Nathan Van Clanger-O

So you actually think Edwards had a shocker?

Lots of the ball but he turned it over far far too much, gave away silly free kicks and basically did not positvely influence the game. He is judged by slightly higher standards than most because he is an icon of the club

Tyson - Possibly the best club player we have ever had, and a true star but I think this should be his last year. Hurtful as that is to all of us.

Not in terms of effort but if Knights used the ball like Edwards did tonight the whole board would be jumping all over him.

If you can, have another look at it, you'll be surprised how much he turned it over.
Agreed. Especially in 2nd quarter when we had them on toast...amount of times he burnt it going inside 50 was stuff of nightmares

His execution has been poor for several weeks. He tries his guts out but has lost all confidence, much as the whole team has.

I think what we are seeing is that he is not captaincy matrerial yet because your captain performs even when the whole team is cracking. At the moment we are a team of front runnners and when it goes bad there are few who can step up.

Really horrible night tonight all over the field and in the coahces box.

Craigs under a lot of pressure this week. Lets see if there is anything more than platitudes.

On the positive side Mckay was excellent, his best game by a mile and he was afour quarter player for mine. Danger Otten and Douglas were also serviceable.

Moran is useless. Tyson Edwards was terrible. Stevens Horrible. Stiffy had one of his few poor games and Goody was good when we were good and nowhere when we ere being belted,.

Rutten beat brown,

Petrenko needs a SANFL rest but I really like his attitude and he will be a very good player.

Maric must come back, Craig stop being so ****ing stubborn. MAric Griffin and Tippett all must play, MUST play,

Isn't it funny how dfiferently we can see the same game.

For mine, Edwards was one of our only decent midfielders for at least the first half. Led disposals with 32. Petrenko was RUBBISH when he was on the field, only 5 disposals and made some absolutely stupid errors, but he is still a baby. However, time to go.

Moran was OK for a half, Stevens is still getting his groove back and was OK for 3 quarters, and Bradshaw is in rare form at the moment.

Johncock is still in our upper echelon of players, did some good things and some ordinary things, far from our worst that's for sure.

Maric is just not as good as many on here rate him, and I for one am glad Moran had another run tonight. He had 2 more hitouts and 3 more disposals than Tippet tonight. And he still cops the bollockings on here.

Hardly a year ago VB was probably one of the most worshipped players on 'ere, boy how things have changed. I hope VB's okay.

it would help if Craig would put VB back in the middle where he's played his best footy for us. the last thing we want is him pis sing off back to W.A

we need to keep these kids and 50 gamers together.

scott stevens is a 1st class disgrace. i haven't seen as bad a player at our club since romano negri.

last week he GIFTED 3 of the Dogs' 4 first half goals.
this week, an abomination.
he's about a metre off the pace.
whenever he's in the 22, we're in strife.
i'd rather see N Gill front that this dud. CRAIG...get this hack out asap.

i've been a big craig fan for many a day, but for the first time, i think his time is up. craig spent 5+ years building us up a powerhouse defence. that hasn't worked. new cattle coming through, need to play a different brand of footy. that'll take time, and craig doesn't have it.

reckon come end 2010 it'll be cheerio.

right, that's my rant, i'll now go back to whacking off over "tex" and "mouse"...

:eek:

Hardly a year ago VB was probably one of the most worshipped players on 'ere, boy how things have changed. I hope VB's okay.[/QUO
I am sure he is fine. the hero worship was over the top becasue the supporter base is looking for a new hero to replace the brilliance tha was Roo Edwards Goodwin Mcleood and Bickley. We are still short of that hero.

Hardly a year ago VB was probably one of the most worshipped players on 'ere, boy how things have changed. I hope VB's okay.[/QUO
I am sure he is fine. the hero worship was over the top becasue the supporter base is looking for a new hero to replace the brilliance tha was Roo Edwards Goodwin Mcleood and Bickley. We are still short of that hero.

Walker and Danger may well become that 'hero', if they aren't already.

5 clangers tonight but when you consider he had it 32 times and actually busted his backside when everyone else seemed to have quit, he wasn't as bad as some people claim.

Exactly right, how many of those clangers actually cost us goals? None if I remember correctly. And even two of those, a certain player who every time someone bags him gets howled down, had actually made a yard to get the ball, if wouldn't have been.

You've just lost all credibility!! :thumbsd:

Knights was leading and had a break on his opponent and Edwards put it right on his chest - the trailing opponent that is.

Who over-ran the ball just before half-time resulting in Brisbane's last goal before half-time? A goal that boosted Brisbane with their momentum??

Edwards.

With some posters on here, it makes me wonder why I even bother coming on this website anymore. Some of you just make me laugh and others just infuriate me with your bullsh*t comments.

