News Navy inquiry

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/navy-inquiry/story-e6frf9jf-1225894307922

Is Judd still one of the AFL's 10 best?

THIS sounds sacriligious, but the answer is no. Substitute best for most valuable and the answer is still no.

He is a one-man band, and carries a tag to the toilets at half-time in most games, but his ability to impact games is not what it used to be. He lacks support in the grunt area, and when he does win the hard-ball, he doesn't penetrate.

Today's game means his efforts are then wasted with a 25m short kick - which may or may not hit the target. Yesterday he was at 43 per cent efficiency.

For what it's worth, those above Judd include Hodge, Goddard, Sandilands, Swan, Lake, Montagna, Chapman, Selwood, Ablett, Bartel, Cyril, Cooney, Goodes (in the midfield).

:confused:

Cyril?

As in Rioli?

:confused: :confused:

And these guys are paid to give an opinion?

:confused: :confused: :confused:

What. The. ****

Move this to parrot's thread.

Terrible unresearched article written by two hack journalists who probably haven't even ventured out to watch Warnock in the VFL.

Written to appeal to Herald-Sun readers and Carlton readers who lack the intelligence to disagree with it.

I can imagine the angle that paper would take if one of our players had been punched in the face at a nightclub.

Carlton star attacks member of the public's fist with his jaw

Move this to parrot's thread.

Terrible unresearched article written by two hack journalists who probably haven't even ventured out to watch Warnock in the VFL.

Written to appeal to Herald-Sun readers and Carlton readers who lack the intelligence to disagree with it.

Without a doubt :thumbsu:

How bad is the recruiting?

SINCE picking up Judd in 2007 for Josh Kennedy and pick No.3, as well as Cain Ackland (bomb) and Cameron Cloke (bomb) in the '07 pre-season, they have nabbed Darren Pfeiffer in the '08 pre-season (bomb), elevated rookie Michael Jamison (struggling) and traded drafts picks 24, 56 and 68 for Robert Warnock (bust). At the start of '09, the Blues took Chris Johnson in the pre-season (three games this year), they traded pick 11 for Brock McLean (injured) and traded in Lachie Henderson (devleoping) in the Fevola deal.
It's dreary reading and more so when you consider Warnock (five games) is in the second year of a four-year deal on an estimated $350,000 per year. Ouch. :thumbsu:

It's an opinion piece written by two people with irrelevant opinions but it represents the thoughts of the general public as to how we are going as a club. Some parts of it are really good for a laugh however, such as the reasons they provide for our supposedly terrible recruiting and that section on Judd.

TBH I prefer seeing these sorts of articles written about the club opposed to the ones blowing smoke up its ass because these are the sorts of articles that will give some of the players a rocket to start showing more intensity. This article pretty much tore through the entire team.

SINCE picking up Judd in 2007 for Josh Kennedy and pick No.3, as well as Cain Ackland (bomb) and Cameron Cloke (bomb) in the '07 pre-season, they have nabbed Darren Pfeiffer in the '08 pre-season (bomb), elevated rookie Michael Jamison (struggling) and traded drafts picks 24, 56 and 68 for Robert Warnock (bust). At the start of '09, the Blues took Chris Johnson in the pre-season (three games this year), they traded pick 11 for Brock McLean (injured) and traded in Lachie Henderson (devleoping) in the Fevola deal.
It's dreary reading and more so when you consider Warnock (five games) is in the second year of a four-year deal on an estimated $350,000 per year. Ouch. :thumbsu:

Pre-season draft picks to illustrate how poorly we have recruited makes me lol, seeing as we all know how a good playing list is built from the pre-season draft.

Additionally, listing a rookie listed player who has shown enormous amounts of promise throughout his career before going into his first form rut these past 5 weeks as some sort of recruiting disaster opposed to rookie listed players who never were selected once to play a game certainly further illustrate poor recruiting... because we all know if every rookie pick doesn't end up a Michael Barlow then it is an epic fail!

What absolute ******s! (I work for Hewald Soonnn dahhhhhh)

I enjoyed the 'Here are some questions for Ratten' thing. Then they answered them.

They didn't ask him anything! :eek:

I can do that too.

Are the people who wrote this article a bunch of idiots?

Yes, yes they are. Warnock isn't a bust (yet?) and Mclean on the field makes us a much stronger team and he's back in a week or two.

Cyril better then Judd? GTFO. At least mention Hayes.

This just strengthens my idea of writing for the HUN. I'm a goddamn superstar in comparison.

:confused:

That is the single worst paragraph by a supposedly professional writer that I've ever read.

Preseason picks? FFS!

Possibly the worst article I have ever read, and that is saying something with the standard of journalism we have in the Melbourne print media.

Having a go at Michael Jamison and Lachie Henderson as recruiting failures is clutching at straws if I've ever seen it? I'm surprised they didn't mention using a draft pick to elevate Aaron Joseph over Jeff Garlett..

The Judd part is laughable. Only Ablett of the 10 players mentioned gets a weekly tag. Cooney? The same Adam Cooney who gave us a blistering 50% disposal efficiency against Essendon earlier in the year? At least Judd's 48% DE was against a team who play contested footy. Regarding Hodge - the only legitimate player mentioned who could be considered better than Judd, he's copped three tags this year and delivered 19, 14 and 12 disposal games respectively, as well as 9 in a half on Cameron Ling in round 2. Great player, but he still struggles to break a tag. As for the rest, they all have attention taken off of them by better players in their team, or play at full back.