For all you Edwards-bashers out there:
From the Crows website:
Best:
Adelaide: Edwards, Mackay, Goodwin, McLeod, Rutten, Vince

Some of you just make me laugh and others just infuriate me with your bullsh*t comments.

Must agree, for a relative newcomer, I can't believe how much rubbish gets posted on here, knee jerk responses, players who played well getting howled down, Craig deserving the sack, blah blah blah. Edwards copping a flogging tonight is a classic example, he was listed our best. So he made a mistake or two, big deal - he also tried his guts out all night, there was only 2 players out of 44 who had more of the nut than him. Once someone makes a comment others seem to agree and follow it like sheep, even if it's rubbish. Thankfully there are still a number of cool experienced heads roaming this board too.

In the rooms after the games it was evident that VB had major foot/toe issues. Don't know if this has anything to do with his current form (or lack there-of), just thought I'd put it out there. Whoever said "he's playing without confidence" was absolutely spot on. With several of his clangers he was absolutely ropable with himself. He's more frustrated than WE are!

He clearly hasnt taken the next step, I have been concerned about this for the past couple of years when everyone is pumping up his tires, future captain etc that he has not yet shown me that he is an on the field general and seems to me to be the next Reilly rather than the next Roo.

TBH noone in our next midfield group has taken the next step, Thommo, VB, Knights, Douglas are all looking like serviceable players at the moment, but none have taken that next step to be a great player. This is why a huge dilemma for the club is going to be who the next captain is.

In the rooms after the games it was evident that VB had major foot/toe issues. Don't know if this has anything to do with his current form (or lack there-of), just thought I'd put it out there. Whoever said "he's playing without confidence" was absolutely spot on. With several of his clangers he was absolutely ropable with himself. He's more frustrated than WE are!

I agree he doesn't appear to be moving freely.

However, let's be honest, he is playing poorly and if it were other players injury would be no excuse for them, so it isn't for VB either.

It seems, except for the 2nd half of last year, VB always has an 'injury cloud' excuse when not playing well. If you aren't fit, don't play. You do yourself and the team a disservice with your current performance no matter how courageous you may or may not be atm playing with an injury.

IF he injured, time for a spell from all footy.

IF just playing poorly, he should be dropped but wont because our depth limited atm.

I agree he doesn't appear to be moving freely.

However, let's be honest, he is playing poorly and if it were other players injury would be no excuse for them, so it isn't for VB either.

It seems, except for the 2nd half of last year, VB always has an 'injury cloud' excuse when not playing well. If you aren't fit, don't play. You do yourself and the team a disservice with your current performance no matter how courageous you may or may not be atm playing with an injury.

IF he injured, time for a spell from all footy.

IF just playing poorly, he should be dropped but wont because our depth limited atm.

Spoke with him at the brekky this morning and he says he's suffering from "general soreness". I think he also recognises his "poor patch" and wants to be out of it soon.

I don't think he's any worse than last year.

But you put 5 kids in the midfield with him, you expect him to stand up and play better than them, and he's not.

I don't know what the solution is. He needs to kick and handball better. Sticking a tackle would help.

Gets enough ball.

Nothing more than good-ordinary player. That isn't a criticism of him, it's what he is.

The praise heaped on him, particularly from this board was disproportionate with his output.

Not that Brownlow medal votes are a definitive stat, but they are a reasonable guide - in 83 games VB has just 6 Brownlow votes - in 38 games Bernie Vince has 8.

Must agree, for a relative newcomer, I can't believe how much rubbish gets posted on here, knee jerk responses, players who played well getting howled down, Craig deserving the sack, blah blah blah. Edwards copping a flogging tonight is a classic example, he was listed our best. So he made a mistake or two, big deal - he also tried his guts out all night, there was only 2 players out of 44 who had more of the nut than him. Once someone makes a comment others seem to agree and follow it like sheep, even if it's rubbish. Thankfully there are still a number of cool experienced heads roaming this board too.

Get lost. Thats just utter bulldust. We can have an opinion. Capel named him in the best along wiht Mcleod and Goodwin because its the defualt option together with looking at the stats.

Noone is saying he didn't try hard. The man is a club legend and busts his boiler every week. However this does not prevent him from being criticised. His disposal and mistake rate was bloody terrible for a player of his calibre. I can assure you he will not be happy with his game last night because of the bloke that he is.

If you are saying we shouldn't criticise club champions, well **** me, they are the ones who should be best able to cope with criticsims

What annoys me is people bagging Petrenko for example for his holding the ball in the thrid quarter. The kid looked up and saw nothing to kick to and so ran the ball hard out of defence getting it about 40 metres further up the ground before his lack of options resulted in him being tackled.

Some supporters need to harden up and realise that criticism is allowed and in fact is necessary for anyone to devleop.

Sure we go overboard but shit, we are passionate adn love this club. We are therefore permitted. My Gold Membership tells me so.