The only game I've see a team let Judd run free was last week. His DE against the Western Bulldogs was 81%, and he at least broke even with Boyd despite Carlton being smashed by 10 goals. Oh, and Nick Dal Santo > Leigh Montagna.

That article was flog journalism at its highest. Robbo's just trying to take the attention off of his beloved Bombers.

Keep it coming, factual or otherwise. Something needs to motivate these players. Judd will be odds on to come out and have a ripper this week now.

Yes..this is a very winnable game. WCE arent the most tactical of teams and their is a heap of open space for our runners and small fwds.

It has been the discipline of opposition teams that have caused our downturn. Please dont let WCE discover this trait this week.

This is the exact media rubbish I was referring to in another thread. Just because Ratts & the leadership group won't call our form slump a crisis, the media create their own story to try & cause dissension at the club. They have worked over Essendon & now it is our turn.

The Hun is the worst newspaper in Australia, published to appeal to nuff nuffs, otherwise known as Collingwood supporters.

While i'm not opposed to journalists having a go at us while we're down (its their job afterall), its just painful to see them drawing such long bows to have a go at us.

They're having a go at preseason draft picks, i mean seriously, they're speculative picks at best.

Its like they've just picked 10 topics and tried to fill regardless of information they have. Some of the points are blatantly obvious, while some are just plain lies.

Article was 100% spot on with the exception of the Judd comment.

Judd is probably between 5th and 10th in the league these days.

However on a dollar per ability rating he would be way down.

Swan earns 450k pa and Judd 1.1 and Cyril is on 250k atm

While i'm not opposed to journalists having a go at us while we're down (its their job afterall), its just painful to see them drawing such long bows to have a go at us.

They're having a go at preseason draft picks, i mean seriously, they're speculative picks at best.

Its like they've just picked 10 topics and tried to fill regardless of information they have. Some of the points are blatantly obvious, while some are just plain lies.

He did also mention Mclean and Warnock hardly speculative picks.

Surely most of the article was on or around the mark?

Judd, Murphy and Gibbs down on output

Spine stinks

Drafting poor, Mclean & Warnock

Judd & Gibbs effeciency poor

Simpson dangerous

Betts and Russell improving

Jamo struggling

This is the exact media rubbish I was referring to in another thread. Just because Ratts & the leadership group won't call our form slump a crisis, the media create their own story to try & cause dissension at the club. They have worked over Essendon & now it is our turn.

The Hun is the worst newspaper in Australia, published to appeal to nuff nuffs, otherwise known as Collingwood supporters.

have you read the Sunday Mail (Broncos Times)?

He did also mention Mclean and Warnock hardly speculative picks

McLean has been injured which they fail to mention. Also Warnock was injured for the entirety of last season, this is his first season in a long time where he has received continuity in his football career. He will be better for this year and if he has an injury free preseason, he will be ready to go i feel.

They fail to mention those facts, just that they're apparently busts.

Article was 100% spot on with the exception of the Judd comment.

Judd is probably between 5th and 10th in the league these days.

However on a dollar per ability rating he would be way down.

Swan earns 450k pa and Judd 1.1 and Cyril is on 250k atm

Anyone else think Judd seems to be inhibited in the way he's playing at the moment. I think he may have a niggle of some sort. Not that its an excuse, i just don't think any player should play through injury if they have one, it can only end badly.

Judds biggest weakness is he doesn't seem to be able to win the ball in space like Goodes, Hodge, Ablett, Swann etc everything is in close or contested.

The absolute guns need to win ball in the open as well as in close.

Judds biggest weakness is he doesn't seem to be able to win the ball in space like Goodes, Hodge, Ablett, Swann etc everything is in close or contested.

The absolute guns need to win ball in the open as well as in close.

This is because he doesnt get the help, blocks, attack on the opposition that the ones u mentioned do...

They need to sit down (as a group), work out who they want the ball to be in the hands of.. and ONLY select players who are willing to put their bodies on the line to protect the ball carrier. its not that hard, but i feel some players feel they CBF doing it and its costing us..

Wouldn't dismiss the article completely - sure, they've only focused on the negatives to cause a bit of a stir, but:

• Jury is still out on swapping McLean for pick 11
  • Warnock can't crack a senior game and from all reports isn't setting the Bullants on fire
  • We could do with another KPP, and posts have floated around on this board about Mitch Brown & Jackson Trengove as potential trades, and that Swan is looking for a another key forward to supplement Hendo
  • Murphy is down on last year, however the guy didn't have a pre-season
  • Gibbs is definitely down
  • Malifice made a few good points about our mids in a post, which isn't that remote from what the article is saying
  • Juddy's disposal is struggling etc, but the guy just doesn't get the support he deserves, no one is clearing a path for him or protecting him - at the moment he's basically doing it all on his own and NO player can do that.

They've been a bit harsh on Jamo & JR. At the moment our backs may seem to be struggling, but it's more to do with the way the ball's be flooding down there in recent weeks.

Also, the likes of Yarran & Jacobs have improved.

As for the Hendo / Fev trade, they've left out we got pick 12 (namely Lucas) for that trade as well.

Strange game, not that long ago we were being touted as a top 4 team

90% of all sport is played above the shoulders

At day's end, given we've had some recent success over the last 8 - 10 months, i'd much prefer the club to work their way through this rather than throw the baby out with the bath water